We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had such a great time I didn't want 2 leave.”
Review of Belizean Dreams

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Belizean Dreams
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Hopkins
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Had such a great time I didn't want 2 leave.”
Reviewed July 1, 2011

The cottages were beautiful and spacious. The staff was friendly and courteous. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janetta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    684
    64
    11
    9
    3
See reviews for
181
441
17
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
88 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2011

My family enjoys a summer trip every year and we usually do the typical crowded and noisy family vacation.
This year I decided to look for something very different and get something off the beaten path to just relax and be pampered. I was hoping for perfect warm, but not hot weather, quiet, tropical and peaceful surroundings, a great beach, and good service and food. What we received was all of that PLUS a staff that seems to be there just for you, ready to fulfill your every wish with a smile.
I personally came to get away from all the craziness of daily life as a
mom of six children and business owner so I wanted nothing more than to just hang out by the pool or grounds, take walks along the beach, enjoy the poolside tiki bar and warm air and ocean.
There are a wide variety of wonderful excursions and nearby trips the staff will happily set up for you as well.
The villa we stayed in was beautiful and very comfortable as well as larger than expected! It had everything we needed. You will need to bring along all toiletries,shampoos and food items but Hopkins is nearby and for a small price you can either take a golf cart or van into town to shop both for necessities as well as local crafts, jewelry and gifts. It is a very interesting and adorable little village. All of the locals were very friendly and we felt safe going into town without staff along. I just can't say enough about Belizean Dreams Resort. It was the perfect trip and the staff is the friendliest I have experienced in a very long time. Raymond, our server and bartender was always the best, great at his job, quick and he has a refreshingly sweet and kind attitude even when I just knew my large family was running him ragged! Thank you to all who make this resort what is it and I am planning on returning soon!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kcctraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2011

George was great. All of the staff made the trip as well. Teul was the best tour guide ever !

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bowhunterett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Newfoundland
Level Contributor
321 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2011

The hotel has a good location on a wonderful beach (mainland for Belize) and has wonderfully kept grounds. The staff were friendly and keen to provide service. The restaurant was OK (we couldn't be bothered to wander up or down the beach), although it never made sense that the same draft beer would come in three different sized glasses.

We'd have rated the property more highly, except for a maintenance issue that barely effected us, but may impact someone else. We were put into room 9A and found the shower didn't work (no water pressure -- barely a dribble). We were thus permitted use of the shower in the lower units (only one of the two showers was usable). Given the units were connected, there was minimal inconvenience. However we wonder what would have happened if the bottom unit were occupied. Equally as disconcerting is that neither shower was fixed the day after it was reported (even though guests were arriving the next day ... the day we were departing).

We enjoyed our stay at the property and feel lucky that 9B and 9C were vacant when were there.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RAKlein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
130 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2011

Hopkins is a small beach community, the roads in and out of Hopkins are very rough dirt roads - I repeat, VERY ROUGH. The rooms are very nice, the restaurant is decent, but a bit overpriced. There are a number of small resorts in the area as well, and some hostels.

There is not a lot to do in the town, but it makes it a reasonable place to strike out - it is about a 3 hour drive from the Belize City airport, near Cockscomb Basin (which I recommend seeing without a guide), about 3.5 hours from San Ignacio (where I recommend seeing Xunantunich & Cahal Pech and doing the tour of the cave Actun Tunichil Muknal (ATM).

The beach here is not very wide, so don't expect nice white sand beaches. The bugs can be a bit fierce in the area as well.

There are some pretty good restaurants in the area including Chef Rob's, Innies (give the garifuna food a try), the Driftwood Pizza Shack & Bar, Barracuda (at the Beaches and Dreams resort) and you can head over to Sittee River where they are building a nice Bar/Restaurant called Curves Cool Spot (the Bar was open when we were there).

This is probably not the best place to go if you are primarily interested in snorkling or diving - Placencia or the Cays are better choices as trips from Hopkins can be a bit expensive (in the range of $125-175 pp).

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2011

Hi, my husband, 6 year old son and I just returned from a 5 night vacation in Hopkins, Belize and stayed at Belizean dreams. Here are my thoughts on the hotel and Hopkins in general :

HIGHS:
1. The property and staff are incredible. It really does feel like your private property and personal staff. Upon arrival everyone introduced themselves and then treated you like old friends from that point foward. Consistantly calling you by name and always asking if there is anything more they can do for you. It is a small staff, so you get to know everyone quickly.
2. The room we had was clean, modern and well maintained. Comfortable bed and bedding. Tons of shelf space in the bathroom (note: no bathtub, just a shower, not a problem for us but may be for others). The housekeeping staff was excellent. A water cooler in the room was a nice addition as well.
3. The pool and beach area were well maintained.
4. The restaurant had excellent food, although a limited selection and very few kid-friendly options. (Although my son did LOVE the banana pancakes!)
5. Every tour we went on was private. We did the Preserve Waterfall Hike/Tubing, a day on South Water Cay for snorkeling and Monkey River Tour. We had our private guide each day and felt they were attentive and enjoyed their job and country

LOWS/CONCERNS:
1. The beach in front of the hotel isn't great. The sand is coarse and a lot of seaweed builds up throughout the day, despite the hotels attentiveness. Also a lot of garbage is along the coast in the evening. Not the hotels fault, just a sad reality.
2. Traveling with a 6 year old child, we felt that several times we were not given enough information about the tours we were going on. Twice we found ourselves on boats with no safety equipment heading across open ocean water. This, again, is the nature of international travel, but my husband and I felt it would have been nice to have had more information provided before we left as to exactly what was involved in each activity (if only to have prepared our son)
3. The location of the hotel makes getting to Hopkins village a little of a challenge. The only places within walking distance are Jaguar Reef and Hamansai hotels. If you want to go to the village, you need to take a golf cart (provided by the hotel for $25).
4. Getting groceries is difficult. A suggestion would be to have the driver stop in Dangringa on the way to the hotel for some basics. I am sure he would have done this had we asked, we just didn't know to ask until it was too late.
5. Although the restaurant is good, it would be nice to have some more snack options available, especially for sitting around the pool. (Popcorn, chips, nuts, nachos and some desserts)
6. And finally, because of such a small staff - service is slow, especially the pool bar. A few times, we ordered drinks and it took 45 minutes for them to arrive. There is a fine line between laid back and just feeling like you had been forgotten.

Overall a great Vacation and unlike anywhere else we have been in the world. The staff is great and the personal attention (especially on the tours) is a great value for the cost. I would definitely recommend

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OscarKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2011

We drove from Belize International airport using hotel directions. Last hour in the dark was hard to find signs. Good to know it is just south of Hopkins & Hamanasi Resort. Requested dinner on the beach & got to choose menu=fabulous! Beautiful mahogany floors in spacious rooms with beautiful bathroom. Management attentive. Every room in a villa with ocean views! A/c with remote. Fresh picked flowers.
Robes & slippers! Decks to watch birds & star gaze! Drawback: rocky dirt frontage road.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UnderHis_wing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopkins
0.2 mi away
Parrot Cove Lodge
Parrot Cove Lodge
#6 of 11 in Hopkins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
10.4 mi away
Coco Plum Island Resort
Coco Plum Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Coco Plum Cay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
23.2 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
0.1 mi away
Almond Beach Resort & Spa
2.6 mi away
Hopkins Bay Resort
Hopkins Bay Resort
#5 of 11 in Hopkins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belizean Dreams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belizean Dreams

Property: Belizean Dreams
Address: Sittee River Road | Stann Creek, Hopkins 501, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Hopkins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hopkins
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Hopkins
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hopkins
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Hopkins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Belizean Dreams 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small, intimate Belizean Owned and Managed Resort nestled on the coast of Hopkins Village, southern Belize. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Belizean Dreams reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belizean Dreams Hotel Hopkins
Belizean Dreams Hotel Dangriga
Belizean Dreams Dangriga
Belizean Dreams Belize/Hopkins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing