We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautifully modernised hotel retaining it's colonial charm”
Review of Lone Pine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lone Pine Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Jakarta
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A beautifully modernised hotel retaining it's colonial charm”
Reviewed May 25, 2011

We have stayed at the Lone Pine a few times in the past 10 years and were worried when it close to be renovated in 2009. We needn't have been, on our recent stay we found that the worst parts of the hotel (a 70's? room block) has been removed and the new block has been added with a sympathy to what was already there. We stayed in our favourite room type - in one of the older blocks with views over to the lovely, and happy to say unchanged, gardens to the beach. Our room was lovely and big with 2 queen size beds - ideal for families. The bathroom has been very well renovated; we also love the terrace that can be closed off with shutters.
The room cleaning could be improved.
The pool has been extended well although one cautionary note is that the tiles are a little slippery when wet.
The service could be slow by the pool, on the first day we ordered cocktails that took over 1/2 hour to come but on the second day (especially when we mentioned our long wait of the previous day) they arrived very quickly.
The breakfast, included in the price, was very good, although the coffee could take a while to arrive.
Overall another great stay and rest assured we will returning to our little haven on Batu Ferringhi.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suemcdoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoGB, General Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2011
Dear Suemcdoo,

Sunshine Greetings from Malaysia’s Premier Boutique Beach Resort!

On behalf of everyone at the hotel, I would like to extend our sincere appreciation for taking your precious time to compliment our services during your recent stay at the Lone Pine Hotel.

All of us here are so happy to hear that you have had a wonderful stay with us however I understand that there were certain issues that did not meet your expectations. We have seriously taken note of this and will take immediate action to improve those shortcomings. We do appreciate such constructive comments as it will only further motivate us to strive harder to provide a higher level in the service industry.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back at the property again soon, and trust that future visits will be just as enjoyable and more fulfilling.

Once again, thank you and wishing you and your family a good week ahead.


Thank you and best regards,
MARCO G. BATTISTOTTI
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    636
    511
    174
    67
    53
See reviews for
428
662
62
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
KL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2011

It's 2.45am on May 22, 2011 and the management has blaring music from a party downstairs. Their permit is until 2am but they've said that the music will be until 3am. They have 2 invited deejays blasting electro-beat music, a rowdy crowd shouting and screaming from the beach, staff who are doing nothing about it. There are 90 rooms in this hotel and they said they've received "many, many complaints" from other people as well.

For an E&O-owned establishment, they certainly have no idea what it means. The whole hotel can't sleep, but all Penangites are in the club downstairs in a rave party. We didn't come to Batu Feringghi Penang to be kept awake at this hour. In fact, it would have been better if we just stayed in the city with this racket going on.

On top of that, it took about 1 day for our room service tray to be cleared, even after putting it outside our door for staff to clear. The first night, no house service came to turn the room down in the evening. There were no basic toiletries when we came - cotton buds, etc. The housekeeping was so reluctant to bring over toiletries even when called - it's like they're cutting cost at each corner with guests. So much for Penang newest luxury hotel. At RM880++ rack rate, they're certainly overpricing themselves when they can't even afford guests a decent nights sleep. Our advice, stay somewhere else - like City Bayview even if you want to get a good nights rest.

Breakfast - they were understaffed and no coffee was served. We served ourselves coffee, french toast was hard, they don't clear the table.

By the way we found a boarding pass behind the night table, full of dust, which stated the guests name, dated Feb 6, 2011.

Passengers details are: MAS flight MH1140 - Mr. Soliman Xxxxx.

That's how long since they cleaned the nooks and crannies in this NEW hotel. Cleanliness is dubious.

All not worth the hype.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank awakeminds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoGB, General Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2011
Dear Awakeminds,

Sunshine Greetings from Malaysia's Premier Boutique Beach Resort!

Firstly let me convey my sincere apologies with regards to your recent stay at Lone Pine. Your recent experience is not how we normally carry out our operations and we have taken all actions after advising every department to be more attentive in their work. As for the party I have to admit that someone just got a little bit carried away, however we have realized that such event has to be controlled and that the comfort of our guests should be given top priority. We have no intention to dissapoinment any of our guests but we shall accept the responsibilities for that evening and face all consequences for our oversight.

It is with much regret that we have obviously failed to meet your expectation however we do appreciate and accept your honest and sincere comments about our shortfalls and we genuinely would like to be given another opportuntiy to make amends. If you would allow us that opportuntiy to do so, I would be more than happy if you could personally write to me. My e-mail address is marco.battistotti@e-o-hotel.com.

Thank you and I look forward to your reply. Wishing you a pleasant week ahead.


Thank you and best regards,
MARCO G. BATTISTOTTI
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2011

I travelled to Penang for 5 days and stayed at the Lone Pine Hotel. The hotels was extremely comfortable with very modern rooms and facilities, we had our own private courtyard, with views and sounds of the ocean! Our room was also a few steps away from the beautiful pool area (which we had to ourselves on some occasions) and the day-beds were very restful - a great way to relax for the afternoon!

The staff were very welcoming and helpful and our room was always perfect. We also really enjoyed the gym facilities which are very up to date. The buses were also very easy to use - to go to nearby Gurney Plaza; into Georgetown and also to the Airport.

The only thing that we wished had have been brought to our attention was the onsite cooking class on Tuesday - but that leaves something for us next time:)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TegesD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoGB, General Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2011
Dear TegesD,

Sunshine Greetings from Malaysia’s Premier Boutique Beach Resort!

Thank you for taking the time to compliment our services during your recent stay at the Lone Pine Hotel.

I am indeed delighted to hear that you have had a wonderful and satisfying stay with us. All of us here greatly appreciate your comments, as it’s always a pleasure to know that we have met or exceeded our guests’ expectations.

Please be assured that your comments have been acknowledged by the management of Lone Pine Hotel and passed on to the respective department heads to share with their staff in recognition of their hard work and dedication in the hospitality industry.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to the property again soon, and trust that future visits will be just as fulfilling and enjoyable.

Once again, thank you and wishing you and your family a good week ahead.


Thank you and best regards,
MARCO G. BATTISTOTTI
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2011

Read the reviews of other guests and was not disappointed at all although there is some hiccups.

Was slated to check in at 3pm, but due to some other pressing matters we only can me in at about 4pm. Our room was still not ready then,took them another 30mins to prepare it. But still some of the toiletries,fruit platter and mini bar items were missing. And also we ask for late checkout, the staff at the counter told us we are able to check out at 2pm,but on the last day itself we were asked to check out at 12.30 due to a wedding party coming in later. Then they did not clear the rubbish and plates from room service left outside on the corridor overnight. This is the only hiccups we see.

But the room was gorgeous! The super king size bed, separate room with day bed, tub in the balcony, huge clean toilets, ceiling fan and air-con was really really great! For a superior deluxe room,it feels like a suit! The view of the beach from the balcony and sound of waves lapping really created a romantic atmosphere. Flat screen TV and dvd player was sufficient to keep us entertained. The pool was great! Swimming under pine trees and sound of the waves really make it a relaxing place to read,relax or just laze around. We did not even leave the hotel during our 5day 4 night except for dinner and abit of shopping at Gurney.

The night market is right outside the hotel, with a number of mini mart and restaurant along the road. Or take bus no.101 that goes to Gurney Drive,Penang's famous food hunt, and near the Gurney Shopping Centre.

All in all it was a really good stay at the hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get the rooms with the 3XX series,best vie!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorMohamad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoGB, General Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2011
Dear NorMohamad,

Sunshine Greetings from Malaysia’s Premier Boutique Beach Resort!

On behalf of everyone at the hotel, I would like to extend our sincere appreciation for taking your precious time to compliment our services during your recent stay at the Lone Pine Hotel.

All of us here are so happy to hear that you have had a wonderful stay with us however I understand that there were certain issues that did not meet your expectations. We have seriously taken note of this and will take immediate action to improve those shortcomings. We do appreciate such constructive comments as it will only further motivate us to strive harder to provide a higher level in the service industry.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back at the property again soon, and trust that future visits will be just as enjoyable and more fulfilling.

Once again, thank you and wishing you and your family a good week ahead.


Thank you and best regards,
MARCO G. BATTISTOTTI
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takaka, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2011

This is one of the places I definitely would like to return! Beautiful renovated 1940s style place, spacious rooms, great service, big pool, immediate access to the beach, quiet because a little bit off the spot ... enormous buffet twice a week (besides this, restaurant is a bit expensive). We really had a great time!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoGB, General Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2011
Dear TomHD,

Sunshine Greetings from Malaysia’s Premier Boutique Beach Resort!

I trust that you have had a wonderful and productive week. We would like to extend our sincere appreciation to you for taking some of your precious time to compliment our services during your recent stay at the Lone Pine Hotel.

All of us here are delighted to hear that you have had a wonderful stay with us and we have managed to have met or exceeded your expectations. Your wonderful comments will only motivate us to work harder to deliver a higher level of service in the hospitality industry.

Please rest assured that your comments have been acknowledged by the management of Lone Pine Hotel and have been duly passed on to the respective department heads to share with their staff.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back at the property again soon, and trust that future visits will be just as enjoyable.

Once again, thank you and wishing you and your family a good week ahead.


Thank you and best regards,
MARCO G. BATTISTOTTI
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2011

Far and away the best place in Penang. Nicely designed, spacious rooms. Nice pool area and property layout. Friendly staff and decent dining. If you're going to Penang definitely stay here.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigdra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoGB, General Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2011
Dear Bigdra,

Sunshine Greetings from Malaysia’s Premier Boutique Beach Resort!

Thank you for taking the time to compliment our services during your recent stay at the Lone Pine Hotel.

I am indeed delighted to hear that you have had a wonderful and satisfying stay with us. All of us here greatly appreciate your comments, as it’s always a pleasure to know that we have met or exceeded our guests’ expectations.

Please be assured that your comments have been acknowledged by the management of Lone Pine Hotel and passed on to the respective department heads to share with their staff in recognition of their hard work and dedication in the hospitality industry.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to the property again soon, and trust that future visits will be just as fulfilling and enjoyable.

Once again, thank you and wishing you and your family a good week ahead.


Thank you and best regards,
MARCO G. BATTISTOTTI
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2011

The resort is nice and the staff friendly. It's rather pricey, but it is a boutique hotel and looks it - very nicely done building and grounds. There were four of us - mom, dad, two young kids. The hotel is right on the beach. The room worked well - we got one with two double beds. it is in the completely refurbished original part of the resort, in a two story building, near the beach. The room had a fairly strong musty odor - probably needs a good scrub down. the choice of dark colored furniture unfortunate because it will attract mildew faster. but otherwise the room was clean, everything worked, free wifi internet. cleaning staff was efficient and friendly. The restaurants are nice, if pricey. For those of you with young kids, beware that the hotel charges them extra for breakfast -- we had breakfast for the two adults included in the price, but not the kids (an additional RM35 or so each). I think this is a bit unfair since the kids would not have eaten much. Whatever, but would suggest the hotel reconsider this policy (we asked). It is convenient to go outside the hotel and to one of the many restaurants nearby. And for those of you that like McDonalds, there is a new McDonalds immediately across the street (wasn't open yet when we were there). All in all, i would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bcbg68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoGB, General Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2011
Dear Bcbg68,

Sunshine Greetings from Malaysia’s Premier Boutique Beach Resort!

On behalf of everyone at the hotel, I would like to extend our sincere appreciation for taking your precious time to compliment our services during your recent stay at the Lone Pine Hotel.

All of us here are so happy to hear that you have had a wonderful stay with us however I understand that there were certain issues that did not meet your expectations. We have seriously taken note of this and will take immediate action to improve those shortcomings. We do appreciate such constructive comments as it will only further motivate us to strive harder to provide a higher level in the service industry.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back at the property again soon, and trust that future visits will be just as enjoyable and more fulfilling.

Once again, thank you and wishing you and your family a good week ahead.


Thank you and best regards,
MARCO G. BATTISTOTTI
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.1 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
0.8 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4,235 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#4 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
2,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
0.9 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
1,694 reviews
7.0 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#10 of 84 in George Town
3,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lone Pine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lone Pine Hotel

Property: Lone Pine Hotel
Address: Lone Pine Hotel 97 Jalan Batu Ferringhi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lone Pine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in an idyllic spot along Penang's coastline, Lone Pine is Batu Ferringhi's only luxury boutique hotel. Renewed and rejuvenated after a lovingly undertaken restoration, Penang's favourite beachside boutique resort reopened its doors refreshed in design and facilities, but still infused with the same colonial spirit and idyllic charm that has made it one of Penang's legendary hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lone Pine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lone Pine Batu Ferringhi
Hotel Lone Pine
Lone Pine Hotel Penang/Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing