We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous week!”
Review of Allegro Papagayo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Allegro Papagayo
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Gulf of Papagayo
salem,oregon
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A fabulous week!”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Just got back from a week here on Feb 25th.This is a beautiful resort with a great staff.Jimmy in the buffet had Gabriel cook up our mahi mahi and tuna that we caught on Una mas sportfishing trip,the fishing and the meal were awesome.Marisol is one of the best activity reps I have ever seen!The food was comparable to other 3 or 4 stars we have stayed in .The service was great but you do get your own coffee and sodas here.They have a beautiful beach and awesome pool.The hotel grounds are a good work out and not for people with health issues.Check in was a breeze 5 minutes top.Our room was clean and in good working order,only complaint is no coffee or filters in room but there is a coffee pot.We booked all our excursions through Costa Rica Northwest and that is the way to go you have a personal english speaking guide and a private tour what ever you do.If we return to this side of the country we would certainly come back here.

Room Tip: We were in building 7 great view not a bad walk and you could not hear the music.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank funinthesun91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    588
    448
    275
    241
See reviews for
474
748
47
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Heredia, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 26, 2014

When I booked this hotel, it showed that you could dine in their Italian restaurant, turns out you can only book if you stay more than 3 nights... so much for a weekend getaway dinner...

They offer a boat trip to another beach. well turns out that since we were only 4 people, they cancelled, and did not tell us. we just waited on the beach like a total ...

There are a lot of great resorts in COsta RIca, like Conchal! there you really get your money worth

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dangarri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Just got back from a 2 week stay here and had a superior vacation. There is so much to do both at the resort and outside (on excursions from 3 different tour operators at the resort and several more who roam the beach - choose your beach operator carefully as, unlike the ones who operate from the resort and are reliable and insured, the beach roamers are neither). This resort is rated as a 3.5 star and it is. It is not a 5 star and if you come looking for such accommodations, you will leave disappointed. If however, you are looking for clean, reasonable rooms and good value for your money, you will love this resort. Everyone we talked to said the same thing - it is not perfect but for what we paid, it was excellent value. It was opened in the year 2000 and is a little worn around the edges so I would expect that some renovations are not too far in the future but it was clean and everything in our room worked (the a/c, coffee maker, fridge, shower and safe). We had a couple of minor problems (room key didn't work at first, an a/c unit that leaked water all over the floor) but these problems were looked after immediately by very accommodating staff. The room keys were recoded immediately for us and never again gave us problems. The a/c was fixed in less than 30 minutes and it too functioned flawlessly for the rest of our stay.

The food was excellent and the menu at the buffet changed daily. The a-la carte Italian restaurant was a real treat with many superior items on the menu and exceptional service. We didn't care as much for the Tex-Mex restaurant but that is not our style of food. It had nothing to do with their food or service. There was also a grill open 11-5 for hamburgers, hot dogs, fries and pizza to keep you going all afternoon.

The beach was exceptional. It is a black sand (volcanic) beach so wear footwear or you will burn your feet walking to the water, which can be a long walk at low tide. At low tide, you can walk for over a kilometre down to a second white sand beach and even though we walked it on a weekend, it was never crowded. Because it is on a sheltered bay, forget surfing but for kayaking, swimming or sailing, it is perfect. The pool was a delight: clean, never that crowded and with several different lobes for swimmers, families and an 8 inch deep section for young children.

As the resort is built into the side of a steep hill, there can be a lot of climbing up and down steep roads to get to and from the pool, restaurants, etc. The resort does have a frequent shuttle to assist those who need it. If you do have mobility difficulties, ask for a room in building 15, right at pool, beach and food levels.

DO NOT miss out on the excursions offered by several tour operators at the resort. In particular, try the trip to Nicaragua, a long day trip but well worth it. The trip to the Rincon de le Vieja volcano allows you to hike around bubbling mud pits and fumeroles, all a result of the local volcanic activity. Or go to the Arenal volcano and enjoy an afternoon in the naturally heated spa waters. The only trip that was a disappointment was the trip to Monteverde. The roads getting in and out are so bad that one 40 km section of road took 2.5 hours each way. The zip lines, canopy walks and coffee tours on this trip are all available on other excursions much closer to the resort (without the bone jarring journey of 14 hours round trip).

The staff are very friendly and almost all speak English so getting around the resort or understanding your guides on excursions is easy.

Would I go back again? DEFINITELY. It was a clean, well maintained facility that offered great value for the $$. But just remember what I said at the beginning. It is a 3.5 star resort in a third world country. You will notice some minor flaws around the edges as some reviewers gleefully posted their photos to show. I found no bugs in the room (except for some ants that got in when I left the balcony door open - my fault). I found a few discoloured floor tiles (clean but discoloured). But I am looking forward to returning to this resort next year. There were so many activities that I just could not fit into this year's holiday.

Room Tip: If you have trouble walking up hills, ask for buildings 14 or 15. They are closest to the pool, thea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank CanadianTourist58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We visited this resort Feb 11-18, 2014 with an open mind because we read some good reviews and some not so good reviews about it but we booked last minute due to work commitments so decided beggars couldn't be choosers. Now that we have been there, DON'T LISTEN to the bad reviews!! This is a 3.5 star resort and it is awesome!

Nolitours- we booked with Nolitours and I highly recommend it to anyone going on any trip. I upgraded us to Options Plus for the flight and I was worth every penny (if anyone wants to email me about what this all includes I will be happy to explain it). Our rep Jack, was very helpful at the resort and is a Canadian so there was no language barrier. If there was anything wrong with your room or anything else Jack was ready to help you. As part of the Nolitour VIP experience, we had a bottle of rum in our room and in our frig were 2 bottles of juice and 2 bottles of water and we had 2 bags of peanuts for snacks.

Check in and rooms- at check in we realized that they used my second name Michelle, instead of my first name and even Michelle became Melanie so they said they didn't have a room in my name. However, they got us one very quickly and we thought it would either be a really good one or a really bad one. It turned out that we got a room in the premium building (building 10, right at the top of the stairs that lead to the pool, buffet and bar) that everyone wanted to be in! We had a frig and a coffee maker (some rooms apparently didn't have either), our air conditioner worked and didn't leak (we heard some did), we had a screen door on our deck (heard some didn't), had facecloths (most of the time 2 of them) every day, had more towels than we could use and had great maid service (we tipped or left a gift every day). We discovered we could even get wifi in our room (picked up from the buffet area) so I actually sat on the deck and watched an episode of my fav show on Netflix late at night.
At the shuttle station that was right by our building there was a water dispenser and an ice machine so you could re-fill your bottles whenever you wanted. Very nice touch and much appreciated.

We only booked one off resort tour and that was to Nicaragua. We left at 5 AM and got back at 8:30 PM and it was worth every minute! Great tour that I highly recommend.
The only bad thing is there is not much for shopping at the resort so you have to travel to do shopping but for us that wasn't really an issue. We did have an hour in a market in Nicaragua where I got all the souvenirs I needed to get.

This resort in built on a hill (see pics others have posted) so be prepared to sweat a little if you walk to the lobby or your room if it is higher up. The shuttle bus goes constantly and we never waited more than 2 or 3 minutes to get the shuttle up to the lobby. It is a good hike though so if you have trouble walking, breathing issues or just are out of shape, wait for the shuttle!

Food- the food was excellent! Fresh watermelon, papya, pineapple, bananas, apples and oranges every day. The papya was the best I have ever had and the watermelon was amazing. There was an omelette bar every morning as well as 100's of other items. At lunch there was always fresh pasta, something on the BBQ, fresh fruit, soup, fresh fish, fresh bread, and 100's of other items. There was also a snack bar open during the afternoon that had pizza (husband said it was so-so), hotdogs (didn't try), hamburgers (again, hubby said they were ok), French fries (good)and onion rings (excellent!) as well as the BEST chicken fingers I have ever had. They weren't there every day but on those days there were tacquitos and some other fried choices. At night, there was so many choices it was great. They also served wine and had the chairs covered every night to make it look more elegant. We certainly never went hungry and if anyone does, it is their own fault!

Pool/bar- the pool is a great shape and had a quiet area it you didn't want to be in the noisy swim up bar area. Water volleyball was played every day and there was also aquacize every day. The water was extremely clean and sooo warm. There were lots of pool loungers and we never couldn't find a lounger. The main bar had a couple pool tables that we used a number of times. The drinks were awesome- they make one of the best pina coladas I have ever had! we took bubba kegs along from home so one pina colada lasted me most of the day! Bartenders were fun and made anything you asked them to. We discovered at night some raccoon like critters come into the pool/bar area and they aren't afraid of people. On of the little buggers even reached up and tipped over my pina colada so he and his 2 buddies could lap it up from the floor! We saw one woman feed them from her hand and even pet one on the head- DON"T DO THIS! These are wild animals and if they would bite you it could be a very bad scene.
The main bar closed around 11 and then the disco was open with a bar until 2 AM. We did not even step foot in the disco and would have liked the main bar to stay open later. There was karaoke one night and a one man band another night and both were fun!

Beach- the beach is great- we love the ocean and spent a lot of our time there but we did learn the hard way just how HOT that black sand is!! DO NOT take your sandals off and walk to the water. You will probably get blisters on the bottoms of your feet if you do! There are lots of fish in the ocean that like to wrap around your legs as you are walking. It's really cool! We also saw tons of manta rays and puffer fish when we waded to the rocks when the tide was out. The water is incredibly warm and we stayed in for hours at a time. As a bonus the trees at the beach are home to a bunch of white faced monkeys. You are not supposed to feed them but lots of people did feed them bananas, bread and fresh water. Great photo ops for sure!

There was a nightly show but we didn't usually go to them. The one we did see was like a play which involved audience members and it was really funny!

Harold is the general manager and man, does he work hard! He is on top of everything and told us to make sure we get a hold of him if we need anything.

The weather was fabulous- +35 or more every day without a cloud in the sky. Take lots of sunscreen and use it!

All in all, we enjoyed our stay at this resort and have no problem recommending it to friends. Anyone can email be at tamaroncollies@gmail.com if they want some more info.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have incredible views but the hills are steep. Our building was #10 and it was right at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AlbertaTrudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severn Bridge, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Check in was quick and easy, front desk staff were friendly and helpful (that never has happened at any resort I have ever been to). Check out the view around the corner from the front desk and grab a cool cocktail at the bar you will be pleasantly surprised it is breath taking. Avoid the store at the lobby it is more then expensive!!!. The shuttle (very hilly) took us to our room 1123 building 11. Great room, beautiful view and right above and outside the ice/water machine and shuttle p/u. We had no problems with our room, everything worked well for 2 weeks including our sweet efficient maid. We had clean towels, face cloths, bath mats, toilet paper and soap whenever we needed it. Our room was kept very clean, beds made nice and tight everyday and 2 packs of coffee for morning. Our air conditioner and mini fridge worked perfect and we had a blow dryer that worked better then the one I bought in Canada. We were also lucky enough to have pleasant "happy hour neighbours" (Mike & Carla) that we could share our daily experiences with over a drink on our balconies while we were getting ready for dinner......miss them already.

Beach..... We spent most of our time at the beach when we weren't touring. The beach is awesome, tide comes in and out every 6 hours and with it comes a lot of interesting creatures. You can also snorkel at the beach and see stingrays and small/medium fish. Just remember to keep track of your beach bags etc. because when the tide starts to come in, it comes in fast. If you should go for a walk around the shore line past the beach resort do not put your belongings down and walk away because they just might not be there when you get back, even though it might look like there is no one around. So just use common sense like you would at home. We did find the resort part of the beach and around the pool at the resort to be very honest and safe. If anything the white faced adorable monkeys near the beach might take your stuff and then throw it back at you when they realize it is not edible. Please only give them water as everything else.....(french fries, chips, bananas, other fruits etc.) can make them very sick. You will also see large Iquanas at the base of the trees where the monkeys hang out. The wildlife at this resort is pretty cool you just have to look.

Pool......We didn't spend as much time at the pool, but when we did we never had a problem getting a lounge seemed to be a lot of lounge chairs even on the other side of the shrubs around the pool. They do have pool activities and other activities if you choose to do them. The pool is very large and has a swim up bar, quiet area and volley ball area. They also offer aqua fit and water polo.

Food.......WOW it was the best tasting and a wide variety of food and fruit I have seen at a buffet in a long time. We were there 2 weeks and never got tired of the food. They also have a great greasy snack bar that was very yummy, if I did experience a line up for the buffet it went very quick but also gave you time to make new friends in line after all we were on vacation and really what is the hurry. The staff were great always had a smile and worked very hard most could speak english and the ones that couldn't still would try to communicate. We never tried the Italian but did eat at the Mexican restaurant 3 times and had great experiences all 3 times. I have no complaints about the food at all you should always be able to find something you like with a buffet the size this one was. Also never felt or got sick which is unusual for me on vacation, I usually have some strange thing going on with my stomach but not this time.

Staff......All staff from the front desk to the hard working gardener were more then helpful, polite and very friendly. The majority could speak english and would go out of there way to help you. The manager Harold Rojas is more then willing to make sure things are going well for you and is eager to see you are having a good time. The entertainment in the evenings is alright something different everynight. If you pay attention to the staff you will see how hard they work, they all have at least 3 to 4 different roles...... talk about multi-tasking. There is also security that walks around 24 hours a day, not that I ever witnessed a problem. If you are a tipper be sure to tip the security, garderner, pool boys etc. not just the people cleaning your room, making your drinks or in the dining rooms.

Tours............We did the zip lining, horse back riding, water tubing, mud bath, hot springs and delicious organic lunch....WOW!!!! it was great. We also rented a car from AVIS at the lobby for 24 hours, what an experience that was............a postive one by the way. It was so easy to get around with the GPS and all the locals were so helpful, we felt very comfortable and were able to see and go where we wanted to at our leisure, I highly recommend it. It costs $144.00us for best insurance, 3 licenced drivers, GPS, and a Nissan SUV. We stayed out after dark and felt very safe and it was for sure so much fun........you need your homeland licence and a raised number credit card.
We also went snorkeling with Matthew Extreme Costa Rica (506) 5014-0624 if you talk to my daughter she will tell you the highlite of the trip possibly her life. He picked us up at our beach at 9am. and he (Mat), Allan his assistant (driver) myself and my daughter headed out to snorkel. My daughter would rather be underwater then on top or on land for me it was pretty much my first time snorkeling. Matthew was so helpful and so was Allan, they really went out of their way to find fish and bring them to you. There are both so knowledgeable and careful with the environment it was such a postive experience for me. But the best was finding a sea turtle for my daughter to hold, touch, and swim with was an experience we both will never forget. We got Matthews name from someone on the beach and I am so glad we did. So if snorkeling for 2/3 hours is what you want and want to see some fish and interesting underwater sights he is the person to go with. He also offers other things just ask him and if he can't do it I am more then sure he could recommend someone. He really is a great guy.

All in all it was a great vacation, I am not new to travelling but something I have learned is treat people and their country the way you would like you and yours to be treated and you should have a wonderful time. Have respect, have fun and relax after all you are on vacation.....what is your hurry.

Enjoy Costa Rica................Pura Vida!

Room Tip: Building 11 or 10 are at the top of the stairs from the entertainment area, beach, and pool. But sti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

My 58 year old mother took me away for two weeks for my 30th birthday on Feb 6th-20th 2014 (bless her heart). This was both our first time travelling to Costa Rica and we were not disappointed one bit. We are great travel companions and have travelled to many places together before. We are not 5 star people and this trip and location more than exceeded our expectations. We read many reviews about this resort before booking and were a little apprehensive from all the negative comments but went ahead anyway and are very glad we did.

Location:

This resort is approx. a half hour from the airport. It was a direct bus ride there; we didn't have to stop to drop off other people on the way, which was nice. The drive into the resort is breath taking. The view of the ocean from the lobby is fantastic. The resort is rather secluded, so if you are the adventurous type that would like to go into town and see the shops and locals sites it's about an 80 dollar cab ride return with four people, the less people the more pricey. The resort is EXTREMELY hilly, (and they are steep). There is a shuttle that runs constantly from 7 am to 11pm that will take you to your building. The buildings are all three stories. We were on the second floor of building 11. The view was amazing and the water/ ice station was located at the shuttle station in front of our room, which was great to fill up our Bubbas (oversized mug) before bed. If you are elderly, have any disabilities or like to stay up late and get drunk I would suggest staying in the rooms near the pool and bar (buildings 10, 11 or 12). For the most part everyone goes to bed somewhat early because the shuttle stops at 11 and nobody wants to mountain climb to their rooms, therefore it wasn't that noisy in that area.

Rooms:

The rooms are pretty standard. They have a safe in the room that cost 28 bucks US for two weeks. Our air condition was amazing, I swear I could see my breath at times it was so cold in there. That's what you get for travelling with a menopausal mother. Fresh bath towels were provided daily. We also had hot water and a toilet the flushed. The maids were very honest and great! be sure to leave a little something daily for them. Every room had a balcony facing the ocean. The resort also provided beach towels that could be exchanged daily for fresh ones down by the pool. If you lose the towel there is a $20.00 fee when you leave. Like mentioned before I would recommend getting a room in building 10 or 11 on the second or third floor, it's close to everything.

Staff:

The staff here were AMAZING!!!! Everyone that worked there, and I mean everyone, from the security guards, the guys scrubbing the pools to the front desk, bartenders and servers were all fantastic. Most of the staff can speak English and are very helpful. Johnny, Jimmy, Donald, David, Gerald, Christian, Katherine are just some of the gems that work there. The staff does an amazing job of keeping the resort very clean. The manager in the buffet, Xavier, is wonderful and is always making sure everything is okay. If there's a line up to get in the buffet not to worry, it moves fast! If you treat the staff the way you would like to be treated you will have a great time.

Food:

There are two a la carts. One is Italian, which we did not try. We heard mixed reviews about it. But I'm sure it was fine because the pasta in the buffet alone was great. The second one is Mexican. We went to that one three times. It was very good. They say you have to book the a la carts first thing in the morning in the lobby but if you are up there for any reason at any time, try and books it then. If there is room they will usually let you. We were there for two weeks and I did not get sick of the food once (nor did I get sick from it). The buffet was great with switching things up. I'm not a huge fish fan, but man, they had amazing fish every night. There's a snack bar that is open during lunch, sometimes during dinner, and late night. This place is dangerously good, (especially when you've had a couple cocktails). Pizza, fries, onion rings, fried jalapeño poppers, nachos, cheese sauce, chili, etc. I only made it to breakfast twice and it was GREAT. It starts at 6:30 am and ends at 9:30 am. If you wanted to buy any chips or snack things like that I suggest you bring them from home because you will pay an arm and a leg at the store in the lobby. Bottled water up there is anywhere from 5-9 US dollars. Bring a reusable water bottle with a big mouth so you can fill it up with ice and water at the water stations, this way you won't have to buy water.

Money:

We took US dollars and that was fine to use in and off the resort. We didn't bother changing our money. If we received change in their currency we tried to get rid of it before leaving.

Beach

The beach is black sand and in one area it gets superhot!!! So make sure you wear shoes when walking down to the beach. The tide goes in and out every 6 hours or so. A little tip, leave you stuff at the edge of the hot black sand or on a chair back from the water no matter how far out the tide is (or be sure to keep an eye on your stuff) because it takes a while to get out to waist height in the water and the tide comes in very fast so if you leave your stuff at the edge of the ocean it will be underwater by the time you can get to it. The area in front of the resort is pretty safe for leaving your stuff on the beach, nothing got stolen and we didn't hear or any problems. However if you decide to walk the beach, which is very beautiful just beware of your surroundings. It may seem like no one is around and you are the only one walking but there are people in the bush area. A couple on the resort walked a fare distance to the other beach off the resort and there was no one around, they left their bag on the beach, went for a swim, when they turned around their bag was gone. Also if you are going to take a huge walk on the beach remember the tide and how fast it comes up, you could be swimming back.

Pool:

The pool is huge! I'm not a fan of pools, they kind of gross me out, but I did go in it maybe 4 times. They clean it every morning and have water volley ball, and water polo daily, as well as aqua fit in the mornings which is done in front of the swim up bar, so most are "working out" with drink in hand. There's a shaded area near the hot tub (don't ask.... I don't know who would want to sit in a hot tub in 35 degree weather either) as well as many shaded areas around the pool. Finding chairs near the pool or the beach was never a problem. There is a quiet section along the pool as well if you want to read and chill out. There's also a bathroom near the pool. There is access to the pool by a ladder as well as being wheel chair accessible. There are very shallow areas and it doesn't get really deep (just above my chest at points, and I'm 5"7). There is also a swim up bar that I believe closes at 5. I suggest avoiding a 3 am swim because that's when they put all the chemicals in the pool; I found that out the hard way. There is no life guard at the pool at any time. As far as swimming times go, I didn't see any and people would still be in the pool when it was dark.

Wild Life:

The resort has a bunch of trees before getting to the beach; these trees are usually filled with monkeys. They are very entertaining. There were multiple white face monkeys that would show up daily. There is a sign up saying please do not feed the animals, but everyone did. I suggest not feeding them but giving them fresh water. If you poor fresh water in your hand they will come down and drink it right out of the palm of your hand. DO NOT feed them crap such as French fries, hot dogs, chips etc. One lady gave them a bag of ruffle chips and they ran up the tree and ate them. It doesn't take a genius to know monkeys do not eat chips! The even say that feeding them the bananas are bad, because the bananas are not grown in that area so their system are not used to digesting them. Feeding them garbage can make them extremely ill and possibly kill them. There are also howler monkeys. These are the black ones that stay up in the tops of the trees and make a noise you have never heard before. You can hear them at night and in the mornings and the noise they make sounds like it is coming from a massive 900 pound monster. It's pretty incredible. There are a ton of raccoons, like the ones you have at home as well as this other thing that looks like a raccoon, but it has a long tail and a sort of ant eater face. I would suggest to not touching ether of them. During the day there are iguanas walking around.

Snorkeling:

I'm a huge fan of snorkeling. I brought my own gear to the resort and went out when the tide was in. In front of the resort there is not a lot to see. I saw some sting rays and some porcupine fish/ puffer fish and that's about it. The resort offers tours to go out but I 100% suggest going with Matt. A woman from Alberta staying at the resort passed his info to us and I will do you a solid and pass it on to you. This was one of my favourite snorkeling experiences! Matt is from the states and moved to Costa Rica to start up a snorkeling business. It was $50.00 US dollars per person. He picked us up in his boat at 9 am at the resort and dropped us off at noon. It was so wonderful! It was just my mother and I, which was amazing to have our own private tour. Matt is so laid back and basically made the trip to whatever we wanted to do. It was so nice to be on our open schedule and not be with 30 other tourists. Matt, who can speak English and Spanish and Allan (the driver of the boat) who mainly spoke Spanish take you around the bay, tell you about the resorts and waters and will answer any questions you may have. The first snorkel spot is not far from the resort but is so beautiful. My mother had never snorkeled before and Matt was so great with her. He has all the gear if you need it. Both Allan and Matt come with you and they search for stuff to show you. First he handed me a "puffer" fish or porcupine fish all blown up, then other fish that expand as well. I found a beautiful sea turtle. He came over and gently picked it up for me to see it up close and touch it. He spots out cool stuff that I would have never seen on my own. That experience was incredible. It's always been my dream to swim with a sea turtle and Matt said my chances of seeing one would be slim. So I was ecstatic when I found one. From there they take you to a second spot, on the way they threw in some lines to try and catch a fish, they were unsuccessful but would have been cool if they had of caught something. You can sometimes see whales in the area where we were. We did not but other people staying at the resort did. The second spot was rocky and different from the first. If we wanted to go to Coco beach from there he offered to take us. My mom and I would both recommend him for snorkeling for sure and if you wanted to go to Coco he does trips to there as well. His info is

Extreme Costa Rica
Matthew in Playa Panama, Guanacaste
(506) 5014-0624 or
(506) 5015-4804
matt@extremecr.com
www.extremecr.com

Smoking:

Costa Rica is not big on smoking. This is the first resort I have been to where they make the smokers smoke in a designated area near the beach. They are pretty strict about it. There are not a lot of ash trays so you may want to bring a travelling one.

Bars:

The pool bar closed at 5 I think, the main bar closes at 11p.m, then the disco opens and it usually open until 2. The main bar has pool tables and a fuse ball table.

Trips / tours:

We rented a car from AVIS, which is right on the resort and Oliver is very helpful and makes the process really easy. I recommend doing this. Driving was a breeze. Make sure you get a GPS for an extra ten bucks. We drove to the waterfalls, then to the seashell beach (la Playa Conshel) (bring your snorkel stuff there if you go) and we hit up some local bars. It was an amazing day!


We also did the horseback riding, zip lining, water slide, mud bath / hot spring tour. It was great. It was $117.00 US each but well worth it. There was a 5 year old and a 75 year old who did the zip lining. My mom, who is scared of heights even did it and loved it. Make sure you book the one with the 5 course meal not the buffet. They are the same trips just different locations and different lunches. The 5 course lunch is amazing!

We didn't do many excursions but the ones we did do we really enjoyed!

All in all my mom and I had an AMAZING two weeks, it didn't rain once, (dry season) the temp/ weather was fantastic. The people we met were great and the resort we thoroughly enjoyed! We wouldn't come back only because we don't stay at the same place twice ever, but I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: I would suggest requesting buildings 10, 11 or 12 and stay on the 2nd or 3rd floors. These rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Seaturtle84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Just thought we should write a review:

We stayed here from the 13th to 20th of february, and it was great, we are both students and decided to go here for our study break.

Check In- When we arrived there was no line and checking in was quick and easy. The staff at the desk do their best to speak english and there was no problems. The lobby is huge and gorgeous, and you can start your stay off with a drink from the lobby bar which provides an incredible view. The lobby is also a great spot to get wifi from the couches or in the air conditioned computer area.

The room - We had a "superior room" which is actually just their way of saying the cheapest, but they were still great. No need to upgrade to their "superior ocean view" because we had a great view to enjoy from our balcony. The rooms come in either two double beds or one king size, we ended up with the two double beds which was unfortunate but you didn't really notice anyways. The website says all rooms come with coffee makers and mini fridges, ours didn't, but we didn't plan on spending much time in the room anyways.

Beach - The beach is absolutely awesome! after we unpacked in our rooms we immediately went to the beach. At low tide you can walk forever! We explored roughly a kilometre of beach and found some nice spots with palm trees to watch the sunset over the incredible landscape. When we returned to the resort part of the beach we were greeted by the white-faced monkeys and gave them water to drink. When the water is at low tide you can walk even farther past a small rocky section to "Playa limpia" which is a gorgeous light sand beach. Both beaches are very secluded and quiet, we rarely saw anyone else and it was never crowded.

Pool - The pool is great too, you have to save some seats by it early in the morning or you will miss out. we chose to swim there some mornings after breakfast and once the sun went down before dinner (we found these times were quiet) Overall we didn't spend much time at the pool as we wanted to either be at the beach or off the resort, but it is nice, and they have a swim up bar and daily pool volleyball and entertainment.

Food - The buffet was typically the best food, quick, plenty of options and always fresh fruit at every meal. The morning omelette bar is also a big plus. The staff at the buffet always great you with a smile and are very friendly. "la trattoria" the italian restaurant, was overall good. It was a nice break from the buffet. The food was better than I expected after reading reviews. "La Cantina" the Mexican restaurant we were told was very good but found the food was kind of terrible. Others have really liked it so we may have just been there on a bad night.

Service - The staff were always very helpful, friendly and respectful. They would always greet you with a smile and we never had any trouble with any of them. Some dont speak english but the ones that do, try their hardest.

(Hopefully) Useful tips:
- For cheap excursions the girl that shares the room with the currency exchange seemed to have much better rates. We went on the trip to Nicaragua and it was $25-$30 cheaper than the other companies there. (The Nicaragua tour is definitely worth it too, absolutely amazing value and an unforgettable experience, the one we went on was through "plus papagoya")

- You dont really need to pay $2 a day for the safe, all they do is give you a sheet with instructions on how to program it, most people could probably figure it out.

- The shop in the lobby is horribly overpriced, don't buy anything from there. There is a tour to Coco beach where you can do shopping for a more fair price and there is even a super market if you want snacks. Nicaragua was cheaper than Costa Rica for nearly everything including souvenirs, snacks and drinks. If you go to the markets and even in some downtown areas, Kids will try and give you "free" gifts, DON'T take them, they will just follow you around until you give them money.

- The airport is also overpriced, on our way out we went to the restaurant and it ended up costing $63 US for 2 of us to get burgers and water.

- Wifi is available at the lobby and the pool. The pool is hit and miss but the lobby usually connects all the time.

- The resort is all steep hills, they do have a shuttle that does rounds constantly throughout the day. At each stop there is either a bottled water or ice machine (some have both) these are very useful.

- A refillable water bottle is a must to bring, it is very hot and you will want water! we didn't think to bring any and had to buy some. We also noticed many guests with travel mugs (some had bubba mugs) to get filled by the bartender, not bad advice because the drinks they give you at the bar are very small and get warm in the sun.


Overall an amazing trip to Costa Rica, in the words of one of the tour guides "It's a third world country, If you want to complain, go to the 4 seasons and pay $800 a night for a 5 star experience with all the comforts, then you can complain."

Its a gorgeous country and if you can look past the tiny defects some people post pictures of you will have great time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Matt622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gulf of Papagayo hotels
0.8 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,574 reviews
3.6 mi away
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
#2 of 3 in Playa Panama
699 reviews
3.7 mi away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Occidental Papagayo - Adults only
Occidental Papagayo - Adults onl...
#7 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
3,261 reviews
2.9 mi away
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
#3 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,842 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allegro Papagayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allegro Papagayo

Property: Allegro Papagayo
Address: Playa Manzanillo | P.O. Box 48-5000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#7 Luxury Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#7 Spa Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Allegro Papagayo 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Allegro Papagayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allegro Papagayo Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo
Allegro Papagayo Costa Rica
Allegro Papagayo Gulf Of
Allegro Papagayo Occidental
Costa Rica Occidental
Occidental Papagayo
Allegro Papagayo Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing