We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (863)
Filter reviews
863 results
Traveler rating
607
191
44
16
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
607
191
44
16
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews captain larry plunge pool swim up bar fish cave tubing adventure desk belize city house restaurant golf cart guest services horseback riding zip lining mayan ruins rented a car snorkeling tour paddle boards sittee river
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 863 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

After spending the first few days of adventuring in the Belize rain forest, Jaguar Reef was "Awesome". This was the second part of a package deal and had no idea what to expect. Had some concerns going to the resort. Hopkins is not your most appealing resort town. Accessing it by a dirt road leaves you wondering. But once you get there you are introduced to a pleasant resort. Clean, welcoming and a friendly staff helped us settle in. The staff was very helpful setting up transportation for airport shuttle and had a nice array of excursions to enjoy the area. The Bio-luminous Lagoon was awesome. On sight food was very good and a few others nearby off sight. We were there during a slow time" I think" which was awesome for us. Wish we had time to stay a few more days to enjoy all of the amenities.

Date of stay: May 2019
1  Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We loved this super cool spot! Drinks are really good! Staff is super friendly! You can lounge on net day beds over the ocean! How cool is that? When it’s hot on shore this is the spot to cool off to a Belizian breeze and swing on rope swings or chill on a day bed! And jump in, the water is warm! Love it!

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank amandagL4991CH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2019 via mobile

Simply, Jaguar Reef was outstanding in every way.

Location: Five minutes from Hopkins town by cab in the center of the tourist strip. Plenty of of food options within walking distance, on a nice, clean stretch of road. This area is noticeably cleaner and better maintained than the road north of San Pedro on Ambergris Caye. Local folks were friendly without exception, and no hassles from vendors.

Beach: There is saragassum, but it's cleaned every day and you can swim from the beach. Better still, there is a new, 2 storey palapa dock with a ceviche bar, hammocks, a rope swing... Perfect for swimming. The water is not as crystal clear as the cayes, but it's still pretty clear, much deeper and better for swimming.

Room: Unbelievable. Get the 2nd floor sea view room with private plunge pool if you can. The pictures are 100% accurate. Everything is recently renovated, immaculately clean, and just awesome. The plunge pool is pretty big too, and so nice after a hot day out and about. Looking around the grounds, all the other rooms appeared very nice too. That includes Almond Beach, The Colonial, and the Villa Margarita. The whole place looks beautiful But the pool plus the privacy of our room was so great.

Staff: Professional and friendly without exception. Our waitress Stacey in particular brightened our trip. I can't remember everyone's names, and i feel a bit bad about that, but service was stellar all around.

Food and drink: Our favorite hotel restaurant in 3 trips to Belize. The menu is modern and always updated. Food was delicious and prices were hotel prices, but reasonable. I think all lunches under $10us and dinners mostly under $15us. Fish and chips was excellent. Drinks... Best Bloody Mary ever. We loved all the infused rum drinks at the Paddle House bar, but there are 3 bars on the property and all good. Seriously, the jalapeno infused rum coladas are awesome.

Activities: Masages at the spa were relaxing and professional. The fishing trip we book was excellent. Our guides Maz and Michael were amazing, brought juices, fruit and banana bread, and had us on fish all morning. I must say that for the price, and for a half day trip for two, we were truly treated. Other operators we've used in prior trips never provided 2 pilots/guides or separate rigs for trolling and bottom fishing.

Critiques... Maybe the place is too instagrammy, but my wife likes that, so it's fine.

All in all, I miss tge place already and will definitelt return. Thank you everyone at Jaguar Reef!

All in all, I miss Jaguar Reef already.

Activities: we got masages at the spa, which were professional and relaxing. Also, we booked a fishing trip through the hotel and it was excellent. Our guide and pilot Maz and Michael were fantastic. They had us on

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Ben K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2019 via mobile

On our third trip to Belize, we opted for Jaguar Reef. We stayed on the second floor of the Seaview Villa. The entire property is so beautiful & coastal modern. Loved the architecture & visual identity. Meticulously maintained property. Amazingly professional staff. Sargassum cleared daily. The waves were pretty choppy during our visit but the resort offers inner tubes for floating around (so fun), kayaking, and standup paddle boarding. We loved the private plunge pools. There are two communal pools—one for children & a deeper one for adults. The amenities such as the pools, Paddle House restaurant & the beautiful Big Dock, are shared amongst the properties under Viva Belize. Jaguar Reef is the newest and has private plunge pools. Chef Rahim’s cocktail & food menu at Paddle House are delicious. I was expecting bland, overpriced resort food. But it was modern & offered an elevated take on Belizean comfort food & beach vacation food such as fish & chips—try any of the battered fish or shrimp with crispy spiced yucca fries, fish burger, or their Belizean Sunday dinner which is a beautiful interpretation of Belizean comfort food. The house pepper sauce is delicious too—they should bottle it and sell it! They also offer a generous breakfast subscription where you can order anything off the menu or the buffet. The infused cocktails are pretty creative & refreshing. On the pier, the Big Dock is the only bar/ beach palapa of its kind in the area with first floor overwater netting & net hammocks extending over the second floor bar. It’s super nice for daytime reading & lounging as well as night time relaxation.

The mattresses & pillows are so comfy, as was the couch!
The hotel is a 10 minute drive from Hopkins village. The amazing concierge team will arrange a taxi for you to town, with 15 minutes notice.

The hotel hosts Garifuna drumming night on Saturdays. If you miss this, there is drumming night at Driftwood Pizza & bar on Tuesday nights.

The activity desk is conveniently situated on the premises for booking excursions to Cockscomb Wildlife Sanctuary or Bocawina, fishing, or diving/ snorkeling. Reef fishing was fantastic & the activities manager packed delicious homemade banana bread and electrolyte-boosting fruits & juices which was really a treat during fishing. There’s also a good spa on site that books up fast so be sure to book at least 1-2 days ahead.

There are a few good coffee shops left of the hotel gate. Mr. D’s Chicken Shack across the street is also worth taste—check around 11am to see when the BBQ chicken is ready—it sells out quickly.

One suggestion the hotel doesn’t do that we have seen at other hotels in Belize is plastic packaging for the toiletries—why not offer reef-safe shampoo, conditioner & after sun care lotion in traditional Belizean wood carved bowls & offer Belizean-made reef-safe soaps wrapped in leaves rather than the plastic-wrapped toiletries?

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank voyagerisol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2019

We loved staying here. When we arrived we were greeted and treated to a wonderful and refreshing fruit drink, then the staff took us to our beautiful room and oriented us to it and the workings of the lodge. The lodge is relatively new, the beach is gorgeous and the rooms are huge and very well thought out. We stayed in a Sea View Villa room-one of the nicest hotel rooms we have ever had and we have pretty much traveled the world. The room had a king size bed, full couch and chairs, a desk and a long bench area for luggage. The bathroom takes some getting used to, the only privacy is in the water closet and the shower-the rest is open to the room. We had our own water cooler, dispenser that also had hot water at the touch of a button, a small, empty refrigerator and a Keurig with plenty of very good quality coffee. There was also a small, complimentary bottle of rum and a Coke. We had our own plunge pool and a sitting area by the pool. Doors could be closed for privacy. The only thing missing according to my husband was a hammock. In fact, even on the beach the hammocks were not in the shade, but there were plenty of lounge chairs and the sea breeze was delightful there. The resort has large innertubes for use in the water and there is a gorgeous over water bar. The levels of the bar have swings and seating areas as well as a net area to lounge over the water. We also saw an over water swing and people could swing into the ocean from the middle level of the bar.

We rented bikes one day for $5.00 for 3 hours and had fun exploring up and down the road to town. We did not eat in the Paddle House restaurant but walked to several in the area. The bartenders at the Paddle House were all very sweet and made great drinks and wine, although limited, was poured generously for the price.

The staff was very gracious, professional, helpful and friendly from the front desk, to the sidewalk sweeper to the excellent housekeeping staff.

If ever in Hopkins again, we would definitely stay here

Room tip: Sea View Villa rooms are outstanding!
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LATaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews