We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tipple Tree Beya
Nearby Hotels
$120
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Caribbean Shores Bed & Breakfast(Hopkins)(Great Value!)
$82
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$115
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$193
$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
All Seasons Guest House(Hopkins)(Great Value!)
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coconut Row(Hopkins)
$90
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Funky Dodo Backpackers(Hopkins)(Great Value!)
$36
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (207)
Filter reviews
207 results
Traveler rating
155
44
4
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
155
44
4
1
3
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
139 - 144 of 207 reviews
Reviewed June 20, 2012

My girlfriend and I had an absolutely amazing 4 nights at Tipple Tree Beya at the start of June. The guest house itself is located in an perfect spot on the south side of the charming Hopkins Village. It is far enough from the middle of town that the incredible beach (that the owners tirelessly groom to perfection every single morning) feels secluded, but close enough to town that you do not feel like you are at a resort, isolated from the community.

Tricia, the owner, went above and beyond to help make our experience enjoyable, giving us great information about the town and the surrounding areas. You can feel good about partaking in any of the activities Tricia suggests, as they all are run by and directly benefit people from the town. We even had the incredible opportunity to eat dinner with a local woman and friend of Tricia's, Terese, under the mango tree in her backyard in the town center as her grandchildren played all around us. It was truly a once in a lifetime experience.

Tricia also hooked us up with bikes for a nominal fee, and WiFi access... We really couldn't have asked for more.

In conclusion, if you are even THINKING about going to Dangriga, Hopkins, or Sittee River, Tipple Tree Beya is the perfect place to stay.

Room Tip: Though the private cabana is nice, we stayed in one of the three "basic" rooms, which are well worth it, as they have direct ocean views and comfy hammocks in which you can lounge the day away
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worlando52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Tipple Tree was a diamond in the rough for myself and girlfriend for our 4 night stay. It was the perfect balance between budget and comfort. Don't expect blasting AC or bell hops to carry your bags, but DO expect a knowledgeable rental property owner in Trisha and plenty of locals to help you learn quickly about the Garifuna culture as your literally a neighbor in their tucked away village. We stayed in the beach-house cabin which like many homes in the village was set about 6ft off the ground by shaved tree trunks. Our cabin was equipped with beach view/garden view hammocks swinging underneath and a spot to lock up our rented bikes, strongly suggest, that Trisha rents to her guests. A walk down the steps and a few steps across the garden and the Caribbean sea beach was at your feet, along with Tipple Tree provided wooden resort style beach chaises. You can quickly meet Father Noel and sons Marley & Judell, whom conduct snorkeling and fishing expeditions as their boats are beached right next to TTB. Suggestions to improve your stay - bring wet wipes... trust me, a flashlight.. strong storms tend to knock power out the entire village for up to an hour or more, don't leave ANYTHING foodwise out for a second... lil ants will smell and reach it in a blink of an eye, bring an extension cord/power strip if you have electronics you want to use in various areas of the cabin... you're not going to want to sacrifice the ceiling exhaust fan to charge your phone overnight, GET TO KNOW the LOCALS they are very nice and many times will cook for you even if their restaurant is closed, will take you to special drum sessions and introduce you to village notables to further immerse yourself in their culture.

Room Tip: I only ranked swimming pool Excellent because it the ocean.. NO pool. Choose the cabin, it's set off from the main house which Trisha & husband Doug LIVE in so if you plan to make any noise after hours I'd suggest the privacy and set off-ness of the Beach-GuestHouse.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ifenyi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

A friend and I stayed in one of the big cabins and it was a great experience. The beach was beautiful and we had a lot of privacy as there don't seem to be a lot of tourists in the area. Staff was very attentive and knowledgeable about the area and the cabin was very clean. I wanted to stay longer, such a great spot to relax! Can't get a better bang for your buck!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

.We stayed at Tipple Tree Beya for the month of February and couldn't have asked for a better vacation. We were in Room 3 with a lovely veranda hung with hammocks and a gorgeous unobstructed sea view. The backyard was a garden paradise; orchids hanging on the trees, flowering cactus and numerous other tropical plants and trees. This was another beautiful spot to sit and read. Thanks to Doug for his loving care (pruning,trimming,sand raking) of the property- a never ending task. It's true, this is the cleanest and most beautiful beach in Hopkins. Tricia was always helpful, even before we arrived; arranging our transportation, giving us fair warning about the sand fleas so we could bring plenty of repellant and the various sounds of the neighborhood.
When we arrived Tricia was there to greet us warmly and help us get settled. She was an excellent source for local village information such as what days the dairy and vegetable trucks came and arranging several tours we were interested in. Even though she had put together a Hopkins Village book for each room, Tricia always made time to answer our many questions and share her knowledge about the Garinagu people and Garifuna culture. One of the best things about Tricia is her love and respect for the people, the culture and the environment. Both Tricia and Doug made our time in Hopkins more than we expected. We still miss waking up and going to sleep to the sound of the wind and waves.

Room Tip: All the rooms plus the cabin are equally great
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank reggieandkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

My recent stay at Tipple Tree during the last week of January 2012 was wonderful. I cannot say enough kind words for Trisha, the owner and best host I have ever experienced. She spent hours on the phone trying to find which tours would be going out and when and where the local garifuna drumming was going to happen, even though it rained almost every day of our stay. She also told us which restaurants to eat at according to our budget and she was spot on with her recommendations. The rooms were very well equiped with mini fridge, coffee maker, plates, cups, utensils, and just small details that made our stay comfortable. The bed was very comfortable and she made up an extra single just in case we needed it since I have a bad back and often need to stretch out. The rooms are small but all you need since most of your time is spent lounging on the hammocks in front of your room, which has an oceanfront view, or on her private beach which was raked every morning. The beach was so nice we spent several days relaxing in the lounge chairs soaking up the sun on the non rainy days. The rooms have no a/c but do have a large floor fan and a ceiling fan which kept our room cool with the ocean breeze. There are 3 rooms to rent and we were in the middle room. Other reviewers have mentioned the barking dogs or chickens next door, but we only heard the dogs once and being in the middle room helped muffle any noise. Since the rooms are next to each other and share the same veranda/deck, you get to know your neighbors and share travel stories which was fun since the place tends to attract like minded travelers. You do have to be mindful of noise when coming and going since all the room windows open to the front veranda/deck. It was never a problem since our "room neighbors" all were very considerate not to make a lot of noise late at night or early in the morning. It is just that kind of place that attracts considerate travelers. We never heard the chickens, however I always travel with ear plugs just in case. Our stay was only 4 nights and not long enough. The location is on the south end of the village and within walking distance to good restaurants. Hopkins is an amazing place with incredible drummers and friendly people. I can't wait to go back and will stay at Tipple Tree again!!! Thanks Trisha!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandrak9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews