We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (259)
Filter reviews
260 results
Traveler rating
125
76
41
8
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
125
76
41
8
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews double tree makan kitchen teddy bear museum axis lounge kids club called earlier separated rooms crabtree and evelyn parking voucher shared hallway nice upgrade minor setback proper beach kids corner return shuttle public areas are the security guard
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 260 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2018 via mobile

Tasteful, well-designed family hotel and almost deserving of 5 stars if not for some disturbing issues.
The valet actually wanted to charge me for leaving the car out front even though i told him clearly that on check-in we would be driving out.
We lined up to check-in and when it came up to our turn the front office staff asked if we would step aside and allow her to check-out the 5 guests behind us!???
The rooms are poorly sound insulated. The sound of children running around in the higher floors, even late at night was irritating.
The walkway and overhead bridge leading to the beach (which was amazingly filthy) should be improved.

Aside from those points the hotel is very nice. The swimming pool and kids pool while small is well put together. Breakfast was good with some variety.
In essence there is room for improvement in some areas and i hope they look into it.

Stayed: September 2018, traveled with family
Thank Leonj59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreePenang, General Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Leonj59,

Thank you for leaving us with a constructive review of your recent stay. Whilst I am happy to hear that you were impressed with certain aspects of our hotel especially our extensive breakfast spread at Makan Kitchen, I am disappointed to note that we have fallen short of your expectations in other areas. Kindly be assured that your remarks have been duly noted and will be shared with our team members for future improvements. I look forward to welcoming you back to DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Penang again soon.

Sincerely,
Karim Schadlou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2018 via mobile

Check-in was delayed due to long Malaysian holiday. However, pay a visit to the in-house Teddy Museum can spend some time while waiting for the room to be ready. It’s a new hotel which is quiet when compared to the more centrally located Batu Feringgi town. Miami Beach is worth visiting as less visitors to the beach, but with stunning and nice bay view.

Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Peter Ming Soon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreePenang, General Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Peter Ming Soon L,

Thank you for leaving us with a great review. i am happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you were impressed with the TeddyVille museum. I look forward to welcoming you back to DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Penang again soon.

Sincerely,
Karim Schadlou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2018 via mobile

The check in experience was rather bad. Front desk staff as inexperience, waiting air was long. The location and ambient of check in counter should be reconsidered or redesigned, is right in front of the drop off without screen off, worse part is the flooring at drop off creating annoying noise with tyre friction, what an awful check in ambient. Room is small, floor is dirty with sand. Bathroom is small. Carpark system is unfriendly. In short, please look for other hotel.

Stayed: September 2018, traveled with family
2  Thank Yt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreePenang, General Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2018

Dear Yt L,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review of your recent stay. I am disappointed to note that we have fallen short of your expectations and would like to apologize for the inconvenience. Kindly be assured that your constructive remarks have been duly noted and will be sure to share your comments with the team for improvements. Your patronage is highly valued and we hope to welcome you back to DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Penang again with a better stay experience.

Sincerely,
Karim Schadlou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2018

The first thing that grabbed our attention... the swarm of local penang people filling the common areas. Did not realise it was an extended public holiday weekend, being the current King's birthday on Sunday.

Was welcomed warmly by the current GM Karim and his team. Ben the concierge was kind enough to do a simple room orientation.

Love the expansive area of the common lobby area which allows views of the sea across the road. There is also kid's pool. A hotel catering to families comes to mind.

The room itself is clean. Adequate amenities. (Just checked in, so can't comment further).

There is also a teddy bear museum in keeping with the theme of the hotel. There is even a big stuffed bear to welcome you at the lobby area..

A fairly pleasant first impression.

Might return for another stay in the future.

Room Tip: Different views for different tastes
Stayed: September 2018, traveled solo
Thank Mei H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreePenang, General Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2018

Dear Mei H,

Thank you for leaving us with a great review. I am thrilled to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you were impressed with our hotel's facilities. I hope you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Penang again soon.

Sincerely,
Karim Schadlou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2018

The hotel as expected is very comfortable starting form the beds to the services available for guests. I got amazing sea view from my room. the breakfast was very vary to meet all guests interests. The swimming pool is well designed. and the cookies is the first happy impression you will get when arrive the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Anas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreePenang, General Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Anas M,

Thank you for leaving us with a great review. I am thrilled to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you loved our warm welcome cookies. I look forward to welcoming you back to DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Penang again soon.

Sincerely,
Karim Schadlou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews