We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't book here if you have children over 6/7 years old.”
Review of Lone Pine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lone Pine Hotel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Stayed here for 9 nights as part of a Singapore/Malaysia trip, accompanied by our 10 year old son. Too long with not enough to do for everyone, especially him. Better suited to Honeymooners/couples or families with smaller children who will be happy with the excellent paddling pools.

Room ok but no better than hundreds of others we have stayed in. Had intermittant difficulties with the tv which were attended to promptly.

Location is sandwiched between the beach and busy
Main road, itself lined with cheap open air cafés/restaurants and novelty shops/stalls. The night market adds to the commotion and personally there did not appear to be anything displayed beyond cheap t shirts and fake designer bags/watches etc. Not a genuine crafts market.

In house menus quite varied but theme nights, especially Tepenyaki, not discernibly different from any normal buffet.

Service charges slightly annoying at 10% on absolutely everything, even in the bar. For a 9-day stay that amounts to a very tidy sum, with no discretion to reward individuals for their efforts to make your stay enjoyable.

Attractions beyond the hotel can be covered in 2 to 3 days max so unless you want to dose by the pool would not recommend an extended stay.

Overall, definitely not an "exclusive" hotel and nothing to differentiate it from many others. We made the mistake in booking it given our accompanying son
so the over-riding message is be careful to judge how you want to spend your valuable vacation time. A location for couples who are just wanting to relax but expensive for what you get.


  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,491)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

699 - 705 of 1,492 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2014

I am well traveled stayed in 100s of hotels around the world. But never fell like going to the trouble of writing a review. But I am 75% through a 12 night stay at the lone pine. I just want to tell anyone thinking of staying here to ignore any of the bad reviews of this hotel is a top hotel. from the ambience to the really pleasant and helpful staff great inclusive add ons like complementary soft drinks water fruit and cold towels at the pool little gifts a couple of times during our stay. Wine and chocolates. A invitation to meet the management for drinks nibbles and a chat.free wifi courtesy bus great value wine and dine evening including entertainment free flowing wine and beer for 115 mr. The breakfast buffet is one of the best I have had Malaysian Western all good food. We had a room right above the events arena and garden there have been 5 weddings this week all quite and finished by 11 pm no disturbance to us in fact enjoyed the fireworks etc.you do hear the odd jet ski race about 5 pm when the locals come out but it does not cause any problem. Just outside The hotel is the long beach cafe its worth a visit a food market looks horrible plastic chairs and tables. Fluorescent lights busy and noisy. But the concept is simple sit down somebody comes takes your drinks order brings them puts the beer on ice you pay.go and order your food from one of the stalls note table number they bring that you pay really cheap. Good food all sorts available. Straights quay is also worth a visit nice smart bars and restaurants at about the price you would pay in the UK the courtesy bus goes there several times a day. To some up a great stay well worth the money.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

We arrived yesterday and found this fantastic hotel. Very classic and neat. Scattard in building but very much connected. The sea view and touch has no compare with the others. I have not seen the others yet, as this become more than my dreams. The breakfast place is fascinating joys for all and food is too delicious.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank SaeedOmani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We had planed to stay at Silver Sands but changed our mind,so glad we did ,we find all the Staff so very happy and helpful ,we are very impressed with the free water and soft drinks every day,on our third night we were invited to a Managers cocktail evening again with free wine beer and nibbles and to meet and talk to them and to find out the history of The Lone Pine,we are staying in room 305 and have a sea view room,as we are here for another 7 days I will finish off here and inform you of our next weeks stay I'm sure it can only get better

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank mariecroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

With 2 kids under 3 we normally feel quite restricted however the Lone pine were more than accommodating. Luxury accommodation that also considered us as a young family. Location was ideal for night markets and water sports while a trip into George Town was cheap enough in a taxi. No bargaining required either which is nice.

The staff were so friendly. Awesome breakfast. Ideal pool setting which enabled my 2 toddlers to wade safely. A bonus for us was welcoming cocktail party and daily fruit to the room.

Recommend highly- with or without kids it's lovely

Room Tip: 812 had a nice view of the pine tree garden and ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erinaustin3698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Lovely hotel and the rooms were very good and spacious. Service was excellent. Stayed 8 nights from March 6th. Clean sheets and towels everyday with fresh fruit and soft drink provided. Extra touches which made us feel special was a bottle of wine and a few chocolates left in our room. The buffet with free flow wine and beer was excellent. Also had an invite to the cocktail party which was a nice touch. Next day a photo of us was left in our room from the cocktail party which was very thoughtful. All the staff were marvellous and nothing was too much trouble. Pool was good and always plenty of sunbeds. All in all it was really good and we would go back again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We have never stayed at the Lone Pine Hotel but stay every year next door at the Golden Sands Resort, we do what everybody does we go from restaurant to restaurant within the tourist area of Batu Ferringi, the Lone Pine has a very good buffet with unlimited wine / beer free flow the food selection is very good with plenty of choice, best to go with company as the atmosphere is very good on the weekend night when they have live music on, also the hotel has a very good Japanese restaurant which is well worth a try. Regarding the hotel itself we have had a management tour of the hotel and visit friends who stay there every year, it is very clean and has the feel of a motor lodge style of hotel as it has been renovated more than once, would we stay there, definately.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.1 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
0.8 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
4,789 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#3 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
2,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
0.9 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
1,767 reviews
7.0 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 88 in George Town
3,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lone Pine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lone Pine Hotel

Address: 97 Jalan Batu Ferringhi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range: $83 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lone Pine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in an idyllic spot along Penang's coastline, Lone Pine is Batu Ferringhi's only luxury boutique hotel. Renewed and rejuvenated after a lovingly undertaken restoration, Penang's favourite beachside boutique resort reopened its doors refreshed in design and facilities, but still infused with the same colonial spirit and idyllic charm that has made it one of Penang's legendary hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lone Pine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lone Pine Batu Ferringhi
Hotel Lone Pine
Lone Pine Hotel Penang/Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing