We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (233)
Filter reviews
233 results
Traveler rating
140
72
13
6
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
140
72
13
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shared kitchen outdoor kitchen perfect hostel top bunk bus stop private room with bathroom free coffee in the morning bring lots of cash hammock area scotia bank facilities are great cook your own food great kitchen place to stay no hot water bunk beds boat captain
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 233 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2019 via mobile

We spent 4 nights in a private room at the Funky Dodo. The staff were very welcoming and friendly. The room was clean and comfortable. The common area had plenty of hammocks to chill out on and the hostel was steps away from the beach and many amazing restaurants in the village.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 788stephg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyFunkyDodo, Owner at The Funky Dodo Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2019

So glad to have you part of the Funky Dodo Family. We know there are a lot of places to stay in Hopkins- thank you for choosing us. We hope to see you again soon, and wish you safe and happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2019

The room was clean and safe, and the place is very organized. The owners and staff are helpful and friendly. The good point for hostel is to meet people from around the world. They also have a small library so that you can read, and a place to cook own food where you can converse with the people in the area.

Room tip: You have a rocker under your bed and a light beside your bed which makes it easy and accessible.
Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Curiosity34428412000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyFunkyDodo, Owner at The Funky Dodo Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2019

Thank you so much for your kind review! So happy you chose the Funky Dodo. Hope to see you again soon, we wish you safe and happy travels!
*re: room tip: I think there's a typo there. There are (large, individual) lockers under the beds in the dorm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2019 via mobile

Great location, relaxed vibes, friendly and helpful. I think I’m a bit past the backpacker phase of my travelling and I only stayed one night while waiting for the private beach cabana I was staying in for 6 days. That being said, it had everything I remember fondly from my backpacker days 10 years ago. Well supplied communal kitchen to cook in. Lots of shaded hammock space to relax in. It’s just 20 yards back from the beach and centrally located. Laundry, solar powered showeres, internet, bike rentals, tour planning, and friendly cats and dogs.
I had a private room, it had a bed and a fan and a lock:) bathroom shared with everyone. I don’t know what the dorms were like.
Great easy vibe.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank sunshinesask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyFunkyDodo, Owner at The Funky Dodo Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2019

Thank you for your kind words! Glad you rediscovered your backpacking roots! Stay with us again soon. We wish you safe and happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2019

The Funky Dodo is the perfect place to stay during your visit to Hopkins! The owners and staff are very friendly, and the rooms are very clean and cozy, as well as all the other facilities! The hostel is located very close to beaches, restaurants and bars.

Room tip: Nothing like waking up to the sounds of birds chirping. It was very peaceful and pleasant!
Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Seaside09272035433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyFunkyDodo, Owner at The Funky Dodo Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2019

Thank you so much for staying with us! So glad to have met you. Hope to see you again soon!
We wish you safe and happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2019

We stayed in a little cabana with a double bed and a bunk bed. The bedroom was really nice nand the patio and the outdoor kitchen and beautiful as well. It's perfectly located right next tot he junction where the bus stops and very close to the sea.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Anoukmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyFunkyDodo, Owner at The Funky Dodo Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2019

Thank you so much for your kind words! So glad to have you part of the Funky Dodo family. Hope you can come back soon, and in the meantime, we wish you safe and happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews