We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time to South America”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Allegro Papagayo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Allegro Papagayo
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Gulf of Papagayo
Port Colborne, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“First time to South America”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I just returned from the Allegro Papagayo and must stay that Costa Rica is a beautiful country!!! We enjoyed a week in March 2013, the weather was excellent between 95-100 degrees everyday!!! Prior to booking I read many reviews on trip advisor many of which were negative. It is definitely not a 5 star hotel, but it does not claim to be.
the hotel sits on the side of a mountain, so there is a shuttle available for the units that are situated higher on the hills. This resort is not for people that have difficulty climbing stairs.The rooms were dated, food was repetitive, staff was awesome, beach was a little disappointing(not because it was black, but because it was small). The best thing about the resort is the monkeys that come to the beach. There are Capuchin's and Howler's that usually visit everyday. The resort also offers a free boat ride to their beach club; if you want to enjoy a white beach and a quite day this is a great way to do it. They also provide beverages our and lunch while you are there. This was out first time visiting Costa Rica and I would return in a heart beat just not to this particular hotel.

Room Tip: If I were to return to this hotel I would make sure that I was in unit 15 which is right by the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canada12012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    588
    447
    275
    241
See reviews for
473
748
47
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We went to Costa Rica for the first time for my wifes birthday October of 2012. Sorry so long for the review but you don't think of it until you're ready for the next one. It rained daily and that didn't detour us one bit. The resort is beautiful, the way the rooms climb the hill every room has a view of the bay. The beach is not actually on the open ocean put in teh Papagayo Bay. This make the water so calm, great for wading and relaxing. There is a small river that feeds the bay and it swells with the rain. It was fun to walk across and feel the sand pull from under your feet. The food was good and the staff were very helpfull during the week. On the weekend day passer come from all over and overwelm the resort. You get used to it and it was only an issue a couple days of out trip. We saw the country and the resort was a good home base. The Ricon volcano park is within driving distance and it was great even in the rain. We walked the 3 KM trail in the rain and saw vents boiling mud post, boiling water vents, and a beautiful waterfall. Don't miss the Rio Negro hot springs on the way out. $10 entry and it was amazing. We went to the Llanos del Cortez waterfall for half day trip. Again rain but how beautiful and the rain and water was warm. The one sunny day i lucked out in Tamarindo the surf was up and the sky was clear. I was able to do a lesson and acutally surf in Costa Rica, awesome. The area around this hotel is great and easy to navigate. The hotel itself is beautiful from the nice rooms to the buffet. The black sand beach was great, the sand is like powder and completly differant than what we are used to. We loved it and hope to go back when the weather is nicer.

Room Tip: All are good if you have problems walking one closer the the beach would be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joesombody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I wanted to visit Costa Rica but had no expectations as we had never been. We are not people who need everything to be over the top and decked out to the nines (if this was the case we would just stay home), but we did want to have all our needs met, have all the amenities and have an enjoyable place to stay. Needless to say, we were impressed with this resort for a number of reasons. The staff were very friendly, polite and professional, the food was excellent (although it lacked variety on a day to day basis), the resort grounds were older but always clean and well kept, and had tons of wildlife roaming around. The rooms were clean and had everything you'd need, although each villa is built up the side of a hill as Costa Rica is very hilly, so if you want something closer to the water and with less walking, you should ask for it for sure. I can honestly say there was not one thing that I would have a real complaint about, and I would absolutely stay here again in the future. A huge shout out to Warner who was the driver of the trolley that took the guests to various places around the resort, what a nice, hardworking guy!

Room Tip: Rooms with higher numbers i.e. Building 17 vs. Building 1 are closer to the water, and I'd recom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

I'm 25 and traveled with a friend who is in her late 30's and we both had an amazing experience. If you're crusty or super picky, this isn't the place for you:P. That being said, I have traveled and stayed at many hotels - most of them being 5+ stars, this was by far my favorite place to stay. It has character and the scenery is beautiful. The staff was amazing and very engaging. The waiters and bar staff were very attentive and bent over backwards to please us. Xavier, Eddy, Kim, Stanley, Zindie, Oscar and all of the other amazing staff members were just great!

There are monkeys, caotis, iguanas and birds right on the beach/resort, we got to feed the white faced monkeys which hung out on the trees at the beach which was awesome! The beach has black volcanic sand and was very pretty, the water was a little murky at times but still very nice.

The people selling souvenirs on the beach were very nice and friendly also. I was looking to go surfing and they were kind enough to tell me of a local surfing instructor who picked me and a couple of other people up from the resort and took us all the way to Tamarindo Beach (which was an hour and a half away), and only charged $80 per person for 2 hours of surfing lessons (including rental of the gear) as well as the ride there and back! Totally safe and reliable ! I have added a photo of the business card for the surfing/surf paddling instructor. Much cheaper and better experience than booking through the hotel/rep.

If you are older or in poor health I would request the rooms closer to the pool/restaurant area as the hotel is built on a hill and walking up to the room seemed like a workout, which I guess was a good thing since the food was amazing and over indulging was easy to do. Lots of choices and everything was fresh. Lots of salads, rice and beans (of course), choice of meat, chicken, fish and fresh fruit. The pineapple was to die for -nature's candy!!! I should add that shuttle service was available for those who stayed in the rooms which were located further away.

The resort isn't very big; there is only one main pool, restaurant, snack bar and disco, which in my opinion is great because it gives you a nice and intimate atmosphere which is great for meeting new people. Again, if you are crusty and don't like people, this isn't the place for you haha. Everyone vacationing there was wonderful! We met tons of amazing people from all over.

Now what I didn't enjoy was that there were high school kids there from New Brunswick on their "grad"trip. They were barely 18 and were chaperoned by people about a month older than them. The legal drinking age in Costa Rica is 18....a bunch of 18 year olds drunk and crazy every night was not a treat to witness. They were rowdy and obnoxious. Now again not all of them behaved this way but for the most part it was a little annoying. Again, this wasn't too much of a problem as there were enough activities and things to do to keep away from the high school kids. The only other issue we encountered was with the a/c which was not working. All it took was one phone call to the lobby and they had someone there within minutes to come fix it for us so no biggie. The rooms are a lil beat up but who honestly spends any time in their room when there are so many things to do.

We didn't spend too much time at the resort during the day time as we had excursions planned for almost everyday of the week but when we did, there was always volleyball, pilates on the beach, water polo, dance lessons, cooking lessons and a bunch of other stuff to keep you occupied. If you just wanted to lounge by the beach/pool area the staff would not nag you into participating - they were very respective.

If you are looking to book excursions through the hotel/rep I highly recommend the Adventure Combo which included zip lining, horseback riding, hiking, mud baths and natural hot springs and also a day tour to Nicaragua where you get to visit the oldest City in Central America (Granada) as well as an active volcano (Momotombo)! The guides are very informative and fun.

Overall amazing experience especially for the price. I'm already planning to come back and stay at this resort in a few months :).

Room Tip: if you are elderly, have health issues, or problems walking choose the rooms closer to the pool/rest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Nina_Isabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vimy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

just returned from the Allegro Papagayo and have to say that Costa Rica was great but there were definitely some issues with the hotel. We were there Feb. 12- 19 and although we could bemoan the things that were wrong with the hotel, the vacation turned out okay. Before any of you judge us too harshly, let me say that we know we are not at home and standards are lower in these countries than here and we did our best to judge the hotel fairly. Firstly, the door jamb in our room ( building #1) was broken and was not fixed at all during our stay. the light was out in the stairway for the entire time even though we did bring it to the attention of the hotel, and maintainence dept. our room was on the third floor so at night the missing light was a safety concern. face cloths seem to be a premium in this building so i would recommend that you bring some along with you. we did have two delivered to our room the day after checking in, but they were gone within two days, never to return, even after requesting more from the front desk. cleaning staff speak very little english, so unless you speak fluent Costa Rican spanish, do not try to communicate with them as it will only frustrate you and confuse them. the food on the resort was good,always left full and the weather was just what we needed to get away from Canada's continual winter, sun , sun, and more sun. The monkeys were fantastic to watch and the coati was very friendly.Lots of birds to see and shells on the beach to find. The Nolitour representative , Marie Claude,was very helpful with our issues, but even she could not get the hotel to co-operate fully. We would return to Costa Rica for another vacation, but i don't think we would stay at this particular resort.

Room Tip: rooms in the top tiers of buildings ( buildings 1-8) have the greatest ocean views, although they ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wendy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Just returned from our 7 night stay at the Allegro Papagayo...what an AMAZING trip and a beautiful country! After reading the mixed reviews on Tripadvisor we went not expecting much but were pleasantly surprised. Yes, the hotel is showing its age but the grounds are beautiful and the views and wildlife on the resort more then make up for it. All the complainers seem to have forgotten they didn't pay for the Four Seasons!

MONKEYS!!!! (and other rodents)
There is a family of about 7 white faced monkey's on the beach that would eat out of your hand and steal your water glass...they made our trip! And there is an adorable Coatimundi (Racoon/ Monkey creature) that was super friendly. Also there are creepy skinny racoons at night and lots of birds and Iguana's. You can hear the Howler Monkey's but we never managed to spot one, they hide up in the tops of the trees.

Rooms:
We stayed in an ocean view room in building 5 (top floor). It was about half way up the hill so a bit of a hike but not to bad. The rooms are dated and the bathrooms leave a bit to be desired, but everything was very clean and the beds were very comfy. Our maid was great, always had fresh towels, coffee and toilet paper. Only complaint was the terrible shower-head.

Food:
The food at the buffet was very good and above average for an All-Inclusive. There was always a big selection to choose from with fresh grilled meat and new side dishes every meal. They even had Gluten free and vegetarian options which surprised us. The snack bar is open all afternoon and then again at 11:00pm with a good selection of deep fried yumminess and pizza. The water in Costa Rica is drinkable, so no need to worry about raw fruit or veggies...none of us had any tummy troubles.

A La Carte's:
If you are planning to eat at the restaurants make sure you book as soon as you arrive...they aren't both open every night and booked up really fast! And beware you have to go all the way up to the front desk in person (top of hill) to book...giant pain in the butt! The Mexican was REALLY good and the service was excellent...the fresh Guacamole was to die for! The Italian was just so-so (although the salad bar was amazing!) and the service was super slow.

Pool & Beach:
The beach is black volcanic sand which is pretty neat...but HOT! Make sure you bring water shoes/ flip-flops or you WILL burn your feet. FYI there are lots of sand flea's at the beach...our ankles were covered in bites. The resort offers a free boat ride to the 'Beach Club' which has a nice white sand beach, modern bathrooms, a bar and snacks...would highly recommend. The pool area was really nice with a swim up bar and lots of shade...bring your towels down at breakfast or you will NEVER get a beach chair! Kind of irritating but no different from other resorts we've been too.

Excursions:
We booked both our excursions with Costa Rica Issys Tours on the beach...they were AMAZING! The resort tried to tell us the beach tours were not insured and unreliable...NOT TRUE! Our guides Juan Carlos & Ariel were very entertaining and knowledgeable and made sure we got to see everything. The best part was the tours are small (4-12 people) and they'll stop or make detours to make sure you see everything you want to! We went on the MegaCombo $125 each(Ziplining/Hot Springs/Horseback Riding & Waterslide) & also the Palo Verde with a special stop at Coco Beach $100 each- best place to souvenir shop/ sightsee!

Noli Tours:
We booked with Nolitours and would definitely book with them again! Check-in/ Check-out were well organized and quick considering our entire plane went to the same resort. The reps were very friendly and knowledgeable, and went out of their way to help a lot of the guests.

Overall it was an amazing trip! We will definitely return to Costa Rica, but after seeing how safe and modern this country is we would probably skip the all-inclusive next time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate_Toronto_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorold
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

I enjoyed this resort. We came in with the frame thought of this resort being older and that it may not be the cleanest or nicest. The only issue we had was with our first room and they immediately switched us to what we were promised in a timely and efficient manner. Thank goodness for the shuttle services every 5 minutes. We loved the Kids Club for our 7 year old. Thank you to the staff for making our trip to Costa Rica a wonderful memory.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are where it's at :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cassandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gulf of Papagayo hotels
0.8 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 14 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
3.7 mi away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
3.6 mi away
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
#2 of 3 in Playa Panama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
#3 of 14 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,534 reviews
4.1 mi away
Occidental Papagayo - Adults only
Occidental Papagayo - Adults onl...
#7 of 14 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,056 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allegro Papagayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allegro Papagayo

Property: Allegro Papagayo
Address: Playa Manzanillo | P.O. Box 48-5000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#6 Spa Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#7 Luxury Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Allegro Papagayo 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Allegro Papagayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allegro Papagayo Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo
Allegro Papagayo Costa Rica
Allegro Papagayo Gulf Of
Allegro Papagayo Occidental
Costa Rica Occidental
Occidental Papagayo
Allegro Papagayo Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing