We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“BEST PLACE EVER.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Gulf of Papagayo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“BEST PLACE EVER.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

OMG. Believe me. If you stay her you will fall in love. I CRIED ON THE WAY BACK HOME. Luxury is at top notch and the rooms are sophisticated and beautiful with modern costa rican flare. The food is delicious. The service is excellent. There are so many activities and kids clubs and such for younger people too;). YOU WONT REGRET STAYING HERE.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelerforeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,381
    256
    84
    27
    14
See reviews for
588
738
18
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed for a week October 21 2012 and everything was perfection. Staff is super friendly and accommodating. We ate at all the restaurants and the food was great everywhere. My granddaughter fell asleep during dinner at Di Mare and we asked for two chairs pushed together and within minutes they brought us a porta-crib. Breakfast buffet was delicious and choices were plentiful. Rooms were beautiful and spacious. I cannot say enough about this resort and I cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: all rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Megfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

This was our first Four Seasons Resort & it won't be our last. Great staff. They can't do enough for you. Our room was gorgeous. The property has a "quiet pool" for adults plus 3 other pools. The spa is to die for- simply gorgeous. Our food was always fresh & delicious. This hotel just pampers you.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank oneidaelane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

We have stayed at FS around the globe and this one is sipecial. The most outstanding piece of this property is the people. Everyone is freindly, caring, and on top of their position. Nothing was a problem and they were polite no matter what department or what was asked. Part of that is Costa Rican culture and part of it is management and training.
The food is amazing in every restaurant.
The views are spectacular.
With LIberia airport becoming more accessible, its becoming easier to get here.
There is really nothing but positive to say about this FS and we cant wait to get back.
Great Hotel, Great People, Great Vacation

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

The Four Seasons was amazing. We went as a family and had an unforgettable time. The rooms were outstanding and spacious. You will definitely need a car-it took about 20 minutes to get off the Four Seasons property. We only left to get groceries and go zip lining which is an absolute must!!! The beach and pool were paradise. The beach had may water sports to chose from for free. They also have many restaurants on site that you can choose from. The food was good in most of the restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ashley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

Had a great time here. The concierge really know their stuff and the hotel is beautiful! There is a bay and ocean side and lots to do sports wise. Great idea to split vacation between here and Tabacon. Rooms are really pretty too and beds perfect! Bathrooms huuuge. Try the Italian restuarant it is amazing!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Randee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

Location: It is secluded but not remote. Having your own car will certainly help. It is at least 30 minutes to the highway from the hotel but it once took me 30 minutes to exit JFK’s parking lot. So if you put it in perspective, the distance is not a big deal at all. The drive is nice, the road is paved. ( Roads to many attractions in Costa Rica, after you leave the highway, well I don’t know how to put it, are not paved at all)
Service: Out of this world. Literally, you can even start believing in aliens once you get this out of the world experience. I don’t know if there is something in the air, or they drink something different but all the staff members are in such a good mood at all the time. I have a friend who works very hard as a doctor but his smile fades a little bit by 7 PM. Not so at Four Seasons Costa Rica. Everyone was in eternal good temper. I ask a lot of questions and in case I ask a stupid question, I generally don’t limit myself to one or two. I was talking to the Concierge for a long time, and “ Sir, your plans are brilliant, but if I were you, I would do it this way” was as close as they came to calling my plans insane. You feel that if you meet any of the staff in any other walk of life, they will turn out to be just as pleasant. Four Seasons employees are not pleasant, rather pleasant people seek to work there. All people are equal, some are more equal than others. Likewise everyone was special but let me mention some crew members who stand out. (Antonio from transportation, Francesca and Sarah from the Front desk, Max from the beach, Jennifer at the Crepe station)
Rooms: are better than an average Four Seasons. The view towards Virador ( Pacific) was better than towards Blanca ( The bay). Sounds confusing but you will see it when you see it.
Activities: are plenty. I think Four Seasons should start charging a token 5 dollar fee for all the free tours. People book and then don't show up. Then they re-book and don’t show up again. Kayaking was great. So much so that I am going to research my next trip on Kayak once!
Food: At Breakfast in Papagayo there wasn’t an endless array of the mundane rather a classy and selective presentation. Caracol was a bit pricey but hey, Columbus was not kidding when he called it the rich coast. Worth the money though. Room service was also a valid choice. We did not try other restaurants but birds of feather flock together, so I assume they would be excellent.
Suggestions: Wildlife is plenty. Staff is at hand to explain and educate. If FS can do one thing different, I guess, they can put boards with pictures of animals and birds you might see with some information in Spanish and English. If done right and unobtrusively, that can enhance the ambiance. Will it work? I don’t know. Would Monalisa be cooler in goggles? Maybe. Maybe not.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank ravigodse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulf of Papagayo
2.8 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 15 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
3.0 mi away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
El Mangroove, Autograph Collecti...
#4 of 15 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
3.1 mi away
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
#1 of 2 in Playa Panama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
#3 of 15 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
2.0 mi away
Occidental Grand Papagayo by Barcelo
Occidental Grand Papagayo by Bar...
#7 of 15 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,812 reviews
16.6 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo

Property: Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo
Address: Peninsula Papagayo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Family Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 Spa Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo 5*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo
Four Seasons Costa Rica
Four Seasons Liberia
Peninsula Liberia
Liberia Peninsula
Liberia Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing