We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Belize Accommodations, Great Food”
Review of Beaches And Dreams

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beaches And Dreams
Ranked #2 of 20 Hopkins B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Average Belize Accommodations, Great Food”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Tony and Angela have a nice enough place, in a beautiful location on the beach, but it definitely is on the plain side. I am not a fan of wood buildings because they harbor bugs and leach off wood dust that can be quite irritating to skin and eyes. Because of a mistake on my part, I spent my time in a wood cabana while there and was very uncomfortable. Not sure if air conditioning might have helped me feel more comfortable, but there is no A/C in the units, and the ceiling fans did not work properly. The sand fleas were quite bad and despite lots of bug repellent I received well over a hundred bites that itched and burned all night. But I did enjoy one of Tony's fabulous dinners at the Buccaneer Restaurant, which is part of Beaches and Dreams. And the view is amazing. As mentioned in other reviews, lots of excursions can be arranged for you through Tony or Angela, they have lived in the area for some time and have reliable tour guides and equipment for scuba diving, etc. I don't care for uptight luxury resorts either, as other guests have mentioned, but I do like to enjoy my holiday time and not suffer with heat and bugs. Additionally, the water supply was not good nor was the water that nice, and the water supply stopped completely when the pump broke, and the owners really did not seem to care that much about the discomfort it caused their guests. When you need 4-5 showers per day just to feel comfortable in the heat, lack of fresh water can be a big deal. I am not sure about the effectiveness or environmental impact of spraying for sand fleas, but surely there must be some product available that is environmentally safe that would make it more comfortable to be on the beach. If you can weather the heat and the bugs, this is a nice place to stay in Hopkins, if not, spend a bit more money and get A/C, because the bugs don't survive in cooler temperatures, so at least you will have some respite from the horrid critters, otherwise they will bite you all night long. In summary, the cabana was very spacious and nicely decorated and very clean. The gardens were beautiful. They do offer free WiFi and have bicycles and kayaks for guests to use at no charge. They have hammocks and loungers around the grounds and on the palapa. Compared to other Belize hotels/resorts, this is an average place to stay where you will have a clean bed to sleep in, bottled water to drink in your room, WiFi, good food for dinner on-site except on Tuesdays because the restaurant is closed, nice self-serve breakfast each morning, bicycle transportation, on-site excursions arranged, beautiful view of sea and coast but you may be hot and itchy the entire time you are there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeaTraveller45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyMarsico, Owner at Beaches And Dreams, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Hi there,
We do consider ourselves a middle of the road establishment with all of the amenities without the fluff of bigger and much more expensive resorts, but to say that we are full of bugs is simply not true. many people get bitten by sand flies during the day and have an allergic redaction to them , but they are very few and far between. A/C is not needed by most folks and we do advertise and make it well known that we don't have it. We have floor and ceiling fans that all work reliably and do an adequate job of keeping guests cool.

As for the water supply. we have a great water supply that is safe to drink. to say we didn't care when the pump broke at 6pm on the Tuesday evening is simply not true. i worked on it from the minute it went down and had water restored for the night by 9pm and the next morning went to town, got a new pump and had it installed by 10 am with very little interruption except for 3 hours the night it broke. These things happen and we did all we could do to resore it as fast as we could.
Sorry about your bites, but they didn't happen in the rooms, I can guarantee it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    55
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
91
223
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Familia, Cayo
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Spent a few marvelous days at Beaches and Dreams in Hopkins, and every minute was perfect. The rooms are super clean, the staff is friendly and knowledgeable, the beach was raked every day, and Tony and Angela will do everything to make your stay perfect. They organized an early morning bird watching tour for us and still had fresh breakfast ready after we came home (which was pretty late in the morning, actually). Happy Hour was always well visited and the cocktails were great, fruity and fresh. And then the food! Absolutely wonderful gourmet food, cooked with love and the freshest ingredients! Having lived in Belize for almost 12 years, this was a real treat! Still thinking about the smoked lobster Crostinis, the Saltimbocca and the Surf and Turf, not mentioning the heavenly desserts! Thanks to everybody who made our stay so wonderful - the perfect place to relax!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FunnyFarmSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

If you are looking for uptight luxury resort this is not what you are looking for. If you are looking for a place where you can truly unwind and have your every need taken care of THIS IS WHERE YOU WANT TO BE!!

We stayed 5 days here and 5 days in San Pedro (if I had it to do over again I would have stayed here the whole time-it is a good central location and you can do inland and beach activities from here)

We affectionately came to call Angela and Tony our vacation Mom and Dad. Angela and Tony and their staff felt like family to us, they were so kind and welcoming. They welcomed us with a rum punch, fed us every night, welcomed us with a DELICIOUS and filling breakfast every morning, helped us plan tours every day.

They are well established in Hopkins and Belize. They have friends and professional contacts that can help you do literally whatever you want to do in Belize. While we were there they helped us tour the ATM cave, set up a snorkel tour two different days, set up a tour on Monkey River, gave us tips on exploring Hopkins... (they can help you do anything you want in Belize they have a lot of good connections and make a point to throughly check out the guides/tours they arrange). They think of everything and go out of their way to make you feel very welcome and at ease. We didn't preplan any of the tours before we got there and it was not a problem.

The rooms are unbelievable...or as the locals say Unbelizeable. To fall asleep listening to the ocean and then to wake up to really good coffee on the beach each morning...AHHH. You cannot beat this experience. They have bikes that they will loan you and kayaks. Also you should know their restaurant is THE BEST in town. We made the mistake of trying other places, and that came to be our only regret of our time spent in Hopkins. You can try other places, but I promise their food is the best!!

Again, their staff is exceptional!! They treat you like royalty, they are just so kind!!

Plan your vacation here and you will not regret it! This is the place I now go in my dreams. I hope I am lucky enough to go back here. I feel thankful for an amazing, stress-free vacation.

A little tip for my fair skinned friends: bring high quality lavender oil that is the only thing that decreased the amount that the sand flies bit me. Sand flies seemed to be at all the beaches in Belize and seemed be more attracted to those of us in the group that sunburn easily. When I go back I will pack lavender oil, and Germaline Lotion (my friends had some and that is the only thing that decreased the itch).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Carla L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Perfectly sized room that is well maintained by a very friendly staff. Tony and Angela go out of their way to ensure that your stay is not only comfortable but entertaining. Whether it be arranging a day of scuba diving, or preparing a world class meal, they go out of their way to make your stay memorable.

Room Tip: If you manage to find vacancy, take it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

This is a nice place right on the beach in Hopkins. It's located at the south end of town, so it's a long walk through town. The hotel provides free bikes, so that's nice. It has a nice little beach with chairs, hammocks, a little pier with the same and free use of sea kayaks.

The owner Tony is also the chef and everything I ate at the Barracuda Bar was delicious. The owners are American husband and wife that moved 10 years ago there from Alaska. They are nice, were generally accessible and available, and provided good service. They also will arrange adventure trips for guests. I think breakfast is complimentary. they provide bottled water in the room free, which is nice.

I got this as part of a Living Social deal so I can't comment on room price. But the food prices compared to good restaurants in Washington DC. The tours also seemed a bit pricey, but the ones Tony arranged were good quality.

Room Tip: Be wary of the tree house room unless you're a family with a number of people. The room I had w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We recently returned from a few days in Hopkins where we chose to stay at Beaches and Dreams. We couldn't complain at all. We stayed in the Tree House Cabana which actually had two floors with 3 single beds upstairs and one double on the lower floor. It was lovely - clean and cosy with enough space for all our luggage. Angela and Tony were such great hosts - fantastic chefs and so friendly and helpful. We ate at their restaurant - The Barracuda - every night except the one they were closed when we ate at Chef Robs (who were also amazing and within 2 mins walk).

Beaches and Dreams is located about a mile and a half out of Hopkins main town but there are bike to rent for free so it's easy to get to during the day. You can't cycle there in the dark though but you have no real need to when the best restaurants are at their end of town. While we were there we went on a snorkeling day trip to Salt Water Caye which is a MUST-DO if you stay in Hopkins. Stunning place to visit and a fun day out on the ocean.

Over-all, we'd completely recommend Beaches and Dreams - it was great.

Many thanks to them for a wonderful stay - Emma and Ulrich from Lonodn

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
06016
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Tony and Angela are great hosts - friendly, helpful, but not obtrusive. A definite advantage is the Barracuda Grill attached to inn, which is a place to relax for breakfast and lunch, as it is open only for dinner. Therefore, during the day, it is your private space, outdoors, of course! The rooms are relatively large, with a nice private bathroom. Even though it is on the beach, and we had rain every day, clothes dried if the window slats were kept partially open (to prevent water intrusion) and the ceiling fans were run. We sat in a storm at the end of their dock under the thatched roof and while we got a bit wet due to blowing rain, we were adequately warm with towels and a light water-resistant top. We continued to read our books while enjoying the "fury" of the weather. We took out the free kayaks to paddle to the Sittee River and saw a manatee! This was a bit of a stretch, but is definitely do-able if you are in reasonable shape. Beaches and Dreams is a great place to be if you want to relax or be more active, and you can sortie out to other adventures if you have a car, which is recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcoWill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopkins
0.1 mi away
Parrot Cove Lodge
Parrot Cove Lodge
#6 of 11 in Hopkins
297 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Margarita
Villa Margarita
#7 of 11 in Hopkins
83 reviews
16.0 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Almond Beach Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Belizean Dreams Resort
Belizean Dreams Resort
#2 of 11 in Hopkins
820 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hopkins Bay Resort
Hopkins Bay Resort
#5 of 11 in Hopkins
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaches And Dreams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaches And Dreams

Property: Beaches And Dreams
Address: South Sittee Road | Located in Hopkins , Belize, Hopkins, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Hopkins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Hopkins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beaches And Dreams 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a stretch of beautiful beach in Hopkins , Belize, We are a small owner operated full service resort.Tony Marsico has been a 5 star Chef for his entire career and Angela a pastry chef for over 25 years. Besides 5 star dining, they offer a central location to all the adventures of the reef and rain forest of Belize and share their extensive knowledge of Belize and its rich culture. Now with 6 deluxe Suites in our new Boutique Hotel and 5 cabana rooms, we have 2 price ranges for your choice to stay on the beach. specializing in all inclusive vacations , we cater to small groups and individual travelers, no large tours. Attention to detail and individual attention is our mantra. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Beaches And Dreams reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaches And Dreams Hotel Hopkins
Beaches And Dreams Belize/Hopkins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing