We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to be”
Review of Oasis Bar

Oasis Bar
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Ha Tien
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely place to be”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Please come here when you're in Ha Tien. Nice bar run by an Englishman and his Vietnamese wife. Proper Gin & Tonic is served here, you can also get bus tickets and/or sort out a ferry to Phu Quoc. I'll definitely have another drink here when I'm back in town.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andreoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    42
    10
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
140 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“The name of the place says it all...”
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Helpful guy running the place for his friend. Good food and coffee. The only place for western food in town. The baguette sandwiches were good and the English breakfast was huge.

Helpful?
Thank kikikarpus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Have a beer with Andy”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed overnight in HaTien on the way to Kampot . Had read about the English breakfasts at Oasis and wasn't disappointed. We had already organized our cross border travel arrangements but Andy was still very helpful and informative. We shared a couple of beers and learnt a lot about the area. Next time through we will go there first. Only down side to Ha Tien was the behaviour of the Moto dop drivers at the bus depot. My wife will not ride motor cycles and they were not allowing the only taxi there to take us in to town until we said we would walk . Sanity prevailed in the end.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trevor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Just landed from Kampuchea? Hungry? Need a drink?”
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Hell yeah! Andy talkative and helpful Brit, serves up a great 2 eggs 2 ENGLISH bacon, 2 sausages and BLACK PUDDING. All the beer choices and some good brands of the hard liquor.
Do it! Then get traveling!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jetset_Triffid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
196 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A real OASIS”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Landing in Ha Tien and forced by circumstances to have to stay the night, it was a real bonus in having the first stop off at The Oasis Bar, bang in the heart of this cute little place

Andy, British born owner, gave me the most useful information I could have. He and his wife made me, as well as other travellers, very relaxed and was most hospitable.

I was seriously looking forward to a traditional English breakfast, to which he is seriously passionate about, using the best products (sausages freshly made by English butcher not too far from here)

Also working out of this restaurant/bar, is a travel agent, selling all relevant travel needs.

For western travellers, in a place where there seriously is little to no English spoken.........this truly is an Oasis!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oasis Bar also viewed

Ha Tien, Kien Giang Province
Ha Tien, Kien Giang Province
 
Ha Tien, Kien Giang Province
Kep, Kep Province
 

Been to Oasis Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing