We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Vacation Ever”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hopkins
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hamanasi Adventure and Dive Resort
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Hopkins
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We recently spent a week at Hamanasi. We are two divorced women with teenagers who were looking for a relaxing, exciting, cultural and exotic spot for us and our kids. Well we found it at Hamanasi.
The resort is able to tailor the experience to all types of individuals and families. Whether traveling alone, with kids, or a couple, Hamanasi delivers a fun filled, exciting vacation. We left wanting to book our next vacation before our plane even took off for home!
The food is delicious and fresh. Loved the Happy Hour after a day of hiking or biking or snorkeling - never felt as if you had to get "dolled up" for dinner yet meals were elegant and enjoyable.
Staff are top notch. They will know your name within an hour and always greet you with a friendly hello. I was an early riser (5:30am) and coffee was always hot and ready. Nothing more serene then sitting on that beautiful beach early in the morning. A memory to treasure always!
The tours are fabulous and run by Hamanasi staff who are better than a library in their knowledge of Belize.
Book Hamanasi whether you are single, married, divorced, with kids, no kids - you won't be disappointed. And chances are you will be come back as we plan to do!!!

Room Tip: We loved the Beachfront rooms for the kids as they could run out to the beach and back easily. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flo1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,944)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,050 - 1,056 of 1,944 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2013

My new wife and I spend 5 nights at Hamanasi, and found the experience to be excellent. The customer service was exceptional. Meals were very good. Excursions we amazing. The guides all had the highest level knowledge of the excursions they were conducting, whether it was a Mayan Ruins tours, Cave excursion, or hike in the Jaguar reserve. The vehicles used for these excursions are in great condition, with great AC and comfortable seats, which is important as drive times vary from 45 minutes to 2 1/2 hours. I was on my honeymoon, so was not looking for a nightlife, but be aware the bar closes and at 9:30 or 10, and the place is basically asleep after that. Neighboring Hopkins is a friendly, safe town with a few good restaurants, but minimal nightlife. The staff all know your name, and you feel that they really care about how good of a time you are having. I would recommend for couples and adventure seekers, not partiers or night owls.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Tyler W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We just returned from a 5 day trip to the Hamanasi Resort. We have traveled extensively to many countries and this was one of the top places we have stayed at. My wife and I, our 3 adult children and a close family friend all feel the same. Although the weather left much to be desired- unseasonable rain- it did not impact our activities much and everyone went out of their way to insure our comforts. The treehouse rooms were spacious, clean and very comfortable, the grounds beautiful and well maintained, their environmental consciousness is excellent, and we were so impressed that every staff member was very friendly and tried to remember everyone's name. The guides were very knowledgeable and the staff were happy to arrange a private belizean cooking demonstration. All-in-all no complaints and we would love to go back in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MartyRandell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

My husband and I "discovered" this resort in one of our dive magazines and selected it for our winter dive vacation. We heard from other diving friends that the Belizian Barrier Reef was spectacular so we were expecting this to be an exceptional dive vacation. What we did not expect was all the additional exceptional amenities/experiences that the resort offers and the extremely hospitable staff. Our entire experience was much better that we had imagined or hoped for. We left Hamanasi with wonderful memories, new friends, and a desire to visit again.

Room Tip: The tree house suites are very quite and private. The beach front rooms on the second floor of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cjmatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

My family and I went to Hamansi just prior to xmas .The activities are fantastic (my daughter learnt to dive) ,food and bar are terrific .But what made for a great holiday is the staff.
Toby,Sea Dog ,Martin and all the other dive and water team were great.Karina and other front desk staff were always helpful and friendly.Pauline always had a smile on her face and a warm greeting when you went to the dining room.The guides are very knowlegable and fun.I really don't want to single people out because everyone on Hamansi is fanatstic.You can do as little as or as much as you want on Hamansi,but we go into a routine of getting up early either diving,snorkeling or doing an inland adventure back in time for happy hour ,dinner and bed by 9.00pm exhausted and very happy.Yes there are sandflies , my wife and kids had bites but they didn't me (I had more happy hour).It is no big deal.We will go back for sure.

Room Tip: go the tree houses!!!
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank brad3737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We visited Hamanasi in Jan 2013 and had a wonderful time. Excellent staff; facilities were elegant without being ostentatious. We were impressed that they compost the food and vegetation waste and use it to grow their own fruit and vegetables. The resort also supports the local humane society and has adopted shelter animals living on the property. A very progressive operation. Guides were personable and very well informed in ornithology, botany, and ichthiology. We visited other sites in Belize and the reef in this region was far supperior to the reefs elsewhere - the coral was healthy and the marine life was diverse and plentiful. The Cockscomb Jaguar Reserve offered a marvelous view of a mature rainforest in good condition. Be sure to swim in the waterfall pool - great fun! All in all a great vacation.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Trish H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

If you plan to go diving--don't look any further! We dove every day for 7 days and had a terrific experience. The Hamanasi dive shop is used by many of the resorts in the area and we were fortunate to be right there! The dive masters are very good, safety conscious and always willing to go out of their way to help you. The diving on the reef is the best I've seen!

The Hamanasi staff couldn't be kinder and more accommodating! Everyone knew our names by the second day and they go out of their way to provide each guest with excellent service. We felt so comfortable and relaxed and cared for.....

Bring bug repellent and apply it often. We were advised to take garlic pills for a week before our trip and then during our trip, and I swear it worked!

We stayed in a beach front deluxe two bedroom, one bathroom and it was perfect for our family of four.

We enjoyed the Mayan History Tour and even though we had to tear ourselves away from the ocean that day, we all agreed it was well worth our time to visit these ruins.

I think it is worth mentioning that the beach along the coast where Hamanasi is located isn't great for swimming. It didn't bother us because we were out diving every day, but if you are hoping to swim at the beach, this may not be the right location for you. Hamanasi does have a lovely pool and the grounds are beautifully maintained with plenty of quiet spots with hammocks, chairs, lounge chairs, etc to admire the ocean.

I've read most of the reviews in the past 8 months and they are all true! Hamanasi is a very special place, with special people.

Thank you Hamanasi Team for making our stay with you one of our best vacations ever!

Room Tip: Beach front rooms are comfortable, not noisy and accessible to the pool and dining areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopkins
10.5 mi away
Coco Plum Island Resort
Coco Plum Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Coco Plum Cay
999 reviews
22.3 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 20 in Placencia
648 reviews
22.7 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 20 in Placencia
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Belizean Dreams Resort
Belizean Dreams Resort
#2 of 11 in Hopkins
852 reviews
0.3 mi away
Almond Beach Resort & Spa
2.5 mi away
Hopkins Bay Resort
Hopkins Bay Resort
#5 of 11 in Hopkins
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamanasi Adventure and Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamanasi Adventure and Dive Resort

Address: Hopkins/Sittee River Road | Hopkins Village, Hopkins, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Hopkins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hopkins
#1 Green Hotel in Hopkins
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hopkins
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hopkins
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hopkins
Price Range: $170 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the best of Belize on and offshore! Hamanasi is a secluded, casually elegant eco-resort. Unwind in spacious tree houses, beach front rooms and suites with AC, private porches and gorgeous hardwood furnishings. On property has a full service restaurant, bar, pool, lush gardens and a Gold Palm 5 star PADI dive facility. Onshore, explore Mayan ruins, Jaguar Preserve, caves, jungle rivers and rain forest waterfalls. All inclusive packages, Honeymoon and romance packages available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hamanasi Adventure And Dive Hotel Hopkins
Hamanasi Adventure And Dive Resort Belize/Hopkins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing