We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (368)
Filter reviews
368 results
Traveler rating
290
61
14
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
290
61
14
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews antelope falls wild fig zip lining screened in porch zipline course eco lodge waterfall rappel central america howler monkeys bug spray bird watching tour guide an adventure mayan ruins dietary restrictions long pants felt very safe
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 368 reviews
Reviewed May 9, 2019

Staff was exceptional! Grounds were beautiful and well maintained. Staff was extremely helpful in fulfilling our desires to go enjoy off site excursions. They interacted with visitors which made us feel very comfortable and welcomed. The onsite restaurant was awesome: presentation, quality and quantity and reasonable priced. The on site zip lining was a bonus, the last zip brought you right to the adventure hut next to the restaurant for a nice refreshment. A nice variety of hiking trails, Antelope falls was great. A refreshing pool of mountain water waiting for you to jump in. You can also rappel the falls, we felt safe with our guides. Check on rain levels before going.
Accommodations were a little dated but good place to recover and clean NO Air conditioning. But remember you are at a self sustaining rain forest lodge, that is part of the attraction there. It was a wonderful experience

Date of stay: May 2019
Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoaminTheWorld2, Guest Relations Manager at Bocawina Rainforest Resort & Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2019

Hi Scott, Thank you so much for your nice comments. We really appreciate you spending a few days at Bocawina Rainforest Resort & hope you enjoy the rest of your time in beautiful Belize!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2019 via mobile

We are 55 and 61 ... whilst we are relatively healthy, we never visit a gym or do much in the way of exercise. I tell you this so you can gauge our level of fitness! We have certainly never attempted anything like this before.

For or wedding anniversary we thought we would do something a bit different, so we booked in for climbing a little way and rappelling 100ft down the Bocawina falls followed by the zip lining.

However, as there had been little rain, we were upgraded for free to the 1000ft climb and 250ft of rappelling. I wasn’t that excited by the upgrade!!!

The walk up was filled with interesting information from our lovely guide, and we saw some Mayan ruins, interesting plants and birds and tried a cahoon nut (like a small coconut).

But the climb does get more difficult and steep. Our guide was really patient with us, and we did it at our own pace with lots of stops. The temperature was in the mid 90s with high humidity so this added to the difficulty for us.

At the top of the walk we were rewarded with the most wonderful mountain top natural pool supplied but a waterfall. I can’t tell you what a fabulous experience it was to walk straight in fully clothed to cool down. And the view was magical!!

We had plenty of time to relax and restore our energies, and when we finished swimming, the other guide appeared with a well needed and tasty snack.

Now on to the next part. We climbed down to 850ft and were rigged up to begin our descent down the waterfall. Quite frankly I was terrified! I volunteered my husband to go first, half hoping he would not do it and we could walk down.

But to my horror he started his decent, which meant I had no option but to do it too.

Now safety was good with a guide at the top holding one rope and another at the bottom holding a second, so the descent was well controlled.

So I put on my harness, leaned back and made my descent.

Would I do this again for pleasure.... absolutely not, but I was incredibly proud of both of us for having achieved this.

We walked down to the resort for about 30 minutes and had a really tasty lunch.

Then off to do the zip lining... after the rappelling, hurtling through the rainforest at fast speed, 100ft in the air was absolutely brilliant. Now this I would like to do again.

If you are reading this, then you are thinking of doing this trip, so go ahead with this brilliant team and you will be proud of yourselves too!

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Que3nieuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoaminTheWorld2, Guest Relations Manager at Bocawina Rainforest Resort & Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2019

Dear Que3nieuk, Thank you very much for your detailed review of your time spent in the Mayflower Bocawina National Park. Congratulations on going out of your comfort zone & for trusting our guides while rappelling the Antelope Falls. We'll be sure to pass along your kind comments to our staff!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2019

When planning our trip to Belize, we came across the Bocawina Rainforest Resort & Adventures -- its great reviews and unique accommodations sealed the deal for us. We're city people and jumped at the opportunity to stay in the jungle at an eco-friendly resort.

The property is very well-kept and we really enjoyed all of the amenities and activities. The staff at Bocawina are kind, always available to assist, knowledgeable, and just genuinely nice people. Rooms were clean, everything was well-maintained, and the Wild Fig Restaurant on site is great. Everything we had there was delicious.

We did a couple of our own solo hikes which were really fun (& peaceful as the only people on the trail). I also appreciate that the staff has a sign-in book to account for everyone on trails.

For a guided tour, we did the full day Antelope Falls Hike, Waterfall Rappelling, and Zip Line. Our guides Roberto & Milton were the best! The hike is steep but very manageable, and the pool at the top was worth the climb! Both the waterfall rappel and ziplining were sooo fun. Roberto & Milton taught us about the plant and wildlife on our hike, made us feel very safe during both activities, and were just fun to be around.

I highly recommend the Bocawina Adventures, and if you're into staying in the jungle, stay at Bocawina Resort!! Very happy we decided to do so.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tamipearl716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoaminTheWorld2, Guest Relations Manager at Bocawina Rainforest Resort & Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2019

Hello & thank you for your kind review & feedback on your recent stay at Bocawina Rainforest Resort & Adventures. Hope you had an wonderful Belize vacation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2019

Upon arriving to the Dangriga airport, the resort shuttle was there to great us!
Sandy, who was our driver was friendly and informative and spoke with us about the area and gave us lots of information about the plants & animals.
When we arrived to the resort, about 40 minutes away from the airport, we were greeted by a welcoming sign with our names on it! We checked in and Sandy carried our bags to our room.
The grounds are beautifully kept with native, colorful plants & trees! Our room was clean, and furnished perfectly! We stayed for only two nights, but packed as much fun as we could into it!
We hiked to Antelope Falls and swam in the natural pool up top. As leisurely hikers, it took us about 2.5 hours round trip and that includes the swim! Beautiful panoramic views from the top!
We also did the Zipline on the property & WOW was it amazing. The staff was helpful and informative and made us feel safe atop the tree tops.
The restaurant and bar was a great place to hang out in between activities and have a snack or a drink! The food was delicious and the staff was very attentive and kind!
As we were headed to our next destination in Belize, the front desk worker who was from San Pedro recommended some great spots to see & eat!
Overall an amazing experience and glad we picked Bocawina Resort to stay.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Paradise56678408841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoaminTheWorld2, Guest Relations Manager at Bocawina Rainforest Resort & Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2019

Thank you very much for your detailed review of your recent stay at Bocawina Rainforest Resort. Glad you enjoyed your adventures & meals - we'll be sure to pass along your kind comments to our staff. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2019

We stopped here after a hike to Antelope Falls and wished we could stay. This is a beautiful resort, with reasonably priced rooms, and great service. We were staying in Hopkins and this would have been a nice 1-2 night stay away from the beach. If we return to Belize, we will make a point to stay here! This would also be a great spot for a small destination wedding.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank c0l0mingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoaminTheWorld2, Guest Relations Manager at Bocawina Rainforest Resort & Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2019

Thank you for coming to the Mayflower Bocawina National Park for an Adventure tour with us. Hope to see you again in the future - safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews