We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Belizean Dreams Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Villa Verano(Hopkins)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (958)
Filter reviews
958 results
Traveler rating
858
73
13
10
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
858
73
13
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsour honeymooncoco plum islandlocal drinksisland hoppingall inclusive packagemayan ruinscave tubing and zip liningbar snacksdream come truegolf cartevery mealbelize cityprivate dinnerbeach barsnorkeling tourfishwelcome drink
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
947 - 952 of 958 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2008

Our party of six rented an entire three bedroom villa. The villa itself is very nice, but not clean! Only straw brooms are used...never a vacuum. I saw one housekeeper wipe down the air conditioner (which was filthy and not working properly) and then wipe down the countertop in the kitchen. Our bathroom had hair that did not belong to us!!! (Same housekeeper was caught getting into our food when she did not know anyone was there)
The bugs were horrendous here! Four of us were bitten constantly! I had literally hundreds of welts from the mosquitos, sand ticks and horse flies. We all sprayed ourselves constantly, but the bugs still bit. The villa had spiders, both large and small. I had to cover myself at night to avoid being bit. (one person who was not bit stayed in bed with stomach/intestinal difficulties, the other is on chemo which the bugs didn't like)
We had the same problem that others had experienced with communication with the resort. Calls and e-mails were not returned. The tour person forgot to arrange for food for one of our excursions also.
The restaurant was really pretty good. Ella is such a sweetie! The food was expensive but well prepared and presented. The breakfast burrito was excellent!
The view is incredible and the beach was very nice but we didn't swim in the ocean because of the kelp! The pool was very nice though.
Some of us did the snorkeling tour and enjoyed it. We drove to Placencia because we were told that they had great shopping. Don't bother. The items were very expensive and not very exciting. A tourist trap! We drove north and toured the Mayan village. This is well worth the trip! Some of us drove into Belize city. It is a dirty, crowded place!
All in all, Belize is a third world country that relies on tourism for the economy. The "homes" we saw were mostly huts no bigger than our living room with outhouses. Very sad! The trip was very interesting but I would never spend such a large sum of money to return.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank okiekim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2007

Just returned from a one week stay at Belizean Dreams.
The resort is very nice....the villas are lovely....spacious and well laid out. Nice stretch of beach....kept very clean!
Ella who works at the bar and Ernesto rock.....both are extremely helpful & friendly....Ella always has a smile on her face!
Bar and restaurant are very nice....overlooking the pool and ocean. It was a little on the pricey side and the menu was limited.
This resort is lacking tho in several areas. When you are paying more than $500 a night you expect certain things. The resort offers no transportation from the airport. We e-mailed several times for transportation options....no one ever got back to us and we found out later that the charge was $300. We ended up taking a cab for $200.
They charge for absolulely everything....we asked if someone could run us into town to pick up some groceries(literally a 5 minute car ride) and was told they charge $10 per person each way. They have one kayak only that they charge some ridiculous fee for(the resorts on either side of Belizean Dreams.....Jaguar and Hamansi both have numerous kayaks as well as other toys that are free for their guests).
We asked about renting a boat for the day for sightseeing and snorkeling and were given a price of $500....go into town and ask around and you can rent the same boat with the same captain for half the price.
One of the reasons that we choose this resort is that they have wireless internet which is a must for us. The service was extremely sporadic and was down more than it was working. Phillip was very helpful in getting us on line but it was extremely frustrating!

Bring bug spray.....the sand fleas and no see ums are relentless!
All in all it was a very nice place but for $525 a night....I expect a lot more bang for my buck!

  • Stayed: November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank adaresboutique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2007

We stayed for a week during August at Belizean Dreams. We found the Villas to be large, luxurious, and very comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The beaches were beautiful and the infinity pool was very nice. The restaurant on the property was better than I expected. We also walked down the beach a few minutes and ate a few meals at Hamansi. The food at Hamansi was also excellent. They have a good happy hour and we enjoyed the nachos. There was also another restaurant that was about a five minute walk to the right where we ate dinner. I think it was named Parrot Cove and it may have been the best of the local restaurants.
We went on a cave tubing tour that I would highly recommend.
You spend a couple hours tubing through a cave where the Mayans held some of their rituals and it was fun and interesting.
We also went snorkeling and it was great. We hired our own guide, Robert aka. LLoyd and he was great. We took a bike ride into town and someone suggested that we try Tribal Arts for a guide and boat to take us snorkleing. They were very nice and helpful but their boat was not big enough for our group of 6. They told us that Robert lived few houses up and that his boat could take 6 so we hired him for $175.00 for half a day for our group. He was a very good guide, even diving down and spearing 2 lobsters which made a fine dinner.
Some tips that may be helpful
-Borrow bikes front the office and take a bike ride into town
(Check the tires and make sure the handlebars are tight before you leave)
-Take bug spray with you as insects are around and even though it is not terrible it would be helpful to have spray with you before you go
-There is no Cable or Satellite TV, but they do have a DVD player and wireless internet and a nice collection of DVD's that you can borrow from
I highly recommend Belizean Dreams as a great place to get away from it all. The staff was excellent, even bringing a lobster dinner right to our villa the night that Hurricane Dean threatened the coastline. The area does not have any hint of commercialism which is part of it's charm. The roads are rocky and the "supermarket" very primitive, but the people were friendly and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Hopkins.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank MEW1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2007

I just came back from Belize yesterday and stayed in 2 different areas of Belize. We started our trip in Ambergris Caye and stayed at SeaScape [--] Randy the manager there was incredibly helpful and assisted us with making all the plans we needed assistance with. Yet, left us alone when we wanted our space. The houses are BEAUTIFUL and luxurious, as are the grounds, pool, beach and ease of getting to town by water taxi or if you don’t mind a bumpy adventure a golf cart, but I highly recommend the water taxi route :) they have a cook if you'd like, kayaks, snorkeling equipment, that is free of charge. After spending 3 amazing nights there we went to Hopkins on the mainland and stayed at Belizean Dreams [--] Before our arrival I contacted Belizean Dreams to set up activities, private cook, ect. I tried calling several times no answer; email about 8 times no reply-not a good sign after you have already booked. Upon arrival we were greeted and everyone was very friendly (very young, 18-25) we were shown the house, and it was nice, though not near as nice as SeaScape. After settling in we went to dinner at the grounds restaurant. It is beachfront and pretty, though has a constant television running, and is LOUD, so you can’t hear the sounds of the beach or your partner’s conversation with you. Our stay was for 4 nights at Belizean Dreams and on the 2nd night we decided we never should have left SeaScape. The 2nd night we tried to go to dinner at the grounds restaurant around 8pm and they told us they were closed because some teenagers who were staying on the grounds were going to Karaoke and the staff wanted to go with them. The 3rd night, we were sitting eating and the concierge came to our table and now finally wanted to verbally reply to my emails I had written before my arrival. I let him know it was too late and we were leaving the next night. On our last night while having dinner the concierge again interrupted our meal asking us when we could check out of our room because they had another guest coming in. We felt it inappropriate to interrupt us while we are TRYING to have a romantic dinner. And politely let him know the time we were leaving hoping he would just go away. He proceeded to ask us if he could "have a seat" keep in mind we are having dinner, we have ordered a bottle of wine and the staff wants to sit with us so he can ask us to leave early. This didn’t sit well with us, so we left feeling the staff was inexperienced in manners and etiquette

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank sherrielong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2007

My mate and I went to this resort looking for a relaxing, romantic getaway. We rented what we thought would be a one bedroom apartment on the top floor. While we found the villas to be very nice, we were disappointed that we had no access to kitchen facilities, but only a small refrigerator and a microwave. Even though the rest of the house was empty, the management made sure to lock the bottom floor so that we could not use the kitchen downstairs.

We found everything in this place to be extremely overpriced for the service it offered. The food in the restaurants was expensive and not of good quality. we were looking froward to fresh local fish and other produce, like I had experienced in other parts of Belize. However, that was not what we found. For instance, while the whole area is covered with orange groves, not one of the restaurans (neither in the resorts nor in town) offeren fresh squeezed orange juice. we were served this horrible concoction they called orange juice, but which tasted more like a chemistry experiment. Everything they sold in the resort shop was a rip off.

What especially irked us that whenever we ordered drinks at the bar and had them biled to our room, we never really saw the price of the drinks (I know, our wrong); then, at check out we got presented with a bill on which they had added a service charge for every item we had purchased from the resort facilities. No one had ever told us there would be a service charge, of course, and no one had a problem accepting our tips on top of everything.

While the reef is of course wonderful for snorkeling and diving, the beach is not the greatest for swimming - there is a lot of grass there, and we are not ones to swim in a pool

There was a man who offered massage services - Ray is his name and he is self-taught, but good and an interesting character. There were many interesting characters in the area, in fact.

People were nice, but we could not stop feeling ripped off - I have not felt like that anywhere I have traveled before. Compared to other areas of Belize, this region leaves a lot to be desired. I have traveled and lived many places around the world, and am a flexible and relaxed traveler. Belizean Dreams and the area of Hopkins in general felt like a big scam to get our dollars without providing the value.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank Veter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews