We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent, but not for us”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Almond Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Hopkins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 13, 2009

My wife and I are wrapping up a 5 night stay at Almond Beach after spending 12 nights in various parts of Belize on our honeymoon. After staying at a couple of more upscale resorts, we decided to end our journey here due to the location on the beach and the modest price. We probably set ourselves up for disappointment, but this place isn't all that bad, depending on what your looking for.

If you have kids, this place is great. Your kids will make a lot of friends, and have fun playing in the two pools here, and swimming in the ocean. If you are looking for a romantic honeymoon resort in this area, you may want to try down the road at Belizian Dreams or even Hamanasi, where we didn't see any kids at all.

To elaborate, we stayed in the Sapra honeymoon casita, which has an outstanding view of the ocean from a huge window. Although the view is incredible, the pool is in front of this casita, and it sounded like a playground at all hours of the day. I was glad we brought along our mp3 players and some speakers so we could drown out the noise coming from outside when we needed to. ;) This is not an appropriate resort for honeymooners or anyone looking for a romantic getaway. Quiet and peaceful, it is not.

The room itself is very nice, although it doesn't compare to the top-flight resorts in the country. Our room was kept very clean throughout our stay, and was nicely decorated. It was difficult to keep cool, though, as only a few smaller windows could be opened. Using the air conditioning was an unfortunate necessity most days, though the room cooled down nicely at night with some windows open. There's a large jacuzzi in the room, and a shower in the bathroom. Hot water was mostly reliable here, although water pressure sometimes dropped off considerably. The king bed was comfortable, but we both have huge brusies on our shins from a piece of wood on the footboard that sticks out that we kept walking into! Something to remember Belize by for a few more weeks, though, right? Wireless internet was available to us in the room. There were some nice flowers in vases around the room when we arrived, but they haven't removed them or given us new flowers, so now they're just dried up husks now.

The grounds of the resort are well manicured, and it has a wide and long stretch of beach with tiki huts, a long pier, hammocks and lounges. Unfortunately, like in Placencica, trinket peddlers will be walking up and down the beach all day, and seldom walk by without bothering you. Also, the hammocks and lounge cusions are very dirty, and my wife and I both have shirts and dresses with huge black stains from the hammocks.

The layout of the resort is somewhat cramped, and I felt a bit mislead by the illustration on the web site. Everything feels very crammed together, and is a stark contrast from resorts that are more spread out, like Turtle Inn or Chaa Creek. Being that this is our honeymoon, and we value our privacy to that end, we felt our casita was a bit too close to the pool and to neighboring casitas. On the other hand, we still had our own casita, which beats a hotel room.

The level of service here is acceptable, though nothing to write home about, and the staff are friendly. Things truly happen at "Belize pace" here, with the exception of the poolside bar, from which we usually received prompt service. Staff are generally friendly, and the women at the reception desk are especially friendly.

Service at the restaurant was somewhat slow, and we often needed to remind servers a second time about a drink request or appetizer. After only about 3 meals, we started going off-site for lunch and dinner. Restaurants at nearby Belizian Dreams and Hamanasi are competitively priced and much tastier, especially at Hamanasi, which had some of the best food we tasted in Belize. Both are within walking distance on the beach, so I'd advise against getting the Almond Beach meal plan if you do choose to stay here. Many meals are served buffet-style, with much of the food either soggy or cold. The eggs at breakfast looked pathetic, and the potatoes were completely dried out. We ordered off a menu twice, but the food was only mediocre, especially compared with the fare at nearby resorts and restaurants. Servers also do not write the cost of your meal on the bill, making it an awkward affiar trying to figure out what to tip while the server stands over your shoulder.

There is a nice full-service spa here, which my wife took advantage of by getting a manacure and a poolside massage. The manager of the spa is very friendly and accomodating, and we would highly recommend stopping by if you are staying here. The poolside massage was great, and it was free(!), and was done by a gentleman known as "Dr. Ray" around the village.

We didn't do any tours here, as we had already done plenty while we were in the San Ignacio area, and were ready to do some diving. Since I was doing a PADI open water referral course, Almond Beach referred me to Hamanasi, which has an extensive dive operation with many friendly instructors and dive masters. I did my checkout dives, and an additional dive, with Hamanasi, and was impressed. It's only a five minute walk down the beach from Almond Beach, as well, so it's easy to go diving with a world-class diving operation if you're interested in that.

This is a nice resort for what it's worth, and if you have kids or don't mind being around them, you might be happier than we were here. It just was not for us, and if you're going on your honeymoon or anniversary, or looking for culinary bliss, I would think twice about staying here.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KCJMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelizeSincout, Owner at Almond Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2009

Thanks for the review - and I am very sorry you were not that happy with us.
Note to Honeymooners: there are three weeks of the year when you can expect a whole host of kids at the resort: Christmas, Spring break and March break.
Even then we have rooms that are high above the resort where you will only be bothered by the frigate birds soaring by. Most of our honeymooners come outside of these times and we can promise you a serene and peaceful environment as you will have read in the other reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (508)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

486 - 492 of 508 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2009

This resort is truly paradise. It was so disconnected with the outside world, but with all the ameneties anyone could ask for. I traveled with my husband, son - age 16, daughter - age 12 and sister and boyfriend - each enjoying the experience in their own way. The hotel staff took care of us even before arriving at the resort - since missed our hopper flight from Dangriga, we were LUCKY enough to have traveled through the Belize countryside with our very knowledgeable and safe driver - Sipriano. Luckily for us the chef kept the kitchen open for us past dinner time and the front desk took care of everything else after our long trip down. To say the least the staff was the most pleasant and happy and accomodating I have ever met. From Ruby and Harold in the dining area, and Kevin manning the front desk and all my children's needs, and bartenders Clifton,King, and especially Eldorpho at the poolside bar. The tour guides were experts in their own rights as well as full of Belizian culture and history from Tino, Sipriano, and Nick and Roy out on the water. The food was tremendous - not wanting for anything else with their special dishes as well as plenty of "American" choices. My son definitely opened his mind up - experimenting with the cultural dishes. The room was clean and spacious - no need for TV - too much to do. There were no bugs to complain about - just a few when the wind died down - but never on the food ! The kids were always kept busy either with the tours, or just hanging out with the other kids and staff - playing volleyball, bike riding to town (very safe), or just swimming in the very clean pool (kept up by Martin !) From sun up to sun down - this was a total paradise and would recommend to anyone who wants to relax yet have an adventure of a lifetime. I hope to go back someday !

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hockeymom32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2009

the staff was sooo friendly, but needs more polishing and training. they just weren't up to snuff, but were so willing to please.
the food was ok, always out of something on the menu, but charming about it. i think if an owner was always around, things would quickly improve. after staying at chaa creek, i would advise the staff to model themselves after that hotel. very comfortable rooms and beds with lots of space.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hisim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2009

This was our second visit to this wonderful resort. We came last year and loved it so much, that we rebooked at the end of the stay.
This year we stayed in the lux Vista Suite. We were traveling with our 4 best friends. We had plenty of room and privacy. There is a full kitchen. We only made coffee and used the fridge for cokes and beer. Had the pleasure of having our dinner prepared twice in our home by Chef Christian. Loved both! Also enjoyed 2 dinners at nearby restaurants..Beaches and Dreams has Key Lime pie to die for! Lovely deck overlooking the ocean, nothing blocks the view. Each room had own ensuite with spa tub.
Went to Spa 3 times..loved it, so did our traveling companions.
Very reasonable too.
Enjoyed our meals..upgraded from our last stay. Service is fantastic and you will become friends with all that care for you, esp your bartender at Tiki hut :) King took good care of us!
We 3 girls went into town on golf cart, stopped and shopped all the way in. Felt safe and everyone so friendly.
We did not go on any trips away. Husbands went out fishing and had a great time. Because of winds, snorkel trips did not work out. If you want to get away and just relax..this is the place...thanks Pat and all! See you next year, already booked again :)

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Melanieann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2009

My wife and I had a wonderful time at Almond Beach. We would definitely return.

Since we were on our honeymoon, we didn't make it out on any of the tours. I am sure they are great though. Everyone we talked to at the resort seemed to enjoy them.

We did take a tour of the village, Hopkins. It is a nice little village.

Almond beach is a place for quiet people who want to relax. If you like to party, don't go. Stay at those big resorts and leave this hidden treasure to those who enjoy the peace and quiet that is Belize.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank GraceTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2009

This was an amazing vacation! The vacation to end all vacations in fact. My husband and I are currently planning a trip to Mexico, and were been so spoiled by Almond Beach that we are having a very hard time booking it. That is actually what prompted me to write a review as this web site has been a life savor in regards to Mexico.

We spent 7 nights 8 days on the ultimate honeymoon package. If
you can afford it I highly recommend it. We arrived on time and were promptly checked in, given a welcome drink and a personal tour around the facility.

Rooms: We stayed 3 nights in their honeymoon suite, not much of a view of the beach as it overlooks the pool and bar but beautiful. The rest of the nights we stayed in a beach front casita, much more romantic. You open your deck doors and step right out onto the wonderful beach. Every morning we took our coffee on our front porch and watched the waves, and almost every night we had a private dinner our of porch, nothing but the waves and us.

Bugs: As for the bugs, we traveled at the end of May and did not have much of a problem. We did not see a single mosquito, however they have a fly the locals call a “doctors fly” that can be a bit annoying. Also in the evening when the slight but always present breeze would lessen you could get a bit bothered by sand flees on your ankles, a quick application of “off” repellant would do the trick.

Tours: The tours that the resort provided were wonderful. As we were on the ultimate package all our tours were private. The guides the resort provided were friendly and knowledgeable. I would highly recommend the Ruins tour.

Food: The only con of our stay was the food. The breakfasts in the morning were ok, there were bugs present but this is Belize, there are going to be bugs! The dinners were nice, they constantly changed the menu and provided a nice mix of local cuisine. After 8 days, however the food began to get old. It would have been nice to have another restaurant or two to choose from. However the town is a quick bike ride and there were wonderful choices there.

Note: This resort is what I would call “rustic tropical.” It is a place of peace and quiet, no nightlife to speak of. It’s perfect for relaxing and enjoying the location. If you are looking to party, you may want to look elsewhere.

Overall it was the most relaxing vacation I have ever experienced and plan on returning in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Amber A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2009

I went to this resort in January 2009 with my 2 kids, 12 and 16 years old and had a great time!! Everybody at the resort was very friendly and accommodating. We did several of the inland adventures with day in between relaxing on the beach, it could not have been better. We rode the bikes into the small town of Hopkins and it was like turning back the hands of time 30 or 40 years. We felt very safe and went into town several times. the room we stayed in was very clean and up to date, it even had a big flat screen tv with satellite. the satellite went out a few time but they were quick to fix it. That was ok since we were not there to watch tv.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gregohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopkins
10.4 mi away
Coco Plum Island Resort
Coco Plum Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Coco Plum Cay
998 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parrot Cove Lodge
Parrot Cove Lodge
#6 of 11 in Hopkins
302 reviews
16.1 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 20 in Placencia
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa Margarita
Villa Margarita
#7 of 11 in Hopkins
85 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belizean Dreams Resort
Belizean Dreams Resort
#2 of 11 in Hopkins
850 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jaguar Reef Lodge & Spa
Jaguar Reef Lodge & Spa
#3 of 11 in Hopkins
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almond Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almond Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Sittee River Road | Stann Creek, Hopkins, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Hopkins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Hopkins
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hopkins
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Hopkins
#7 Family Hotel in Hopkins
Price Range: $131 - $432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Almond Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Proud member of ViVA BELiZE, the leading Hotel Group and Adventure Company in Belize for the past 20 years. Almond Beach Resort & Spa is- A Haven for Romance & Wellness. It provides wonderful private honeymoon casitas and family suites located on a long golden beach that stretches for miles. Other features of Almond Beach Resort & Spa: -WINNER 2015 TripAdvisor HALL OF FAME Award -PADI 5 Star Dive Centre -FULL Service In-house SPA -Longest & Finest Beach in Belize -Pool with Swim up Tiki Bar -Kids pool -Beachfront Dining -Water Sports & Land Adventure Tour Desk ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Almond Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almond Beach Hotel Hopkins
Almond Beach Resort All Inclusive
Almond Beach Resort & Spa Belize/Hopkins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing