We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Greatest Place I've Never Been”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hopkins
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hamanasi Adventure and Dive Resort
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Hopkins
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 10, 2008

I got married in May and booked a honeymoon for my new wife and I at Hamanasi for the first week in June. Well, a tropical storm kept our honeymoon dreams from becoming a reality, but my experience with the resort could not have been better. The storm hit the Hopkins area very hard and in some places there was 12 feet of standing water. Hamanasi fared pretty well, but access to the resort was cut off for several days. They sent someone to meet us at the Belize City airport and arranged a room for us in town. Despite all that was going on with the flooding and despite a mostly disabled communications network, the Hamanasi staff were able to work out an arrangement with another resort further north. By the time my wife and I, along with another couple, got to the other resort everything had been worked out. Hamanasi arranged for us to get the same package and handled all the financial stuff, so we were able to enjoy our honeymoon worry free. I didn't actually speak to anyone from Hamanasi until four days into our trip, and only then because they wanted to make sure we were happy and having a good time. If the level of customer service I received is any indication, Hamanasi is indeed a wonderful place to vacation. Thanks for making our honeymoon worry-free under what could easily have been very stressful circumstances!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank NCTraveler67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,934)
There are newer reviews for Hamanasi Adventure and Dive Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,777 - 1,783 of 1,934 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2008

We started the first 5 days of our honeymoon at Hamanasi and were completely blown away. The resort is in a great isolated location, the food is incredible, and the people were the best part of the whole resort. The staff was incredibley friendly in a very genuine, not forced way. They new your names and went the extra mile to make our stay perfect. The guests were great too! We met many other honeymooners, young and old couples and just about everyone was a diver. We both got certified there, so you don't have to be a diver but it helps to get to know everyone if you go out on the dive boats during the day. The crowd was mainly couples of all ages and everyone hung out for happy hour at the pool, we made so many great friends. I would probably detour families with children, as it's just not a good atmosphere (for the kids and other guests).

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ryanlatham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2008

My husband and I, along with our twenty year-old daughter, traveled to Belize for her spring break. We found the Hamanasi Resort on the internet, and didn't know what to expect . What a magnificent all-inclusive resort!! From the minute we landed in Danghria and were met by the Hamanasi staff we were made to feel welcome. Everyone, and I mean every one of the staff we came into contact with, was personable and made us feel special and comfortable with our surroundings. We stayed in a tree house, which was lovely -- spacious, very clean, and fun to hear the birds outside our windows. The food was great! Never once did we feel like we needed to look for somewhere else to eat. We went on three adventures and each one was well organized and exciting, expecially the Mayan Cave, which was a new adventure for the resort -- Indescribable!! The resort"s location on the beach is beautiful, especially the way the pool area looks out over the ocean. Our trip to Hamanasi was one of our best family vacations!!!!

Stayed: March 2008
1  Thank nlbalbuq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2008

If you really want to switch gears, download and escape on your vacation, then this is the perfect getaway. Located in the southern part of Belize it is very isolated and unspoiled. We bought the all inclusive package (except booze) which came with meals and different tours each day. You can choose a beach house or a tree house. We recommend the tree house. It is a small resort and therefore, the the front line staff learns your name which adds to their already great hospitality. What really blew us away was the food. It far exceeded our expectations. The menu is varied and everything we had was outstanding. Happy hour everyday in the bar. No phones or TV's in the room just adds to the feeling you are truely disconnected and on vacation. Don't get me wrong, there is plenty to do. You can choose to take a tour, snorkle, dive or just sit around the pool and do nothing. If you want commotion, go to Cancun. If you want to get away from it all, then this is paradise.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jpad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2008

This review is a little late...We traveled to Belize in December and went for the diving. I had seen the ads for Hamanasi in all the dive magazines and the "Reef and Rainforest" Pacakge caught my attention. Some great, some mediocre reviews...

Great- rooms- very pretty, each with own deck, clean, large, georgeous 4poster mahagony bed, a safe is in the room, too.

Dining- spectacular- alwasy a treat- never boring dinners- lunches got old- but they were still good- I guess we just got spoiled getting to look at a new meun every night for dinner! I hope they haven't taken the orange pound cake off the menu! It's simple but perfect.

At the end of the boat dock there are 2 hammocks- perfect for just being...

Staff- great- very polite- learned names, which at first I thought strange but heck, it's small and you're spending a week with these people- it's fun to get to know them!

Dive Staff- very helpful- you didn't have to lift a finger getting your gear to/from the boat.

Giftshop- who would think this is somethign to write home about but it is...they had a lot of handicrafts- pottery, wood carvings, art work..we bought it all! Be sure to get the "bar game"...just ask.

Notes for divers: The house reef gets old, real quick. They say they'll take out dive boats to Glovers, Blue Hole, etc. but we had to convice all the other divers there to sign up (extra $100pp) so we could go dive the good stuff. It's about an hour and 20 minutes out to Glovers but it is SO worth the extra money and time. I wish we had been able to go to Blue Hole but apparently there were not as many avid divers there to warrant the trips. Oh well, another time.

Location: remember this is a 3rd world country....so venturing away from the resort into town, well there is not much. Plan to stay put unless on one of the guided trips.

Noseeums: Bring lots of bug spray- better safe than sorry. Weather changed on us one day, and the noseeums just about ate me alive. Seriously. Of course if you forget it, the gift shop has some deep-woodsOff and some cortizone...we bought that too.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank puggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2008

Hamanasi is the perfect vacation resort! From the friendly staff to the smallest detail our stay at Hamanasi went above and beyond our expectations! I have never felt more welcomed and relaxed on a vacation. We spent 7 days out of our 2 week trip at Hamanasi and it was absolutely the best part of our trip. The food was delicious and provided so many different options every day. If you really want to get away and relax this is it! There are hammocks tucked under palms with the ocean at your feet. The grounds are amazing with a variety of plants and lots of birds. I cannot say enough about the service and staff at this resort. I have never received such superb service and attention. Each and every individual genuinely makes sure that you are taken care of and are having a great time. Not only the staff at the resort, but all of the tour guides were also fabulous. We went on 6 different trips from snorkeling- hiking- Mayan ruins- they offer everything you could ever want to experience in Belize. Again- if you are looking for a resort with it all- this is it. The best part about it is that Hamanasi is not like other big noisy, busy resorts- they really do things perfectly to make your stay the best it can be. I would definitely recomend this resort- it truly is a wonderful resort! We loved it and hope to return very soon!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Mountaingirl75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2008

We spent 9 days at Hamanasi in April/May 2008 and had our wedding there. The staff is super friendly and very accommodating; every staff member is willing to go out of their way to help. We stayed in one of the treehouses, which was great--very private and simply beautiful. Hamanasi took care of all the wedding details--all we had to do was show up. The adventure trips were so much fun and the tour guides were very knowledgeable about everything Belize. The packages, which include room, meals, and adventure trips, are a great deal. The food was superb. The atmosphere at the resort is so laid back and relaxing. This was truly a wonderful vacation! I'd definitely recommend Hamanasi.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank amyb444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopkins
10.5 mi away
Coco Plum Island Resort
Coco Plum Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Coco Plum Cay
980 reviews
22.7 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 19 in Placencia
777 reviews
22.3 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 19 in Placencia
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Belizean Dreams Resort
Belizean Dreams Resort
#2 of 11 in Hopkins
836 reviews
0.3 mi away
Almond Beach Resort & Spa
2.5 mi away
Hopkins Bay Resort
Hopkins Bay Resort
#5 of 11 in Hopkins
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamanasi Adventure and Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamanasi Adventure and Dive Resort

Address: Hopkins/Sittee River Road | Hopkins Village, Hopkins, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Hopkins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hopkins
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hopkins
#1 Green Hotel in Hopkins
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hopkins
#1 Family Hotel in Hopkins
Price Range: $170 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the best of Belize on and offshore! Hamanasi is a secluded, casually elegant eco-resort. Unwind in spacious tree houses, beach front rooms and suites with AC, private porches and gorgeous hardwood furnishings. On property has a full service restaurant, bar, pool, lush gardens and a Gold Palm 5 star PADI dive facility. Onshore, explore Mayan ruins, Jaguar Preserve, caves, jungle rivers and rain forest waterfalls. All inclusive packages, Honeymoon and romance packages available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hamanasi Adventure And Dive Hotel Hopkins
Hamanasi Adventure And Dive Resort Belize/Hopkins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing