We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view, nice location”
Review of River Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
River Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Ha Tien
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
120 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Nice view, nice location”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

The hotel has an amazingly beautiful view which can see river and mountain blend together. A big surprise of new and well-equipped room, spacious as well. Location is also good as it's next to the biggest market of the city, with many street restaurants for seafood nearby.

It is the best choice for hotel in Ha Tien City.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pinky2510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    37
    29
    9
    4
See reviews for
10
46
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Beaver Creek, Colorado
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

I actually only got stuck in Ha Tien b/c the tour operator I had come across the border with missed the last ferry to Phu Quoc...

The River Hotel was a great place, but very interesting as well. When I was there, I think I may have been the only guest in the hotel (literally) and you could tell they were dealing with some new hotel growing pains. The staff was very nice and accommodating to me walking in, although communication skills (English) were less than any other places I had stayed on the trip. Not a huge deal though.

The room was really nicely appointed, comfortable, and clean. I was overlooking the river, which was just beautiful. The pool was slightly disappointing because it's actually next to the hotel so I had to go outside on the sidewalk and walk around to it - not a huge deal, but it was weird having just random people walking by while lounging.

I think there's actually a restaurant in the hotel as well, but it was closed when I was there so they referred me to a floating one right across the street - I did not think either the food or service was good and I would skip that one.

I would definitely recommend the River Hotel if you're in Ha Tien - the value was just fantastic and i could picture this place being much, much more expensive in a larger city.

(I also ventured up to the roof, which was just a large, wide open space with nothing there. If I had to guess, they'll probably put loungers and tables up there and whatnot, but there was nothing up there at the time. However, grab some beers and head up here for sunset (or sunrise). You won't be disappointed.)

Room Tip: It the biggest building in the city so ask for a high floor - the view will be great. Request the ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bcaffrey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Stayed only a day and night (early Feb 2014) but probably classiest hotel we stayed in out of 8 between Thailand and Vietnam. Beautiful corner room with two walls virtually entirely windows, so views were amazing on two sides. Outside swimming pool a little disconcerting as rather visible to passers by a few feet away, but very nice. Largely empty hotel when we were there, so didn't really experience much of it. Very handy for night market etc. Would have liked to stay another day or two. Suggestion for hotel - if you are looking for business customers, think about lot more power points in room for charging devices etc.

Room Tip: Get as good a room as you can get a deal on - especially go for corner room with views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassel, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

This hotel was a real surprise. The room was modern and had a very comfortable bed. The bathroom and shower were excellent and we had a great view of the river. The staff was very helpful and found a solution for each question. We loved the hotel and Ha Tien so much, that we decided to stay one night longer. The hotel had definitely the best value for money of our trip.

Ha Tien is a very nice little town, which is picturesquely situated on the river. We would recommend to stay more than one night and enjoy the friendly atmosphere of the city.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

This hotel is perfect for those travelling the Phu Quoc - Cambodia route. Ha Tien is a working town where the locals make you welome but get on with their everyday routine. River Hotel is just down from the market which is great fun. For the price it is great value.
The hotel was clean, bath and beds very welcome (after a couple of weeks of travel) and the staff friendly and helpful. My wife left her credit cards and i-phone in the safe and didn't realise until we reached our nect destination a 100 kilometers away! The manager got them delivered to us the next day, so thank you Mr Cong. If you are in Ha Tien stay at River Hotel and try the floating restaurant opposite.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLJTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hwasun-gun, South Korea
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed here for one night after traveling from Phnom Penh. We loved it. Everything was very clean and well maintained. We don't usually stay at such nice places, so we felt absolutely pampered. The view of the river out the window was a bonus. The staff were a little shy, but extremely kind and helpful. I thought there English was far better than another reviewer. They helped us arrange tickets for the ferry to Phu Quoc as well as rides to the ferry terminal. We ate at the floating restaurant on the river a few times and the food was pretty good.

This hotel is easily the biggest and newest thing around. But, as far as we could tell, there was only 1 other person staying there the same time as us. It was a little strange, but we felt pretty spoiled to have everything to ourselves.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KevinMcHale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We only spent one night in Ha Tien, passing through from Cambodia on our way to Phu Quoc island. For $45 US we got a "Western" style hotel with the amenities you'd expect from a mid-tier Hilton or Sheraton, which was welcome after some of our more "rustic" accommodations in Cambodia. The breakfast, served across the street on a boat when we were there, is very good (excellent Pho, along with eggs etc.) There aren't a lot of dining options in the area, but we stumbled across a place one block away / behind the hotel that served cheap, good seafood and cold beer (get the shrimp, grilled tableside). Alas I could never determine the name! I'd recommend this hotel for a good value.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ztakk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ha Tien
0.1 mi away
Du Hung Hotel 2
Du Hung Hotel 2
#3 of 7 in Ha Tien
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
14.8 mi away
Spring Valley Resort
0.2 mi away
Ha Tien Happy Hotel
Ha Tien Happy Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ha Tien
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hai Phuong Hotel
Hai Phuong Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ha Tien
3.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ha Tien Hotel
Ha Tien Hotel
#9 of 12 in Ha Tien
3.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Sammy Hotel
#8 of 12 in Ha Tien
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Hotel

Property: River Hotel
Address: B3 Block, Tran Hau Business Center, Binh San Ward, Ha Tien, Vietnam (Formerly Green Island Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Ha Tien
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Ha Tien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — River Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River Hotel with systems equipped rooms are modern and comfortable international standard four-star, two 500-seat restaurant space, conference rooms, Karaoke service, pool, café - bar ... design and modern luxury along with a staff of professional service and enthusiasm will bring to you for those moments really comfortable and warm when you come to us ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing