We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely gorgeous and charming!!”
Review of Hopkins Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hopkins Bay Resort
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Hopkins
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Absolutely gorgeous and charming!!”
Reviewed February 27, 2011

My wife, three children and I stayed at a villa at Hopkins Bay Resort for 4 nights and were highly impressed with the quality of the accommodations, the views of the ocean, beach and pool from the villa and overall ambiance of the property. The villas have three large en suite bedrooms, all of which overlook the ocean and beach and a living area that too opens through large french doors onto the deck and the beach. The fully stocked kitchen is of high quality with granite countertops. We particularly loved the vaulted ceilings, the hard wood floors and the colorful tiles. All in all, the villa was very comfortable and inviting and we could not have asked for more. The hosts on the property (Mary and Dannie) were exceptional in their attention and quality of service.

The property is located north of a rustic Garifuna village which is very safe place full of friendly people. There are several restaurants that offer local cusine which are worth trying out, but our favorite was Chef Robs. The dinner we had there was exceptional and the chef and his wife came over and spent several minutes talking about their lives and experiences in Hopkins which gave us a unique perspective about this lovely community.

We had rented a car at Belize airport, which gave us the freedom to explore the nearby areas including the parks, and go to Blue Hole for a swim. We also took a boat trip to Bread and Butter Caye, Bird Island and Thatch Caye which offered an extraordinary experience of these lovely islands and their water and land based flora and fauna.

Overall, we had such a great and relaxing time that we are already planning our trip next year to Belize and this special resort at Hopkins.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank skaps1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    114
    19
    12
    8
See reviews for
158
233
12
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2011

Traveled to Belize with adult children (four mid-twenties). Our villa was right on the water's edge. Lot's of privacy. Proprietors very helpful. Beautiful setting, well appointed and equipped accommodations. Locals welcoming. Enjoyed bike rides into town for groceries (limited), church, dining. Only drawback was remoteness of location for our purposes. We rented a vehicle and spent a lot of time traveling to ruins, caves and zip-line locations. Don't miss the ATM caving experience!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank motherwham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapaa, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2011

I just spent a magical 2 weeks at the Hopkins Bay Resort. The villas are gorgeous and extremely well maintained. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. The views of the sunrise, walking on the white sand beach, the thatched cabanas, the birds, sea shells and everything else about my stay there contributed to an amazing experience. The village of Hopkins is also very special, with the influence of the Garifuna culture and people. I highly recommend a stay at the resort.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kauailove13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 12, 2011

My husband and I went to this resort for our honeymoon. We stayed 10 days and it was fantastic! Our villa was georgous and right on the ocean. The pool was really nice and we had access to bikes and kayaks. The managers, Mary and Donnie were sooo nice! They really love what they do and it shows. They arranged for us to have a bottle of champagne on arrival and the room was filled with flowers. It was really romantic! The restaurant was also very nice and the food was awesome, especially the wings! Overall, it was a great trip and we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marnie02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bellmore, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 31, 2011

My husband and I got married on January 8, 2011 and spent a week of our honeymoon at Hopkins Bay... It was truely amazing. Not only are the grounds gorgeous and meticulously kept, but the staff was amazing. The managers, Mary and Dannie are wonderful people. They took such good care of us, they were kind, friendly, and accommodating... We wanted for nothing! We had an unbelievable view from our villa of both the ocean and the infinity pool (one of two infinity pools). The weather was beautiful, especially at night as it was breezy and cool enough to sleep with the sliding doors open. The village was great. We took golf carts (provided by Hopkins Bay for a tiny fee) into town on several occasions and had a great time letting the children ride on the golf carts and then exploring all the different small shops and quiant restaurants the village has to offer. We went on a Monkey River Tour one day and fished another day, both excursions were great. Our honeymoon was a peaceful, romantic, yet fun filled experience and our stay at Hopkins Bay was the most unique and magical experience we have yet to have during our travels!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cehertel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troutdale, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 28, 2011

This place is amazing! I can't say enough about it we had a beautiful villa right on the water. The managers Mary & Danie were wonderful. They picked us up and dropped us off at the airport and did every thing they could to make us happy. Mary arrainged an anniversary dinner for us, that incredible. We will be going back!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brentmaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2011

My husband & I recently stayed at the Hopkins Bay Resort in Hopkins, Belize, CA for our 20th anniv. The resort was not crowded and we got a lot of one-on-one attention from the hosts (Mary and Danni). They were there when you needed them and not there when you didn't need them. The grounds are absolutely spectacular! The beach is one of the best of I've ever seen. Because of the reef, you can walk really far without the water coming over your hips. There is a restaurant on-site called the Orange Grove. It had just opened up the week before we came. The food is really great, but I will do separate reviews for the area restaurants. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable with mahogany furniture and floors. We stayed in an upper villa, but you can expand each villa to 3 bedrooms if needed. Every villa is oceanfront/ocean view and the views are gorgeous!! There are 2 endless pools and hammocks and beach chairs available. There is also a 2-person kayak. They offer 2 rental vehicles for the guests at $70 US per day, which I thought was a great rate. We rented one for 2 days and had no problems. There is also a small library/gift shop and drinks available in the office. Every room is supplied with a large container of water (bring your own water bottles if you need to) and Mary will ask you if you are drinking enough water. If you don't drink enough, she will let you know! There is a friendly dog and cat that hang out and they add to the charm of the resort. You are made to feel like family and everyone is so friendly. The security is very tight, but they are good and you won't even know they are there! We are planning another trip to Belize as soon as we can. We will bring our 2 sons, ages 11 and 13 with us, and I know we will want to stay at Hopkins Bay again.

Thank you Mary and Danni and all the Orange Grove Staff (Emerald and Douglas) We miss you guys!!! Oh and Daniel!! :)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ohiomom2boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopkins
2.8 mi away
Parrot Cove Lodge
Parrot Cove Lodge
#6 of 11 in Hopkins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
24.7 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
11.1 mi away
Coco Plum Island Resort
Coco Plum Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Coco Plum Cay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
2.6 mi away
Belizean Dreams
Belizean Dreams
#2 of 11 in Hopkins
5.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
2.8 mi away
Almond Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hopkins Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hopkins Bay Resort

Property: Hopkins Bay Resort
Address: P.O. Box 87 | North, Hopkins, Belize (Formerly Hopkins Bay Villas)
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Hopkins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hopkins
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Hopkins
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Hopkins
#6 Family Hotel in Hopkins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hopkins Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hopkins Bay is an upscale Belize beach resort ideally situated on the Caribbean Sea near the Garifuna village of Hopkins in the Stann Creek District. Our private Belize beach resort offers comfortable garden and beachfront accommodation in a lush tropical paradise. Hopkins Bay Belize is the ideal spot where couples or families can enjoy a relaxing setting. Couples can enjoy a romantic getaway in a one-bedroom beach loft and families can make themselves at home in a two or three-bedroom beach house. Whatever accommodation you choose, you'll be just a stone's throw away from the beach and an unforgettable Belize vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hopkins Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hopkins Bay Villas Hotel Hopkins
Hopkins Bay Hotel
Hopkins Bay Resort Belize

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing