We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, Design, Elegant, Beautiful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lone Pine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lone Pine Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clean, Design, Elegant, Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

Beautiful place for pre-wedding shoots. Greenery. Clean and neat. Friendly and fast response team. Lovely hotel. Love the room design. Not much noise pollution for us, though our room is above the lobby, near to swimming pool and right beside it is the restaurant. A nice place for couple and family.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yan001_singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    615
    497
    158
    61
    52
See reviews for
406
636
59
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

Booked via Air Asia Go. Photos of hotel looked great....the reality even better in the black and white colonial style.
Very relaxed and kid-friendly.
Beautifully spacious rooms.
Good selection at the buffet breakfast with healthy options...bircher muesli, smoothies/lassi etc.
Extremely polite staff which is always a bonus!
A great place to have a wedding.

Room Tip: We got the premier rooms which had 2 queen-sized beds per room. Inter-connecting rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mel2509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here with family as part of a bigger trip around Malaysia and Borneo. We weren't too sure about Penang but it was convenient for connecting flights. I'd read that the sea was dirty and so picked a hotel with a nice pool. We were not disappointed with the Lone Pine. Rooms are lovely, spacious with added bonuses of a stocked minibar (basic but free of charge), nice toiletries and a lovely bathtub on the balcony - a great novelty.

Breakfast wAs great, although I would agree that service can lack at times. Easier to go with a "go get your own" mentality. The bar is nice but it was quiet and lacked atmosphere - they sure try and attract non-guests with drinks promotions and live music etc.

The pool is the star attraction, huge, child friendly and a perfect temperature. Fairly good pool side service, although a drink could take a while to be delivered for no known reason.

We used the hotel to arrange a long morning sight-seeing in Georgetown which was successful and reasonably priced. Laundry was expensive but could easily be found over the road. Whilst massages were reasonably priced we used George and Rose on the beach at 60 MRB for an hour which was lovely.

All in all a very successful stay. We only stayed for 4 nights but could have done a couple more. Two weeks would be too long because of limited attractions nearby.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Hillpudlian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

I agree with previous review the noise at night wax a problem for me.The other disappointment the bar is soulless we went down for a cocktail and were the only people there likewise we called in after our meal and again we were the only ones there. No complaints about the hotel it was clean and staff very friendly. The pool was very clean and the garden is very relaxing except for the screams from the water sports on the beach outside.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ChelseaWilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

An outstanding hotel in a ruined location - ruined by the constant noise of jet-skis and power boats off the beach and the roar of traffic on the road outside the hotel. An oasis with the once peaceful ‘desert’ around overtaken by unrestricted development of large package-tour ‘resort’ hotels.

Our room, ultimately - see below, - was excellent with great views through the trees to the sea; it was well furnished and the housekeeping was friendly and efficient. All the right touches were in place with a re-stocked ‘fridge (sodas and water) daily, fresh fruit daily, multiple toiletries and really white linens. Breakfast was good and there was a wide variety of choices albeit a little lacking in creativity on the fruit counter. The staff on ‘egg counter’ were friendly and helpful in providing freshly cooked eggs any style.

The water in the swimming pool was immaculate and towels provided were clean. Loungers were available - when the prime positions were not pre-booked with towels and books by anti-social guests before breakfast.

Indeed I must echo the views of many others who are fulsome in their praise this excellent boutique hotel. And add that all the staff were always smilingly helpful on all occasions

Inevitably there are minor glitches in even the best hotel. Glitches which might deny it a five start rating.
- We were initially given a room above the kitchens - not the way to treat a long term visitor!
- Coffee re-fill service at breakfast was non-existent; it should be automatic.
- “Imagine” - much as I love the music of the ‘60s, 70s and beyond, I can do without “Imagine” being played twice at breakfast.
- I note a previous visitor complained about a repeated ‘bang’ coming from the lift operation. I also note that management said it would fix the problem. Months later the noise is still there!
- In-room, Wi-Fi slow.
- Maintenance; failed light bulbs in the room were not replaced; breakfast coffee machine failed because no one emptied the used grounds drawer; our a/c failed one evening - filter blocked because it was not not cleaned regularly. Routine preventive maintenance non-existent.

Whilst not strictly about the Hotel I would add, since it is part of the Lone Pine ‘experience,’ that many are dismissive of the beach. True it is not the Caribbean but it has great potential to re-establish its previous eminence provided local authorities and hotel managers as a group urgently take control of three things:
- Pollution - the stream west of the hotel was dammed and, as a result, back-filled with dirty black rank water. The authorities solution was to dig a trench and let the fetid water flow into the sea. The beach is littered with plastics. The continual noise of Jet Skis and motor boats destroyed any possible peace on and off the beach.
- Jet Skis operated outside their permitted times; operators did not use kill cords nor did they always instruct renters in their use. This is extremely dangerous and irresponsible.
- Para-glider operators aggressively occupied more of the beach than their permits allow. Boats were operated dangerously with only one person in the boat.
- I suspect many boat and Jet Ski operators are unlicensed.
(Users of both Jet Skis and Para-gliders should check their travel insurance; I suspect that the local operators have none.)

When guests have raised the problem of beach operations and noise pollution previously, hotel management have ducked the problem saying that it had no control over the pollution nor over the operators. This is nonsense. It is far too easy to say that it is outside the hoteliers’ remit. Major hotel companies make a substantial contribution to the local economy and ought to be actively seeking to engage in a dialogue to develop the town and beach in a safe and environmentally friendly way.

I did talk to officials who purported to be responsible for safety on the beach. They were clearly total ineffective given that they never left their ‘shack.”

If action is not taken Batu Ferringhi will increasingly develop a reputation as a dirty, polluted and noisy place - and increasingly discerning foreign tourists will go elsewhere.

It is for the reasons above that I mark the “Location” as very poor.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms in the main block on the Eastern end over the kitchens. Whilst the better rooms have an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scorchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

We had a full 2 weeks at the Lone Pine in February. I have to admit that Batu Ferringhi was a bit of a disappointment, when compared with other places that we have visited in Malaysia, although it grows on you.

I had not expected it to be so built up, or so lit up at night, it is a bit overdone and reminiscent of a Spanish resort, albeit without the drunken Brits, Within that, there is a wide variety of restaurants catering for all tastes at very low prices. Swimming in the sea was also a problem due to the high levels of pollution, this was widely reported in the local press, that and the jelly fish, apparently attracted by the effluent make sea swimming a risky business.

None of this is the fault of the Lone Pine Hotel which provided an oasis of peace, even with the noise of the jet skis, which I confess was never a real bother when sitting around the pool, it seemed to get noisier for half an hour around dusk, possibly the noise carries up to the balconies.

The hotel is relatively small and intimate, the rooms are large and the beds enormous, the balconies are large and private. I have rarely been provided with so many freebies, water , soft drinks and fresh fruit every day. A welcome bottle of wine and another with a plate of hor d'oeuvres, on the two weekends.

The breakfast is extensive and varied, try the char kway teow, and the roti, both cooked while you wait. corn flakes will never be the same again. The Bungalow restaurant is good but can be as lonely as the pine on some nights. The weekend buffet with as much as you can eat and drink for 115 ringitts is exceptional value, but watch your wine glass as it magically refills, those nights are popular and you may need to book.

Overall we had a very enjoyable stay, the hotel staff were delightful, with one or two stars, and the resort grows on you. I doubt that we will return to Batu Ferringhi, but if we do , The Lone Pine would be our choice of hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a sea view, we were on the third floor, and found the rooms large and comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johntCardiff_WalesUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang
Level Contributor
158 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

I made my way up to Lone Pine for some inspiration. Is an awesome place to relax under the tree overlooking the bluey seas.
Actually I had my ala carte lunch at the bungalow. My verdict: food quality gone down and price went up.
Fyi. This place serves buffet lunch & dinner
over weekends.

I personally prefer the Japanese fusion dining-Matsu.
Price fairly reasonable and tasty food. creativeness in their presentation is a plus point. Service - good!

Will be returning again sometime, excluding The Bungalow.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Flowerymae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.1 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
0.8 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 12 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,580 reviews
0.4 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#4 of 12 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,093 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 12 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,628 reviews
7.0 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 82 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lone Pine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lone Pine Hotel

Property: Lone Pine Hotel
Address: Lone Pine Hotel 97 Jalan Batu Ferringhi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lone Pine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in an idyllic spot along Penang's coastline, Lone Pine is Batu Ferringhi's only luxury boutique hotel. Renewed and rejuvenated after a lovingly undertaken restoration, Penang's favourite beachside boutique resort reopened its doors refreshed in design and facilities, but still infused with the same colonial spirit and idyllic charm that has made it one of Penang's legendary hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Fastbooking and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Lone Pine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lone Pine Batu Ferringhi
Hotel Lone Pine
Lone Pine Hotel Penang/Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing