We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our kind of Place!”
Review of Beaches And Dreams

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beaches And Dreams
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Hopkins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Our first trip to Belize....where to go and stay? My wife and I aren't interested in the big, busy, exclusive resorts. We hoped to find a nice, laid back place on the beach that would feel like Belize. We hit the jackpot. Its right on the beach, seemed out of the way yet was close to anything we needed, wasn't fancy but very clean and comfortable and homey. Bikes, kayaks, palm trees, hammocks, sea breeze, nice landscaping, and maybe best of all easy going hosts that seemed like old friends we hadn't met yet. Tony and Angela we very accommodating and with the limited number of guests found time to visit, ask about our day, offer suggestions, and set up arrangements for whatever we might be interested in doing. And the food......we'd read that the restaurant had been recognized as the best in Southern Belize. We were not disappointed! And Tony's great evening creations were complimented by Angela's baking and other personal touches and the cheerful service from Raymond and Douglas.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
Thank Al V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (390)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 390 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2014

We could not have found a better place from which to discover Belize. Tony and Angela are awesome hosts. Our cabana was comfortable and clean. We were free to do as little or as much as we wanted. Some of our best moments were afternoons spent in hammocks. Another great thing about Beaches and Dreams is the Barracuda Bar and Grill. The food is superb! From Tony's entrees to Angela's desserts...you won't find better in Hopkins.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

visited beaches and dreams with 3 other couples. accommodations are very close to the beach (literally out the front door ). Food was fantastic. we only ate elsewhere for lunch and Wednesday night when they take the night off and close the restaurant. Tony made arrangements for snorkeling and a trip to Placencia and the Monkey river--- Seeing the Howler Monkeys in the wild was amazing

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Walter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

we really enjoyed the Beaches and Dreams stay in Hopkins Belize....Tony and Angela were first class hosts....above and beyond helpful. The Room cleaning staff was very pleasant and thorough... "Barracuda Bites" appetizers are a must try....YUMMY...great drinks, and a view to die for! Would definitely return.. 5 stars....

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank james s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at beaches and dreams. We spent a lot of time hanging out on the dock and relaxing in between the adventures. Tony did a fantastic job scheduling our adventures which included a full day of snorkeling, cave tubbing, and a trip down Monkey River. We had such a great time. Only negative was being so far from town and not bring able to enjoy all the local color. The local golf cart rental had their carts out of service and the bicycles available we not so much fun on the road after the rain. Would I return....definitely yes!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chief7400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

From the first time I was in contact with Tony, to the moment we left, he could not have been more helpful. It is a pity he could not have done something about the weather. He is a first class chef and is very proud of his evening dishes.
The rooms were clean and maintained every day and stepping onto the beach was fabulous, but there was no insulation between the rooms. Extra rooms are being built and work starts at 7 am. Twice the flying ants got into the room at night and even though they tried fumigating, there was no apology or offer of compensation. (A complimentary cocktail would not have gone a miss).
The breakfasts were just OK, served between 7-8. I would have thought passing through the orange plantations every day, that we could be offered fresh juice instead of processed. This is just laziness. A large plate of hard boiled eggs or scrambled eggs is not too imaginative.
Everything here is over priced, from the day trips to buying from the local vendors, all the prices are just crazy. It is like "Get as much from the tourists, before they stop coming". The roads to the town are amongst the worst I have every travelled.
A cold cup of coffee, in the thermos since breakfast time and charged $4 at 4 pm is just RIP OFF!
I was delighted to see this country and it's cultures, but would not return.

Room Tip: Extra rooms are being built alongside room 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rocman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyMarsico, Owner at Beaches And Dreams, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

We are sorry you felt the whole country was overpriced. It is certainly not "get as much from the Tourists as Possible, and most people don't feel that way. Prices are where they are for several reasons not controllable by us, but it is certainly not the most expensive country in the Caribbean.
Gas is $6 a gallon and duty on imported goods averages about 30% as well as a 12.5% tax on domestic products. we are a developing 3rd world country and the dates that this guest was here we had very heavy unseasonable rains. this is what lent to a few flying ants in his room as the ground became completely saturated. Our rooms are built to take the breeze with louvered windows so insulation would be useless.
Lets be fair about breakfast. We offer a complimentary CONTINENTAL breakfast that has plenty of fresh fruit, yogurt, cereals, muffins AND egg dish or pancakes as an extra as these things are not normally considered part of a continental breakfast. Our juice is fresh and delivered 3 times a week by the juice plant itself, NOT processed and to call 2 people who get up at 5 every day and end our day in a kitchen at 11 pm every night lazy is simply an undeserved insult and if you read every other review, you will find the opposite opinion.

We are sorry we couldn't make the rain stop for these guests, but really they got off the plane looking for a $1 happy meal and $20 palace on the beach, and you are right, you won't find that in Belize.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed a few nights here and I'm so glad we did! The rooms were beautiful and clean, the property was literally a 10 second walk to the edge of the ocean, and the service was fantastic! We stayed in a little duplex right next to the restaurant, and my only complaint was that early in the morning when dishes were being done and such, it got a little noisy. Otherwise, the bed was comfy, the room stayed nice and cool with the ceiling fan and the oversized floor fan. And you can walk out your door and be in the water in about 20 steps. Or you can walk down to the end of the dock and enjoy a cool sea breeze and beautiful sparkling water. Tony also arranged a snorkeling trip for us, and at first we looked around a bit at other options because it seemed a little pricey, but seriously, it was so perfect that I'd probably have paid double for it! We were the only ones that went that day, and because I was a little nervous about it, the guides that went with us were incredibly caring and patient. Once I was in the water, I absolutely loved it and they did a great job of pointing things out for us to see. I highly recommend letting Tony take care of these arrangements for you! Other than that, EAT AT BARRICUDA BAR AND GRILL...that's the restaurant at the resort. Some of the best food I have ever eaten in my life. Be prepared, it is very expensive, but WELL worth it. It's fresh, it's well prepared, the service there is wonderful, and the desserts are heavenly. We were so impressed that after we left to go elsewhere in the country, we drove all the way back to have it once more before we left.

Room Tip: The room right next to the kitchen gets a little noisy early in the morning, but it's nothing te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopkins
0.1 mi away
Parrot Cove Lodge
Parrot Cove Lodge
#7 of 13 in Hopkins
308 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Margarita
Villa Margarita
#8 of 13 in Hopkins
88 reviews
16 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 20 in Placencia
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Coco Plum Island Resort
Coco Plum Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Coco Plum Cay
1,034 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hopkins Bay Resort
Hopkins Bay Resort
#5 of 13 in Hopkins
574 reviews
0.1 mi away
Almond Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaches And Dreams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaches And Dreams

Address: South Sittee Road | Located in Hopkins , Belize, Hopkins, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Hopkins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Hopkins
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Hopkins
Price Range: $145 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beaches And Dreams 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beaches and Dreams combines the three elements of beach, food and adventure we believe makes for a great vacation. Every one of our 11 rooms is within 100 feet of the ocean, 8 are ocean-front, and our Sea Bar is the best party on the beach. Our fine-dining restaurant, The Barracuda, has a long culinary history, stemming from the original owner of the resort, chef, Tony Marsico. Finally, our guests can depart for any adventure, from diving and snorkeling to visiting the Maya ruins of Xunanatunich right from our adventure office Amped Coffee and Tours or our busy pier, both located at the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Beaches And Dreams reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaches And Dreams Hotel Hopkins
Beaches And Dreams Belize/Hopkins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing