We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, peaceful, and reasonably priced lodging”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Parrot Cove Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Parrot Cove Lodge
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Hopkins
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Comfortable, peaceful, and reasonably priced lodging”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I took a brief getaway to Hopkins the first weekend of April. After researching several lodging options, we settled on Parrot Cove because it seemed to be the only reasonably-priced place in Hopkins with a swimming pool.
The room - We were pleased to find a very comfortable poolside room. It's nothing fancy or luxurious, but it had everything we were looking for. The wood ceilings are a beautiful touch. The bed was comfortable, the TV worked well, the hot shower felt great, and the towels were soft. Although the pool was right outside, this isn't a party hotel, so it was still tranquil.
The amenities - The ocean is directly behind the hotel, and we really enjoyed walking thirty seconds from our room to the saltwater. There is a nice patch of water for floating and swimming right next to the hotel's dock. We were only bothered by the sand flies and mosquitoes at dinnertime at Chef Rob's restaurant. On the pool and the beach, they didn't bother us. We didn't end up using the bicycles, kayaks, or snorkeling gear, but appreciated their complimentary availability.
The service - The new front desk staff, Ben, is amiable and has a "no problem" attitude. Whatever request we had, he didn't seem bothered by it and was quick to respond. Chef Rob, even with his reputation as a famous cook, was down-to-earth, and his wife paid us a personal visit at the dinner table as well. We enjoyed the opportunity to converse with the owners, and they made us feel welcome.
At the risk of upsetting our new Hopkins friends, I would probably choose Placencia / Maya Beach over Hopkins, but it was still worth visiting for a night. Hopkins seemed more pricey than Placencia, even though it's a less developed area, and that surprised me. However, if I returned to Hopkins, I would definitely choose to stay at Parrot Cove again.

Room Tip: Poolside suites are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    64
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
101
109
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, AL
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

My family and I stayed at Parrot Cove Lodge during spring break for our second year in a row. Accomodations are excellent. Corrie, Chef Rob and the staff treated us like family, no speical request was too big or small, and the food is outstanding. We hope to be able to make the trip back to Parrot Cove for years to come.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 163HappyCamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

My family recently stayed at the Parrot Cove Lodge and we were blown away by the staff, accommodations and the meals prepared by Chef Rob! The staff really knows how to treat people and they were great with my daughter. I would really recommend you giving the Parrot Cove Lodge a shot! You will enjoy the stay and love the food! You won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: If you have a larger family or group, look into the Beach House! Don't forget to go snorkeling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabaster, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

My daughter and I stayed for a week over spring break, and really loved it. What makes this so amazing is the combination of the breath-taking location, Chef Rob's superb restaurant and the incredible hospitality of Chef Rob and his lovely wife Corrie, and all the staff. We stayed in one of the standard rooms, and it was all we needed (and more). Though honestly, we were in the room so very little, with the spectacular beach and views, and all this area has to offer. This really sums it up. My daughter had her birthday while we were there, and I mentioned to Corrie that my daughter's birthday was coming up and I wanted to try and do a little something special for her. On the evening of her birthday, she brought out this amazing cake for my daughter as a surprise, complete with candles and sparklers.. It was beautiful.

Each meal was an experience on it's own, truly 5 star dining. All the staff were so hospitable and kind, they really went above and beyond to make it a wonderful trip. I would recommend it again and again. Thanks for making our 1st stay in Belize the best ever.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabaster, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

I hated leaving the Staff as much as the hotel itself!! Just returned from 2 weeks there with friends and family. We had a large group and the whole team at Parrot Cove went out of their way to make our stay memorable. Two birthday celebrations didn't phase them at all!! Complete with sparklers and party favors for the kids Chef Rob and Corrie were wonderful to us all. I will miss Cyrillia at Breakfast and King, Hilarion and Raymond for Dinner!! Headed back as often as I can save up to go!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Our Group was back again. This time parts of our team were there for 2 weeks. Again the Food and service were excellent. Chef Rob, Corrie and Staff took care of all of our needs.
This is one place you do not want to miss!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mission_Friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

I stayed here over Christmas with some friends (and just realised I haven't posted my review yet) and we decided to splash out and rent half of the beach house (it's a house divided into 2 apartments which can be rented together or separately). It was more expensive than the normal rooms and coupled with it being peak season, it was almost $2000 for the week. We had the ground floor section which had two large bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, a kitchen with dining area, lounge and outside patio.

Firstly the positives. The house is right on the beach and you can hear the waves from your bed at night. Lovely. Air con is good, and the kitchen had a decent sized fridge/freezer and oven. The resort itself is small but friendly; there's a small communal pool and a brilliant on-site restaurant. The other rooms seem to be clustered around the pool. Romeo on the front desk was friendly and helpful, and the use of complimentary bikes to get into town are useful. The resort is at the furthest end of the beach away from Hopkins which wasn't a problem for us as we did a lot of our own cooking at home. If you are planning on eating out in the town and don't fancy the 15 min bike ride over some potholed roads, you may want to consider hiring a golf cart.

Hopkins itself is a great place to stay if you're looking for somewhere sleepy and relaxing.

So the negatives. The house although spacious has a sad air of neglect and could really do with some TLC. It clearly hasn't been booked for a while when we arrived; they had no idea that the safe was broken or that the drain in the master en suite bath/shower was broken and blocked. Despite attempts by the caretaker, this was not able to be fixed during our stay. The whole place smelled slightly damp. When we turned the water on, it came out brown for the first shower. The shower in the master en suite is over a bath (more about that later) with no shower screen. Shower therefore equals flooded floor. There is an odd, partly-completed enclosure in that bathroom which could have been meant for a proper shower but they obviously gave up and just put doors over the space. The "hot tub" referred to on the website is in fact a bath for 2 with a few dubious looking jets in. As much as we like our friends, we didn't fancy squeezing in there.

The house wasn't brilliantly clean either and could have done with a proper spring clean, together with a few bits of painting and carpentry to bring it up to the standard it could be. Given that this is billed on the website as a "premiere beach house" they really need to work on some of the little things.

Overall we enjoyed our stay, although until the house is bought up to standard, save your money and rent a room by the pool.

Room Tip: Go for a room by the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harveyk11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopkins
23.1 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
16.0 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Margarita
Villa Margarita
#7 of 11 in Hopkins
5.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Belizean Dreams
Belizean Dreams
#2 of 11 in Hopkins
5.0 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hopkins Bay Resort
Hopkins Bay Resort
#5 of 11 in Hopkins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.1 mi away
Almond Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parrot Cove Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parrot Cove Lodge

Property: Parrot Cove Lodge
Address: False Sittee Point, Hopkins, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Hopkins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Hopkins
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Hopkins
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hopkins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Parrot Cove Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the beach just south of the village of Hopkins, Parrot Cove Lodge is a petit resort centrally located between the reef and the rainforest. Parrot Cove Lodge is the perfect location whether you are seeking offshore and inland adventures, or simply looking for rest and relaxation. We are the home of Chef Rob’s Gourmet Café one of Belize’s top ranked restaurants, and 'love on the Rocks' stone grill dining. Come enjoy the Caribbean breeze under the open-air thatch roof of our pier, relax at our fresh water pool and let your adventure begin as you explore the many wonders of Belize! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Parrot Cove Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parrot Cove Hotel Hopkins
Parrot Cove Lodge Belize/Hopkins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing