We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent start to our honeymoon in Malaysia!”
Review of Lone Pine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lone Pine Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Not having been to Penang before, I was not really sure what to expect from this hotel but our experience was excellent. It's approximately 1 - 1 1/2 hours away from the airport and approximately 45 minutes away from the ferry port.

The reception area was quiet when we arrived so check in was fast and efficient, something we have found lacking in other hotels.

Our room was much better than we were expecting; it was a lovely size, very freshly decorated and comfortable, the bathroom was a great size and the shower was excellent, as was the balcony which had a sunken bath and day bed on it. We chose a sea view room and although you can only just see the see through the tress, the view was very pleasant - we also had a window that was the width of the room. We particularly liked the fact that we didn't get woken up by housekeeping; there's a switch outside the room that you turn on when you want your room cleaned.

Despite being situated on quite a busy road, the resort is very quiet and peaceful, we didn't once hear any noise from the street or any other guests.

The grounds of the resort are lovely - it has a colonial feel and again is very peaceful. The hotel is right on the beach and although there are quite a lot of jet skis etc on the beach it didn't affect our stay.

We ate at the Bungalow restaurant both nights we stayed there as we found the food so good. Although, there is not an extensive choice of food, there is a dish for everyone and the food itself is excellent. The breakfast was also great, there was a good choice of food on offer and again was very tasty.

The staff at the hotel provide excellent customer service, we found them to be very helpful and friendly.

We would definitely stay here again should we return to Penang.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe sea view room which we found to be quiet and comfortable.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,467)
There are newer reviews for Lone Pine Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

711 - 717 of 1,467 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2014

The Lone Pine on the Malaysian island of Penang is a boutique hotel. I have never stayed in a boutique hotel before so I was not sure what to expect.

It was different and I can see some people not liking it but we felt very comfortable and our overall rating was positive.
How does a boutique hotel differ from a normal holiday hotel? The first thing very obviously is that they are smaller and do not feel as corporate. The second thing for me was the layout. If you have stayed in a resort hotel you will be familiar with the architecture: all variations on the same theme. The coach pull up, the grand entrance ,reception, lounge, pool area, bar, dining room etc.All this in one megalithic building.

The Lone Pine has a much more dispersed layout and feels more like a country club than a resort hotel. It is not just one building. It is a collection of low rise buildings (no higher than 3 storeys) linked with paths and walkways. It feels like a campus.

The style is particularly evident in the pool area which feels like a country club pool. The pool has brown tiles (!) and feels very tasteful and discreet. There was a marked absence of screaming kids and Germans doing their strength through joy stuff. The atmosphere was very laid back and easy to get used to. The service from the bar was not intrusive. There was a station for towels and iced water, which was a nice touch. No shortage of sun loungers or places to put them.

The dining area was half inside and half outside. The outside part was mostly under cover. The food at breakfast offers both European and Malaysian options and there was a counter with chefs cooking omelettes/scrambled eggs and the Penang speciality of char koay teow ( fried noodles with prawns and chicken, bean sprouts and chives) cooked in a wok..

We really liked our room on the third floor.It was spacious with a high ceiling, air con and a big ceiling fan. The design was minimalist, most of the décor was white with an Ikea feel to the furniture. The shower was excellent and easy to operate.

The staff are all charming and eager to please and we were very well looked after.

We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis as we like to eat out in Batu Ferringhi but we did dine at the hotel twice. They have gala meals on Friday and Saturday nights. These are wonderful and great value. We paid £45 for the two of us. The seafood buffet had oysters, king prawns, salmon, mussels, squid and scallops.The main courses included Malaysian favourites and individual stations with chefs cooking beef, lamb,and duck. , There was a full range of desserts. In total there were 44 dishes on offer. The big attraction for me was the" freeflow". This consisted of waitresses coming round with beer and wine and keeping you topped. All in the price.

For entertainment there was a three piece band on. I called the "The Three Sombreros" because they were not introduced and seemed to be Mexican. They sang middle of the road stuff.

On Thursday night we were invited to the management cocktail party. I am a veteran of these and your heart sinks when you get the invite( watered down wine and a parade of staff). This one was very good. In fact the Lone Pine event was the best by a country mile. There was a proper range of drinks (your choice of beer, wine or spirits) regularly replaced or topped up.The other strong feature was the range of delicious food. Only small bits of things (think amuse bouche) but a great range and the waitresses were very generous. The atmosphere was convivial and the staff were socialising without being intrusive.

As you can probably guess, we bonded with this hotel but it was not perfect.

As the name of the hotel suggest there were pine trees, lots of them. This made the hotel feel very green and offered shade if you wanted it. The hotel had obviously kept all the trees and built around, which was very eco of them but (eco warriors look away now) I would have preferred the hotel without them . They blocked our sea view and shed little cones, which if you are walking barefoot feels like walking on drawing pins.

Another carp was the staff at breakfast: always charming but with a tendency to drift about like Dolly Daydream and had to be flagged down if you wanted a coffee.

On the whole, this was a very pleasant hotel and the staff helpful and eager to please. The hotel felt very customer focussed. Sometimes in Spanish hotels, you get the feeling that the holiday operator has squeezed the hotel on room rates and that the hotel tries to recoup by stiffing you for everything they can (gift shop, bar prices, mini bar ,safe , staying in your room till you are picked up etc ) I never got that feelin at The Lone Pine. The minibar was free (only soft drinks) bottled water provided every day, allowed to bring your own drinks in, the bar would send up a bucket of ice, we were allowed to stay on in our room until 5,30pm at no extra charge. we got the feeling that they really did want you to enjoy your stay and to come back.

I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Lone Pine is a very nice looking hotel, colonial feel, white shutters, charming little corners all around, eg. Lepak corner. Location is very convenient, once you go out of the hotel entrance, turn right and you can find a couple of hawker centres and some bars and restaurants, not many though. I have to say we were a bit disappointed with a food in Batu Feringi, couple of places left from the hotel, Beach Club (also called Bora Bora if entering from the street) and Malibu were great spots for drink but food is nothing special, I was hoping for fresh grilled seafood… On the beach side, from the hotel you can easily walk all along the beach from one end to the other – very nice beach for walking, not for swimming because of jellyfish and all the watersports activities. Still , I wish that they had a few beach lounges on the beach for people who like to lay on the beach, going on the beach holiday and swimming in the pool is not ideal for us.

Bungalow restaurant where breakfast is served is very pleasant and open and breakfast is good, not the best in Malaysia but very good selection considering the size of the hotel. We didn’t eat other meals in the hotel except couple of bar snacks. The reason being that hotel dining options are limited, there is no place where you can sit and enjoy the sunset, or just see the sea, even Bungalow is hidden behind the bushes, hence we always try to sit on one of the 3 high tables at breakfast, to get some view. Not sure why they don’t have any seaside spaces, other hotels we’ve seen from the beach have lovely restaurants/bars with sea views. The bar in Lone Pine is next to reception, very uninviting space, and the décor is just so out of place considering the rest of the hotel. They promote happy hour (with confusing prices) on the lawn, still no view but at least it was more open, but there is no bar or anything you have to go the bar next to the reception to order; we were the only people on the lawn, we went one day only, others probably realised it’s not worth it. Snacks we finally got from the bar were good, actually that menu with the local tapas food was all good but they serve it from 5 to 7 pm or something like that, which is a waste – they should make it available for people by the pool during the day (just a thought for management), instead food you can order by the pool during the day is strange, like tomato salad! There is Japanese restaurant in the hotel, which we didn’t try.

We had a suite on the top floor, very nicely furnished, with bedroom and living space with big daybed. Balcony with white shutters had a tub and daybed as well, with a sea view. You do get complimentary slippers but sarongs are not free. Big shower, spacious bathroom… I really can’t fault the room except that it does not have a window! I can’t believe only couple of people mentioned that ‘detail’, that we actually thought it can’t be true otherwise everyone would mention it, but it seems people don’t mind rooms without windows (there is shutter but no glass). This sounds lovely if the hotel was on a remote island and the only thing you hear are the waves, but here you hear functions, very, very loud, they do finish by 11ish, but still it doesn’t get that quiet to remove the window, if you are still awake at 3.00am you could hear the waves... You also hear the street noise a bit but that doesn’t bother us. We didn’t hear people in the next room, which would be a deal breaker for us, but than we are not sure if there was anyone there at all. Then there was a lift, our suite was right next to it – there was a loud bang every time when in use, even earplugs didn’t help. We mentioned this to the GM on our last day, he said he will deal with it straightaway, maybe we should have said something earlier but I doubt that they didn’t know about it. Soundproofing is an issue.

Again, hotel is very attractive, colonial style building(s), but it seems underutilised – there is an area used for functions, sort of grand covered terrace in the original building that could be turn into a great place for a bar/restaurant. There is one table there, with nice old style chairs, not sure what is it for, but we took our coffee from the breakfast area to have it there a couple times.

We used a spa couple of times, it was pleasant - nothing special but no complaints either, except that I have a feeling they are understaffed.

Service was erratic, quite slow but staff were generally pleasant, with a very few exceptions. We needed to leave a day earlier, one person at reception made that sound quite complicated, while the next day the lady who was there dealt with it very efficiently. After Lone Pine, we went to E&O, their sister hotel and we used the free transfer, very convenient for Georgetown, book a day before at least if you have luggage.

In summary, this is very nice hotel, we had a very pleasant 4 days, I just wanted to highlight these few issues, maybe it will help improving it and being even better!

Besides everything I think this is still the best hotel here, we would go back - Shangri-La is just too big, but it does have a beach restaurant and beach lounges! And probably windows…

Room Tip: Suite on the top floor was great, just stay away from the lift until you are sure it's fixed!
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetoeattravel2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

This is our fourth time vacationing at the Lone Pine and , as previous, we had a great time , especially catching up with old friends , both other guests and staff.

What makes this a great hotel is the genuine friendship of the people that work in this establishment.

Lots can be said regards the excellent rooms and the lovely gardens and pool but having stayed at many hotels worldwide due to work commitments the staff are the best I have had the pleasure to meet.
Whilst we were there my wife became ill with an ear infection and the hotel organised transport to the local hospital for treatment immediately and were very kind and attentive to her throughout the balance of our holiday.

Upon leaving the hotel at 4.30 am to return home the staff organised a lovely breakfast for us to take with us to the airport, Much appreciated and very thoughtful.

We shall return next year.

Special thanks must go to the following ,

Selvan, Hanif, Pierre and Mischa and many others too numerous to mention.

Maxyboy

Room Tip: second or third floor are the best for views.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxyboy888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Mu husband and I stayed here for 15 nights B&B Basis. We had a wonderful time and did not want to leave. The hotel is very spacious, clean and bright and the hotel staff were exceptional, very helpful, informative and efficient, nothing was too much trouble for them. The Bungalow restaurant provides a variety of food (all very reasonable priced) the breakfast was very good, plenty of choices to suit everyone. The hotel rooms are very comfortable, with a large balcony which has a bath tub so you can bathe under the stars. complimentary soft drinks and fresh fruit are provided daily and the coffee and tea making facilities are replenished daily. There are well kept gardens surrounding the hotel, which includes hammocks and deck chairs. This hotel has a very good feel about it and we had a wonderful holiday there.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunshinebear035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

This hotel in batu ferringhi is about a 30 minute car ride from Georgetown in Penang. This hotel is well situated in that it is located smack in the middle of a 2 km outdoor market that comes alive at night (if you are looking for knock-off watches, purses/bags, perfume etc.); local food stalls are also situated along this street.
The rooms are large and clean, and situated by the ocean, so warm tropical winds can be enjoyed from your rooms depending on where your room is facing. There are outdoor tubs outside on the balconies from the room, so that can be a nice touch if you enjoy baths.
Breakfast buffet may be included in your hotel booking, and the selection is pretty good - both selections of traditional Malaysian or peranakan fare, as well as western breakfasts are offered. however, for cheap and cheerful local dishes, I would highly recommend the food stalls at the night market right beside the hotel.
The full length pool at this hotel is a nice luxury especially if you visit during the dry hot season - May till about November.

Room Tip: Select a room on the upper floors (4th floor is highest) facing the ocean and pool - it's much c...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank naturdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

The Lone Pine Hotel is in a perfect location.

Having stayed there for nearly two weeks, I became annoyed by some of the long stay guests who would get up early, go and claim their territory by placing towels on sun lounge chairs by the pool with umbrellas, and then not return for anything up to 2-3 hours. How inconsiderate of them when other people turn up to get a spot and genuinely need shaded areas to avoid getting burned and miss out because towels with no backsides are there. I'm not talking about guests who place their towel on the chairs, go and have breakfast and return.

This situation really needs to be addressed as a lot of other guests were not impressed as well.

The hotel staff are friendly, accommodating and helpful for any information re tours, shopping, taxis, etc. The breakfast menu has a wide variety of food and the fried noodles with an egg on top is yummy!

The room was quite spacious on the third floor and quiet except every night round about 12:30 am there would be a loud noise which I think was a motorbike leaving the premises. That was annoying!
The room was cleaned every morning and there would be a newspaper each day. Bottled water was supplied each morning and evening along with fruit, 4 cans of soft drink, coffee, tea and powdered milk sachets. A complimentary bottle of wine was a nice gesture as well as the delicious chocolates.
Thank you to the staff who made my stay enjoyable and organized a late check out for me. It was much appreciated.

Room Tip: Third floor.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 610Mouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.1 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
0.8 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4,465 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#3 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
2,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
1,741 reviews
0.4 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
7.0 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 85 in George Town
3,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lone Pine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lone Pine Hotel

Address: Lone Pine Hotel 97 Jalan Batu Ferringhi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range: $93 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lone Pine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in an idyllic spot along Penang's coastline, Lone Pine is Batu Ferringhi's only luxury boutique hotel. Renewed and rejuvenated after a lovingly undertaken restoration, Penang's favourite beachside boutique resort reopened its doors refreshed in design and facilities, but still infused with the same colonial spirit and idyllic charm that has made it one of Penang's legendary hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lone Pine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lone Pine Batu Ferringhi
Hotel Lone Pine
Lone Pine Hotel Penang/Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing