We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best vacation ever!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hopkins
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hamanasi Adventure and Dive Resort
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Hopkins
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 4, 2007

Our stay at Hamanasi was magical from the moment we arrived until we left on the plane out of Dangriega. The resort is beautiful and the people are fabulous. Our room was large, comfortable, and clean. The food was delicious. We went on inland adventures, snorkelling, and my sister went scuba diving and every excursion was wonderful, educational, beautiful, and fun. We agreed that we have to go back to go on all the excursions we didn't have time for this trip! We enjoyed the company of the other guets and all the guides were great.
My sister and I both cried when we left, we could have stayed another week at least.....


    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sistertravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,037)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,946 - 1,952 of 2,037 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2007

My husband and I just returned from an 8 night stay at Hamanasi. We were there from July 17-24th. Unlike the previous review, we went this year and we did go during the rainy season and found the weather to be fine. It rained hard most nights but this was while we were sleeping. It cleared up in the morning, and even when partly cloudy, it was still hot and good to go snorkelling and diving. There was often a strong breeze from the ocean as well.

Of course there are bugs. You are in a tropical country near the jungle. However, people who used deet generally had fewer bites. Take all vaccination precautions and use bug spray each day. This was not a major problem when compared to the beauty and wonder of the place.

Hamanasi is a unique resort, hard to find a relatively affordable retreat such as this in today's "touristy" market. It is not for the "party" crowd, but instead seems to attract a different but diverse crowd who want to relax and/or focus on the inland adventures and on snorkelling and diving offered by/through the resort . Most people were in bed or in their rooms by 10pm which is expected if you are hiking or doing adventures during the day. There is no TV or phone in the room. You know this before you go and we were glad for this escape from the busy world. This is one ot the great charms of Hamanasi. We did not miss television and access to internet is free and freely available each day if you want it.

Our fellow guests were families, couples and groups of single people whilst we were there. People can socialize or stick to themselves, the atmosphere allows for both. Things seem to have changed in Hopkins, as there are now two local restaurants that offer decent food and a social atmosphere at night. A number of guests went into town during an evening to eat and listen to a local band and drummers. Hopkins is a small town and most people are kind and generous. They seemed to appreciate when travellers came into town to buy a local craft or item such as pop or a drink. I encourage all guests to bring backpacks and school books to donate to the local pre-school.

I learned to dive at Hamanasi and saw a huge turtle on my second dive. The instructors were patient and thorough. Special thanks to Neal, the snorkelling guide whose knowledge and attention to detail was appreciated, to Pedro who worked very hard leading us through the jungle, to Golden who canoed up the Sittee River, and to Hartfield, whose understanding and discussion of local history and culture was very helpful and interesting.

The staff members at Hamanasi are unlike any we have met before. Their attention to detail is no less than phenomenal. Jan, the guest services manager, and Stephanie at the front desk, are always around, checking to see if you are enjoying your stay. I have food allergies and the managers of food services, Sherema and Jessica, arranged for special meals. Thank you to the chef, Sheridan, who created specific and delicious meals for us each day. It was appreciated. From the rooms to the groundskeepers (they are up at dawn daily raking the beach and sand), the staff work very hard to see you are satisfied during your stay at the resort. This is very different from most all-inclusives where you are little but a number.

We would highly recommend Hamanasi.
Doug and Michelle in Toronto.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank mish1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2007

We stayed for 5 nights a few years back. The resort itself is clean and well maintained. The food was great! The resort is located in Hopkins which has no infrastructure, that means so restraunts unless you count the hut with a dirt floor and a hot plate. No cabs, no busses, no tourist attractions at all. There's also no TV, they claim there's one in the bar but it's never on. The locals are friendly and they try really hard to be accomodating. Bring your bug spray because there are lots of sandfleas that are hungry for your legs. There are also mosquitos aplently. We booked the treehouse, there are more bugs here because you are in the jungle. It was a neat experience, I would do it again but only for a night or two and only in the dry season.

  • Stayed: August 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank Traveller9396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2007

Hamanasi is absolutely amazing. The people, the food, the beach, the landscape--all of it blew us away. We had the perfect honeymoon. They offer tours if you'd like and hanging out at the beach and pool is always an option! What a wonderful place. Biking into Hopkins is also a pleasure. Don't think twice--STAY AT HAMANASI. So amazing.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank llange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2007

What a wonderful Honeymoon!!! I am glad that I took the advice of all the other people that wrote a review on tripadvisor. My wife and I spent our honeymoon at Hamanasi and it was perfect. From the atmosphere, staff, other guests, activities and food - you can't go wrong with Hamanasi.

My wife and I were truley sad to leave such a fun and relaxing trip. The resort staff make you feel right at home and will most likely end up being your good friends by the end of the stay. The hotel is small enough that you really get to know the other guests and just big enough that you can enjoy some amazing alone time as well(the hammocks at the end of the pier were my favorite). We met so many terrific people on this trip and hope to plan future trips with the same couples.

There is never a dull moment and watch out for that fiesty bartender named King and his side kick Leon - those two alone will keep you entertained and laughing!!!

Thank You Hamanasi!!!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Arizona_Couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2007

My wife and I visited Hamanasi in the middle of May and we were blown away. The reviews here all gush over Hamanasi and now I understand why. The resort is phenomenal, but not over done (this is a good thing). The level of service we received was excellent... we left there feeling we had made new friends with those on the staff. The dive operation is well run; they have knowledgable dive masters that enjoy what they do. The inland excursions are also well run; the guides take pride in what they do and loved to share their country and culture with us. We highly recommend Hamanasi... we will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Like2Dive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2007

We spent 11 days at Hamanasi for our honeymoon and had an awsome time! We are both divers and wanted to do some diving, but also see the mainland/inland area as well. We went to the Mayan Ruins, waterfall hike and caving. We went diving 4 days and were thrilled to see 4 whale shark on our whale shark dive. The food was absolutely incredible-I mean, incredible. We were never hungry and the selection was wonderful. Even my fairly vegetarian husband was pleased with the selections. The staff were wonderful-attentive, social, helpful. The dive staff were very competent but also fun. We thorougly enjoyed hanging out with Giovanni!(that's not spelled correctly). They took care of our gear, changed over our tanks-great surface interval at an island with juice and cookies. Beautiful dives!!

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank lemasul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopkins
10.5 mi away
Coco Plum Island Resort
Coco Plum Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Coco Plum Cay
1,075 reviews
16.2 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 20 in Placencia
676 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parrot Cove Lodge
Parrot Cove Lodge
#7 of 14 in Hopkins
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 20 in Placencia
819 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belizean Dreams Resort
Belizean Dreams Resort
#2 of 14 in Hopkins
927 reviews
0.3 mi away
Almond Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamanasi Adventure and Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamanasi Adventure and Dive Resort

Address: Hopkins/Sittee River Road | Hopkins Village, Hopkins, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Hopkins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hopkins
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hopkins
#1 Family Hotel in Hopkins
#1 Green Hotel in Hopkins
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hopkins
Price Range: $170 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the best of Belize on and offshore! Hamanasi is a secluded, casually elegant eco-resort. Unwind in spacious tree houses, beach front rooms and suites with AC, private porches and gorgeous hardwood furnishings. On property has a full service restaurant, bar, pool, lush gardens and a Gold Palm 5 star PADI dive facility. Onshore, explore Mayan ruins, Jaguar Preserve, caves, jungle rivers and rain forest waterfalls. All inclusive packages, Honeymoon and romance packages available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hamanasi Adventure And Dive Hotel Hopkins
Hamanasi Adventure And Dive Resort Belize/Hopkins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing