We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Tree House was wonderful”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hopkins
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jungle Jeanie's by the Sea
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Hopkins
Certificate of Excellence
Gainesville, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Tree House was wonderful”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We spent three peaceful days in the Tree House in March. If you don't like dogs, be aware that the owners have several on site that occasionally bark at passersby. We're fond of dogs and absolutely loved the Tree House and it's balcony overlooking the beach. The sea breeze kept the room nice and cool. Meals were delicious and had ample portions, and the hosts were very helpful. We had an issue with the shower at night, but the owners fixed it immediately. It was a great home base for visiting Mayflower Bocawina National Park. Jungle Jeanie by the Sea was a bit out of town and therefore quiet. One highlight was the marimba played by a local family of Mayan brothers.

Room Tip: The Tree House is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CF_Gainesville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    63
    16
    18
    5
See reviews for
36
96
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Schreiber, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2014

My husband and I stayed for 3 glorious weeks to celebrate our 25th anniversary. Everything was great!!! The breakfasts were delicious served with fresh fruit - my fave was the veggie omelette with fry jacks. The suppers were superb...... snapper, jew fish, lobster and conch fritters were just a few. We stayed in the Hawksbill House - a cozy, little cabin which was exactly what we were looking for. Everyone was extremely helpful - especially Barbara ;) There is an absolutely beautiful, private clean beach that was raked everyday by our buddies Kevin and Josh. If we needed anything or had any questions, all we had to do was ask. We were even upgraded to the Beach House while they changed up our mattress. Hopkins Village is a 10 min. walk by road or beach or you can take the bikes. Jeanie is a sweetheart and John has a great sense of humour. We also felt very safe at night with their 4 German Sheppard's and great night watch team headed by Julian. Jungle Jeanie's and Hopkins Village was the perfect place for our outdoor adventure. We met some fabulous people - some living there, some travelling - and will remember this trip forever.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey, bc
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

This is very much a BUDGET hotel, which we were aware of. However, the room was never cleaned, the bed sagged badly in the middle, with a sad, thread bare sheet that barely covered it. The shower had no curtain which was inches away from the toilet, so the water sprayed all over the wooden floor. Not in very good condition. They need more people to help them run the place. The owners are elderly and got a little surly with us when we were trying to figure out the bus schedule, telling us that's not their job to help with that. Isn't that part of the hospitality when running a hotel? Barbara on front desk was very nice, but I fear when she leaves, things will go downhill even more. The other staff were very friendly including Julian who helped us out with the buses and drove us into town on the first night so we could get something to eat. They really need some management there. Internet not the greatest, but location right on the beach was the only good thing

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank donnagrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

we stayed here first week Feb 2014. Good clean place to stay. Cabins are rustic and just what we needed.Basic needs were met bed bath and great food. Jeannie made arrangments for us to have supper in their restaurant area, fish was best ever eaten great rice and veggies. The beach is very clean and wonderful. There is no tv or ac but neither were needed or wanted. We sat on porch and listioned to waves crashing it was so very relaxing and needed after the year we have had. This is a very quiet area and we slept very well. Only thing we did not like was the two soft pillows they just were not comfortable but firmer one was great. Nice shower and hot water. Jeanie and John make you feel like you are at home.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aspargus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Travelled at the end of jan 2014 with 2 years old baby and wife stayed 4 nights Nice and quiet location however staff not friendly at all specially the owner Bungalow clean on arrival electric shower not working properly bare cables sticking on top of it !!! On arrival spoke to an owner who tried to allocate us in our room then another guest came to arrange e a bus for a next day so we have to wait After showing us a few options we chose what we liked the most (unfortunately paid on top via their website)The room was never cleaned throughout our stay there was a tons of rubbish in the toilet towels never changed We eat once in there the food was ok however the most expensive we had in our trip (during the dinner even the owner gets friendly not wander why after seeing a bill) Not recommend this place
For a nice food recommend a frogs point (fish in orange sauce was delicious)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank supermotobiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jungle J, Manager at Jungle Jeanie's by the Sea, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
We were very surprised and disappointed to read that you had not been happy in your stay at Jungle Jeanie’s, and most especially by your comments about unfriendly owners and staff and only “ok” food. Your experience seems to be very different than how we remember events, and is the total opposite of the other reviewers who have consistently given us highest marks and many favourable comments regarding our hospitality, the friendliness of both the owners and staff and the great meals that we offer.
When you checked in you were upset that another guest was assisted prior to yourselves, but the other guests were making arrangements for a 6 am departure so unfortunately had to be given priority at that moment. Running a resort is a constant juggling act of trying to deal with every guest’s needs and making arrangements on a priority basis, which do not always work out to 'first come, first served'. Fortunately most of our guests recognize and understand this, but we are very sorry that you took offense.
The owner showed you to the room you had booked, which is one of our most popular economy duplex units, but you were then shown a number of different cabins and given a free upgrade to a larger and more expensive standalone cabin in order to provide maximum comfort to you and your family, and in consideration of our other guests due to your small child. We do not understand your comment that you “paid on top via website price” when in fact you were not charged the extra room charges of $43.60 US that should have been levied for this upgrade.
The next morning the same owner ‘Jungle Jeanie’ asked you about the shower in your cabin as this is one of our newer units that we have not had a lot of feedback on, and you specifically told her that it was fine and working well.
Regarding housekeeping, this is normally done every 3 days unless guests request differently, and we make it a practise to always check with guests before doing so as many people prefer not to have housekeeping during their stay. We tried checking with you many times but never found you on the property when we came looking, until the owner found you one evening and you declined housekeeping and instead just asked for the trash to be removed and a new bag to be provided which she did immediately.
Jungle Jeanie’s is known to serve first rate meals at very competitive prices (the same or cheaper than most restaurants in Hopkins Village) and the filet of red snapper fish dinner that you were served was top quality, and cannot be compared to the other less desirable species of fish often served elsewhere for a few dollars less. We feel your comment that the owner was only friendly because of the meal price was offensive, inappropriate and totally untrue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed over Christmas at Jungle Jeanie's with another couple. It was paradise! Warm waters, endless clean beaches. Comfortable, rustic cabins and stilt houses. John and Jeannie, our hosts treated us like family. The central patio was open with a tropical decor. The small staff was friendly and efficient. A special nod to Barbara who handled our reservations online with infinite patience and was there to greet us when we arrived. Hopkins village is nearby with many choices for dining. Jungle Jeanie's also serves excellent breakfasts and dinners.
We especially loved tumbling out of our cabins and swimming in the sea a few feet from our door. We are all over 70 and found Jungle Jeanie's the perfect escape from cold and snow. We had a great time and will come back again.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We (couple, 40 & 50 years old) stayed at Jungle Jeanie’s by the Sea in November 2013 for two nights. We paid $20 a night. Our cabana was very large. It was rustically furnished but clean and comfortable. There was a small kitchen area. The shower was also rustic - the shower was falling apart and the sink faucet didn’t work, but the water was hot. The beds were comfortable. There was a small porch on our cabana but it was set too far back from the water for a view. Jeanie and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The restaurant serves very good food. The hotel is a few minutes’ walk from the rest of Hopkins. We went on their weekly river dinner cruise and had a wonderful time. Jungle Jeanie’s rates were half price when we were there and we initially took a small cabana (regularly US$40) but when an odor problem developed from the recently fertilized garden we were moved to a bigger cabana (regularly $80) for same half price - $20. It was a very good value! I would recommend Jungle Jeanie’s by the Sea to anyone visiting Hopkins.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnothersEyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopkins
0.6 mi away
Parrot Cove Lodge
Parrot Cove Lodge
#6 of 11 in Hopkins
294 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Margarita
Villa Margarita
#7 of 11 in Hopkins
79 reviews
16.4 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hopkins Bay Resort
Hopkins Bay Resort
#4 of 11 in Hopkins
529 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jaguar Reef Lodge & Spa
Jaguar Reef Lodge & Spa
#3 of 11 in Hopkins
640 reviews
0.4 mi away
Belizean Dreams
Belizean Dreams
#2 of 11 in Hopkins
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jungle Jeanie's by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jungle Jeanie's by the Sea

Property: Jungle Jeanie's by the Sea
Address: Hopkins, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Hopkins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Hopkins
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Hopkins
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Hopkins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are looking for a private romantic beachfront get away or the perfect family vacation, Jungle Jeanie's By the Sea is the place for you. Nestled on a private acreage bordering what many consider the best shoreline in Belize, Jungle Jeanie's is one of this country's best kept secrets! Our beachfront resort offers delightful accommodations on a palm-tree lined white sandy beach with a perfect combination of relaxation and adventure. Come to Jungle Jeanie's for a vacation you will remember! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jungle Jeanie By The Sea Hotel Hopkins
Jungle Jeanie's By The Sea Belize/Hopkins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing