We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was a marvelous experience.”
Review of Tipple Tree Beya

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hopkins
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tipple Tree Beya
Ranked #4 of 20 Hopkins B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Swift Current, Saskatchewan, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Was a marvelous experience.”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Tricia took most excellent care of us. she arranged tours from the locals (very cool) that were top notch! she gave us wonderful insight on the culture and expectation of the village people. we had a great time. our cabin was simple, very clean and the fans kept us as cool as we needed. for the price it was PERFECT!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheldon Jennife... H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    43
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
16
118
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belize City, Belize
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

It was difficult for me to understand the last review of Tipple Tree. I live in Belize (originally from Canada) and Tipple Tree is absolutely my "go to" place for a few days of R and R. I also take all my visitors to Hopkins and every one of them has really enjoyed their stay here. In fact, I have one friend who has visited at least 6 or 7 times, and a visit to Tipple Tree is always on her "must do" list. Yes, the rooms are basic -- if you want air conditioning and cushy surroundings, this is not the place for you. But it's very good value, Tricia is always friendly and helpful, and the beach is just about perfect. What more could you want?

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra_in_Belize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed with Trica for 2 nights at Tipple Tree, it's a really nice place and after all the travelling it took to get to Belize and Hopkins it felt like we had arrived at paradise. The place is right on the beach and they take care of their beach, it is cleaned and raked every day so it feels like you are walking through a giant zen garden.

Hopkins is a long town, where Tipple Tree is located there are several restaurants and a supermarket nearby within walking distance. If you need a taxi then Trica can organise one for you.

There is good internet on the property an extra fee (reasonable) and although you cannot drink the tap water you can get your water bottle refilled (reasonable again). I loved how Tipple tree is very eco-conscious too!

I would recommend staying here if you visit Hopkins, there are other places which have aircon but since Tipple Tree is right no the water the lack of aircon is not a problem.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank f44444444f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We loved staying at the beautiful Tipple Tree Beya! We will go back and stay there again and again! Tricia, the owner is a lovely, warm, welcoming woman, who, along with her partner, keeps everything immaculate! The rooms are clean and comfy, the grounds are beautiful! The beach is a few steps from the door! We spent 10 heavenly days there! And the price is definitely right! Hopkins is a wonderful experience of a part of Belize that is still not completely developed, with warm open hearted people, great food and a slow relaxed pace. We are hooked!

Room Tip: They are all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Tipple Tree Beya was a very cozy little spot with a beautiful view and very helpful owner who was extremely accomodating. The price was great and the beds were very comfortable. We had a room with an outdoor shower which was not at all as bad as it sounds. The shower was private and had hot water. We had a small leak in the roof which the owner emailed us about to apologize for any inconvenience it may have caused us during our stay. She takes great pride in her rooms and you can certainly tell as the room was very clean and organized. Overall, a great place to stay. We really enjoyed the location. The hammocks were also very relaxing :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkins, Belize
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I'm backpacking for almost 10 months now and it feels like I'm in a state now where I don't really want to do anything. Just right now. It will change in some days or weeks or so. Maybe.

So I just wanted a place on the beachfront to sit back and read and take a dip in the water every now and then. Well, and that's what I found in Hopkins after some exhausting searching. The Tipple Tree Beya is not my price category (45 USD), I normally sleep in dorms and cheapest rooms to keep the costs down. But I made an exception here - I was too exhausted to keep on searching. It was a good decision.

And this is what I got: an exceptionally nice and clean room, a veranda with hammocks and a lovely garden. Tricia has definately a good hand for decoration. The room was also equipped with a fridge, a coffee maker, cutlery and dishware, Belize guide books, novels and magazines. And loads of towels. She also rents these beach cruiser bicycles and for a small one-time-fee you can use the very fast and stable Wifi for the length of your stay. She was very helpful when I had questions and we also had some interesting conversations.

Ben from Germany

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kalle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed May 3, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed for 8 nights and would recommend it to anyone. If you want an "all-inclusive" experience, then stay away. This is a great place to book for a vacation where you relax and enjoy your vacation. Thank fully we went in the end-of-off season, so the whole town was layed back and annoying-tourist free. The owners were very helpful and arranged tours and gave advice about scheduling before the trip and after arrival. I'm vegan, so I was nervous about food, but they advised us on how to order and where best to eat. They have a nice beach that they groom every morning. The confirmation email they sent had a list of VERY helpful advice including coral safe sun screen and a note about the high import tax, that includes alcohol. This is my favorite place to get sunburned and although the town is humid (I'm from a very dry area), the beaches are always cool. The rooms are bug free, although we accidentally left the door open one evening and we adopted a little lizard for the evening. The owners really make this an excellent place to stay. They were just our kind of people: earthy, friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hopkins hotels
1.1 mi away
Parrot Cove Lodge
Parrot Cove Lodge
#6 of 11 in Hopkins
294 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa Margarita
Villa Margarita
#7 of 11 in Hopkins
76 reviews
0.8 mi away
Coconut Row Guest House
Coconut Row Guest House
#1 of 20 in Hopkins
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Belizean Dreams
Belizean Dreams
#2 of 11 in Hopkins
784 reviews
1.1 mi away
Almond Beach Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Jaguar Reef Lodge & Spa
Jaguar Reef Lodge & Spa
#3 of 11 in Hopkins
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tipple Tree Beya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tipple Tree Beya

Property: Tipple Tree Beya
Address: Hopkins Village - On the Beach, Hopkins, Belize
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Hopkins
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Hopkins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the beach in Hopkins, Tipple Tree Beya has 3 apartments, 3 rooms, and 1 cabana. Our AJ Palms beach apartments are for those wanting a little more space and comfort. Our guesthouse has lodging that is simple, clean,and comfortable. Local tour guides provide snorkeling, fishing, reef, and jungle tours.See you soon! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tipple Tree Beya Belize/Hopkins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing