We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Allegro Papagayo January 2014”
Review of Allegro Papagayo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Allegro Papagayo
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Gulf of Papagayo
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Setting is beautiful, beach is black volcanic sand (very interesting. Resort is in a bay with calm water and high and low tides. Food was great - lots of fresh fruit and vegetables, staff is friendly, rooms are awful - our room had no hot water and needed a really good clean and updating.
The strong points: Beautiful location, good food, friendly staff, lots of interesting wildlife right on the resort (monkeys, iguanas, birds).
The weak points: Rooms are in bad shape, needed to be well scrubbed, no hot water in our room, other visitors commented about different issues. This resort is a little isolated, not close to a town so costly to travel anywhere.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,861)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

339 - 345 of 1,861 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2014

The resort and the staff were very pleasant during the week pf Jan 14-21, 2014)
The resort is a bit older, and yes, your toilet might run or even look a bit odd, and your A/C unit might leak, but we were pleased. Just a note that the Hot water is tepid in most cases...
There seem to be a lot of poor and negative reviews but we found them to be untrue and everyone else seemed to be having just as much fun. Beds too can be hit and miss.. we had a horrible couple but camping prepares you for the worse.

The sand is black,(volcanic) and SCREAMING HOT so please walk with appropriate footwear. Tide comes in and goes out, water is clear and nice with fishes coming right up to you... Can walk for miles when tide is out... No dishes is allowed on the beach even though we saw others with it we were stopped. There is a sign to NOT feed animals but tons of people ignored this sign and continued to do it... So please do NOT feed the Wild animals!!!

This hotel is built on a hill / mountain but there is a bus that runs about every 10 minutes but there are still STEPS to go down to the buffet and bar and beach. However there were people with crutches and and a wheelchair moving about (except for the beach).

Bugs... only one day there were some no see ums but i had bug spray , please bring your epi pen and after bite and a small first aid kit for mishaps or to help others out
Food was good, there was lots of it... but personally Panama the food was 10 times better
Lots of choices and there was something for everyone's taste. The coffee was great and though service was slow at times we helped ourselves to the wine and coffee. Tipping was optional but not a necessity, they do work hard for what some of us make in an hour and if you try a few words of spanish even better as they do want to learn and practice their english.

The two a la cartes - Mexican one ok, and the Italian one which we did not bother with as you MUST book these on the day itself at 8 am.. any later and you are out of luck and some people can get testy in the line.. so please leave your attitudes at home.

Excursions: While we did NOT go on any by choice.. the shopping trip was 35$ per person by boat or you can do the bus trip for 8- with a 4 person minimum. we could only book for the sunday after arriving on tuesday , which we later found out was a good trip but most places are run by the Expats so prices are getting higher and higher.
As for the others prices ranged from 85 to 200 per person, the only one appealing to me was the Nicaragua trip at $185 PP. note this is an all day trip leaving at 5am returning at 10:30 at night. so i gave it a pass as i already work those hours. if you are considering this please take things for the school kids as they also visit a school and small village.
For the people going to the Rain forest just know that it rains there... we heard a couple complaining about this and the mud she had to trek thru in her good shoes. the volcano trip and zip lining i heard was quite good but it was too cloudy to see much so please remember no one can tell the weather to be perfect for you. just enjoy the trip for what it is.

There are people on the beach selling stuff, they do not hassle you too much; car rental can range from 125$ per day so be forewarned. on Nolitours they pay your departure/exit tax of $29. which is a nice addition. The concierge on the beach will try to "give" a free tour or night to their adult hotel but its ONLY for couples or single women. he did not understand my partner and i was a married couple and yes there were a couple of other "gays" as well. we were never treated unfairly or out of place.

Internet: free at lobby, buffet and bar but it was slow and did not work all the time. Phone service is very expensive so be forewarned to turn your data off and your phone as well to avoid surprises. there is a prepaid service available for unlocked phones but because we were delayed we missed the rep who has a small kiosk before you get your luggage. There is also a Scotia Bank machine for cash in colones as well.

Will visit again in the future

Room Tip: dont forget sunscreen, book on a wednesday or thursday. comp room after checkout is a myth. it is pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank creepwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

This resort and the staff were very pleasant during the week we stayed (Jan 23-30, 2014)
The resort is a bit older, and yes, your toilet might run, and your A/C unit might leak (we put one of the extra garbage cans in our room under it), but all in all we were pleased. There seem to be a lot of poor reviews, but we have travelled a fair bit and don't see why they are so negative.

If you play beach volleyball and it's a "must have" at a resort...you might want to think twice about coming here. The sand is black, and SCREAMING HOT...it's also quite thin in the volleyball court area. We didn't play once. The staff do help by wetting it down, but then the sand is harder and it sticks to everything. We were disappointed, but now we know. Luckily we came with a big group and we all just played it in the pool, which has a pretty nice area for it.
There is also organized water polo in the pool, which was super fun.

Food was good, there was lots of it...better than Cuba, about the same as Dominican, but not as good as Mexico. Lots of choices and everything was properly cooked and tasty.

The two a la cartes - Mexican one was great, and the Italian one had just gotten a new menu while we were there and it was fantastic (I saw it got pretty bad reviews before we went). The seafood soup was great there, as was the shrimp fettuccine.
Word of advice - don't go for the last seating of the night - we did that at the Mexican one and they were running out of things. Other than that it was great.

We did the Canyon excursion thru the resort (we travelled with Nolitours and Jacques was our rep - he was a bit overzealous at times, but very nice, and very helpful)
This gave us a full day consisting of zip-lining, horseback riding, river tubing (lots of small water falls and rapids - not for the un-adverturous person!), and then a volcanic mud bath (it stinks but feels great) followed by a hot spring soak - it included lunch, and bottles of water. It was $130 a person and we felt it was pretty good for the money.

WHEN IT SAYS THE RESORT IS ON A HILL, THEY AREN'T KIDDING - THE WALKING IS FREAKING CRAZY!!!
That being said, we are both fit people in our 30's, but I would recommend staying in Buildings 5, 6 or 7. They aren't too far from the pool/restaurants/beach, but they aren't lower and close to the disco (which is crazy loud) either. The buildings 1-4 are very high up! The lobby is at the top of the hill, but not much goes on there. The view is amazing from the lobby bar though - the view of the water and the marina is awesome.
The shuttles come by about every 5 - 10 minutes, so you can shuttle everywhere, if mobility is an issue don't let it stop you from coming here, but be aware there are about 30 steps up/down from where the shuttle drops you to the dining and pool areas. It's a lot of climbing for older people or ones with mobility issues.

Minor was our favourite bartender at the pool, he is super nice, and we left him with a football and a nice Canada towel for his son. There were 12 of us that travelled together and all the staff knew us well by the end of the trip. No complaints with the staff at all.

If you request a king sized bed when booking, just know that all 6 couples that went requested one, and not one of us got one...we had two doubles, so it wasn't horrible, but I'm not sure if we just went on a bad week, or whether there just aren't that many king beds.

Please give this little resort a try - we found it to be very nice, and would likely stay here again if we come back to Costa Rica.

Pura Vida

Room Tip: I would recommend staying in Buildings 5, 6 or 7. They aren't too far from the pool/restaurants...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ben-Laurie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

The Allegro is a Old Hotel much work needed in rooms, Mold on most of ceilings in bathrooms and some throughout room, located on a mountain, very steep hills to contend to get around resort, not friendly for people with any mobility problem, beach is black sand gets very hot around 0100p.m need footwear on your feet they do speak English but mostly Spanish on resort, service well lets say it took us 3 days to get a mini fridge changed for another that didn't work, in that mini fridge you get 2 little water bottles and 2 mini juices for the week a coffee maker with one coffee pouch for the week, food nothing to speak of very conservative menu and desserts very big on jello red or green beautiful views of Bay not ocean in the 5/6/7 buildings.We will return to Costa Rica however will not be using the Occidental resort chain. Not a positive Experience If you can afford this apparent 4 star resort go for a 5 or higher I would rate this Hotel a 21/2 or 3 star max.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Michael B

i stayed at the Allegro Papagayo in january 2014 for 2 weeks.

i had lots of fun the activities offered by the Fun Club and the entertainment team where fun interesting and definitely kept me busy during my trip they are truly the life blood of the hotel. we had a wide range of activities to chose from. the food was good the fruits where really fresh. The a la carte restaurant was amazing. The beach is spectacular beautiful black volcanic sand.
The dancing troop for the night show was incredible the quality of the choreography and the dancing skills displayed was really impressive their best dancer was Marilyn.
The room was really clean and my room was always done in the morning.
The drinks where great and the snack bar was great.
in general it was a great hotel a great location and a great staff

Room Tip: rooms near the swimming pool are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michael b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

This was our second visit to Allegro Papagayo, almost one year after our first trip, which I reviewed last year. In the interest of fairness, I will contrast the two experiences. WORSE : the reception staff were not receptive to a change in room to one that was midway between the top of the hill and the poolside. For older individuals, it is important to note that walking up the hills can be challenging. However, even more disappointing was that a RETURN VISITOR was not accorded any special consideration for what they had (positively) experienced the year before. The room that we were assigned was run down, did not have a functioning refrigerator, had a very stiff sliding screen door to the balcony, did not have functioning air-conditioning, was missing a shower curtain, had one third of the light bulbs burnt out and had maid service that always missed one item. A single facecloth for two people ultimately became zero facecloths. A small pile of dirt was unswept for three days. Furthermore, the "free" Wifi was not functioning in either the lobby or the bar area. We tried in the morning to make reservations for the complimentary use of the 3 kayaks. We were told at 10 am that reservations were only taken at 9 am and 1 pm. The attendant, Jefferson, had the clipboard in his hand but refused to take a reservation. We returned at 1230, were the first there, and shortly after 1 pm the attendant allowed a Costa Rican couple to sign up first. When I pointed out in my limited Spanish that we were there first, the answer was to the effect of, "We serve Costa Ricans first". So if you are a Canadian, be aware and be willing to assert yourself. In my view, the reservations should be handled at the pool-side Charlie's Adventures shop, where they clearly have the expertise to take reservations for various paid and unpaid excursions. Small-minded clipboard-wielding tyrants should not be hired to take reservations. And while on the Canadian theme, it is hard for me to understand why Canadian currency cannot be used, with the appropriate exchange rate, just as the US dollar is used. As Canadians provide a significant contribution to the CR economy, this slight should be corrected by the hotel.
SAME BAD as before: $US2 per day for the in-room safe (which, fortunately, is very roomy and easy to use). The nightly entertainment was lame.
SAME GOOD as before: many of the staff were very friendly, especially the drivers. The free excursion to the white sand beach was excellent and we were treated to a monkey show including both a large number of Howler monkeys as well as the Capuchins. In addition, a group of four coatimundi were around the eating area as were a couple of exquisite crested magpie-jays. We found the food at all meals to be very good, with reasonable choices. The snack area was especially welcome after the main buffet hall closed after lunch. The hotel property maintains its location in a nature preserve, thus presenting opportunities to see many different types of birds on the property itself.
BETTER than before: Yes, there was one thing that was better than last year. By visiting the lobby each morning at 8 am, one could sign up for either the Italian or the Mexican restaurant. They are in the same location, with the Italian one being on the second floor and the Mexican on the first floor. Lots of wonderful a la carte selections.
OVERALL: taking into account the warnings and issues above, it is still a reasonable value proposition, but we will not be returning.

Room Tip: Building 9 has wonderful views of the bay without any rooftops to stare at. Building 7 is about hal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peeter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Food was adequate, but not exciting, staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms were tired and lacked amenities, buildings are on a very steep hill meaning using a shuttle to get anywhere, beach was the poorest I have ever encountered.

If you just want sun, shallow swimming pool and drinks - ok, otherwise NO!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gulf of Papagayo hotels
0.8 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,663 reviews
3.7 mi away
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
#1 of 3 in Playa Panama
745 reviews
3.7 mi away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Occidental Papagayo - Adults only
Occidental Papagayo - Adults onl...
#7 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
3,401 reviews
2.9 mi away
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
#3 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
2,082 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allegro Papagayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allegro Papagayo

Address: Playa Manzanillo | P.O. Box 48-5000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#7 Spa Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#7 Luxury Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range: $200 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Allegro Papagayo 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Allegro Papagayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allegro Papagayo Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo
Allegro Papagayo Costa Rica
Allegro Papagayo Gulf Of
Allegro Papagayo Occidental
Costa Rica Occidental
Occidental Papagayo
Allegro Papagayo Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing