We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,656)
Filter reviews
1,656 results
Traveler rating
709
592
199
87
69
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
709
592
199
87
69
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bungalow restaurant casuarina trees day bed super deluxe room plunge bath boutique hotel night market sound of the waves flip flops roti ceiling fan sister hotel mini bar public beach char kway teow premier room relaxing stay
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 1,656 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2018

If one like quietness and less crowd at Batu Feringhi beach Resort, Lone Pines is the one to go. Although the property seems dated compared to the other resorts along the same stretch of beach, it has a different feel. Great staff. My only grouse is their breakfast. Can't help feeling that they "re-cook" leftovers from previous day's food especially sausages, bacons and ham. Dark and dry.... Room was big and comfortable but a bit of noise from the main aircon compressor or generator coming from a building near the coffee house.

Room Tip: As far away from the pool as possible. Noise of the compressor near it.
  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoisGSigrist, General Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2018

Dear John N,
Thank you so so much for your great score and constructive comments. Rest assure, teh food is fresh but will review with our chef to assure the quantity is lesser to assure freshness. Sincere apologies! we are in process to renovate our facilities and glad to let you know we intend to remove those aircon unit away from rooms surrounding to assure peaceful and quietness.
We all look forward to welcome you back and provide you with a greater experience and in meantime havea fantastic time ahead.
Most sincerely
Francois

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2018

The moment you drive-in and park your car, you already can feel that your are going to have a relaxing stay in this hotel. The breeze at the lobby were amazing and pool are quite nice where located just quite close to the beach. What is only fair are the restaurant foods, nothing to shout about but just nice Penang local foods, and of course, they do served international foods too. Room are clean and their bed is nice to sleep-in.....more and more...

Room Tip: Do ask for beach facing rooms, ideally on second floor onwards
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MarcusTSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoisGSigrist, General Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2018

Dear MarcusTSH,
How nice of you to give us a good score and kind comments. We are pleased you like our small boutique style hotel with a great colonial character which really made it so much different from any other hotel with its very large room, large balcony with its daybed and plunge-bath with a beautiful view of the beach and garden.
We wait to welcome you back and provide you with more memorable time with us at Lone Pine Hotel.
Have a beautiful time ahead.
Most sincerely
Francois

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2018

Had a two night stay at this property. Excellent room service and front desk. Food was okay although limited choices. I prefer that way, to avoid food wastage. The pool was big enough for both adults and kids. However, due to the pool surrounded by tall pine trees, some part of the pools are filled with tree branches and leaves. I believe they are regularly being cleaned and well maintained. Overall pleasant stay!!

Stayed: April 2018
1  Thank parthiban2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoisGSigrist, General Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2018

Dear parthiban2017,
WOW thank you so much for your great score, you dont know how important it is to all of us at Lone Pine Hotel to receive such score, it is a wonderful motivation to work harder in serving our guests better day after day.
THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU !!
We look forward to welcome you back and assure an even more enjoyable time with us.
Have an awesome time ahead.
Most sincerely,
Francois

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2018

Booked 7 night stay in a super deluxe room towards end of June . Had a wait before room was ready but they gave us a spare room to use for a rest after a long flight. Our super deluxe room was huge with a fabulous balcony ,superb bathroom and a spare room with a bed which our daughter used.
From the balcony we could easily see the pool and the beach area.
During our stay every staff member was absolutely great,incredibly friendly and always trying to please us. Itsa a real shame that some nationalities treat the staff so poorly with rude gestures and never acknowledge them.
The breakfast was well presented and had a wide range of choice. We ate their for dinner on one occasion and the food was very tasty and reasonably priced.
Rooms were cleaned daily and the grounds were extremely clean. Location wise very central to all activities and restaurants.
The Lone Pine is not 5 star in appearance but more 3 1/2 stars. Yes we would definitley stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wandererL802DU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoisGSigrist, General Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2018

Dear wandererL802DU,
Your very generous comments about our Team , our facilities came to us as a really big boost of moral to all of us at Lone Pine Hotel. At time we doubt , lose confidence but thank you to you for sharing yoru positive experiences and generous comments, greatly appreciated. We are now filled with confidence and eagerness to work harder in serving all our guests better day after day and provide them with more memorable experiences while staying with us, THANK YOU SO SO MUCH a big influx of positive energy came in all of us today :-)) See you back very soon and wish you in meantime a fantastic time ahead.
Most sincerely,
Francois

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2018

We stayed for 3 nights at Lone Pine. The location is beautiful and very serene, albeit the noisy water sports. The staff at the hotel is fantastic, very professional, efficient, warm and pleasant. I have to highlight Ms. Devi at the Bungalow restaurant. My family has various dietary restrictions (vegan, vegetarian +++). She was able to accommodate our requests even though the vegan/vegetarian selections are quite limited. (Thanks to the chefs too!!). She also made sure that my Mom (on a wheelchair) had easy beach access by getting the security to open gates that are normally locked, always with a smile. Mr Lokman at the restaurant is fantastic too.

The room, at its heyday must be fabulous. It is still wonderful, its generous size, balcony bath tub, tall ceilings, generous closet space and bathrooms, but it need a little TLC and extra cleaning at certain spots.

We will definitely come back!

Room Tip: Top floors for best views
  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Azizan_Aziz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoisGSigrist, General Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2018

Dear Azizan_Aziz,
Thank you so much for your good score and kind comments, glad you had a good time with us and our team did their best for you and family. Very pleased you enjoyed the food and services. I am delighted to let you know we are presently working our our renovation program to assure all our guests receive only the best comfort and will review with my Housekeeping the issue highlighted which offer my sincere apologies.
We all look forward to welcome you back in Lone Pine Hotel for further memorable time with us and in mean time have a fantastic time ahead.
Most sincerely
Francois

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews