We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach front resort”
Review of Lone Pine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lone Pine Hotel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Reviewed December 26, 2013

So much to rave about! Beach front room on the highest level guaranteed a windy stay with soothing waves crashing sound since the resort was only a few steps away from the beach. Friendly staffs, ensure that our stay was pleasant with free shuttle bus to george town so there was always something on our itinerary and clean rooms and bed and chlorine- free pool to make our stay even more enjoyable. Poor breakfast though BUT will def go back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarahnah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,497)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

764 - 770 of 1,497 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2013

As a promise that i will be back, i kept it and returned to the Lone Pine for a get together which i organised for a small group of my staff. I took 2 Garden deluxe room.... Check in as usual was great and we were escorted to our room.... Our room was on the ground floor and was rather big, it had 2 queen size beds and a small courtyard garden and right next to the swimming pool..... Everything in the room was superb except perhaps the DVD player which was spoiled and needed to be changed... But the maintenance guy was quick to react and change it..... I always liked the Lone Pine for its Nostalgic values and superb gardens..... Nothing beats that.... Its a laidback resort and can easily sooth anyone's minds..... Breakfast as usual was great.... Overall It was a great trip.... Just wondering if the Lone Pine has any special discounts for frequent returning Guests as my company does not have corporate rates in Here......

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Balan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

This was our 2nd stay after 2 years. Remarkable change was the absence of the deafening jet ski noise which we could hear the whole day in the past.
The hotel has cordoned off an area by the beach for guest to swim which kept te jet ski operator out .
One comment is the F&B staff still require training to serve customer well taking into consideration the hygiene practice which was annoying at the breakfast place.
Overall the resort is still a very nice place to stay and will go back again.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank SgnExp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

The Lone Pine markets itself online as a boutique hotel. On arrival, you sense it may fall more into the themed category.

The extension of the wooden shutters to its renovated rooms from the original colonial beachside buildings works. And when did a light splash of colour not help energise pastel wooden panels and whitewashed, fan-adorned ceilings? All in keeping with the safe, typecast image of upmarket beach retreat. Good. That's what we bought into.

But the theme rather needlessly (and incongruously) extends to a predilection for chintzy lights, coloured beanbags in their branded bar, ubiquitous reminders that they want to be 'liked' on Facebook. It's as if the parents who painstakingly renovated the hotel downed tools at the last and left the finishing touches to their teenage kids who felt the whole thing wasn't 'cool enough'.

OK, boutique can do themed. But boutique can't do big. And Lone Pine is big with over 80 rooms. But the funky red nail in the carefully distressed pine coffin of boutique is the fact that they hold weddings. And not any old weddings. The kind of weddings you NEVER want to be invited to. Or hoped even took place.

There is something slightly masochistic about attending a Eurovision party at a friend's house. But the idea is that the actual pain of having to listen to the larger Europe's worst definition of music is mitigated by the amusement provided by how astonishingly bad it can get, how it can seemingly become a matter of life and death to the protagonists and how they contrive to make a pantomime competition out of the whole thing. And of course, seeing British has-beens inevitably consigned by means fair or foul to the bottom of the heap. There is also a certain warm armchair smugness you feel that you are not actually there in person. For that would be intolerable.

Unfortunately, at Lone Pine you really are at Eurovision. And the compares, the he and she with their witless botox grins and reparties... are no longer in Riga or Baku. Or some place you've never been to or heard of. Oh no. They are 20m from your balcony, armed with a mic. The only thing between them and you is a Lone Pine pastel coloured, slatted wooden shutter. They are here to celebrate Ronald and Caroline. They are not here to let you sleep.

If you're one to cringe at Eurovision, prepare for a full Cumbrian gurn. Ronald's VIPs (Very Important Parents) are crassly introduced as the financial benefactors of the evening as the she-compare whips the baying crowd into an alcohol-free frenzy with a sickly mocktail of Celine Dion and Maria Carey. I'm starting to think it's not a coincidence that there are no sharp implements in the minibar.

Three PowerPoints, four speeches, two hours of 80s love ballads, an eternity of fireworks and a particularly virulent Richard Marx medley later, i'm trying to pull my top lip back down from the top of my newly maluable cranium. Complaints to front desk fall on enviously deaf ears and instead bring the shuddering news that there'll be another wedding tomorrow.

To the forced strains of he-compare trying to put lyrics to the birdie song, I start to get the theme. Why Penang when we could be in Baku?

(since writing this, we have been subjected to two more sleepless nights owing to their xmas celebrations, for which they think a traditional celebration requires putting on a B grade rock concert and consistently poor customer service. Despite being in a great location and having fantastic potential, it seems the management is determined not to deliver on a 5 star experience for its overpaying guests

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank newbornhellenophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

One of he best hotel I have stayed in Penang. Room is big and spacious and nicely designed. Love the bathtub outside the balcony, nice way to relax and listen to sound of waves at night. The row of pine trees and the colonial design gives the hotel the character. There are a lot of relaxing corners to sit down and unwind.
Relatively nice breakfast with quite a good selection including the freshly cooked char koay teow.
Nice hawker food center (Long Beach hawker center) just 3 mins walk to the right of the hotel.
The staff are professional, pro-active, caring and friendly.
Special thanks to Farid, Kala, Husniza, Faridah, Ismail, Zubri, Selvi and Pierre for making our trip a great one.
Definitely recommend to anyone who is looking for a relaxing place to stay in Penang.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick_Lim_HE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

This is my second stay at the hotel. After a pleasant stay last summer with my girlfriend, this stay was with my parents and sister.
Our experience with the hotel overall was good, the rooms were clean and spacious and was well located to face the sea. The bar had good range of drinks on offer and we enjoyed the shisha. The pool was pleasant and I really enjoyed my naps in those little shaded rattan huts by the pool.
The following issues I think the hotel can seriously consider improving:

1)The wifi, reception was weak in most places except in the middle of the restaurant and lobby, even inside the rooms signal was weak. I would seriously suggest the hotel invest in upgrading the system.
2) Breakfast quality was a disappointment, some of the food felt like they were hastily prepared, in fact I did find the food quality at the Bungalow to be the biggest weakness of this hotel, consider we were in the middle of Penang, a food paradise.
3) While staff were generally friendly and helpful, service speed and response tend to be slow, I had to call multiple times to get my safety box fixed, and it was noticed that sometimes when staff clean the rooms, there are small bits that they forget, say a towel, or a floor mat or a bottle of water. nothing major but small details. Sometimes small details does tell the difference. Even in the restaurant, staff were slow to take away finished plates, and sometimes food doesn't come with the right cutlery, so we had to ask for them, while not a big deal, it is something staff should be trained to do automatically.
4) We stayed in a deluxe room, there was a lack of convenient location for hanging our used towels, please add more towel racks or hooks on the wall.

Room Tip: Most rooms come with a small tub on the balcony, which is pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

A converted colonial building right on the beach. This was our first time at the Lone Pine and we will be back again.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and it was good to see section managers out talking to guests. Perhaps my only criticism was that response was sometimes slow, so you started to wonder if they had been diverted onto something else. Maybe it is the Malaysian way
The breakfast buffet at The Bungalow was excellent with a wide choice and much cooked to order. The Japanese restaurant was also good.
There is a busy night market outside, if you want to negotiate a bargain and do try the Ferranghi Garden restaurant, just a short walk away, if you want a different dining experience (see Trip Advisor).

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Chinarog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.1 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
0.8 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
4,929 reviews
0.4 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#3 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
2,304 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
1,775 reviews
7 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#10 of 87 in George Town
3,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lone Pine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lone Pine Hotel

Address: 97 Jalan Batu Ferringhi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range: $89 - $678 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lone Pine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in an idyllic spot along Penang's coastline, Lone Pine is Batu Ferringhi's only luxury boutique hotel. Renewed and rejuvenated after a lovingly undertaken restoration, Penang's favourite beachside boutique resort reopened its doors refreshed in design and facilities, but still infused with the same colonial spirit and idyllic charm that has made it one of Penang's legendary hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lone Pine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lone Pine Batu Ferringhi
Hotel Lone Pine
Lone Pine Hotel Penang/Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing