We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique Funky and Fun”
Review of Lone Pine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lone Pine Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Boutique Funky and Fun”
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We stayed at Lone Pine knowing it was an E&O Hotel and expecting a certain level of luxury. From our welcome at reception to the shuttle bus on leaving, nothing was too much trouble. The room was spacious, the furnishings modern and tasteful. I loved the bath on the verandah and the fact that you could hear the sea at night.
There was a party one night which did not disturb us in the least and we were politely informed of the event two days running in a letter from the Manager. Tiffin lunch was great but some of the other dishes were disapointing. Frozen fish and chips.Proximity to the nightmarket is a bonus. Long beach hawkers market a must for food. Try the Roti with banana and icecream! All in all a lovely experience only beaten by the E&O

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor abd still had a lovely view and sounds of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VirginiaRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoGB, General Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
Dear VirginiaRoss,

Sunshine Greetings from Malaysia’s Premier Boutique Beach Resort!

I trust that the week has been wonderful and productive for you and your family. It was really fantastic to have read your wonderful comments during your recent stay at the Lone Pine Hotel and that have made it more satisfying for all of us to learn that we have managed to fulfil the expectations of another guest.

The hospitality industry is indeed challenging but most fulfilling when we have a guest like you expressing your satisfaction to the whole world and pledging to return and visit us.

Please rest assured that your comments have been acknowledged by the management of Lone Pine Hotel and have been duly passed on to the respective department heads to share with their staff.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back at the property again soon, and trust that future visits will be just as enjoyable.

Once again, thank you and wishing you and your family a good week ahead.

Thank you and best regards,
MARCO G. BATTISTOTTI
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    640
    513
    175
    67
    53
See reviews for
431
665
63
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We booked a room there during June to attend a wedding reception there. I agree with other reviewer about their poor garden wedding settings. The wedding we attended was held during evening and honestly, I felt a little bit uneasy because the garden wedding venue was held facing the beach which is so called 'secured' from outsider by this 2 feet high cheap wooden fence. I think the hotel should really consider improvement on security as outsiders can easily walk into the wedding function.

Rooms: For a hotel which charges that kind of price, they should consider better quality beddings, they use really poor quality bedsheets and the pillows felt like a school dorm quality. We got a room facing the beach with the so-called private plunge pool in our room is nothing much but a modern looking bath tub and it is openly facing the beach, no shades at all.Totally no privacy and serves no purpose since we can't use it and I don't think we are comfortable with people at the beach staring at us in the 'bathtub' and the room next door can easily look over to our balcony.

We are very disappointed to find the balcony sofa/daybed all covered with dust and dry twigs. What disgusted us most was we found leftover food in the dustbin when we check-in. Yes, first impression when we entered the hotel lobby till the check-in stage, fantastic, fully 5 stars quality but once you get your keys and access to your room, it's really disappointing. Furnishing in rooms were basic and showing signs of wear and tear.

Food : You might consider skipping their inclusive breakfast. Breads tasted like cheap bakeries you can get from the road side, their ala-carte style fried noodles tasted burnt and lack of choices.

Will not return.

Room Tip: If you are ok with the noise from functions held at the beach front, then rooms facing the beach is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vacation888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoGB, General Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
Dear Vacation888,

Sunshine Greetings from Malaysia’s Premier Boutique Beach Resort!
Thank you very much for your comments and feedback that we have received through Trip Advisor.

Please allow us to take this opportunity to extend our sincere apologies for failing to meet your expectations during your recent stay at the hotel. We have taken note of our short comings and have taken all the necessary actions to ensure that we improve on this aspect. It is through valuable comments and feedback from guest like your good-self that constantly motivate us to work harder and improve our services and raise the standards of the hotel.

Lone Pine Hotel always strived to achieve a long and mutual satisfying relationship with all our guests so we hope that you will give us another opportunity to be of service to you.

Once again a sincere word of thanks and wish you and your family a great week ahead.

Thank you and best regards,
MARCO G. BATTISTOTTI
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Spent 6 nights, and have to say that everything was wonderful. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, the whole place is very tastefully presented.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thewearyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoGB, General Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
11 October 2011

Dear Thewearyone,

Sunshine Greetings from Malaysia’s Premier Boutique Beach Resort!

I trust that you have had a wonderful and productive week. We would like to extend our sincere appreciation to you for taking some of your precious time to compliment our services during your recent stay at the Lone Pine Hotel.

All of us here are delighted to hear that you have had a wonderful stay with us and we have managed to have met or exceeded your expectations. Your wonderful comments will only motivate us to work harder to deliver a higher level of service in the hospitality industry.

Please rest assured that your comments have been acknowledged by the management of Lone Pine Hotel and have been duly passed on to the respective department heads to share with their staff.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back at the property again soon, and trust that future visits will be just as enjoyable.

Once again, thank you and wishing you and your family a good week ahead.

Thank you and best regards,
MARCO G. BATTISTOTTI
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

This was our second visit to Penang the first having been 2 years ago to the Shangri La. We decided on Lone Pine this time for a relaxing break. We booked based on a very good deal on Agoda and knowing the hotel had recently been refurbished and is part of E &O chain. local friends also said the hotel was a good choice.

We had standard rooms which had comfortable beds and large shower rooms. There was a bath on the balcony but we did not use this as lacked any privacy. It is peaceful to sit at the pool away from the rather grungy main street ( night market ) behind.

We particularly enjoyed the Japanese Restaurant and tapas in the bar but the Bungalow
restaurant which is open all day was ok, but not nearly as good as other buffets we have had
in Malaysia.

The reception service was fine although a little off- hand. The reception itself is small with just a couple of ordinary desks At breakfast no one greeted you or took you to a table but the service at the Bar and Japanese restaurant was very good. all our rooms were ready on arrival and bags taken up straight away. The rooms were clean however there were a number of lights not working, safe not working - but fixed same day, mini bar not stocked (items not
available for restocking) and towels and some other toiletries were not in the room and had to
be requested. Shoe shine and sewing kits available only on request. Poor tile detailing in the
showers means water sits on the shelf in the enclosure and other finishes are minimalist. The
cover was badly stained on the otherwise comfortable outdoor lounge.
There is nothing major wrong with this hotel, it cost us less than the equivalent accommodation would have and we did have a nice relaxing time and I would recommend this as a good couples hotel. I guess we were just a little disappointed with service levels and the little extras you expect in 5* are not evident. There is nothing for kids other than the pool. My teenage daughter also remarked on ogling locals and there was no obvious security on the beach side as provided at other hotels nearby.

The hotel hosted 3 large weddings in the gardens during the 5 days we were there. We were advised ahead of time and did not find the noise particularly intrusive.

I would recommend night market for bargains (though Chinatown in KL is better) Nazlina's cooking adventure (spice& pickles) and a trishaw 4 hour tour in Georgetown as good activities. Golden sands hotel pool area bar is good for light lunch and watching sport. Shangrila buffet dinner is excellent for a treat - almost every food you can think of - seafood on Saturdays. Hawkers food court " Long Beach" does not look great but clean cheap and food great.

Lone Pine is still nice and relaxing and we would stay again as a couple. With more attention to detail this hotel could be excellent.

Room Tip: request a room on a higher level as noise from restaurant / bar and weddings plus cooking smells fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travlr9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoGB, General Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
11 October 2011

Dear travlr9,

Sunshine Greetings from Malaysia’s Premier Boutique Beach Resort!

On behalf of everyone at the hotel, I would like to extend our sincere appreciation for taking your precious time to compliment our services during your recent stay at the Lone Pine Hotel.

All of us here are so happy to hear that you have had a wonderful stay with us however I understand that there were certain issues that did not meet your expectations. We have seriously taken note of this and will take immediate action to improve those shortcomings. We do appreciate such constructive comments as it will only further motivate us to strive harder to provide a higher level in the service industry.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back at the property again soon, and trust that future visits will be just as enjoyable and more fulfilling.

Once again, thank you and wishing you and your family a good week ahead.


Thank you and best regards,
MARCO G. BATTISTOTTI
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

room spacious, nice pool, cabana, beach was great for kids, next to feringghi night market

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaezrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoGB, General Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
11 October 2011

Dear kaezrin,

Sunshine Greetings from Malaysia’s Premier Boutique Beach Resort!

I trust that you have had a wonderful and productive week. We would like to extend our sincere appreciation to you for taking some of your precious time to compliment our services during your recent stay at the Lone Pine Hotel.

All of us here are delighted to hear that you have had a wonderful stay with us and we have managed to have met or exceeded your expectations. Your wonderful comments will only motivate us to work harder to deliver a higher level of service in the hospitality industry.

Please rest assured that your comments have been acknowledged by the management of Lone Pine Hotel and have been duly passed on to the respective department heads to share with their staff.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back at the property again soon, and trust that future visits will be just as enjoyable.

Once again, thank you and wishing you and your family a good week ahead.

Thank you and best regards,
MARCO G. BATTISTOTTI
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We were impressed with the renovations. The hotel is aesthetically pleasing, the gardens look very nice.

Check in was smooth, and the fruit drink was much appreciated

We had room 223, a deluxe suite with the day room. We did not use the day room much because the free WIFI reception was very poor in this room.

We had to ask for a DVD player because it was missing, once replace the remote had lfat battery and it took 1 phone and 1 visit to reception to get the batteries replaced.

The room was vey comfortable, the shower was fabulous.

We did not eat at the hotel, except for breakfast. There are many good, and cheap restuarants down the road. We ate 2 nights at the Tree Monkey, great food. Just catch the 101 bus, fare 1 ringkit 40 sen.

Breakfast, was ordinary, nothing special. The staff really need a lesson in hospitality. The wait staff were surly, and the chef at the egg station seemed to be always in a bad mood.

Our room was noisey as we overlooked the Bungalow restuarant. Each morning at 6am there was a regular crashing of bins. Then sweeping and staff chatting and smoking out the back.

Despite this we would stay here again, but with a room on a higher level and towards to western end of the resort.

Room Tip: Avoid room 123, 223 our room, and 323 as they are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JARMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoGB, General Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
11 October 2011

Dear JARMelbourne,

Sunshine Greetings from Malaysia’s Premier Boutique Beach Resort!

Thank you very much for your comments and feedback that we have received through Trip Advisor.

Please allow us to take this opportunity to extend our sincere apologies for failing to meet your expectations during your recent stay at the hotel. We have taken note of our short comings and have taken all the necessary actions to ensure that we improve on this aspect. It is through valuable comments and feedback from guest like your good-self that constantly motivate us to work harder and improve our services and raise the standards of the hotel.

Lone Pine Hotel always strived to achieve a long and mutual satisfying relationship with all our guests so we hope that you will give us another opportunity to be of service to you.

Once again a sincere word of thanks and wish you and your family a great week ahead.

Thank you and best regards,
MARCO G. BATTISTOTTI
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penang
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

If you want at quiet holiday with a view do not stay in this Hotel. What they dont show or say is that they use the Garden as a wedding venue with a plastic tent that is their all the time.
When not in use it is used to store furniture blocks the views and look ugly. This is not ever shown on their website a complete con.
When there is a wedding the noise is terrible and people walking right in front of your room say goodbye to sleep. During the day is not better as the function room is full of people next to the room.
They let you book and don’t ever mention the functions;
We have been told that people complain every week.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TimothyPenang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoGB, General Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
11 October 2011

DearTimothyPenang,

Sunshine Greetings from Malaysia’s Premier Boutique Beach Resort!

Thank you very much for your comments and feedback that we have received through Trip Advisor.

Please allow us to take this opportunity to extend our sincere apologies for failing to meet your expectations during your recent stay at the hotel. We have taken note of our short comings and have taken all the necessary actions to ensure that we improve on this aspect. It is through valuable comments and feedback from guest like your good-self that constantly motivate us to work harder and improve our services and raise the standards of the hotel.

Lone Pine Hotel always strived to achieve a long and mutual satisfying relationship with all our guests so we hope that you will give us another opportunity to be of service to you.

Once again a sincere word of thanks and wish you and your family a great week ahead.

Thank you and best regards,
MARCO G. BATTISTOTTI
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.1 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
0.8 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4,320 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#4 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
2,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
1,714 reviews
0.4 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
7.0 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 84 in George Town
3,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lone Pine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lone Pine Hotel

Property: Lone Pine Hotel
Address: Lone Pine Hotel 97 Jalan Batu Ferringhi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lone Pine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in an idyllic spot along Penang's coastline, Lone Pine is Batu Ferringhi's only luxury boutique hotel. Renewed and rejuvenated after a lovingly undertaken restoration, Penang's favourite beachside boutique resort reopened its doors refreshed in design and facilities, but still infused with the same colonial spirit and idyllic charm that has made it one of Penang's legendary hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lone Pine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lone Pine Batu Ferringhi
Hotel Lone Pine
Lone Pine Hotel Penang/Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing