We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lone pine review june 12”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lone Pine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lone Pine Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Certificate of Excellence
sydney
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“lone pine review june 12”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

Have just returned home from a wonderful time at the Lone Pine , we are frequent visitors to Batu Ferringhi and have always stayed at the Golden Sands but we walked through the Lone PIne early this year and decided to try this hotel. We sure were happy we did as, for us , it is ideal. We found the staff to be very helpful and attentive especially Selvan at breakfast, he is a real character who goes out of his way to attend to all of your needs. Hisham one of the porters is also very helpful.The ladies at reception were very nice and helpful also.
Loved the pool, the calm atmostphere of the gardens and the room decor was just right to our taste.
We have already booked for next Christmas holidays here and look forward to catching up with our friends at the Lone Pine.

Room Tip: First floor is bset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maxyboy888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    624
    503
    163
    62
    52
See reviews for
414
645
61
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

The best thing about this hotel is the informal feel of it. It’s small enough to be intimate (many places claim to be ‘boutique’ hotels but this is definitely one.) The staff here are extremely friendly and helpful. It’s also right by the beach and we took a walk along the beach one day and experienced some of the watersports on offer. It is however not a private beach but it’s safe and we got minimal hassle.

We had a lovely room on the 3rd floor of the block facing the pool and beach. We loved the plunge pool we had on the balcony. It’s lovely having a warm soak while listening to the waves crashing on the beach.

The pool is cleaned every morning but by the end of the day, there are small leaves, etc from the trees sheltering the pool. We didn’t mind as they weren’t dirty – also it was nice to have those trees as the sun in Penang can be extremely hot.

The shuttle bus to the E&O hotel was really good as it takes you from Batu Ferringhi to Goergetown (the historic centre). It would be great if it ran more often.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family.

I would have rated the hotel a 5 star but for a few of things:
- we stayed there for 5 days and it would have been good if they had changed the sheets at least on alternate days or more often. I’m sure we could have asked I guess.
- you get 2 bottles of water and 4 cans of soft drinks (daily) but we never know when they fill the fridge up, so if you miss the schedule and you haven’t used your drinks, they don’t put any extras in addition to what is already there.
- we didn’t have any shower gel in the room but found some on the housekeeping trolley on our last day. Maybe these should be issued as standard, instead of having the horrible smelling aftersun.
- the a la carte food in the hotel is not of great quality although the complimentary dinner in the Japanese restaurant was a nice touch. Breakfast food is great though!
- we decided to have cocktails in the BatuBar but they had run out of some fruit juices, so I only managed to get a cocktail after several tries.

But all in all, I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family.

A few tips about Batu Ferringhi:
- this is a long stretch of road about 30-45 mins drive from Georgetown: not that close if you want to spend a lot of time in the historic centre
- we found it difficult to find a nice local place for lunch without going too far from the hotel. Things only come alive in the evening.
- the night market along the road is a huge nuisance as they take up the whole of the pavement and you have to either walk through the busy stalls or on the busy road!
- The hawker stalls next to the hotel is worth a try. Great and cheap street food.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeCCTn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

My Husband and I booked the Lone Pine as a spur of the moment decision when sitting with our travel agent and we were not disappointment. This place is amazing. On arrival we received a welcome drink and friendly prompt service. We had a deluxe room which is superb, huge shower head, king bed, large balcony with beautiful view of the gardens and beach. We were unsure of breakfast after reading other reviews but it catered for everyone and staff where very prompt and friendly…what more can you ask for.

The pool area is lovely and pool snacks were great especially the chicken satay skewers, the peanut sauce was the best we had on our trip. We actually didn’t eat dinner at the hotel as we were only here 4 nights and wanted to try some local restaurants. Night markets are right outside the hotel every night which is fun when walking back from dinner. The hotel isn’t as big as other ones in the area but it is definitely the best. The hotel has retained its history and added a modern touch. If you are into history catch the free shuttle to the sister hotel The E&O in Georgetown. We look forward to returning to the Lone Pine.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newicouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

we stayed at the grand premier suite for our family holiday ... the room is located in a 2-floor building and is well layout with 2 spacious en suites ... everyday we woke up with a nice beach view ... the open green & interior design is very nice ... on top of that, the concierge staff are very attentive & polite ..

however, there are still rooms for improvement to have made our stay value-for-money:
1/ housekeeping - it's a basic for every hotel to provide clean towels .. however, the first day we checked in, found a face towel with stain and subsequently, floor mats ....
2/ housekeeping - the amenities such as cotton balls & tissue paper were not being replenished not daily but the whole stay
3/ housekeeping - we were busy doing the mosquito 'control' in the suite the first day we checked in ...
4/ ventilation - we woke up with the whole suite being filled with oil smell ... it's like we were inside the kitchen ... hotel was friendly enough to have put the ioniser but the smell didn't go away until late afternoon
5/ room facilities - wi-fi wasn't working until calling for another router to be put in the room
6/ room facilities - should equip with each washing basin a rubbish bin & face tissue box

all in all, the hardware of the hotel is fantastic ...
thanks again for mr khoo & the staff trying to make our stay more enjoyable!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ilovetravel-2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

This is a delayed review that I have emailed to the GM of Lone Pine and he has responded kindly.. The review below will give the overall experience I had at LonePine. There were some hits and misses. But overall, we had a great getaway.

As I write this, I am in the comfort of the Premier room. It is just perfect for my family.
Appreciate the arrangement of the interconnecting rooms as I am traveling with 2 young kids. Your team at reservations did a good job attending to my requests.

The last 3 days have been great.. This is the kind of boutique hotel that we enjoy being at rather than any of the Big brand names.. We love the environment, the quaintness of the resort and the vast space that my kids can just run around. However, there are a couple of "misses" that I feel I should let u know

1) We checked in close to midnight on the 3 Dec, the lady at the front desk did not wear her name tag, and I think her name is Denise. As it was late and we were all tired.. I was annoyed at the fact that she had to calculate my total bill and got me to confirm the amount when my brain was not really working already. 2ndly, I had to ask her if she was going to take us to our rooms as she handed me the keys without even offering any assistance.. There was no bellboy to help us with our luggage so we decided to handle it on our own. She could have informed me that we had to take a flight of stairs... My husband had to carry a big luggage that was packed for the whole family and it was heavy.. Personally, I feel that she had quite a "care-less" attitude and I did not expect that from Lonepine.

2) Our package includes dinner at Matsu and no voucher was provided upon check in. I am aware that we checked in late. I think the Front Desk could have been more attentive about informing me of the activities at Lonepine..

3) I was not informed that shuttle service had to be booked. Thank goodness Mr Ismail accommodated us and made arrangements for us to go to E&O despite the shuttle being full

4) I was also not informed that the cooking session was at 730am. I was really looking forward to this event. But missed it too as it had alrdy started when I saw the group from the window of my room.

5) Service at breakfast could have been better too. Food could have been replenished faster as very often the trays were quite empty. The service staff could have been more attentive

I know it was a busy weekend as there were 2 weddings and I appreciate the letter from the hotel to inform us. But, I feel that the service standards could be improved. The reason why we prefer to stay at boutique hotel is to feel the sense of home away from home. The development is great.. Just wished that the staff at the resort were more friendly and hospitable.

There were a few staff that I like to compliment though.. Selvam from the bungalow, the housekeeping lady that took care of our rooms and sending us our cupcakes.. She was nice to my kids. And Freddie from the front office that provided us some information abt Penang. Also your accounts manager, a lady that apologies on the night that we did not get our Matsu voucher that caused some difficulty when trying to make reservation.

With the above mentioned, we will stay at Lonepine again when we are in Penang :)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angeline71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

I have stayed at this resort twice already and I would be happy to return again. The resort is really lovely and the rooms are spacious. Internet and breakfast were included in my room rate both times. I was looking for a quiet beach front location with nice gym facilities. I wasn't disappointed. The first time I stayed at this hotel, I spent a good deal of time at the pool. I was a little disappointed that the wading pool was out of commission on my second visit. I didn't plan to wade, but it was a bit of an eye sore to see orange tape fencing off the space.

The rooms were very comfortable with modern decorations and elegant touches of color. The best part of both rooms were the bathroom/shower facilities. The shower was very spacious in both rooms. The gym was small but adequate for vacation usage. There was a water machine and towels in the gym, in addition to shower facilities. I didn't try out the spa, because it was fully booked whenever I tried to make an appointment.

I tried the sushi restaurant at the hotel one night. It was a nice venue, but the sushi was only so-so. Fortunately, the hotel breakfast was much better. There was an omelette station and a number of asian and western options on the buffet. My only tiny complaint was that the service wasn't great during the breakfast rush and the staff was very slow to bring coffee or tea.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wandering03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoGB, Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear Wandering03,

Sunshine Greetings from Malaysia’s Premier Boutique Beach Resort!

I am sure everything is well and the month of June is proceeding positively for you and your family.

First and foremost, thank you for your positive comments of our staff, rooms, facilities and the hotel areas on TripAdvisor.

I certainly appreciate your care, time and interest you have taken to highlight your dissatisfaction with regards to the below par F&B service you experienced at The Bungalow during your stay with us.

I regret that as a guest, you did not receive the level of service you certainly expect from us and I certainly apologize for this unacceptable experience.

Together with my Team, I will take the necessary steps to correct such negative performances.
We certainly look forward to welcoming you back at the property again soon, and trust that future visits will be just as enjoyable and more fulfilling.

Once again, thank you and wishing you and your family a good week ahead.

Thank you and best regards,
KHOO BOO LIM
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
47 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

Stayed three nights, but would have liked more. We considered going back to the big resorts we had previously stayed at , but decided to give this one a go. So glad we did. The place is comparatively small and so never felt crowded. We actually went to dinner at the Golden Sands next door and the crowds that were walking around the gardens and hanging around the pool made us glad we chose to stay at Lone Pine. Apart from breakfast which was more than adequate (but not the massive spread you might get at bigger resorts) we did not eat at the hotel, but found food very cheaply not far outside. Rooms were huge with great views of the ocean. Very much enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray3149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoGB, Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear Ray3149,

Sunshine Greetings from Malaysia’s Premier Boutique Beach Resort!

I am sure everything is well and the month of June is proceeding positively for you and your family.

It was indeed a pleasure to have you as our guest during your visit to Penang and I trust you had a safe and pleasant trip back home.

Thank you for your positive comments of our room and the hotel areas on TripAdvisor during your recent stay at the Lone Pine Hotel.

It was really fantastic to have read your wonderful comments during your recent stay at the Lone Pine Hotel and that have made it more satisfying for all of us to learn that we have managed to fulfil the expectations of another guest.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back at the property again soon, and trust that future visits will be just as enjoyable and more fulfilling.

Once again, thank you and wishing you and your family a good week ahead.

Thank you and best regards,
KHOO BOO LIM
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.1 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
0.8 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,785 reviews
0.4 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#5 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,117 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
6.9 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 84 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lone Pine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lone Pine Hotel

Property: Lone Pine Hotel
Address: Lone Pine Hotel 97 Jalan Batu Ferringhi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lone Pine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in an idyllic spot along Penang's coastline, Lone Pine is Batu Ferringhi's only luxury boutique hotel. Renewed and rejuvenated after a lovingly undertaken restoration, Penang's favourite beachside boutique resort reopened its doors refreshed in design and facilities, but still infused with the same colonial spirit and idyllic charm that has made it one of Penang's legendary hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Fastbooking, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lone Pine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lone Pine Batu Ferringhi
Hotel Lone Pine
Lone Pine Hotel Penang/Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing