We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bayview Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bayview Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

We loved the Bayview Beach and would happily go again. The big garden next to the beach is a great place to relax, have a drink and watch the sunset. Excellent pool with a 4m deep end and a pool bar. There's also a games room for the kids, although the electronic games are a bit old, a table tennis table next to the pool, and a nice foyer bar. The foyer is very impressive and goes up to the full height of the hotel (I think about 15 levels) with glass lifts. The rooms are slightly dated/daggy but comfortable and we were upgraded from a sideview to a full seaview, which was a nice surprise. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the whole place has a nice, comfortable atmosphere. Buffet breakfast is good, with lots of variety and quantity. There are small restaurants and mini-markets across the street, Hard Rock Hotel right next door, and the night markets about a 15 minute walk away. The beach is a little grubby but we enjoyed jet skiing and could have gone parasailing fairly cheaply. Can't think of anything I didn't like about it, and it wasn't expensive either.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dipper666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear dipper666,

We are delighted that overall you liked our landscaped garden, swimming pool, teens club activities, good staff service, pricing and given us a 5/5 rating. This enables us to be a highly regarded 4 stars Resort along Batu Ferringhi, offering the most reasonably priced accommodation with many facilities to please our guests.

It was a pleasure to have been of service to you and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    689
    341
    103
    63
See reviews for
658
510
65
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

Came with my family of four. For an old hotel we were happy with its condition, everything works the way it should be. Kids enjoyed themselves. Nice enough pools to kee them occupied. Buffet breakfast had a fair selection but it was quantity over quality unfortunately. You could consider getting room without breakfast next time. Hotel right on the beach so if you like sea sports it will be great. Don't expect beaches like in East coast of Malaysia though. You won't get it here. Bus 101 will take you into town for about RM2. Taxi will be RM30. Both bus and taxi will take approximately same time. Local food places and massage just in front of the hotel but you also have plenty of choices throughout the Batu Ferringhi stretch. Of course there's plenty this hotel can do to be better but I'd say you get what you pay for. Better for families, not recommended for honeymooners.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor. We got a "roof-view" on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RiriDiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear RiriDiamond,

We thank you for your comment about our pool and well kept hotel. The resort which is built in the early 90's has mostly maintained its original design along with antique furniture, carvings and handicrafts scattered around the resort hence "the old world charm". I am disappointed that our usually well received breakfast buffet spread was not up to your expectation.

Batu Ferringhi is located along a busy shipping route and regrettably our sea water is not known to be pristine and the beach is opened to heavy public use. Hence, our hotel compensate this situation with a hygienic and safe swimming pool for our guests and a restful & well maintained garden to unwind. Indeed our resort with its spacious and shady landscaped garden offers a perfect retreat for many of our guests to chill out or get active for families, the young and old alike.

We look forward to welcome you and your family for another good value stay with us perhaps taking a higher room category with a better view when you are next in Penang.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Our stay at the Bayview exceeded our expectations. Because is was one of the cheapest places I was abit worried but the hotel was great maybe abit outdated but it was clean, comfortable(good sized rooms), all staff were excellent and very friendly. The grounds were lovely with plenty of shade, lounges and chairs. One thing that would be very handy would be a drying rack on the balconys. Most people swim there and have wet clothes to dry each day, some hang over the balcony which the hotel does not like (looks unsightly) and also some things were blown away (we saw the evidence on the roof below). Everything is handy. They offer a free shuttle to the night market or you can walk or get the local bus to anywhere right outside the door. We did not have breakfast at the hotel so cannot comment.

Room Tip: The side view room we had was good, although abit warm until early evening (on the west side). We c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTraveller061958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear HappyTraveller061958,
Thank you for the review on Trip Advisor. We are glad that we were able to meet and exceed your expectation and I am proud that we are able to do so without having a high price tag! Thank you for all round good comments of our hotel facilities and services, we are glad you have enjoyed yourself on your holiday with us.

As for the drying rack, we have a retractable clothes line in the bathroom right above the bathtub which you may have inadvertently missed. We find that this is a better option to the outdoor rack which often becomes mouldy or deteriorate due to the tropical weather. I have to admit, we do get blown away clothes on the roof quite often which is collected by our team members and returned to our guests who claim them.

I am happy everything went well during your stay and I would like to thank you for choosing us as you choice of accommodation in Penang and we are hoping that we will once again be of service to you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3nights and it was a great place. The kids pool (water slide)was a plus point for the children. And I even had a good foot massage by the pool side. Would definitely go back there again for a short trip.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ohohice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear ohohice,
Thank you for choosing the Bayview as your choice of accommodation during your 3 night stay in Penang and for endorsing us in Trip Advisor! The Play-Pool is indeed very popular among kids and we are very happy to announce that we will be doing some enhancements very soon. I am glad that you enjoyed our often very popular foot reflexology in the garden, do also try our traditional massage and other services that is available in the resort on your next visit to Bayview which we are looking forward too. Thank you once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

I stayed at this lovely hotel some time ago on my way to Australia, it was great, I was on the 9 floor which wasn't a problem as the views were stunning. The rooms were clean,large, we'll kept and air con was excellent. The hotel itself is beautiful the bar in the pool is great, fab cocktails, staff very friendly and welcoming. The food was excellent weather it was breakfast or lunch or an evening meal. A really wonderful experience il never forget.

Room Tip: All great rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaney22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Kaney22,
The staffs and management of Bayview would like to thank you for your 5/5 rating in Trip Advisor. We are so happy that you had an excellent holiday with us. We appreciate your wonderful comments about the resort and our staffs and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to the resort once again should your travels bring you back to Penang!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

The hotel is located at the far end of Batu Ferringhi. The rooms were large and clean. Two showers in a 3 way bathroom.

Great pools, including 2 for children, and a 'massage'/'waterfall' pool. There was a pool bar, however, it is large and blocks the view of the ocean from the breakfast restaurant. Pity.

The gardens were lovely to lie in, under the shade of the coconut trees, with the sea breeze and listening to the sound of waves as you sleep.

Unfortunately the sea was unsafe for swimming as there were warnings of jellyfish. The beach wasn't particularly inviting, with people touting for massages and sea sport. I didn't like that, as I felt that they were not trustworthy.

The night markets were about 10 minutes walk away, in the very still dark night. It would have been good if the night markets were extended to nearer the front of the hotel.

It was an unremarkable stay. I would be happy to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more and have a sea facing room. On the other hand, sea facing rooms face the west, and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nobreadalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear nobreadalone,
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor! Our resort is indeed located in the quieter part of Batu Feringghi but within walking distance from the night market area with a variety of shops ranging from eateries to spas in between.

The resort itself has many guest facilities as you have rightfully said where almost all of them are available free for our guests. We are glad that you loved our garden and multiple pools, it is always a pleasure to know that our guest are happy with our resort. I am sorry however that you felt the sunken bar was blocking the ocean view, truthfully, most of our guests have given very positive comments of having the swim up bar in the main pool itself.

The public beach has always received mixed reviews which is why we always advise our guests to enjoy our safe and peaceful pool and garden facilities. As for the jelly-fish warning, it is simply to ensure that our guests are well informed of the possible jelly-fishes in the waters around the beach.

We are happy that you would recommend us and we hope that you make your way back to us again in your future visits. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

overall experience was good, everything was in order.
Breakfast served most to local taste.
Family room was big and have lots of running space for young children.
Enough space for 10pax
Pool facilities needs some urgent repair, especially the children water play area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HooFamily2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear HooFamily2014,
Thank you for reviewing us on Trip Advisor! We are happy that your overall experience is good and that everything was how it is supposed to be. Our breakfast usually has over 75 items changed daily with choices of breads, pastries, cereals, salads, local dishes, fruits, egg frying counter and many more.

Our rooms are indeed larger than the typical hotel room, the family types are between 52 to 65 square meters in size with 8 feet super king beds and additional 2 singles which is indeed very popular!

Finally, as for the Play-Pool, we are already planning the necessary updating work which we are hoping to carry out soon. We thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to serve you again sometime in the near future! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#4 of 12 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,097 reviews
0.7 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
1.6 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 12 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
0.8 mi away
Lone Pine Hotel
Lone Pine Hotel
#6 of 12 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
1.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
#1 of 6 in Tanjung Bungah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Beach Resort

Property: Bayview Beach Resort
Address: The Bayview Beach Resort Jalan Batu Ferringghi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#5 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#7 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#7 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bayview Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Bayview Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Beach Hotel Batu Ferringhi
The Bayview Beach Hotel
Bayview Beach Resort Penang/Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing