We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Wonderful Experience All Around” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belizean Dreams

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Belizean Dreams
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Hopkins
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Experience All Around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

This was our first trip to Belize and this resort made the trip totally worthwhile. Can't say enough about the ENTIRE staff. Rooms were beautiful, immaculate, bed super-comfortable and the views and grounds are beautiful. It is apparent that the staff takes pride in everything they do. Everyone was warm and friendly and couldn't do enough for us - practically anticipating our needs. We want a mention just a few of the wonderful people we met - in no particular order. Hello Naomi, Eustis, Adella, Liz, Jose/Tattoo ( We miss your drinks and company), and last but not least, Louis - we miss your always wonderful meals - you are truly an awesome chef and person. All our tour drivers were just wonderful and fun.
No doubt, if we return to Belize we will certainly return to Belizean Dreams.
Best Wishes, Rich and Joanne

Room Tip: Due to the no-seeums ( sand fleas ) make sure to apply bug repellent in addition to sunscreen BEFORE...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joanne o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    591
    55
    9
    9
    3
See reviews for
161
369
16
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newark, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

We found Belizean Dreams vua Groupon and were very pleasantly surprized. The room was very clean, spacious. The bed was super comfy and the food was great. No phone of tv in the room and that was exactly what we needed.

The staff was amazing and the bartender Jose aka Tatoo really made the entire experience even better.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeandSib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

I write this review with divided loyalties. The staff at this hotel is wonderful - everyone is friendly, greets you with wide smiles and have such pleasant and gracious dispositions (although it seemed like practically everyone in Belize is like this!) The hotel itself leaves something to be desired. The resort features about 8 houses, which are divided into ground floor suites, with 2 bedrooms (each with an ensuite bathroom), a living room and a kitchen. On the top floor of each house is a one bedroom or honeymoon suite. I found the furnishings tired and the cleanliness of the suites left something to be desired. In fact, management moved us to a new suite after after admitting that it had asked us to occupy a suite that had not properly been cleaned after the previous users. Still, we had to spend one night in a smelly dirty suite and were not at all compensated for the inconvenience of having to live in a dirty suite or having to move. The food at the resort is also overpriced and not as tasty as at the neighbouring resorts (which are only 2 minute walks away).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank harkstotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

We have traveled to Belize a number of times and stayed in a variety of places, Belizean Dreams is among the best. The accommodations are excellent, the grounds lovely and the staff very friendly - smiling an greet you by name. The location on the Caribbean Coast with full access to some of the most beautiful water in the world is hard to beat. With a drink from the ocean side bar in the shade of a palm tree - I think I could stay here of ever.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Verna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creston, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

We got off the Mayan Island Airm hopper from Belize International, at Dangriga airport. We were met by Wenzel, manager of the Belizean Dreams Resort. The van had ac, but it was a cloudy day so it was quite comfortable for the 30 min trip south, to Hopkins Village. The trip went fast , i think we were joking with Wenzel.
Arriving at Belizean Dreams , we were met by smiling Felipe and Liz, the asst. manager.We soon got our keys, and Delmore, a grounds keeper i believe, along with Liz, showed us to our suite ........ as soon as i stepped inside i could smell the hardwood. The room was great , a large mahogany wardrobe, King size mahogany four poster bed , mahogany coffee and dining table and hardwood floors. The ceilings had exposed beams of beautiful wood. Did i mention the mahogany? it may have been teak.
The bathroom was tiled all round with two beautiful ceramic sinks and a large open shower. Everything was very clean. We had one of the upper suites, they are smaller than the ground floor ones,which had a kitchen and living room.
We started things off with a welcome drink of rum punch, happily given to us by Jose , the bartender. He is a great guy and always seemed to be laughing. Jose would be making our dirty bananas, herny monkeys, and other tasty drinks, along with ideas for things to do in Hopkins.
Next was food :) The Woven Palm restaurant had a choice of eating outside or inside. The menu, http://www.belizeandreams.com/belize-hopkins-restaurant , boasted some good food and we were not disappointed. We met the head chef Luis senior and another chef, Luis junior (no relation) , we ordered Jerk lobster on coconut rice with, wine and sugar glazed carrots, for dessert,a light cake, that melted in your mouth.. with ice cream, and that was just the night we got there. We had many more unbelievably delicious dinners ahead of us.My breakfast was just as yummy, with banana pancakes , fruit and crispy bacon. I would alternate between pinapple and banana for the rest of the week. You have to try the fry jacks and johnny cakes.
Our servers, Cheriese, Kenima, Huestes and Tricia were fantastic. I couldnt help but feel we were getting special treatment, and we were. I would look forward to seeing them everyday, it was like visiting with friends who waited on you :)))
There were many tours ; snorkeling, cave tubing, zipline , Mayan ruins....etc. During are stay we chose the zipline, and the Mayan ruins tour. Our driver for both these adventures was Bernardo, wearing shades and sporting a gold tooth he looked like a member of Los Lobos.
On the Mayan ( Xunantunich) tour, Bernardo was a wealth of information and a great guide, we had some good laughs and learned alot. The Bocawina Zipline was great. Our safetys, Jose and Ronald,were funny guys with a load of information on the fauna surrounding us, and they were very professional. I think both tours are a must, plus, you make good friends along the way.
I cant leave out Jay and the cleaning staff, our room was always impeccable when we returned from the day. Thank you.
I could go on and on , but everyday was as good as the one before if not, better, fantastic food, friendly people who would bend over backwards for you, and beautiful, 5 star surroundings.
Hands down, the best vacation ever. We'll be back for sure.
Did i mention the food was outstanding? folks came from other resorts to eat here.!!!
Dont deprive yourself, stay at Balizean Dreams and bask in the hospitality.

p.s. thank you Hamanasi, for defaulting on our deposit, if not for you we would have not discovered Belizean Dreams...just awesome

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Edward C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

We got there just at the end of their rainy season, so we only had 2 days of full sun. The rest of the time there were clouds and some rain, including a terrific electrical storm. The temps were between 25-29 degrees Celsius on the cloudy days, and over 30 on the sunny ones. Perfect weather for me, as I don't like crazy heat.

The resort has 9 villas, with 3 suites each. Even at full capacity, there would only be about 50 people there. There were only 8 guests total while we were there, and we never shared our villa with anyone else...we had the whole building to ourselves. We were in 6a, which was perfect for us: a view of the beach and ocean, but far enough away from the bar and restaurant that the music/voices of the late night partiers weren't an issue.

Belizean Dreams was truly amazing. The staff are all outstanding...very very friendly and accommodating. The servers at the restaurant--Tricia, Kenima, Shariese, and Huestes--were engaging, friendly, and exquisitely trained. It was kind of like having hilarious English butlers. As lovely and humourous as they all were, it was clear that they took their jobs seriously. (We practically begged them to call us by name, rather than "sir" and "miss". They finally caved in about 2 days before we left; and they all hugged us goodbye.) Chef Luis (both of them...Jr and Sr) was excellent: people from other all-inclusives regularly came to our restaurant for meals. The seafood lasagne was heavenly, and the Italian cream cake was the best cake I've ever had. Ever. Jose, the bartender, deserves his TripAdvisor fame....he makes you feel like a great friend from the moment he introduces himself as he hand delivers your "welcome home" drink. Naomi, Edsel, and Filippe at the front desk were friendly and helpful; and the groundskeepers, Mr Mai and Isaac, did a fantastic job of keeping all the stunning plants and flowers looking perfect. Isaac even climbed a coconut tree and cracked open a coconut for another guest to experience a fresh picked fruit!

I was glad we didn't commit to any tours or activities ahead of time. We always had the option of joining a tour/activity, as long as we reserved a space by 4pm the day before. I'm sure we would have saved money by booking ahead of time; but we liked the freedom of choosing on the fly. We toured some Mayan Ruins, checked out some small towns, and went ziplining in the jungle. We didn't do the cave tubing or the Monkey River cruise, but they are on our list for next time (because we will definitely be going back). We also rented a golf cart and went crocodile hunting on our own, along the Sittee River. We only found one...but we had a blast bombing around for the afternoon.

Hopkins is a small fishing village. It's definitely "developing world"...what we in North America might consider poverty. But the people were friendly, honest, and proud of their food, crafts, and music. My boyfriend is quite adventurous and really likes getting to know the locals, so we spent a lot of time in the village talking to artisans and shop keepers, and people just sitting outside their houses. He ended up digging up a crocodile head that had been buried for 3 weeks, and pulling out the teeth for Alex, a local jewelery maker. That's the kind of stuff he loves. He made quite an impression in that town...I was definitely just along for the adventure. :)

We ate traditional Garifuna food at Innies. I loved my Hudutu (red snapper and coconut milk, plantains); and after he got used to the texture of the Budinga, Edward liked it, too. When we took the tour out to Xunatunich with Bernardo (tour guide extraordinaire--he was so knowledgeable and funny), we ate a Mayan dish called Pibil....so fantastically good that we have looked up the recipe to try it at home.

On the puddle-jumper flight from Dangriga back to Belize City (on our way home), I got put in the co-pilot's seat! That helped make me feel a little less sad to be leaving.

All in all, it was the perfect spot for us. We wanted sun and adventure without the sterility of a huge all-inclusive. We are already planning our return (Eddie was planning it after the first 24 hours).

Room Tip: Villas 2, 3, and 9 have direct views of the ocean; but they are also directly in line with the bar a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DKLaura73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Wow where to start. Flying into Belize City (check the cost to upgrade to first class) was great. The hopper to Dandriga was fun, I hear of people driving...... why spend 3 hours of beach time in a little car? They pick you up at the airport and drive to Hopkins Bay. They are nice staff. There are 2 complexes, I prefer the original Belizean dreams. The units are big and you get a beautiful view. The beach is nice and the water calm, due to the 2nd largest Great Barrier Reef in the world. Hit the chairs by the pool upon arrival and relax. When you look out to see you may see a tree on the horizon, it is just one of the many islands to explore. Book a table @ Hamanasi and force yourself to get up and enjoy the stroll. You can see their dock from your chair. In the morning go for a jog along the beach. Bug Spray will stop the "no seeums" from biting. Tell the cook to start your breakfast as you jog by, the restaurant / bar is in the middle of the units. Second day you should try Jaguar Reef. They have great parties in the evening
and you have to enjoy the Garafuna people and their dance. By now some of these people will recognize you, smile and enjoy the occasional hug. Tomales are great in town. Time to borrow a bike and go for a ride into town. The people are friendly. Ask about "Movie Night" and remember this is NOT A BIG CITY. Have you ever seen a turtle run. Little turtles hatch and run to the water. Exciting and educational. Mahem is a better description. I dive with my family. This the best I have done. Whale sharks, unbeleivable. Sting Rays that hunt, huge nurse sharks, great corral. There is lots of cool dives. Ask Richard (at Hamanasi) about the Hour Glass Cave.
Try eating out on your deck, or get the local Masseuse to give you an in home massage. Zipline was fun. We went on a tour of the the local Sauce shop, I can't remeber the name (mamas?). Anyways we met the owner and she showed us the whole process. Everything there was fresh and delicious. You need to try Belizean Dreams.

Room Tip: They are all good but they may try to move you to the other units. Check them out first!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WRS0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopkins
10.4 mi away
Coco Plum Island Resort
Coco Plum Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Coco Plum Cay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
23.2 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Parrot Cove Lodge
Parrot Cove Lodge
#6 of 11 in Hopkins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Thatch Caye Resort
Thatch Caye Resort
#2 of 2 in Coco Plum Cay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.1 mi away
Almond Beach Resort & Spa
2.6 mi away
Hopkins Bay Resort
Hopkins Bay Resort
#5 of 11 in Hopkins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belizean Dreams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belizean Dreams

Property: Belizean Dreams
Address: Sittee River Road | Stann Creek, Hopkins 501, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Hopkins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hopkins
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Hopkins
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Hopkins
#2 Family Hotel in Hopkins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Belizean Dreams 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small, intimate Belizean Owned and Managed Resort nestled on the coast of Hopkins Village, southern Belize. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Belizean Dreams reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belizean Dreams Hotel Hopkins
Belizean Dreams Hotel Dangriga
Belizean Dreams Dangriga
Belizean Dreams Belize/Hopkins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing