We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple rooms,but great staff”
Review of Allegro Papagayo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Allegro Papagayo
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Gulf of Papagayo
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simple rooms,but great staff”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

In my opinion everything was good. The people are all the kindest people I have met. The beach will not surprise you,but the pool will. The food is good. The hotel room are suitable and simple. The bathroom need upgrading. But if you like hotel that is more than simple and good then dont go to the Allegro Papagayo.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marta A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    588
    448
    275
    241
See reviews for
474
748
47
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lawrenceburg, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Beatiful view of bay and great pool, everything else is horrible. Calling this place run down and old would be an understatement. Rooms were horrible - unconfortable beds with old ratty linens, stained ratty towels, toliet wobbled, dead bugs in the shower, and a mini fridge with 2 beers, 2 waters and 2 small juices. They never picked up our dirty glasses or replaced them the entire time we were there. It took an average of 3 attempts to get someone to answer the phone at the front desk. Key card didnt work the first time we tried to use it and had to walk back up the hill to get it fixed. The bar in the lobby was never opened the entire time we were there. Drinks at the pool bar were okay, grab 2 at a time because they use super small glasses. All pop came out of 2 liters that were always flat in the bar and restaurants. The food was the same bland food on the buffet. Black beans, rice, pasta and potatoes every meal. The snack bar was unattended and only had hot dogs, rice, cold fries and stale bread. I asked to have the fridge restocked for 4 days, finally they bought 2 mini bottles of water the day before we left. Beach is not for kids, rough volcanic beach and no monkeys on the beach like they promise. Every time you turn around someone is trying to con you into buying time shares. The boat to the other beach is a lie, it is a time share scam. If you don't have a rental car you are stuck at this "resort." First and last time I will ever stay at an occidental property again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank arinnanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Alcázar U, Social Media Coordinator at Allegro Papagayo, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear arinnanz,

Thank you for reviewing our resort on Trip Advisor. Guest feedback is incredibly important to us and we are very sorry for the inconveniences and poor service you've experienced during your last stay with us. We will be sure to address our team in regards to your review and make the necessary changes. Again, we apologize and we hope to have another chance to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gulf of Papagayo hotels

Austin, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

My friend and I stayed here and it was a good hotel that features all the basic amenities of a typical all inclusive resort. It seems that it is in a remote part of Costa Rica. When we did excursions, it was always at least a 1.5 to 2 hours drive away from the hotel. Transportation is the most expensive part when doing anything from this hotel. The rooms are normal size. We got a one bedroom with one bathroom. I don't know what other reviewers received, but our bedroom was clean and the bathroom was clean. The rooms need upgrading, but we are expecting this for the area that we are going to. Our expectations are not for a US rated 5 star hotel, so that is why we find the rooms to be good. The rooms were not dirty or anything that would render it unusable. The bathrooms were cute. Everyday the room was cleaned well. We basically slept and changed here. The time we spent in the room was short. They provided a safe which was great. Anytime we had an issue, they were prompt to fix it. For example, our first day we noted that the toilet didn't flush. They had a mechanic within 10 minutes to fix it. No issues. The pool is their thing. It was big, spacious, and awesome. Sitting by the pool was nice or going to the swim up bar was even better. The beach is a black sand one due to volcanoes and such in the area. I think the pool is better and more people spent time here since the beach is towards a gulf....not really the ocean. The area by the beach is really small too. The food is typical with all inclusive. They had typical Costa Rican fare (rice, beans, chicken, and such). The snack bar is in the same buffet area where they serve breakfast, lunch, and dinner. They only have two themed restaurants - Mexican and Italian. Italian I feel is better. The fresh fruit everyday at all the meals is by far the best. That and the fresh fruit juice. The alcoholic drinks are to be expected at places like this - mediocre with not really too much top shelf liquour. The daiquiris are nice though. The staff is super friendly and nice and what makes the place awesome. You can talk to them and they are nice. They have a kids' activities and adult activities planned, but at the time we went there were not many people there to do the activities. They have a nightly themed show that includes dancing and acts which is pretty entertaining every night. They have an excursion company on site (HotelBeds and Charlie's Adventures) in which you can book things. You can also go to a white sand beach across the gulf from this hotel. The whole place is pretty steep so the shuttle is a great thing. They also have a souvenir shop on site, but I suggest you buy these items somewhere else like Coco Beach or something as the hotel souvey shop is expensive. If you set yourself up for an expectation like it's a 5 star US hotel, then you are in for a huge disappointment. If you are looking to spend more time outside the hotel room (such as lounging by the pool or going on excursions to experience Costa Rica) then this is a good place for it. Enjoy! We had a blast. Pura Vida!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoiseyPandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

When my group and I arrived (through Nolitours) at A.P. we were checked in within an hour, being served drinks which were nice and tasty. The staff was accommodating and helpful. The staff try hard (and succeed) with doing the best that they can. Our room was basic but pleasant to stay in. The water pressure was decent in the shower.
Even though it was my first time in an all-inclusive hotel, I wasn't wowed but then again, while traveling, I don't expect anything extravagant as I pay for what I get.
One disappointment that was the view of the ocean on the beach on the property. Sure, it's part of the ocean but it was basically a bay, so you didn't see the rest of it, just the surrounding hotels at night with their lights illuminated.
The food was ok, nothing to write home about but I didn't mind.
The drinks were delicious - bring on strawberry daiquiris - yummm and pina coladas.
I was only there a short time but had a brilliant tour on my 2nd day there where we did 3 in one package (horseback riding, zip lining, lunch and giant man-made waterslide)... had a blast!!!!
The grounds are nice and well maintained but very very hilly. I mean, very steep. It is a good thing that they have shuttle stops frequently.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Briteri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowland Heights, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I am going to start off my review on a positive note. The grounds at Allegro Papagayo are really nice, very hilly(they have shuttle stops) but very nice. The staff in my opinion really tries to make the best of what they have to work with. Now on to my review. We arrive at the hotel on Tuesday, June 4th at around 1:30p and proceed to the reception desk; we were hoping to check in, but were told that our room wasn't ready and we would have to come back at 3:00p. As we were going to make our way to the Buffett to enjoy lunch, we were stopped by Roberto (resort attendant) he proceeded to tell us about visiting their sister resort Grand Papagayo across the bay. We would be transported to the Grand Papagayo on a 28 foot boat. This offer included breakfast or lunch, a tour of the resort and a white sand beach. After a couple of minutes of listening to Roberto we knew it was a "Time Share" pitch and wanted no part of it. We finally make it down to the Buffett which was decent and had a good selection of food. After lunch we walk over to the bar area and have a couple of drinks, which were Piña Coladas, daiquiri and my hubby had Costa Rican beer(Imperial). As we are having our drinks we look up in the trees and see a white faced monkey, there were a few of in the trees. Finally, it is 3p (check in time) we make our way back up to reception to get the key to our room. I requested a certain building because it was closer to the pool and not as hilly, but was told they were completely booked, not true because i've never seen a place so empty. I am not a picky person, but I was disappointed with the upkeep of the room. The shower was disgusting; the blue tile in the shower looked like it hadn't been cleaned in months (soap scum) and the clothes line in the shower had mildew on it. The furniture was old and showing its age, chipped edges. The bedspread was white and there was lipstick on a portion of it. I really think the housekeeping staff needs training on how to clean. The second day our A/C goes out and much to my surprise after 30 minutes of reporting it out maintenance fixed it. We were traveling with another couple and they had many more issues with their room; they were finally moved to another room. The pool area was nice and clean. We had dinner in the Buffett; the staff dressed up the tables with linen and covered the wooden chairs with grease stained white seat covers; they were gross. There weren't that many people at the hotel because it is the low season, i could not imagine being there during high season. Overall I cannot recommend this hotel and unless Occidental puts some money into upgrades they will continue to get bad reviews.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Belinda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Alcázar U, Social Media Coordinator at Allegro Papagayo, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Belinda A,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. We would like to apologize to you for your negative experience at our hotel. We very much regret your disappointment, as this lack of service is not at all typical of the standards that we provide to our valued guests. It looks like we were not up to standard on this day, and we are very sorry for the inconvenience that we caused you.

Please rest assured that we have taken the appropriate steps to address your feedback with our Housekeeping and Maintenance managers in order to prevent any future occurrence. We hope you will give us another chance in the future to experience a vacation with us and gain your entire satisfaction and trust.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Disappointments: After traveling for hours to arrive at hotel, representative kept us for a long check in that turned out to be a sales pitch for the occidental vacation club. "All inclusive" rate not worth the money-seems bait and switch for selling club. Food poor; bar horrible. Pool very loud with different music playing in different places and loud speaker/microphone for entertainment/activities. Not a "serene" resort. Felt more like a party cruise atmosphere. TV reception poor. No internet in rooms, but charge $25 for access to internet in lobby and at pool. Mold on walls.

Delights: Staff very courteous and gracious. Location and views beautiful.

Possibilities: May be better deal for families/groups

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kimberly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Alcázar U, Social Media Coordinator at Allegro Papagayo, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Kimberly H,

Thank for your feedback and for reporting these shotcomings. We apologize your stay didn't meet your expectations. Your experience was beneath the standards that we set for ourselves. I have followed up with our food & beverages team regarding the type of issues you encountered at the restaurants and bars and we are reviewing our processes to prevent these annoyances in the future. Feedback like yours helps us to refine our service and coach our team so that we may prevent errors.
We do hope that you’ll give us a second chance to make you have memorables vacations.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2013

This hotel was a very good place to relax and enjoy nature and quite...the food was great, we had a great dinner at their italian restaurant.. the staff is great, they are very kind and most of them have good english ... the rooms are
good and comfortable... I totally recommend this hotel if you want to visit Guanacaste in Costa Rica

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorariascr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gulf of Papagayo hotels
0.8 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,582 reviews
3.6 mi away
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
#2 of 3 in Playa Panama
702 reviews
3.7 mi away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Occidental Papagayo - Adults only
Occidental Papagayo - Adults onl...
#7 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
3,271 reviews
2.9 mi away
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
#3 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,852 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allegro Papagayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allegro Papagayo

Property: Allegro Papagayo
Address: Playa Manzanillo | P.O. Box 48-5000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#7 Spa Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#7 Luxury Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Allegro Papagayo 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Allegro Papagayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allegro Papagayo Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo
Allegro Papagayo Costa Rica
Allegro Papagayo Gulf Of
Allegro Papagayo Occidental
Costa Rica Occidental
Occidental Papagayo
Allegro Papagayo Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing