We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hamanasi Adventure and Dive Resort
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Hopkins
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Villa Verano(Hopkins)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Average 3/5
    View Hotel
    Excellent 5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (2,092)
    Filter reviews
    2,092 results
    Traveler rating
    2,011
    69
    4
    4
    4
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    2,011
    69
    4
    4
    4
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsdeluxe treehousehamanasi stafftree housemayan ruinsour honeymoonc doglion fishinland adventuresmayflower hikeorganic gardenbig daddyadventure centersea dogbeachfront roomblue holehamanasi offersother guests
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    1,087 - 1,092 of 2,092 reviews
    Reviewed July 8, 2013

    Wonderful place, all in all. Just adding to the general praise.

    Stayed in a deluxe treehouse -- brand new structure with native exposed wood walls/ceiling and high ceilings. Beautiful appointments; extremely private, with a hot-tub on the deck. Although it was worth the premium, we chose the treehouse because we were a little afraid that the beachfront places would be noisy. Rest assured, there is NO noisy spot on the entire property. It's main appeal is the quiet, in fact. As advertised, there are no televisions, no radios, no phones in the rooms. The only music we heard was the occasional performance by local musicians in the lounge area at night during cocktail hour.

    We were there in late April; there was a constant breeze and we experienced next to nothing from the no-see-ums. The last day, when it was a little more still, they were a little bothersome, but only minimally.

    The element that made this spot unique for me was the tree-line of high palms that led almost directly to the shore line; within 10-15 feet in fact. The jungle was cleared sparingly so that there were scattered tall palms with plenty of shade, but plenty of cleared sand and spacing between the palm trees with hammocks strung between here and there. Of note, even at capacity, there were rarely more than 4-5 people on the beach during the day/evening the whole week.

    The sand is slightly coarse in this region on the mainland. One of our guides explained that this is due to the river silt depositing a lot of the sand, as opposed to the powder sand out on the cayes. It has a pleasant swimming beach, but the spectacular beaches and sand are again on the cayes.

    The diving is amazing, but geared toward slightly more experienced divers. We are infrequent and initially hesitant divers, and we felt the divemasters could have been a bit more attentive to getting us comfortable. That said, the divemasters were entertaining, highly skilled, knowledgeable, and helpful. This is the only dive resort I've ever stayed at where all tanks/equipment/dive mesh bags were delivered straight onto the boat and dock, then removed to the dive shop at the end of the day every day. Very relaxing way to take a dive trip.

    We ate a couple of meals in the village of Hopkins. Depending on the weather, it's better to take one of the Hamanasi private cabs ($5 roundtrip) to the village of Hopkins; the road in between Hamanasi and the village is just dry dirt with nothing to look at. Try Innie's kitchen for authentic local fare. The meals at Hamanasi were varied and quite tasty. They repeat many of the favorites, but switch up many elements of the menu each day. I remember the conch burger in particular for lunch.

    There is excellent free wifi reception around the main building; there were always 1-2 people sitting on the benches checking e-mail on ipads. Having to take your device to the main building for internet access makes you a bit more reluctant than usual to just check your email quickly -- another reason to come to Hamanasi.

    You must do the "ultimate" dive, consisting of three dives at the outer cayes. Half Moon Caye is one of the most beautiful spots I've ever seen -- 20 varied shades of light blue and turquoise water; stunning.

    This is no doubt my new perfect beach spot. We will be back, hopefully every year.

    • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank erdocmdca
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed July 7, 2013

    I initially discovered Hamanasi right here on Trip Advisor and was very impressed by the wonderful reviews. It's hard to imagine how a resort can get it all so right, but Hamanasi does! We booked the romance package for 7 days, 6 nights, 5 excursions and stayed in a treehouse. The accommodations are beautiful with not a detail left behind. I've never slept so good in my life! The staff treat you like family (maybe even better than family) from the moment you arrive (actually at the airport) to the moment you depart. In our case the love continued even after we left and went on to a second week at another place which did not meet our expectations. The staff helped us get back to Hopkins, found us a place to stay as they were at full capacity, and welcomed us back with open arms for another 1/2 week of diving, fabulous food, and great people.

    My husband and I are both divers which was our main motivation of this trip. The dive crew are fun, professional, and experts in what they do. We enjoyed 7 days of diving and were very glad to take part in the Ultimate Dive which is one of their special excursions.

    The meals are served in the restaurant at the main house and every server takes the time to chat with you, know a little about you, and share their own personal stories. Breakfast is a great buffet, and lunch and dinner are both table service. We enjoyed every dish and had great variety as they have a rotation of the menu. Dinner is a 3 course meal with an appetizer, entree, and dessert. The food is delicious and well presented.

    This is not a resort that is constantly trying to make money off of you. We were fortunate to meet the owners who were at the resort during our stay and the amazing service based culture starts with them. If there is any doubt in your mind, put it away and book this resort immediately. We are already discussing our plans to return.

    Room Tip: I definitely recommend the treehouses as they are just as luxurious and more private than the oceanfront.
    • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Melissa D
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed July 3, 2013

    I have been very lucky to be a diver and to visit many fabulous dive resorts around the world. Hamanasi was just amazing!!! The staff made us all feel like part of their family and did whatever they could to make us feel comfortable and appreciated! They all knew our names from the minute we arrived until the minute we left!! Truly amazing!! They really went beyond that 110 percent regarding customer service!!! The accomodations were great --- an ocean view, clean and comfortable! The food was great and they "catered" to our requests.The diving was some of the best I have experienced with experienced and expert dive masters. Thank you for many wonderful memories and I shall recommend this resort to everyone!! Hope to see you again in the near future. Charla

    Room Tip: Ocean view was fabulous!!!!! I had no problem with noise and I was next to the restaurant ---- first floor, second room from the end.
    • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank charlamac
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed July 1, 2013

    Our stay with Hamanasi was exceptional in all respects. From our first interaction while booking our stay until the final sad goodbye the thoughtfulness, professionalism and friendliness of the staff is off the charts exceptional. Hamanasi takes the eco in eco-tourism very seriously with small and large brush strokes - large natural grounds, reusable water containers, notes on broad leaves, no motorized vehicles on the grounds (and lots of wheelbarrows). Belize has lots of natural beauty and history to explore - fantastic reefs for diving or snorkling, jungle adventures, Mayan ruins, 75 bird species in one afternoon with a Hamansi guide. We ate every meal at Hamanasi and had no desire to go anywhere else (and our group had high expectations). Once you arrive at Hamansi you won't want to leave!

    • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Mike M
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed June 27, 2013

    We spent our honeymoon here and all the reviews about their level of service are accurate. Tropical Storm Barry hit the first two days we were at the resort and all excursions were cancelled, but the staff went out of their way to make sure everyone was still having a good time. They brought in the local drum band, extended happy hour and helped us make a last minute massage appointment at the local spa. They very easily could have said, "sorry, we can't control the weather", but they proactively made a tough situation enjoyable. When the weather cleared, we continued to enjoy amazing meals and top level service. Ocean conditions only allowed us to go diving once, but visibility was great and the crew was top notch. Ziplining, Mayan Ruins and the Monkey River Tour were all a lot of fun and we enjoyed the opportunity to just take the resort's bikes and ride into town. We've already started talking about our next trip back to Belize and Hamanasi is at the top of our list to stay again.

    Room Tip: We were in a second floor beachfront and loved the view.
    • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank garys325
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews