We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Vacation I've ever Had. Period”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hopkins
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hamanasi Adventure and Dive Resort
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Hopkins
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Bakersfield, CA
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Vacation I've ever Had. Period”
Reviewed April 21, 2008

Our vacation to Hamanasi was so nice. I wife (then girlfriend) and I stayed in a treehouse room which was really great because they're so private. We bought the 5 day adventure package

The room was very spacious, clean, and comfortable. Walking through the jungle path to get the room was a delight each time. No TV! You're there to get away from normal life.

The food and drinks at Hamanasi were so very good. The different soups with dinner every night were to die for.

The diving was pretty good. This isn't the best place to go if that is your absolute top priority due to the 30-45 minute ride out to the reef. Trips to the atolls were 2 hours one way (we didn't opt). But this was all offset by the great selection of land adventures that they had to choose from. All very fun. Also No shore diving.

The staff was great.
I'm currently planning our '08 summer trip and was realy tempted to go back to Hamanasi.

Oh ya one more thing... When the pilot starts the approach into Dangriga... that is a runway cut into the jungle and not a stick of gum as it might appear.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,816
    67
    4
    3
    4
See reviews for
489
1,076
39
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (694)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2008

Hamanasi was an incredible place to start our honeymoon. The hotel is gorgeous- we stayed in one of the secluded tree houses. Food, staff and service were incredible. We're not divers, but enjoyed the beach, snorkeling, paddling and biking in the area. We didn't choose a package deal and were happy with our a la carte choices.

We didn't want to feel overscheduled and tied to eating at the resort. There aren't a lot of other restaurant options in the area, so we ended up enjoying the Hamanasi restaurant for most meals.

Highly recommend Hamanasi for a wonderful, peaceful trip!

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank overseasdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central VA
1 review
Reviewed April 1, 2008

Hamanasi provides a superb Belizean vacation experience in a tranquil central coast setting. The resort offers a rainforest/reef package that introduces the new travelers to the best of Belize. Inland tours include hiking through the rainforest to view and swim at waterfalls, explore ancient Mayan culture through the artifacts in caves and excavated temples, paddling down the Sittee River in canoes or kayaks, and extraordinary birding. Reef adventures include both Scuba and Snorkling for novices through experts. The trips are lead by knowlegable and friendly guides who are dedicated to making each experience a pleasure for the participants. The rooms are spacious and nicely appointed, kept up with daily maid service. We first stayed in room on the beachfront then moved to a treehouse which provides a very private setting. The food is excellent with a menu that varies daily and always includes local cuisine- the fresh fish is superb. The resort has a pool on the beach and a bar providing tropical drink specials for a beachside Happy Hour. The entire staff is dedicated to your enjoyment. These ingredients combine for an wonderful vacation. Lillian & David

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — The wine list was limited, but satisfactory and reasonable
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Gang-of-six
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 31, 2008

My wife and I visited Hamanasi on our Honeymoon in December 2007 and didnt want to leave!! The place was beautiful, the staff was terrific and the food and amenities were the best!! We made many new friends during our stay, both guests and staff. Everything about the place was top notch. The guides were first rate and extremely friendly and helpful. We've never had a better trip. It made our honeymoon perfect! Thanks to Jan, King, Golden, Emmie, Oswalt and everyone else!!!!

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dlubell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
Reviewed March 19, 2008

Hamanasi Resort is absolutely the best!! Had such a wonderful time we are planning on going again next year. The snorkeling and adventure tours were wonderful. The friendliness and helpfulness of the staff made our stay even more enjoyable. Was a perfect vacation.
George and Peggy Veator
Zephyrhills, Florida

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank travelon33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Valley AZ
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2008

Fantastic white sand beach, great for families, and honeymooners! a walk along the beach brings you to several other resorts, bars, resturants (bonus as most resort are fairly remote). Staff very accomodating, friendly, informative. Renewed our vows here which was extremely special. Patricia went out of her way to help organize a great seculded beach ceremony & private beach dinner. The treehouses are secluded & very special - a MUST to stay in!

  • Liked — Unique, out-of-the-odinary, 1-of-a-kind, gorgeous, special
  • Disliked — a little remote, a rental car helps, dusty, bumpy roads into the resort
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LindaRan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2008

This is our dream resort, we keep going back, it's sheer heaven. Love the staff, the dive crew, the location, the service. Everything is amazing!

  • Liked — The place and the people
  • Disliked — the price keeps going up every year
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Nituta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopkins
10.5 mi away
Coco Plum Island Resort
Coco Plum Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Coco Plum Cay
948 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parrot Cove Lodge
Parrot Cove Lodge
#6 of 11 in Hopkins
294 reviews
22.7 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 19 in Placencia
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
633 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belizean Dreams
Belizean Dreams
#2 of 11 in Hopkins
810 reviews
0.3 mi away
Almond Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamanasi Adventure and Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamanasi Adventure and Dive Resort

Property: Hamanasi Adventure and Dive Resort
Address: Hopkins/Sittee River Road | Hopkins Village, Hopkins, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Hopkins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Hopkins
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hopkins
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hopkins
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hopkins
#1 Family Hotel in Hopkins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the best of Belize on and offshore! Hamanasi is a secluded, casually elegant eco-resort. Unwind in spacious tree houses, beach front rooms and suites with AC, private porches and gorgeous hardwood furnishings. On property has a full service restaurant, bar, pool, lush gardens and a Gold Palm 5 star PADI dive facility. Onshore, explore Mayan ruins, Jaguar Preserve, caves, jungle rivers and rain forest waterfalls. All inclusive packages, Honeymoon and romance packages available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hamanasi Adventure And Dive Hotel Hopkins
Hamanasi Adventure And Dive Resort Belize/Hopkins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing