We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Allegro Papagyo an Amazing Surprise!”
Review of Allegro Papagayo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Allegro Papagayo
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Gulf of Papagayo
Reviewed December 5, 2013

No doubt in my mind that we will return to this resort. I was a bit concerned after reading some of the reviews, but if you go there with an open mind and not expecting a 5 star resort you will be more than pleased. We stayed from February 25 to March 5. If you are looking for a party hard vacation than this is not the place for you, it is more laid back with less of a night life scene. The weather was always perfect around 37 everyday.

The Resort:
This resort was built back in 2000, and is starting to show some age in certain areas. It is built literally into the side of a mountain the pathways are steep and the grass lawns in between the buildings are even steeper. The shuttle runs from 6am-11pm and you never wait more than 5 minutes for it to pick you up the drivers are great! Each building is three stories with no elevators, if you can’t handle stairs then this resort is not for you. We stayed on the 3rd floor of building six, the view was amazing. Our room was well maintained, bed sheets and towels weren't changed throughout the stay, beds were re made every day and towels were re hung in the bathroom. The bathroom was never restocked or cleaned. The bathroom was in good shape with minor cosmetic issues. The A/C worked great, I would advise to leave it running even when you’re gone. The screen door was squeaky but served its purpose, the balcony was nice. Wi-Fi was $25 for the whole stay and could only be used at the lobby or in the main pool/restaurant area. The safe was $2 a day and well worth it!

The Food / Drinks:
The buffet here was great, there were aways lots of variety, and local cuisine, and there was always a pasta station for the less adventurous. A large salad/ fresh veggie bar, and fruit bar and dessert station. Every night they would have a main meat that would be cooked in front of you on the flat top (pork chops, steak, etc). There are many options to choose from and always something new. The Al A Carte dinner was great we only went to the Mexican which was very authentic; we heard great things about the Italian. There is a snack bar that runs through most of the day they serve fries, pizza, onions rings, burgers, hot dogs, etc.The drinks at the resort were mediocre, there was a lot of variety and they were always happy to make whatever you like. If you ever have Oscar as your bartender make sure you get the OSCAR SPECIAL!! It was by far the best drink there! The tap water was safe to drink I drank it the whole stay and never got ill.




The Pool:
The pool was well maintained with a bit of sand at the bottom, which was out of their control. We never had any problem finding a chair by 9 am. They often had water aerobics and pool volley ball. The swim up bar was always busy, with no issues.

The Beach:
The beach was incredible, volcanic black sand mixed with white sand. The beachcombing there was incredible!! The black sand further away from the water is VERY hot, to the point of burning your feet, the closer to get to the water the cooler it gets. The tide there is very active, when it was out you could walk for an easy 1.5 km. There were always beach chairs available. To the right of the resort is the marina, we walked there one day stopped by the convenience store and checked out some of the amazing boats and fish. There is a restaurant and gift shop there as well. Everyday there are local vendors on the beach who are always polite. On the weekend you will find locals on the beach, as all beaches in Costa Rica are local beaches.

The Animals:
The monkeys on the beach were awesome! Some were friendlier than others, there are signs advising not to feed the animals. We couldn’t help but give them fresh banana and give them fresh water to drink. PLEASE don’t feed the monkeys fries, hot dogs, and other junk from the snack bar, this causes an allergic reaction and the monkeys faces turn red instead of the normal white. There were also raccoons, coatis, iguanas, and lots of birds!

Excursions:
We booked 2 trips with Charlie’s adventures, based out of the resort; we went to Coco Beach shopping for a half day by boat for $35 each. The boat ride is about 30 minutes and goes every day; I would recommend this to everyone. Coco is full of gift shops, restaurants, and bars. One day there was not long enough, we went back twice. We also did the Aqua Combo for $85 each from 8am to 3pm. It consisted of snorkeling, fishing and a barbeque on the beach were they cook whatever you catch. This was a great experience.
We also booked 2 excursions with Issys Tours, you will often find one of their guides on the beach selling tours, we had a great experience with them as well.


The Service:
The staff at Allegro were amazing, if you were pleasant to them you were treated like gold. This is one of the main reasons we will be returning everyone is so pleasant, Oscar, Eloy, Carlos, just to mention a few! The front desk was always friendly and helpful!

American dollars are accepted pretty much everywhere, but it is nice to tip in colones. There is no ATM at the resort but you will find one in Coco beach and the neighboring towns. The resort is very secluded, I recommend renting a car and finding your own adventures. If you go expecting a 5 star you won’t be impressed, but with an open mind you will fall in love with Allegro Papagayo.

Room Tip: The higher the building number the lower on the hill and closer to the beach pool adn restaurants, t...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Molly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,860)
There are newer reviews for Allegro Papagayo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

373 - 379 of 1,860 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stayed the week of Nov 16-23, 2013 and flew with West Jet.
The resort is a 3.5 star and the building is older but the rooms were clean and efficient. There were a few problems with the room but nothing we couldn't work with (lamp was missing a switch, toilet squeaked so we shut the water off at night). We expected a tired room.
The location was amazing. Capuchin (white faced) monkeys pass through most mornings and Howler Monkeys were there a couple of days! So exciting!
The black sand beach was beautiful! Very exotic!
The staff was marvelous! Jimmy, Javier, Christian to name a few made our vacation memorable. We had terrific service and great food.
It would have been nice to have water in the rooms but the water stations were convenient and we made it part of our nightly ritual to bring 3 glasses of water to our room each night.
We went with Swiss Tours - (fantastic!) for two tours - Arenal Volcano and Palo Verde - absolutely incredible! We saw crocs, monkeys, birds, bugs - everything! Highly recommended!

The weather was great! Hot and sunny everyday! It rained for about 10 minutes one day, so we went and had lunch.

A few things to remember - bring bug spray for the rainforest tour. You must pay $27 US to leave the country and that was confusing at the airport. Once you pay, you need to fill out the form in order to check in to the flight.

I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We had a second floor room. Room 1121. We were above the amphitheatre but once the show was over, i...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lovestotravel_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Went with 4 friends who had been to this resort before but it was my first trip. We rented a car and it was a fairly long drive from the Liberia airport but when we arrived the view from the lobby of Papagayo Bay was just magnificent!! I was thrilled that every room had a balcony, our room had the same fantastic view. The rooms were spacious and clean.
We were on the second floor of building 11 which also overlooked the amazing pool. I am vegan and have had numerous problems with all- inclusive resorts which have no idea how to feed me but this one made an effort to make sure I had many options at every meal.
The entertainment was fantastic. The singers and dancers put on a show every night and each was better than the next. They also taught salsa classes, archery, water aerobics and yoga. My favorites were Karen and Enrique but they were all great. There was always something going on.
I will return to this piece of paradise.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Karen7243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

A Very Friendly Resort
November 28, 2013
Located in Central America the Allegro Papagayo (Big Bird) is a friendly family fun resort. Book your reservations on Tuesday or Wednesdays for a full vacation experience.
Pros
*Mainly English Speaking
*Family Friendly
* Good Food
*Good Drinks
*Great Employees (Harry, Haviar, and Christian at the pool bar) are my favorites, be sure to say hello to them)
*Excellent room, beds are hard, but my room was clean. Always had a towel animal when we came back from the pool. Don't forget to tip even though it is all inclusive a few bucks on the pillow and you will find all the little extras waiting for you.
*Monkeys!!! Yes monkeys they are awesome. Sneak away a few bananas or other fruit from breakfast. They come around about 8:00 am at the small beach area. Make sure you don't give them big pieces or whole fruit because you will want to feed all of them, especially the mamas with their babies on their backs ;)
Cons
*Transportation is expensive
*Resort store EXPENSIVE!! 2 Pepsi and a water cost 15.00 dollars
(purchase a lot of snacks at home and bring them with you. Unopened food items are allowed on the plane both ways.
*Friday night, Saturday, and Sundays, locales are bused in for the weekend by the hundreds. If you make your dining reservations to the two restaurants on these days you will be able to eat. Also leave your towels on pool chairs by 7 am or you will not get a seat.
*Will be approached by someone to sit through a time share. This wasn't bad because you take a boat ride over the sister resort and get a free bus ride to Coco Beach on a later date. If you want to go on the time share tell them you want an exertions instead of Coco Beach. Cocoa Beach is disappointing.
* Bug bites, which are to be expected but I forgot my bug spray
* Costa Rica Airport Food is outrageous!! If you buy a slice of pizza or a sub 15.00 dollars!! Make sure you bring snacks for the way home on the way up....
*You pay a country tax on the way out!! 28.00 dollars a head. The good thing is that they take credit cards.
Well this is my review! Will I go again? Yes the employees made it wonderful :)

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the first floor, we stayed at 1119,or you will have to climb stairs. This res...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MariaMorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I brought my daughter on a 2 night vacation to this all-inclusive resort as part of a university graduation gift on a recent trip to Costa Rica. The resort is located on a steep hillside but fortunately has a frequent shuttle service which circulates the resort. Our room was on the third floor, without elevators in the building. There were cobwebs in the bathroom window and dead flies on the interior windowsill. We had a mini fridge in our room, which was a nice addition, but when we enquired why it was empty, we were told it would cost an additional $40 to have it stocked with beer and water, because we had booked our stay through another company and not through the resort website. The main dining room had no vacant tables at dinnertime, and after finally being seated, we had no table service whatsoever. There are only 2 types of wine at the buffet: red or white, stored in carafes on a table beside the bar. Cocktails were noticeably watered down. The pool deck is overrun with raccoons in the evening so don't let go of your snacks or drinks, or anything else of value - they sneak up under your chair and their paws are into your business before you know it. They climb into the garbage cans on the patio areas and the staff just wave them away like they just don't care. The pisote is another little scavenger which we had to constantly chase away at the beach. The beach chairs were filthy. We took the water shuttle to the private beach area one day, which promises 'a bar and restaurant area including lunch' and were served balogna sandwiches and fruit with a choice of beer or water. I have been to many all-inclusive resorts of all quality levels, mostly in Mexico, but this place was a nightmare. 2 nights was enough for us.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeepyjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itze P, Reputation Management at Allegro Papagayo, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Dear Jeepyjay,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with the TripAdvisor community. We are disappointed that we’ve left you with an unsatisfactory experience especially since you were celebrating your daughter’s graduation.

Please accept our apologies for your overall accommodation experience, our housekeeping and maintenance teams work hard to keep the room fresh and in top condition. We will share your comments with our Rooms Division Manager, and necessary measures will be taken to prevent this annoyance from happening again.

We really sorry to read your comments about the food, we strive to offer a variety of options including a large fruit salad bar, omelet station, carving station, dessert station, and specialties; we have shared your opinion with our Executive chef as it helps us to improve. Regarding your experience at the bars. Please know that our beverages are not watered down, our resort has periodic inspections made by an external agency which ensures the quality of our products and their proper use. Nonetheless we have addressed the situation with our food and beverage manager in order to ensure that beverages are being served properly.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay. The comfort and satisfaction of our guests is of utmost importance to us and we are taking your comments seriously.

Once more thank you. We hope you will give us another chance to host you again.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We stayed February of 2013, we really enjoyed our time there. The beach (black sand) was great but is in a bay so the water is really calm which reseeds at night... Staff was great, could see how they try to keep this a family entertained location. A lot of great day time excursions (not bad in price) that keep you going... you would have to stay a while to see them all. The night time entertainment was good, club stayed open till 1-3 in the morning depending on people there. If your looking for clubs, your a ways away and cabs are expensive, they charge per hour (10 bucks or so)... The habitat was great and the white sand beach is something to do every day. You get to see monkeys everyday at this resort. We met a lot of people down here that were great (staff and other visitors). All in all, we would recommend this if your looking to go for a good time and are more of a laid back person. The food was amazing and did not make a person sick. We vacation 1-3 times a year all over the place and really enjoyed this place. The bathrooms could use a slight update, but they are not that bad if your not uptight and picky... Overall, we enjoyed our stay and Stanley (the entertainment person) was great to keep the mood upbeat and moving! Shows were great and you really could enjoy yourself if you stayed on the resort... Just be ready for hills, there is a lot of hills on this resort. Costa Rica is a hilly location of South Amercia, and it shows on this location. All in all, I would highly recommend this place if your open to good shows, a night club, and a huge pool. We really enjoyed our stay and if ever we go back to Costa Rica, we will go back to here!

Room Tip: They advised us they were redoing the rooms as of summer of 2013, so hopefully all rooms have excell...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Scott J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying here for 3 days during a whirlwind tour of Costa Rica. This resort is located in sound/bay area which is great for for kids since the water is shallow for yards and there aren't heavy waves. The black sand of the beach is unique, another kid favorite.

Check in was un-eventful. We were greeting with fresh juice and a smile, although the lady who assisted us was not as helpful as we had hoped. Maybe the language barrier? Our first impression was not a very good one, but it did improve with time.

The room was air conditioned with a fridge and hair dryer. There was a large shower but the only air exhaust in the bath room is a window above the shower (which is at eye level from the hall ways so be careful when showering, lol!). Only two towels are provided so if you need more, ask when you arrive to avoid delay. We were in building 2, so we were fortunate enough to avoid most of the noise from the hotly shows/parties poolside.

The specialty restaurants are very good (Mexican and Italian) and the servers there are warm and friendly. One server, Elvoy, was exceptional and we enjoyed interactions with him. The buffets were good as well, and the drinks were average (but free makes them good if you like to drink lots).

The pool complex is large and there are plenty of places to get sun or shade. There are raccoons who prowl the pool area looking for unattended food and drink. There are white faced monkeys at the beach who love handouts of fruit. There are activities throughout the day for adults and kids poolside, mostly in Spanish. There is Internet at the pool and lobbies, but the pool Internet was not working most of our stay. The routers (3) at the pool had to be constantly reset in order to log on.

There is a shuttle that runs around the resort to transport you to different areas (although you can't walk to all places, just a bit hilly). The shuttle driver, Eric was always a pleasure and very helpful. The shuttle ran at least every 10 minutes, if not more often.


While we were there it was a bit crowded, we were told it is was because during this time of year they have deep discounts for Costa Ricans and the weekends are busy. This is a lovely resort in a beautiful country full of lovely people! That being said, with all that Costa Rica has to offer, this will not be a place I would like to return. Everyone smiled and and the above mentioned employees were exceptional, but there was not an obvious welcoming feel here.

Room Tip: The lower number buildings are close to the lobby, but farthest away from the pool. If you don't...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gulf of Papagayo hotels
0.8 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,597 reviews
3.6 mi away
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
#1 of 3 in Playa Panama
718 reviews
3.7 mi away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Occidental Papagayo - Adults only
Occidental Papagayo - Adults onl...
#7 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
3,299 reviews
2.9 mi away
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
#3 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,897 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allegro Papagayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allegro Papagayo

Address: Playa Manzanillo | P.O. Box 48-5000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#7 Spa Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#7 Luxury Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range: $200 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Allegro Papagayo 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Allegro Papagayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allegro Papagayo Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo
Allegro Papagayo Costa Rica
Allegro Papagayo Gulf Of
Allegro Papagayo Occidental
Costa Rica Occidental
Occidental Papagayo
Allegro Papagayo Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing