We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic time and value for money”
Review of Ocean Jupiter

Ocean Jupiter
Ranked #1 of 3 Tours in Batu Ferringhi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We provide Tours & Transfers with driver services...etc
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic time and value for money”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We visited Penang on the 11/12/13 April. Found Ocean Jupiter through Trip Advisor reviews. Booked per e-mail. Received prompt reply to original enquiry and made booking next day. Michael our driver picked us up from our hotel promptly at the agreed time for both days that we had him for. I must say that the same did not apply to the driver that we had for the last day from another service. Michael is very flexible in his itenary and he took us to the places that we wished to see. We were more interested in the cultural side of Penang life and Michael took us to many Temples and other cultural places of interest. Our trip to Orang Utan Island and Taiping Zoo were outstanding events of this trip as well. We do not hesitate to recommend Ocean Jupiter to anyone visiting Penang for service and value for money private tours.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Gary_Milner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    43
    11
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic driver”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We made our booking with Ocean Jupiter over email. Steven was very prompt in replying to our queries. Michael Fong did a fantastic job of bringing my family of 5 (with 2 young children) around Penang over 2 days. He is familiar with the places to eat good local food, and we avoided the places that cater to tourists. At the attractions that we visited that offered guided tours, he made sure that we had a guide to bring us around. If the attraction didn't have a guide, he made a very good tour guide himself. He even did research to find out the best places for us to buy local snacks to bring home with us. Michael is highly recommended.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Elea_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great company with VERY reasonable rates”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We used Ocean Jupiter for a trip to Orang Utan Island / Eco Park & for a day trip to the highlights of the island. The cost for each of the trips was about 1/3 of that being quoted by the tour operator at Hard Rock Hotel. The service, punctuality & quality of the cars used was great on both occasions & the office staff are also very friendly, helpful & not at all pushy (which is refreshing). The standoujt for our family of 3 was meeting Michael Fong, our guide for the highlights of the island, & we highly recommend that you request him if you book a tour with Ocean Jupiter. Michael is Chinese Malay & he is absolutely hysterical! His knowledge of the island & its history is endless, he introduced us to some amazing local cuisine & he was actually a 'tour guide' & not just a driver who dropped us off at different locations & left us to our own devices. Michael is one of those people that you meet & within a short while feel as though you've known for years. So, definitely visit Ocean Jupiter & if you want to see & learn about the REAL Penang while being thoroughly entertained then ask for MICHAEL FONG!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Hby3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ojtours, Manager at Ocean Jupiter, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Hby3,

THANK YOU VERY MUCH for your review & commend. Hope to see you again in Penang

Cheers,

Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Streatham Common Lido
Level Contributor
88 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Reliable transport service”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Had two taxi services from them. One was a 4 hr drive to a couple of places and the driver was fairly flexible. We used the same guy for the airport transfer as well.
Very punctual.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank luke_speedos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ojtours, Manager at Ocean Jupiter, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear luke_speedos

Thank you for using our services & your commend.
Regarding to the issue during your 4 hrs tour, I would be appreciated if you could email or PM me with your commend/recommendation; so that we can improve our services.

Cheers,

Steven
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gastronomy and cultural tour by Michael”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Michael did a great job showing my husband and I around around Penang island on Sunday 31st March. Considering our shortened day due to airport issues, Michael was able to adjust our tour itinerary to satisfy our food nerd desires and site seeing interests. In the short time we managed to eat our way through some of Penang's hawker specialties (ais kacang, assam laksa, cendol nasi kandar...etc), do a round island trip, as well as learn and take in the history and culture of this unique and delicious city. Michael was great in explaining each attraction and taking photos for us. He seemed to know everyone around town.

Steven was great with emails and was happy to extend/change my tour times due to the airport issues.

We would highly recommend this tour and Michael.

Our only regret was not being able to do a longer tour with Michael as there were many more local delights we wanted to savour. On that note, we hope to be back!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank maria h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ojtours, Manager at Ocean Jupiter, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Maria H,

THANK YOU VERY MUCH for your commend on TA. Hope to see you again & I will let Michael to bring you to the places that you haven't been.

Cheers,

Steven
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Jupiter also viewed

Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
 
Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
 

Been to Ocean Jupiter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing