We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A family trip of a life time with amazing and welcoming service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hamanasi Adventure and Dive Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hopkins
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hamanasi Adventure and Dive Resort
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Hopkins
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Ontario
2 reviews
“A family trip of a life time with amazing and welcoming service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

My husband and I and our two sons (age 14 and 16) stayed at Hamanasi for 15 nights over the end of November and beginning of December and it was the trip of a life time for our family. Both the beachfront rooms and the honeymoon suite were beautiful, very comfortable and very clean. The beach, dock and grounds of the resort are equally beautiful. The food was always fresh and delicious, including the snacks and lunches provided on both marine and land excursions.

What really topped off our travel to Belize and Hamanasi was the incredible welcoming, friendly and accommodating people and service. At Hamanasi the staff were outstanding regardless of whether it was the front desk staff, grounds keepers , tour guides, dive shop guys or the restaurant and cleaning /maintenance staff. All were amazing in their service orientation and genuine effort to make our stay the best it could be.

The dive shop is fantastic and they were excellent in their instruction for the open water scuba certificate. The dive/snorkel guides and land excursion guides were all exceptionally knowledgeable and willingly shared the natural and cultural wonders of Belize with us.

Although our sons were generally the only teenagers at the resort during our stay they were completely entertained and felt at ease and relaxed with the staff and the opportunities offered. The evenings of Garifuna drumming were a huge hit as well. We were very happy with our decision to stay at Hamanasi for the full duration of our trip as the variety of adventures offered allowed us to explore many part of the country and never get bored. For our families first visit to Belize we considered the value for money at Hamanasi excellent. Our only regret was not staying longer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RovingGrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,729
    64
    4
    3
    4
See reviews for
449
1,033
38
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (653)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sumter, South Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

Every bit as good as all these reviews make it out to be. My wife and two sons (7&10) had the time of our lives during our seven days at Hamanasi. Although they were the only children at the resort, everyone went out of their way to make my boys feel welcome. The adventures we went on were all incredible. The food and drinks were fantastic.

If you're on the fence about this place get off and book the trip!

Room Tip: The deluxe treehouse is the way to go if you're bringing kids or just want some privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thesmellofiron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

My husband and I decided we needed a vacation and after researching various places in Belize, chose Hamanasi. We stayed in a treehouse which was lovely. The resort and the people exceeded our expectations in every way. They think of everything and are very eco-friendly which is important to us. We arrived to a warm welcome. Everyone is very friendly and remembers your name. The tour guides are extremely knowledgeable. I not only enjoyed everything we did, but I learned so much about the country, the jungle and the wildlife. We kayaked on the Sittee River, hiked to a waterfall and swam in the pool at the based of the fall, snorkeled with tropical fish, sea turtles and rays, and did the zipline -- very exciting! One afternoon we took two bikes (provided by the resort) and went to the town of Hopkins which is a short bike ride away. The food at the resort is expertly prepared with fresh, local ingredients. To say the grounds are well maintained is an understatement. We will be back and as I said, it was fabulous!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Hamanasi for 8 nights in early December 2012 for our honeymoon, and we were quite impressed. We flew into Belize City and took a small plane to Dangriga, where we were met by Ems, one of the hotel's guides.The resort is located about 40 minutes by car from the Dangriga airport, and all of the transportation from Belize City was arranged by Hamanasi in the all-inclusive package that we purchased. From the start, we received very personalized service and we soon realized that all of the Hamanasi staff take pains to remember remember the names of each and every guest. The front-desk staff, Nandina and Karina in particular, were efficient and willing to help with any number of requests, such as lending us a backpack for hiking, since we forgot ours. We had a beautiful beachfront room with a balcony and hammock. We especially liked the fact that Hamanasi is truly making efforts to be a "green" resort with energy-conserving techniques, doing its own composting, etc. The food was phenomenal, with fresh local ingredients prepared by chef Sherri, who recently won #1 chef in the the Taste of Belize contest this year. The waitstaff, especially Suzette, Florita, and Pauline, were very personable, and we also had great service from Mark, the bartender. The excursions are led by knowledgeable, friendly guides, and are a great value for the money. Terri, Elvis, Martin, and John do a great job running the snorkeling/scuba trips, and Pedro and Lorenzo were stand-out guides for the Mayflower hike and cave tours.The town of Hopkins itself is safe, and Hamanasi provides bicycles for guests to explore on their own. Overall, we had a wonderful stay and we will be planning a return trip in a few years. I recommend Hamanasi if you are looking for an outdoorsy, relaxing vacation at a beautiful, well-maintained hotel with great food and great customer service.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ashburke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

What to say about the perfect vacation. The staff and people of Belize we met were simply the nicest of anywhere we've been. We place a lot of value on service and our expectations were surpassed at Hamanasi. This is also not a party hotel, most people were in bed or back in their rooms after supper.
The dive operation runs totally smoothly. They seemed to get guests at neighbouring hotels, and they cater to a variety of skill sets. My husband saw a hammerhead on his second dive! If you have the time, make sure you do the ziplining. OMG - so fun! The mayan tour takes you across Belize so you can see how pristine and untouched the country really is.
Make sure to bring plenty of sunscreen, we got slightly burnt snorkelling and kayaking. Bring bug spray as well, the resort appears to be carved into the jungle, so the no-see-ims are pretty intense.
I actually cried on the puddle jumped to Belize City airport when we left. I don't think we'll ever surpass the vacation bar set by Hamanasi and Belize.

Room Tip: People rave about the tree houses, but we were in one of the Honeymoon suites on the beach and it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JLM1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

My Husband and I just returned from a week vacation at Hamanasi. As stated in other reviews this place is a true gem. The reviews and awards are dead on. The Hamanasi staff where hands down the most gracious, attentive and helpful staff we have ever encountered in our years of travel. From the tours, to the snorkeling, we enjoyed knowledgeable and friendly guides. The rooms were spacious, very clean, and very comfortable. The grounds were impeccable, the reef was so awesome and the FOOD.....outstanding!!!! The chef was gracious enough to cook up a fish that my husband had caught the same day for a fresh meal and it was impeccably prepared. There is a reason why they have been awarded the best Hotel of Belize and a reason they continue to receive great reviews. If you are choosing Belize as your destination, a stop at Hamanasi is money well spent. You will not want to leave.

Room Tip: All the rooms have A/C. The treehouse rooms are really novel and private, while you have beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Time2Travel1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
385 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Hamanasi is a fantastic place to stay. The site is perfect and everything is beautifully kept. We had one of the beachfront rooms rather than a treehouse and I think, personally, that these rooms are nicer - the treehouses, as you would expect, are in amongst the trees and looked a bit dark, whereas we had a nice view of the beach over the top of the palm trees. The ratio of staff to guests was very high and everyone was really friendly and would do everything they could to help you. The room was a good size with everything you need including a large drinking water dispenser, which means you don't have to spend loads of money on bottled water. All the rooms have Aircon, which is good not just for reducing the temperature, but also for reducing humidity, which can be very high.

The dive centre was excellent. They carted all the gear to and from the boats and took care of all the rinsing off after the trip, so all we had to do was sit on the boat and dive! The guides and divemasters were great and really knowledgeable.

All of this comes at a price, though, and I felt it was a bit expensive, particularly if you eat at the restaurant in the evenings. However, if you are happy to pay your money, then you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopkins
0.3 mi away
Parrot Cove Lodge
Parrot Cove Lodge
#6 of 11 in Hopkins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
10.6 mi away
Coco Plum Island Resort
Coco Plum Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Coco Plum Cay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
22.7 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Belizean Dreams
Belizean Dreams
#2 of 11 in Hopkins
5.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
0.3 mi away
Almond Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamanasi Adventure and Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamanasi Adventure and Dive Resort

Property: Hamanasi Adventure and Dive Resort
Address: Hopkins/Sittee River Road | Hopkins Village, Hopkins, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Hopkins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hopkins
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hopkins
#1 Green Hotel in Hopkins
#1 Family Hotel in Hopkins
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hopkins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the best of Belize on and offshore! Hamanasi is a secluded, casually elegant eco-resort. Unwind in spacious tree houses, beach front rooms and suites with AC, private porches and gorgeous hardwood furnishings. On property has a full service restaurant, bar, pool, lush gardens and a Gold Palm 5 star PADI dive facility. Onshore, explore Mayan ruins, Jaguar Preserve, caves, jungle rivers and rain forest waterfalls. All inclusive packages, Honeymoon and romance packages available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hamanasi Adventure And Dive Hotel Hopkins
Hamanasi Adventure And Dive Resort Belize/Hopkins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing