We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheers from Lauren & Sam in Santa Barbara, CA”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Caribbean Shores Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 17 Hopkins B&B and Inns
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
“Cheers from Lauren & Sam in Santa Barbara, CA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

The owners Cindy and Joe were fabulous. Very accommodating, friendly as well as easy going. Hopkins is absolutely GORGEOUS. The location of the B&B was perfect...steps from the beach. Tour options were provided daily and left from the property which was incredibly convenient. We stayed in the Iguana Suite which was large and extremely clean with an over-sized contemporary bathroom. Breakfast served daily was delicious and they recently purchased a huge catamaran for snorkeling / water ventures. Waking up every morning to their whistling parrot added so much to the experience of being far from home, enveloped in the wilderness. He was most entertaining. We absolutely LOVED our trip. My only suggestions would be to remember film if applicable, lot's of bug repellent, snacks and patience. Kick back and enjoy the Belizian pace of life. It is simply wonderful.

Room Tip: Definitely request the Jaguar or Iguana Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ButterflySee33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    13
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
24
54
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
baltimore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed at Caribbean Shores from 10/27/12 to 11/2/12. The room was nice and well kept. The place has a nice pool and hot tub on the ground floor. It was great to wake up to a different hot breakfast everyday. Cindy and Joe and the staff were all very helpful in making suggestions for activities and places to visit during the week. The beach was beautiful and relaxing and there was a nice bar on the beach at the resort next door. We had a real fun time at hiking and ziplining in Bocawina as well. It was about a 20 minute walk into town, but Caribbean Shores has bikes and there are golf carts for rent across the street. It's definitely worth going into town to explore and check out some of the local restaurants. If you are looking for a relaxing vacation in a beautiful place I would definitely recommend Caribbean Shores and Hopkins.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dylan41245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

We found this deal on Groupon and read all of the other reviews on TA and were glad to find out that the 5 star rating was well-deserved. Cindy and Joe are excellent hosts with great knowledge of a very charming and personable Hopkins Village. This is not a place for your "club-going, bar-hopping" traveler. However, if you love beautiful sunrises, cultural immersion and TRUE relaxation, this is the place for you.

The living accommodations were very clean and updated. There are plenty of cable channels, games, and daily excursions available. The pool and hot tub are easily accessible and well-kept. The breakfast is phenomenal and varies daily. If you want to kick back in the afternoons and have a beer you can go upstairs to Joe's place and sit on the balcony and watch the sunset or enjoy the ocean breeze.

Please rent the a go-cart across the street and go into town to experience the joy of simple, personable living in Hopkins. The people are pleasant and will sit and talk to you for hours. Be sure to stop by Alex's Shell shop, David's Woodworking, and Driftwood Pizza Shack. There are plenty of places for authentic Garifuna food as well as fine dining at Chef Rob's.

This is a vacation we will not soon forget and one in which we truly felt as if we were at home. Great job Caribbean Shores B&B in creating a "home away from home" for your guests. We will be back soon!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We also styed in the Iguana Suite. Our stay was from 10/14/2012 to 19/18/2012. We arrived after 8:30 PM and the only problem we had was finding the place. My smartphone does not work in Belize so I couldn't access the email about our reservation and there are no signs in Hopkins!
Anyway, the room was very comfortable and decorated very tastefully. I loved the bathroom with the large tiled shower. The pool was very clean and refreshing. The food was excellent.
I'd stay there again and am referring all of my friends to Caribbean Shores.

Room Tip: The Iguana Suite is poolside and under the bar which is open Wed. through Sat. If you like it very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Texasredhead2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed at Caribbean Shores B & B from 10/5 - 10/11, 2012, supposedly rainy season, but rain never interfered with any of our plans. We stayed in the poolside Iguana suite which was very comfortable. It looks exactly like the pictures, is very roomy and the bathroom is awesome. If ever I build a house, I will have those side shower jets! The service is great and the people that Cindy and Joe have working for them are very, very friendly and will do anything they can to see that their guests are happy. This was my first time staying at a B & B and I would do it again because a real camraderie developed among the guests and we went snorkeling together, went out to dinner together and one night, put together a dinner with fish that two of the guests had caught. That was a lot of fun!
"Joe's Bar" is on the 2nd floor open terrace and a nice place to finish out the day. Michelle, the bartender, makes an AWESOME "Dirty Banana". One night when we were there, there was entertainment, a girl with a beautiful voice who had won a "Belize Has Talent" type show.
I was not looking to go to a "touristy' part of Belize and got exactly what I expected. This is a place to relax, to go on adventure trips, to soak in the local culture, etc but truly, I was asleep by 10:30 every night and I am a night owl! After the zip lining, snorkeling, etc, you're exhausted! Oh, we also did a spa day. If you do nothing else while you are there, schedule a 1 hour massage out on the pier overlooking the Caribbean. Talk about heaven!
Don't worry about booking things ahead of time as Cindy takes care of all that for you. She set us up with a wonderful local guide, Patrick, who took us snorkeling 14 miles out into the ocean for the day, making stops at 3 different locations on the Coral Reef and on a little island for a burrito lunch. Sound like paradise? Yes, it was. Plus, he is very patient with beginners. Joe drove us to Bocawina Zip Line and that was an adventure as it had rained the previous day and the road was a bit slippery, all part of the fun. I'm 53, my sister-in-law is 58, and we were able to do it so don't hesitate! It was a blast!
If you are considering staying at Caribbean Shores B & B, I don't think you will regret it. You'll find a personal touch and warmth that sets them apart from a more pricey all inclusive resort type place and you're free to set your own schedule, book your own tours and choose your own restaurants. You're a 1 minute walk from the beach and there are other amenities, like the spa, within a 5 minute walk. Feel free to email me if you have any questions.

Room Tip: Poolside suites are larger and poolside but really, there isn't a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chelsea
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

My wife and I just returned from Belize last week after spending 5 days at Caribbean Shores and thoroughly enjoyed our time there, Cindy and Joe were excellent hosts, the rooms and shower were great, our combo fishing/snorkeling trip with Patrick was not only excellent but available far cheaper($200) than anywhere else we checked. We caught a bunch od barracuda and it was so nice of Joe to cook one up for us dinner that night. We would definately go again. Steve and Sara Hill-Alabama

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slimhill52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, MS
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

I work with the Hopkins Belize Humane Society, coordinating vet teams to visit Hopkins and offer free spay/neuter and treatment clinics in Belize. The success of our program depends heavily on the generosity of local businesses. Caribbean Shores is a true champion in this area. CS very graciously donated housing for several days for members of visiting vet teams, offering them a lovely place to rest and retreat after long days at the clinic. Breakfasts and dinners at the B&B were also special, taking the time to accommodate our sometimes crazy work hours, and special dietary needs. Caribbean Shores is located close to the HBHS clinic, so it was a fabulously convenient place to stay. And, the owners adopted a rescue animal from HBHS shortly after arriving to Hopkins!
Know that when you stay at Caribbean Shores, you will have beautiful surroundings, wonderful hospitality, and will be staying with animal lovers who care about the community they live in.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClaraLee68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopkins
0.2 mi away
Parrot Cove Lodge
Parrot Cove Lodge
#6 of 11 in Hopkins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
16.1 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Margarita
Villa Margarita
#7 of 11 in Hopkins
5.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Belizean Dreams
Belizean Dreams
#2 of 11 in Hopkins
5.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beaches And Dreams
Beaches And Dreams
#3 of 17 in Hopkins
5.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jaguar Reef Lodge & Spa
Jaguar Reef Lodge & Spa
#3 of 11 in Hopkins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribbean Shores Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribbean Shores Bed & Breakfast

Property: Caribbean Shores Bed & Breakfast
Address: Sittee River Road, Hopkins 00001, Belize
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Hopkins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Hopkins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful colonial style building with covered verandas, rooftop deck with ocean and mountain views, pool with waterfall, jetted tub and water slide. A large great room with full kitchen, big screen TV and game room with poker table. Great for groups to rent the whole resort, room for 14-20 adults and kids. Great diving, snorkeling, fishing, hiking, zip line, cave tubing available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Caribbean Shores Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribbean Shores Bed & Breakfast Belize/Hopkins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing