We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel in the Wrong Place!”
Review of Lone Pine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lone Pine Hotel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Reviewed February 25, 2014

An outstanding hotel in a ruined location - ruined by the constant noise of jet-skis and power boats off the beach and the roar of traffic on the road outside the hotel. An oasis with the once peaceful ‘desert’ around overtaken by unrestricted development of large package-tour ‘resort’ hotels.

Our room, ultimately - see below, - was excellent with great views through the trees to the sea; it was well furnished and the housekeeping was friendly and efficient. All the right touches were in place with a re-stocked ‘fridge (sodas and water) daily, fresh fruit daily, multiple toiletries and really white linens. Breakfast was good and there was a wide variety of choices albeit a little lacking in creativity on the fruit counter. The staff on ‘egg counter’ were friendly and helpful in providing freshly cooked eggs any style.

The water in the swimming pool was immaculate and towels provided were clean. Loungers were available - when the prime positions were not pre-booked with towels and books by anti-social guests before breakfast.

Indeed I must echo the views of many others who are fulsome in their praise this excellent boutique hotel. And add that all the staff were always smilingly helpful on all occasions

Inevitably there are minor glitches in even the best hotel. Glitches which might deny it a five start rating.
- We were initially given a room above the kitchens - not the way to treat a long term visitor!
- Coffee re-fill service at breakfast was non-existent; it should be automatic.
- “Imagine” - much as I love the music of the ‘60s, 70s and beyond, I can do without “Imagine” being played twice at breakfast.
- I note a previous visitor complained about a repeated ‘bang’ coming from the lift operation. I also note that management said it would fix the problem. Months later the noise is still there!
- In-room, Wi-Fi slow.
- Maintenance; failed light bulbs in the room were not replaced; breakfast coffee machine failed because no one emptied the used grounds drawer; our a/c failed one evening - filter blocked because it was not not cleaned regularly. Routine preventive maintenance non-existent.

Whilst not strictly about the Hotel I would add, since it is part of the Lone Pine ‘experience,’ that many are dismissive of the beach. True it is not the Caribbean but it has great potential to re-establish its previous eminence provided local authorities and hotel managers as a group urgently take control of three things:
- Pollution - the stream west of the hotel was dammed and, as a result, back-filled with dirty black rank water. The authorities solution was to dig a trench and let the fetid water flow into the sea. The beach is littered with plastics. The continual noise of Jet Skis and motor boats destroyed any possible peace on and off the beach.
- Jet Skis operated outside their permitted times; operators did not use kill cords nor did they always instruct renters in their use. This is extremely dangerous and irresponsible.
- Para-glider operators aggressively occupied more of the beach than their permits allow. Boats were operated dangerously with only one person in the boat.
- I suspect many boat and Jet Ski operators are unlicensed.
(Users of both Jet Skis and Para-gliders should check their travel insurance; I suspect that the local operators have none.)

When guests have raised the problem of beach operations and noise pollution previously, hotel management have ducked the problem saying that it had no control over the pollution nor over the operators. This is nonsense. It is far too easy to say that it is outside the hoteliers’ remit. Major hotel companies make a substantial contribution to the local economy and ought to be actively seeking to engage in a dialogue to develop the town and beach in a safe and environmentally friendly way.

I did talk to officials who purported to be responsible for safety on the beach. They were clearly total ineffective given that they never left their ‘shack.”

If action is not taken Batu Ferringhi will increasingly develop a reputation as a dirty, polluted and noisy place - and increasingly discerning foreign tourists will go elsewhere.

It is for the reasons above that I mark the “Location” as very poor.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms in the main block on the Eastern end over the kitchens. Whilst the better rooms have an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scorchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,497)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

717 - 723 of 1,497 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2014

We had a full 2 weeks at the Lone Pine in February. I have to admit that Batu Ferringhi was a bit of a disappointment, when compared with other places that we have visited in Malaysia, although it grows on you.

I had not expected it to be so built up, or so lit up at night, it is a bit overdone and reminiscent of a Spanish resort, albeit without the drunken Brits, Within that, there is a wide variety of restaurants catering for all tastes at very low prices. Swimming in the sea was also a problem due to the high levels of pollution, this was widely reported in the local press, that and the jelly fish, apparently attracted by the effluent make sea swimming a risky business.

None of this is the fault of the Lone Pine Hotel which provided an oasis of peace, even with the noise of the jet skis, which I confess was never a real bother when sitting around the pool, it seemed to get noisier for half an hour around dusk, possibly the noise carries up to the balconies.

The hotel is relatively small and intimate, the rooms are large and the beds enormous, the balconies are large and private. I have rarely been provided with so many freebies, water , soft drinks and fresh fruit every day. A welcome bottle of wine and another with a plate of hor d'oeuvres, on the two weekends.

The breakfast is extensive and varied, try the char kway teow, and the roti, both cooked while you wait. corn flakes will never be the same again. The Bungalow restaurant is good but can be as lonely as the pine on some nights. The weekend buffet with as much as you can eat and drink for 115 ringitts is exceptional value, but watch your wine glass as it magically refills, those nights are popular and you may need to book.

Overall we had a very enjoyable stay, the hotel staff were delightful, with one or two stars, and the resort grows on you. I doubt that we will return to Batu Ferringhi, but if we do , The Lone Pine would be our choice of hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a sea view, we were on the third floor, and found the rooms large and comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johntCardiff_WalesUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

I made my way up to Lone Pine for some inspiration. Is an awesome place to relax under the tree overlooking the bluey seas.
Actually I had my ala carte lunch at the bungalow. My verdict: food quality gone down and price went up.
Fyi. This place serves buffet lunch & dinner
over weekends.

I personally prefer the Japanese fusion dining-Matsu.
Price fairly reasonable and tasty food. creativeness in their presentation is a plus point. Service - good!

Will be returning again sometime, excluding The Bungalow.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Flowerymae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We booked for two nights here and extended it to three because we loved it so much. The large room was so beautiful and well designed, it overlooked the big swimming pool and palm trees and beach beyond. The service was fantastic, everyone was really friendly. And the breakfast was delicious. The resort of Batu Ferringhi is a bit manic but it was fun to visit the nearby evening hawkers' markets and come back to such a calm beautiful place. Really recommend visiting Penang National Park which is a short drive away for an amazing rainforest hike. The only downside was the sound of jet skis and banana boats from the beach which ruin the atmosphere a little.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Emilythewanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We stayed four nights in this excellent hotel at Baru Ferringhi. Shame there is no free pick up bus from the airport in Georgetown, seeing as you are paying top dollar. Good sized rooms and bathrooms. Everything clean. Perfect place to stay. Excellent service from all employees and great food. Pool area and gardens were lovely. The pool could have had the pine needles skimmed from the surface more often than once a day though.

We had a problem with the refrigerator in the room not working. Took quite a while to have it seen to. Then it still wasn't working the following day. Eventually the workmen just swapped ours with the one in the room next door.

The only other negative is the wedding noise on a Saturday night. Wasn't too bad for us though, as the wedding didn't seem to have more than a hundred guests and was finished by 11pm. Hotel management needs to take heed of the volume of the microphone. It is WAY, WAY too loud.

Would have loved to have stayed longer. Thoroughly recommended for a really relaxing break.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LRMcK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Probably a bit big to be called a boutique hotel (90? rooms) but at least this hotel has good character in this manic resort. Nice sized rooms with modern style. Upgrade to deluxe probably not necessary. All clean with helpful staff. I agree with the earlier reports that the bar area is rather soulless for evening drinks and one of the service lifts is noisy but probably the overall pleasantness of this hotel accentuates these niggles. Best bet for accommodation in Batu Ferringhi, I would guess.
Holiday Tip! Do hire a car to see the sights but pay extra for SatNav (GPS). The driving on Penang Island is very quiet except in Georgetown where it is busy and rather poor signage. There are quite a few places to visit where the parking is not difficult and taxi returns may be tricky. Likewise the restaurant choice in Batu Ferringhi itself is a bit limited. Fuel is joke cheap.

Room Tip: No need to upgrade to best rooms as they can be by the service lift. Although all rooms are 'Sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank indefatigable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Recently back from this wonderful relaxing hotel and wished we could have stayed longer. As we were checking out we commented that we didn't know where the last 7 days had gone as it felt like time had evapourated. The staff were all friendly, the location was fantastic for us, right on the beach and then at night right outside was the night market and lots of resturants.
Before coming we were nervous due to previous reviews about it being noisy. We did not suffer from any problems due to noise. We stayed at a hotel in Bali in October that was next to a busy road and that noise disturbed us but there was nothing noticable here. During the day you could hear some noise from boat engines but what do you expect when staying by a popular beach and the noise didn't bother us at all. We caught the tail end of Chinese New Year and the hotel was decorated with lots of red which was lovely.

The rooms were lovely with a real colonial feel, they were huge and had a nice big bathroom with lots of towels and a lovely balcony with sunken bath overlooking the pool and beach. The curtains were nice and thick and covered the windows to ensure a long nights sleep. There was a fridge which was stocked and refilled twice daily with complimentary water and soft drinks as well as complimentary new hotel branded flip flops you could take home.

During the day the pool staff brought round cold water and you could also help yourself and flavoured ice lollies which were delicious. When booking we looked at staying at the neighbouring Shangri La's and the Lone Pine and I'm so glad we went for the boutique Lone Pine. You felt you were really welcome and it was very personal.

The location was excellent, very easy to get straight onto the beach but no fears about security. There were a lot of CCTV cameras and so they clealry take security seriously which as ever is reassuring. In the gardens they had deck chairs as well as loungers and hammocks amoung the trees. We'd read reviews about people complaining about the trees, what do you expect witht the name the Lone Pine Hotel. We wore the provided flip flops on the grass to avoid any pine cone discomfort. The trees added to the relaxed vibe whislt also providing shade when it got hot. There were never any problems locating sunbeds and umbrellas. We didn't swim in the sea as we'd heard there were jellyfish as is common in tropical waters and so stayed by the pool which was wonderful. We did walk up and down the beach quite a lot and sat and watched the sunset. The night market is right outside and offers great deals on sunglasses, handbags, watches etc.

The breakfast was very nice and there was a huge amount of choice. The cold meats and fruits and many other things were covered so no problems about unwanted flies.
I would not hesitate to return to this hotel again and look forward to returning one day. A great little luxurious retreat by the beach.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank B_A_Traveller04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.1 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
0.8 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
4,923 reviews
0.4 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#3 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
2,303 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
1,773 reviews
7 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#10 of 87 in George Town
3,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lone Pine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lone Pine Hotel

Address: 97 Jalan Batu Ferringhi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range: $90 - $669 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lone Pine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in an idyllic spot along Penang's coastline, Lone Pine is Batu Ferringhi's only luxury boutique hotel. Renewed and rejuvenated after a lovingly undertaken restoration, Penang's favourite beachside boutique resort reopened its doors refreshed in design and facilities, but still infused with the same colonial spirit and idyllic charm that has made it one of Penang's legendary hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lone Pine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lone Pine Batu Ferringhi
Hotel Lone Pine
Lone Pine Hotel Penang/Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing