We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Place All To Ourselves”
Review of Sarkiki Villas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hopkins
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sarkiki Villas
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Hopkins
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We traveled with the reviewers above. We had the entire run of the property. There was really no one else there except for 2 days of our 9 day trip and they were a quiet couple, staying at the other end of the complex. The sand flies need/should be dealt with on a daily basis by the resort, for no matter what repellent I put on, this reviewer was a main course. The accomodations were fine and all of our needs were immediately taken care of. We grilled some lobster Epi caught for us along with some snook we caught in the Sittee River. Marvelous. Yes the stars are so close from the top deck, you feel like you can touch them and we saw some satelites also. So........I cannot promise the same run of the resort we had, but it was nice.

Room Tip: Suite "C"s are the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 68 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2013

We stayed at the Sarkiki Nov. 15 -Nov. 24. Very nice place with friendly staff beautiful pool and view of the ocean. A little too far from town for our liking. Had a great time laying on the top deck looking at stars! It's pretty buggy though. They loved me no matter what bug spray I put on.
The people there are nice and all the places we stopped had clean bathrooms which is amazing for a third world country. Lots of snook in the sittee river.

Room Tip: All the rooms are ocean front. Two condos have the roof deck which we stayed in. Great for star gaz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caribbeanlovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

we frequent Belize! This year decided to married on our property in Manatee! We stumbled upon Sarkiki. Six of us checked in and it was perfect! The wedding pre and post at Sarkiki! The staff more than hospitable and accommodating! The grounds were picturesquely beautiful, the views from the balconies spectacular, clean, serene pools, peaceful and a good time had by all! Sarkiki comparable to US condominiums/town houses.

I can not stress enough to travelers, BElize is Belize.....there are bugs (resorts do there best to control), heavy rains (so do not go in the summer), rough roads and forget about water pressure! Take in its purities!!!! Focus on what you are there for and not the internet, cell phone or the local 7-11! It is 10 times harder to maintain in a 3rd world country.

Long and short I am happy that I had another fabulous experience in Belize!!! Thank you Sarkiki!

Room Tip: If you are into the view ask for a upper level room. If you are not into stairs stay ground level i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeninesque D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We arrived at Sarkiki after a more rugged, adventursome stay in the jungle. The comfort of the condos, beauty of the grounds and accommodating outdoor spaces were a welcome respite. Mike and Linda did everything possible to help us - from driving directions from our prior lodging, to loan of some of their technology, to assisting us with obtaining a replacement rental car when ours conked out. I can tell you that they are wonderful at making sure their guests have a good experience. They work to smooth out the wrinkles.

I also echo the comments below that the staff are also outstanding. Manuel and his fresh flowers every day, eppi and his knowledge of the area, and the night security staff with their cultural lessons around Mayan and Garifuna peoples. Hanging out at the bar at night sipping tea before bed was a favorite activity.

The area is beautiful with a wide variety of activities. We hiked and scuba'd mostly. Also visited the market in Dangriga. Overall, highly recommend

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. Be ready to spend time on the roof patios at night watching stars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

If you are looking for a comfortable and affordable base to see Belize this is the perfect spot. We stayed a month and felt like family by the time we left. Thank you so much Mike, Linda, Cam, Épée, Elton and Manuel for making us feel so welcome. Hopkins takes a little getting used to but you will love it by the time you leave. Eat at the local spots as much as possible,ie. Iris's, Innies, and Yu Ga Da. Barracuda has the best food, but a bit of an attitude. Rob's and Love on the rocks are fine, but a little pretentious for what they offer. Go to Thongs for breakfast, it's so good and they are so nice. Ask Épée about a river tour: toucans, parrots, owls, crocs, luminescence and more iguanas than you can count. The jungle and Mayan ruins are a day trip so having a car is huge. The best thing about Belize is the people, and having 3 awesome locals on premise will help open up that world for you. Last, but not least, hike cockscomb and stop to see Aurora on your way out. Oh, and eat great pizza at Driftwood, on a night when they're drumming. SO COOL.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank lilman11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Cam, Epy and staff were very helpful for any of our needs including providing travel info.
Beach and pools were always beautiful and clean. Rooms were comfortable and great views from top decks. Road into Hopkins is bit bumpy but no serious challenges. Great selection of restaurants and grocery stores. Most places take credit cards.

Room Tip: If travelling with as a group of 4 suggest renting large suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tequila000007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

My wife and I ventured to Belize for the first time on NewYears Eve. What a great way to ring in the new year!
Once we were settled into our suite we ventured into Hopkins for dinner. There are at least 3 restaurants that pamper and offer 5 star meals. We ate at Chef Rob's and were very pleased with the evening and fireworks show out on a barge in the ocean.( Be sure to try the numerous small eateries.The outside appearances are no reflection on the delicious food served inside.)
Our room at Sarkiki was clean and comfortable. No A/C was necessary as the ceiling fan and open windows were quite adequite. The frogs out in the garden sang us to sleep every night.
The resort offers free bicycles so we often went into town for supplies. There are at least 3 grocery stores and fresh fruit is so cheap we had smoothies and squeezed juice every day.
The staff was very happy,busy and ready to please.

Room Tip: all rooms face the ocean and are steps to the pools and beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopkins
1.5 mi away
Parrot Cove Lodge
Parrot Cove Lodge
#6 of 11 in Hopkins
302 reviews
1.5 mi away
Villa Margarita
Villa Margarita
#7 of 11 in Hopkins
86 reviews
10.4 mi away
Coco Plum Island Resort
Coco Plum Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Coco Plum Cay
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 20 in Placencia
645 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hopkins Bay Resort
Hopkins Bay Resort
#5 of 11 in Hopkins
561 reviews
1.6 mi away
Almond Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarkiki Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarkiki Villas

Address: 4 Phase | Sittee Point, Hopkins, Belize (Formerly Sarkiki Reef Resort)
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Hopkins
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Hopkins
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hopkins
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Hopkins
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property proudly sits on 3 acres of lush, fully landscaped Caribbean beachfront. Your 2 or 3 bedroom villa sits poolside and beachfront and comes with a fully equipped kitchen and outdoor living space to maximize a tropical lifestyle. Tours to the rainforest, river, reef and ruins are easily arranged. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sarkiki Reef Hotel Hopkins
Sarkiki Villas Belize/Hopkins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing