We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay by the beach, very friendly service, nice rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lone Pine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lone Pine Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Certificate of Excellence
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
221 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,062 helpful votes
“Great stay by the beach, very friendly service, nice rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed a week in late december 2012 and we've enjoyed this hotel.

The situation is right by the beach in Batu Ferringhi so it can't be beaten. The beach itself is nice but not the best beach in South East Asia. We didn't swim into the sea because of the Jellyfish which could be a little itchy.

Our room was a Deluxe corner king room on the top level (3rd floor) and was facing the pool and the sea. Very good sized room, great balcony with outdoor bath on it (very nice), large bathroom. But my complains go for the bed which was too hard for me. The wifi signal in the room wasn't good and low.
Another complain is the noise from outside as it was missing a window and we didn't understood why.

Hotel building is not too big (around 110 rooms), has a colonial architecure and atmosphere. Lots of work has been done here I think to keep this place a little "out of time".
Staff was very nice and kind and attentive to details. At the breakfast, by the pool, at the front desk and the clerk, as well in the japanese restaurant (where we had 1 dinner offered by the way).
Hotel management does care about the clients and passed by to greet us.

Breakfast was good not great and had plenty of choice but missing some stuff like honey, nutella (chocolate paste), sushi (my wife like them in Asia in the morning, I don't). Omelettes were excellent.
But it was nice to sit outside and have access to the buffet. Go not too late because it can be crowded.

Our experience in Penang was very good and we can recommend to stay at the Lone PIne hotel as an happy customer.
Thank you for your very good customer service. Keep going.

Room Tip: High floor room are the best as well as Deluxe corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SwissAirTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khoo B, Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear SwissAirTraveler,

We are very happy to hear that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. We have taken note of your feedback and we are looking at the areas where we can change and improve. The initial reason why there is no window was to allow the guests to experience the nature sounds especially the sea waves. It was a good thought but I do agree that it may not be too practical at times so therefore we have already studying how to improve on this.

Thank you again and have a good year ahead.

Kind regards,
Khoo Boo LIm
EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    624
    503
    163
    62
    52
See reviews for
414
645
61
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from the Lone Pine, having gone with the intention of enjoying the hotel and having a rest from otherwise busy lives.

The Lone Pine, to our delight, was everything that we selected it for. It was smallish (around 90 rooms), not too many children, a well kept and modern property, a great pool, attentive and friendly staff, and a lovely neat and functional room. We had a Deluxe room (basic), but it was spacious, comfortable, functional and had a great plunge pool on the balcony, which had filtered views of the ocean - all rooms do.

Also used the Matsu Japanese Restaurant, which was great value, and high standard. Breakfasts (included) at the Bungalow were lovely with a good range and choice. Food generally was a really high standard.

I can understand some criticisms from people that looked for more children's facilities, or local things to do. However, we researched what we wanted - quiet - and we got it. The markets starting at the entrance of the hotel, and stretching for about a km up the beach road, is a bit ho-hum, but we are shopped out for this sort of stuff (junk) on other SE Asian holidays. Beach massages, etc are available, and good value at about AUD10 / half hour. Also the street food is really good and cheap. 2 courses for 2 with drinks for less than AUD10 is pretty easy to find.

All up, there is a lot of choice for short stay holidays in Asia, but the Lone Pine should not disappoint many, as long as you go here for the right reasons. We stayed for 7 days, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It was enough time, but other visitors were staying 6 weeks, and had enjoyed their time there as well. If we return to Penang, will definitely return to the LP.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Stan59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khoo B, Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Stan59,

It is with much appreciation for your kind feedback with regards to your stay with us at Lone Pine. We are so glad that you have enjoyed a relaxing time with us so perhaps on your next visit you probably need to plan a much longer holiday than your previous 7 days. We do have to admit that Penanag is a destination that can provide good value especially with the strong current exchange Australia is experiencing now. Well we do hope to see you again so please do take good care and have a good year ahead.

Thank you.

Kind regards,
Khoo Boo Lim
EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

We've just returned from a seven day stay at the Lone Pine hotel. We had two deluxe rooms 220 and 221.
The pros: Very nice property, nice sized rooms, very hospitable front desk staff especially Wee and housekeeping were very polite and hard working.

The cons: where do I start? The view from our balcony was the rear of the bungalow and every time we sat in the balcony we could smell garlic frying in lard, have a good view of the chefs frolicking around while having a smoke and hear the clatter of crockery and cutlery.

The noise from the jetskis, the gardener's blower vac and the call for sunrise prayer over the microphone from the mosque next door made it very hard to relax both in terms of a good night's sleep and by the poolside.

The hotel charges patrons to use the pool table and foosball table. Pretty sad for a hotel of this rating.

Breakfast was the worst that I have experienced in all my travel around Asia with way too many Western dishes. The bengali roti had metamorphosed into sliced white bread to eat with daal and chicken curry. If we went after 9am the nasi lemak was kaput and the papaya was all gone. I thought Malaysia was marketing itself as an Asian destination but it looks like this hotel is still stuck in a time warp and clinging to its colonial past - quiche for breakfast? Thanks but no thanks.

Finally, I wish to draw the management's attention to the conduct of one of its staff by the name of Tanty at the bungalow. This woman seems to have an obsession with senior Caucasian patrons. When any of them walked into the restaurant, she would drop whatever she was doing and ingratiate herself to them. While us less humble mortals had to drink tepid coffee from a flask and canned juice from the self service counter, Tanty would serve her "special" clients fresh carrot juice, freshly squeezed orange juice, freshly brewed coffee, iced water and some were lucky enough to get cappucinos both to have at breakfast and to take with them to have by the poolside.

Having worked in hospitality, my training taught me never to set such precedents or discriminate between patrons and here I was observing daily, the blatant discrimination between clients. I'd like to know why this woman felt the need to be so subservient to elderly "white" people? What wrong have the other clients done that they had to be content with mediocrity? If this woman cannot change her ways, she deserves the sack. No doubt she must be receiving a lot of praise from the "chosen few".

Having said that, a young man by the name of Gilbert did oblige with fresh coffee when I remarked that the contents of the flask were cold.

Would we return to Penang? Probably not because we have a lot of other destinations to travel to. Would I recommend this hotel or stay here in the future? Absolutely not because I am totally intolerant of discrimination.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank desi17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khoo B, Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Desi17,

Thank you very much for your patronage and your feedback during your stay with us. We will definitely look into some of the points that you have raised and will do our best to improve on them. However, I would like to reiterate your comment on one of our employees in being preferential in her services. We do not indiscriminate and treat all our guests with equal terms. We value all our guests and this has always being cultivated into the staff training with a clear understanding about providing good guest service. As for the breakfast, we will always replenish every dish or items until the closing time of 11.00 am. Anyway, we wish you all the best and respect your constructive feedback as it can only make us better.

Thank you.

Kind regards,
Khoo Boo Lim
EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

I have to give my hats-off to E&O for transforming and restoring one of Penang's oldest properties on Ferringhi beach into a really tastefully-designed hotel. Stayed in the Deluxe room and it was very nicely furnished, and most importantly, clean. Everything about the room gave a sense of airiness and space, from the furnishings to the high ceilings. The major plus point for me was the private lounging pool at the balcony of the room. Apart from that, service was fantastic, and breakfast is good as well. Will definitely try to return the next time.

Room Tip: If you love the idea of having a mini private lounging pool for yourself, go for the Deluxe or Super...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ming Jie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khoo B, Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Ming Jie M,

On behalf of the management, we are so delighted that you have found the hotel living up to the standards and objectives of our corporate company in being a leading provider of hospitality and lifestyle services. We always take positive comments like yours to spur us further so as to raise our standards with more innovative ideas and products. Please do keep in touch and we look forward to your next visit.

Thank you.

Kind Regards,
Khoo Boo Lim
EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for my son's wedding which was also held there. I had a lovely time. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. So far this has been the only hotel which I've stayed at where the manger makes a special point of speaking to all of the guest. Very pleasant stay. Many thanks to everyone at the Lone Pine who made my stay very welcoming.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Koalahugsxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khoo B, Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear KoalahugsXXX,

Thank you very much for your nice comments and glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us. That satisfaction should also include your son's wedding party of which was very lovely. Well we hope that you are able to come visit us again and we look forward to seeing you again at sunny Penang and Lone Pine.

Kind Regards,
Khoo Boo Lim
EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

nice hotel with a strange entrance up an alley to the reception.
Lots of families and middle aged couples around the swimming pool.
Breakfasts good but not as good as E&O (sister hotel) in Georgetown
Food service was sooooo slow. Our Grand child had to wait 35 minutes from the order to her fish fingers and 30 minutes for banana fritters this when the bungalow cafe was empty at 5.30 pm
Try to get room 200 or 300 or 212 or 312 they have an extra room off the bedroom and would be good for teenagers travelling with parents. Not impressed with the bungalow rooms they seemes a bit cave like

Room Tip: rooms 200,300,212 and 312 have an extra side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bradSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khoo B, Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear bradSomerset,

Thank you for your constructive comments during your stay with us.G However, I do not really understand about the remark about the strange alley leading up to the reception as we actually have a very large entrance with and extremely high ceiling.

Anyway, we hope that you do visit us again and please do contact me if you do so as I would really look forward to meet up with you.

Kind regards,
Khoo Boo Lim
EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We spent 10 days at Lone Pine and it was wonderful. The hotel is calm and homely at the same time as being very comfortable. The staff were fantastic and went out of their way to look after us. The rooms were lovely and quiet and all face the sea. We could have stayed much longer and will definitely recommend it to our friends and will return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Coffee59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khoo B, Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Coffee59,

We are pleased to learn that you have had a wonderful stay with us and even more so by giving us such a lovely review of the hotel, services and it's people. Well we hope the next trip it will be more than 10 days for we shall look forward to seeing you again at Lone Pine. We wish you and family a pleasant and blessed year ahead.

Kind regards,
Khoo Boo Lim
EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.1 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
0.8 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,793 reviews
0.4 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#5 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,120 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,651 reviews
6.9 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 84 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lone Pine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lone Pine Hotel

Property: Lone Pine Hotel
Address: Lone Pine Hotel 97 Jalan Batu Ferringhi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lone Pine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in an idyllic spot along Penang's coastline, Lone Pine is Batu Ferringhi's only luxury boutique hotel. Renewed and rejuvenated after a lovingly undertaken restoration, Penang's favourite beachside boutique resort reopened its doors refreshed in design and facilities, but still infused with the same colonial spirit and idyllic charm that has made it one of Penang's legendary hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Fastbooking, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lone Pine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lone Pine Batu Ferringhi
Hotel Lone Pine
Lone Pine Hotel Penang/Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing