We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sarkiki! Beautiful, relaxing and beautifully tropical.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sarkiki Reef Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hopkins
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sarkiki Reef Resort
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Hopkins
Certificate of Excellence
Burlington, Canada
1 review
“Sarkiki! Beautiful, relaxing and beautifully tropical.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

I just returned from two weeks at Sarkiki Resort, it was incredible. The staff were friendly, the pools and ocean fantastic! I was fortunate to have the guidance of the managers, Jim and Christine, they were so hospitable. We enjoyed many meals at the local restaurants, some very local and rustic, some more refined all were good. The local people are very welcoming.

If you want to shop in town and cook, the stores in Hopkins have an array of fresh foods and all the spices you will need, and units at Sarkiki are are equipped to allow you to do so. We enjoyed snorkelling and diving at the beautiful coral reefs that rim the country, guided by very proficient locals, it was fabulous.

The resort has a beautiful, well cared for beach where you can walk into the ocean hundreds of feet before it is six feet deep, perfect for families. There are three pools and well cared for gardens that feature many tropical plants and flowers, very pretty! Bed linens were fresh and crisp, beds were nice and firm, falling asleep as I listened to the ocean waves was wonderful. And at night the stars was beautiful from my roof top decks!

Would I go back? You Bet!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    23
    3
    5
    1
See reviews for
23
27
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely time in the area and enjoyed the relaxing villa/townhouse concept that Sarkiki offers. Owners and the managers are attentive and will help you in any way they can. The units are pretty basic and could use a little more attention to detail in the kitchens (e.g., few more / better frying pans?). I suggest you stock up at the grocery store, get everything you will need, including seasonings. Overall, not high end but really great value!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Freedom56Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

We ended up at the Sarkiki by default actually - settled on staying in the village of Hopkins only because we couldn't find anything suitable in nearby Placencia as we were booking late into the season. So glad it worked out that way! The Sarkiki is far enough outside the village to be perfectly quiet and relaxing. Great beachfront area and pool. Clean and simple accommodations. Fantastic staff - cannot say enough about Jim & Christine who were managing the property. We showed up without our suitcases unfortunately and Christine busied herself and gathered up fresh toothbrushes, shampoo, etc so help us until they arrived. The grounds crew were also very warm and humoured my daughter's fascination with her new 'pet' snail. Only potential critique is that it is a bit out of the way so you will need a car rental (or set aside a budget for cabs) but we were quite happy to have a car since it turned out to be a great home base for day trips to Placencia, Dangriga, etc.

Would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blt178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreview, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

My wife and I headed to Hopkins to celebrate 10 years of marriage. We really enjoyed the stay here. The owners are very helpful with booking restaurants, snorkeling and giving out basic advice about what to do. The drive out to the resort was a challenge, but we were happy when we got there. The pool and beach were well kept up and the rooms were awesome.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niles, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

We traveled with the reviewers above. We had the entire run of the property. There was really no one else there except for 2 days of our 9 day trip and they were a quiet couple, staying at the other end of the complex. The sand flies need/should be dealt with on a daily basis by the resort, for no matter what repellent I put on, this reviewer was a main course. The accomodations were fine and all of our needs were immediately taken care of. We grilled some lobster Epi caught for us along with some snook we caught in the Sittee River. Marvelous. Yes the stars are so close from the top deck, you feel like you can touch them and we saw some satelites also. So........I cannot promise the same run of the resort we had, but it was nice.

Room Tip: Suite "C"s are the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

We stayed at the Sarkiki Nov. 15 -Nov. 24. Very nice place with friendly staff beautiful pool and view of the ocean. A little too far from town for our liking. Had a great time laying on the top deck looking at stars! It's pretty buggy though. They loved me no matter what bug spray I put on.
The people there are nice and all the places we stopped had clean bathrooms which is amazing for a third world country. Lots of snook in the sittee river.

Room Tip: All the rooms are ocean front. Two condos have the roof deck which we stayed in. Great for star gaz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caribbeanlovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Grove, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

we frequent Belize! This year decided to married on our property in Manatee! We stumbled upon Sarkiki. Six of us checked in and it was perfect! The wedding pre and post at Sarkiki! The staff more than hospitable and accommodating! The grounds were picturesquely beautiful, the views from the balconies spectacular, clean, serene pools, peaceful and a good time had by all! Sarkiki comparable to US condominiums/town houses.

I can not stress enough to travelers, BElize is Belize.....there are bugs (resorts do there best to control), heavy rains (so do not go in the summer), rough roads and forget about water pressure! Take in its purities!!!! Focus on what you are there for and not the internet, cell phone or the local 7-11! It is 10 times harder to maintain in a 3rd world country.

Long and short I am happy that I had another fabulous experience in Belize!!! Thank you Sarkiki!

Room Tip: If you are into the view ask for a upper level room. If you are not into stairs stay ground level i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeninesque D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopkins
1.5 mi away
Parrot Cove Lodge
Parrot Cove Lodge
#6 of 11 in Hopkins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
1.5 mi away
Villa Margarita
Villa Margarita
#7 of 11 in Hopkins
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
14.9 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
1.7 mi away
Belizean Dreams
Belizean Dreams
#2 of 11 in Hopkins
5.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hopkins Bay Resort
Hopkins Bay Resort
#5 of 11 in Hopkins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarkiki Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarkiki Reef Resort

Property: Sarkiki Reef Resort
Address: 4 Phase | Sittee Point, Hopkins, Belize
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Hopkins
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Hopkins
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hopkins
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Hopkins
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property proudly sits on 3 acres of lush, fully landscaped Caribbean beachfront. Your 2 or 3 bedroom villa sits poolside and beachfront and comes with a fully equipped kitchen, BBQ and outdoor living space to maximize a tropical lifestyle. Tours to the rainforest, river, reef and ruins are easily arranged. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sarkiki Reef Hotel Hopkins
Sarkiki Reef Resort Belize/Hopkins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing