We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE place to stay in Batu Ferringhi”
Review of Lone Pine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lone Pine Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Staveley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“THE place to stay in Batu Ferringhi”
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

This was our first visit to The Lone Pine. We had been to Batu Ferringhi a few years ago and we were concerned about all the new hotels and how busy the area might be. The Lone Pine, partly built in 1948, and was an oasis of calm and we visited during Hari Raya holiday. Mr Farina, the general manager and his team were hugely professional, eager to cater for every guests' need. Management presence was noted throughout the day ensuring everything ran smoothly. The boutique rooms were very clean, comfortable and uncluttered with lovely views of the sea. The breakfast was efficient with a very wide choice to cater for every taste. Even though a busy weekend, the hotel grounds are extensive and the loungers comfy, so it is easy to find a quiet spot and enjoy the sea breezes and shade of the pines. We tried both of the hotel restaurants for dinner. Service and choice were good and there were some very good value themed buffets on offer.
Would I stay again, absolutely yes. The Lone Pine offers a discrete elegance and tranquility that is most refreshing in Batu Ferringhi.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khoo B, Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Kuffy,

Well we are so glad that your recent stay with us has been wonderful and that we have met your expectations. During the recent refurbishment of the hotel, we could have increase the rooms inventory but we chose to have enough to generate the required revenue so that we can provide our guests with the tranquility and exclusivity like what you mentioned. It is so kind of you to recommend to others that this is indeed the place to stay at Batu Feringgi and we will do our best to consistently justified that. We wish you all the best and have a blessed festive time ahead.

Kind regards,
Khoo Boo Lim
EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    634
    511
    168
    65
    52
See reviews for
423
657
61
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Just had 2 weeks stay at Lone Pine Hotel and it was AMAZING. The staff are really friendly and make you feel looked after. The hotel itself is clean and modern, offering a real oasis of peace from the outside world. You don't need to take much with you as the housekeeping staff provide towels, robes, flip-flops, sarongs, all the usual toiletries with shaving kits and even after sun lotion thrown in, there's a hairdryer, and iron with ironing board, an umbrella, a laundry service, a mini bar with free drinks replenished daily and an extensive room service menu. The food is scrumptious and we never got bored of the selection. We also got complimentary fruit, cakes, chocolates and wine on different days of our stay, but may have been because we were honeymooners. We also got the room with the daybed which had a lovely view of the pool and beach, and we had a plunge bath on the balcony which was ace for a bubble bath in the evening watching the stars and listening to the sea. We found that the plug sockets are the same as the UK (and they drive on the left too), and the Plasma TV has a movie and sports channel with TV listings so we got to see late night movies and didn't miss the football. There are a mixture of languages as Penang is so multi cultural, we mainly encountered Malay and Cantonese, but everyone speaks English too. The hotel has a japanese restaurant as well as malaysian, a funky bar with games and pool table, a brilliant gym and a spa. There is a creek out front where you can watch the water monitor lizards lolling around, and a pool out back to relax and listen to the waves crashing. We saw lots of chipmunks, birds, bats, snakes and even monkeys out there. The sea is within spitting distance but has jellyfish warnings so we didn't swim in it. There are lots of water sports to choose from which are reasonably priced. The hotel is surrounded by a night market which sets up at 8pm until about midnight and is mainly filled with tat, but the food markets particularly LongBeach cafe and IloveU cafe are incredible. Don't be put off by appearances, the food is DELICIOUS - especially the spring roll man who makes only 100 per night and coats the batter with cinnamon and spice (mouth is watering thinking about it) and its unbelievably cheap!!! Bus 101 will take you to Georgetown for 2.70 ringetts - go visit the clan jetties by the ferry terminal and search for all of the 'ASA Artists for Stray Animals' street art around Armenia street and surrounding area. Also book an afternoon tea at the Eastern and Oriental Hotel for £15 per head. You get 15% off as Lone Pine is the sister hotel, and the finger sandwiches and cakes are lovely. There's lots to see in Penang, and you don't need a tour to do it. Bus routes are easy to follow so be adventurous! Local people are friendly and helpful, and the concierge at the hotel is brilliant at signposting you to the things you need. All in all, an incredible holiday that we would highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank huskydoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khoo B, Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear HuskyDoo,

That is such a wonderful and lengthy review, I actually do not know how to respond first. Well from what I noticed, your 2 weeks were simply great and we are so happy that we have met all your expectations. You did received some complimentary things from us and admittedly the wines were partly because you were honeymooners but even more so for being such wonderful people. We hope you will find time again to visit us soon as we look forward to seeing you again. From all of us here in Lone Pine, we wish you a fantastic and blessed year ahead.

Kind regards,
Khoo Boo Lim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

It was a good pleasant & relaxing stay. This is my third visit. The friendliness & attentiveness of the staff , is what Lone Pine is really about. Of course the hotel's location , beach & garden view is also great.
Was a bit disappointed though, with the condition of the deluxe room. There were several patches of water stains on the ceiling & room walls. Maybe a fresh coat of pain would be good. However , the room was clean, big & spacious. Breakfast was good.
On the whole it was a pleasant & enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CherylAnn7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khoo B, Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear CheryleAnn,

Thank you very much for coming back to stay with us for the 3rd time and your continuous support to our property. The water stain is due to condensation as many of our guests turned the air condition on and also opened up the sliding glass door to allow fresh air in. This will adversely affect the ceiling and walls. Nevertheless, we do carry out our preventive maintenance program on room refreshment and we carry this out throughout the year. Thanks for the pointer. We wish you all the best and see you soon again for your 4th visit!

Kind regards,
Khoo Boo Lim
EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We had a fantastic stay at Lone Pine hotel for a long week end. It is the only hotel of human scale and with some attention to detail when it comes to design and integration with the beautiful garden and casuarinas along the beach at Batu Ferringhi. Only negative point is that the rooms are not very well noise isolated so you can hear both the surf (nice) and the noise from the busy street at night. But we had a very relaxing stay anyway, including cocktails by the pool, spa and playing snooker at the Batu Bar when the rain wouldn't stop.
Would love to be back, maybe even for a vow renewal or something, such a charming place. Staff was also really friendly. Their sister hotel in town is the E&O, worth a peek when in Georgetown.

Room Tip: All rooms have sea view but my preference go to the 3rd floor on the left of reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauradezil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khoo B, Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Lauradezil,

We very glad to see that both of you had a splendid and enjoyable stay with us except for the little issue on the noise. The room design was such to allow the sound of the waves beating the sand but we understand it may not go well with some people. We have modified some rooms to reduce this so if you were to visit again, please ask for the these particular rooms. In your case, like you mentioned maybe when you make a vow renewal. I will make sure that you will have a truly memorable experience if you do so.

Kind regards,
Khoo Boo Lim
EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Once a year we treat ourselves to a nice relaxing weekend on the island. Usually at my wife's birthday. This time it was the lone pine hotel. We booked through Agora and got a really nice room with beach view. We also had facial and a long massage. For dinner we went to a nearby place and the staff offered us free of charge a limo that drove us to the restaurant and also picked us up. I don't know whether that is normal or was an exception BUT the overall experience with the staff was exquisit !!! The hotel is renovated and small/big enough for a personal and relaxing experience. Just the jest-skis - but that is all over the Batu Ferringhi beach the same problem - should be abolished. The noise ... .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBitterTruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khoo B, Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear "The Bitter Truth",

We are so glad that your weekend spent with us was most relaxing and enjoyable. The transfer service provided is actually an initiative by our good staff rather than a standard practice. It is a culture that we have instilled upon our associates to go the extra mile for our guests if we possibly can. Well we look forward to your return and wish you all the best.

Kind regards,
Khoo Boo Lim
EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We recently stayed at the Lone Pine (August 2013) for ten days. My fiancé had stayed there nine years earlier and 15 years earlier at Rasa Sayang, Golden Sands and Casuarina Beach (now Hard Rock). We tried all the hotel bars on the strip (Parkroyal and Holiday Inn) included, just to get a look at the hotels, and ate a few times at Rasa Sayang and Golden Sands, and we can honestly say that we would stay at Lone Pine every time in preference to any other hotel. Rasa Sayang may be more glamorous, but Lone Pine is so friendly and the service is fantastic. The hotel is small enough that the staff can get to know you, and you them, and that really makes a difference. Everyone was so friendly and helpful, the rooms were large and well appointed, the facilities were great, and everywhere was clean and well maintained. Anyone who complains about geckos or any other wildlife being present is missing the point that this is a hotel between the jungle and the sea, and it's wonderful to have that element in the holiday. All the other hotels on Batu Feringgi are exactly the same in that regard.

Room Tip: All rooms are sea view, but balcony rooms are the best as they have a direct sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Parry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khoo B, Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Parry L,

On behalf of everyone here at Lone Pine, we would like to express our appreciation for your kind review. We are glad that both of you have enjoyed your stay with us. We do try our best to offer our best services to all our guests but when we received such response it can only motivate us to improve further. Rightly said it is difficult for us to totally contain insects, geckos and bugs even though we practice many prevention as we are in a tropical country. Anyway, we wish you both all the best and hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Khoo Boo Lim
EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for a night and could not wait to leave. Staffs are pleasant and our room was great. However, our room balcony and hotel restaurant were filthy! Lots of lizards "faeces" and dirts all around the tables and floor. The hotel restaurant menu did not cater food for vegetarian. The worst was our breakfast, flies and lizards were around the buffet breakfast trays and there were even "faeces" on the serving spoons. Hotel staffs did not even bother to clean. Also, there were extremely poor range of food for us. We were so disappointed. We always come to Penang for business trips and this hotel we stayed was the worst.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YeeZW9010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khoo B, Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear YeeZW9010,

It is rather unfortunate that your 1 night stay with us turned out to be rather unpleasant as what you have experienced. Living in the tropics we will definitely come across insects, flies, geckos, etc but allow me to reiterate that we do practice constant cleaning and apply preventive measures and schedules as according to our SOPs. We also pay a large amount of monthly expenses to companies that specialize in pest control to assist us. I would not deny that we may have missed a spot at times but I don't believe that we are in such a critical situation in our hygiene practice. As for the menu, it is mentioned in small print that we are able to prepare vegetarian dishes upon request. Anyway, please accept our humble apologies for the disappointments and thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards,
Khoo Boo Lim
EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.1 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
0.8 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4,114 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#4 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
2,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
0.9 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
1,683 reviews
7.0 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 84 in George Town
3,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lone Pine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lone Pine Hotel

Property: Lone Pine Hotel
Address: Lone Pine Hotel 97 Jalan Batu Ferringhi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lone Pine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in an idyllic spot along Penang's coastline, Lone Pine is Batu Ferringhi's only luxury boutique hotel. Renewed and rejuvenated after a lovingly undertaken restoration, Penang's favourite beachside boutique resort reopened its doors refreshed in design and facilities, but still infused with the same colonial spirit and idyllic charm that has made it one of Penang's legendary hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Lone Pine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lone Pine Batu Ferringhi
Hotel Lone Pine
Lone Pine Hotel Penang/Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing