We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal for a retreat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Belizean Dreams

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Belizean Dreams
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Hopkins
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose Succotz, Belize
Level Contributor
128 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Ideal for a retreat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Was here for a staff retreat and everything was fairly good.
The 6 miles of dirt road off the highway to get here is well worth the trip.
The staff is friendly and will try to keep it on a personal level. The villas are well kept and do provide the good back drop for being able to work and relax at the same time.
Our staff had time to enjoy the pool, the bar and the beach!
My only glitch is perhaps the food, needed more variety!
Do try the barbecue on the Saturday night- it's worth it!

Room Tip: The villas closer to the beach. If you are with a bigger / extended family, do rent the entire villa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmanza74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    662
    63
    11
    9
    3
See reviews for
176
426
17
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
rosedale bc
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

The staff helps to make this a very special resort, they are great ambassadors for Belize and
the resort. We were 2 couples and stayed in building 2 rooms A and C, absolutely wonderful.
The rooms are very spacious, well appointed and very clean. The service from the restaurant
and bar staff was superb,I don't remember all the names but some stand out, "doctor" Charles
and Thomas who ran the bar are standouts, Thomas could not do enough for us(try his Coconut
whizz quizz). The one tour we took with Phillipe was very informative about the Mayan history.
The food at the resort is very good as well as walking down the beach to the next resorts for
meals was also good. This is a very relaxing type of resort, not much to do at night so don't
expect night time entertainment. We did see some manatees in the sea in front of the bar.
We stayed April 3 to 10.

Room Tip: building 2 3 8 9 are sea front room a in each building is second floor with great views, stairs are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosedaleBcRetirees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Very, very much enjoyed out stay at Belizean Dreams. The staff was very respectful and polite, while at the same time making you feel relaxed, like you were part of their family. Incredible balance of serving and leaving you alone to enjoy yourselves, your space, and Belize in general.
The package, which included 3 tours, was the best way to get out, learn about Belize, and enjoy the countryside. It was a relaxing time for us, and a time to be together as family, coming in from all over to be together. The tours to the Mayan ruins, the cave and river floating, zip lining, and snorkeling along the reef were fantastic.
For our family of 5, having a whole condo to ourselves worked nicely. Plus, we were right on the beach. Regardless, the ocean views are great no matter where you sleep. Very relaxing.
The staff from the front desk, to the restaurant and bar, to the drivers and tour guides, were all simply exceptional! Wonderful people. They made the experience. As a consequence, we have a very good feeling towards the country, its mix of different ethnic cultures, blended nicely together. We are looking forward to returning some day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheridan, Wyoming, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

First of all the staff was friendly and call you by name. Charles, Houstus, Adela are the best servers! The food was amazing! Beautiful view of the ocean at every meal. The room was spacious and clean. We had room 9A which was upstairs and had the best view of the grounds and beach. The resort is small but it is right next to other small resorts. If you are looking for quiet and don't want to do much than this is the place for you. The excursions were great but you have to travel at least an hour to do them. Be sure you have cash with you because the ATM in Hopkins was always out of order and the nearest one is an hour away in Dangriga. They dont have a gift shop or sell any necessities but right next door the other resorts have a few things but it would have been nice if they had one of their own. The pool is very small and the beach can get a lot of seaweed when the tide comes in but they are good at keeping it cleaned up every morning. Happy with our stay but it was far from everything to do so if you don't want long drives to get to every excursion it might not be for you. Bottom line: friendly staff, excellent food, clean spacious rooms, drinks can be pricy so I would recommend getting the package that includes alcohol. But red wine is included with the meal plan, wish we would have known that! Found out the last night and we could have saved some money just having red wine with dinner. FYI: they don't have a spa, you have to go next door to Almond Bay resorts Butterfly Spa. The spa was so so. Massage was good but the staff at the spa seemed bored and disinterested in being there.

Room Tip: Room 9A is the best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amberlee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

This Hotel was very nice, cozy, quiet and very clean. We stayed in Unit 5 facing the beach because we got a great deal. If you are looking for a peace place and just find time to relax this is the place for you. However, keep in mind there is not much to do at night and everything is far away. Unfortunately, the hotel and everything was very expensive. Even when you decide to take a walk around to the village to get some souvenirs. They local never wanted to bargain not even for a dollar, despite the fact everything has been seating there for weeks if not months. The hotel screw was supper nice and always willing and ready to help and make everything comfortable for you again as long as you pay... and in dollars... They beach itself is not white sand beach as I saw in some pictures and this was the reason why I picked this place. The pool was supper tiny, don't let this fool you. They really need a bigger pool and a Jacuzzi. I guess they are trying to expand this area. There are not that many tourists here, it is what makes it nicer and really quiet. I would strongly recommend to rent a car, this was you have more flexibility to move around and save money. I believe the owner also own Coco Plum Island Resort, and we did a snorkeling adventure to this place.. THIS was what I was expecting my hotel to look like. THis was beautiful white sand beach and not that many people around. This gives you the feeling to have your own private little island. We loved it so much that we wanted to go back and joined a couple doing a scuba diving adventure.. Thinking it was going to be a hotel courtesy, meaning free, we end of paying $60 each... The room should have better windows to block the sun, so that one can get a better rest and not wake up at 5:30am like I did...
So bottom line this area or Belize is supper expensive for what you do get for... There is a lot of adventures but every cost ... Rent a car and that was you can stay at nice place, $$$ and same in the tours.

Room Tip: The unit 5 is so great!! facing the beach... and with great amazing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funtaina25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham
Level Contributor
83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

My wife booked the hotel via Expedia but then found it cheaper on another travel site, we got a really good deal. It's a great place. We didn't have the best weather although it's was always really hot. On the last day the sea was so clam it was like a mirror. Amazing. The staff were absolutely lovely, really happy and friendly. It's not a five star resort but it's more than comfortable and everything is too hand and nothing seems to be any trouble. I loved it. You can sit on the beach and watch the world go by or sit by the bar and drink an amazing cocktail from a green coconut. My advice would be don't go. If you go you'll just make it more popular and then it will be to busy for us to get a booking !!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

We loved so many moments of our stay at Belizean Dreams. We arranged our trip through American Express. We were met at Dangriga by Miguel who drove us to the resort. Every person we met was so kind and generous. Truly wonderful people. The staff at the restaurant was amazing (Adela, Clarice, Jose, Alex and Liz to name a few). The food was wonderful as well. I looked forward to my watermelon juice each morning. The chef helped whip up food our picky kids would eat. The beach was wonderful and we enjoyed a couple of early morning paddles in the kayaks. The excursions were top notch. We did the Mayan ruins, Monkey River and Cave tubing. Drivers who took us to and from the trips were fantastic. Felipe spent two days driving us around. He was so educational and we learned a lot from him. If you want local food go on these trips and you will have the best around. Stop at the Country Barn for some amazing ice cream. We ventured into Hopkins via bike a couple of times and had lunch at Innies. We really fell in love with the people of the resort. They are great ambassadors for their country. Ask Jose to make you a fresh coconut water and then eat the flesh out of it. You will never forget it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopkins
0.2 mi away
Parrot Cove Lodge
Parrot Cove Lodge
#6 of 11 in Hopkins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
10.4 mi away
Coco Plum Island Resort
Coco Plum Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Coco Plum Cay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
23.2 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
0.1 mi away
Almond Beach Resort & Spa
2.6 mi away
Hopkins Bay Resort
Hopkins Bay Resort
#5 of 11 in Hopkins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belizean Dreams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belizean Dreams

Property: Belizean Dreams
Address: Sittee River Road | Stann Creek, Hopkins 501, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Hopkins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Hopkins
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hopkins
#2 Family Hotel in Hopkins
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Hopkins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Belizean Dreams 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small, intimate Belizean Owned and Managed Resort nestled on the coast of Hopkins Village, southern Belize. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belizean Dreams reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belizean Dreams Hotel Hopkins
Belizean Dreams Hotel Dangriga
Belizean Dreams Dangriga
Belizean Dreams Belize/Hopkins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing