We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bayview Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very pleasant place to stay”
Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

We found this hotel to be very high standard and very enjoyable to stay but the food is a little bit expensive the rooms are very spacious
The water sports are fantastic and there's a regular bus the 101 going every 20 minutes to the town

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Paul M,

Thank you for your comments on our high standards and we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with. Food and beverage prices in proper hotels (this one or nearby) will be higher than the restaurant and eateries available along the stretch. This is due to the higher cost involved to maintain and meet the hygiene and safety standards set by local authorities which unfortunately the smaller eateries do not necessarily comply. We do however provide our guests with happy hours and special priced menus which has reasonably discounted prices for our in-house guests during certain time of the day.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Batu Ferringhi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    730
    362
    107
    64
See reviews for
695
540
69
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

The staff was very good without any exception! We only had breakfast, which was good with a wide variety as well. Because you don't swim in the sea here, due to jelly fish and pollution, the pool is important and this was very good too. A great garden surrounding the pool with enough space, sunbeds and great massage service too (foot reflexology). The room was huge and the bed enormous and all clean and tidy with a lovely balcony. We just loved it! Also close to many of the attractions. Perhaps the only thing disappointing was the teenage area. Our 15 year old son found out he had to pay for every individual game and the computer games were outdated. But this was a minor thing as our son loved the pool, the gym and the jets skies. We would 100% recommend this resort and our compliments once more for all the staff!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkNZ2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear MarkNZ2014,

Everyone at the Bayview would like to thank you for your 5/5 rating in Trip Advisor. We are delighted that overall you liked our services, facilities and especially staffs. As for the teens club video arcade we will look into some latest games to be placed there. We are delighted that you highly recommend our Hotel, much appreciated!

We look forward to welcome you and your family back on your return visit sooner than later.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

Very nice outdoor, supersize king bed that can comfortably fit in 2 adults and 2 children. Big bathroom although somehow the bathtub was not so attractive(maybe because it was right next to toilet bowl). We stay in deluxe king sea Sideview. Services are good

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank siangl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear siangl2014,

Thank you for reviewing us on Trip Advisor.

The building which was designed in the 80s indeed has a retro look to it which is complimented by the many antique furniture and fittings which can be seen around the hotel. The management has always emphasized on maintaining the resorts old Penang charm without compromising guest comfort and service standards.

We are delighted that overall you liked our good staff service, landscaped garden, huge kingsize bed that accommodated your family well and given us a 4/5 rating.

Thank you for staying with us and it was a pleasure to have been of service to you. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Happy travelling 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is an older style hotel at the end of the strip, about 10/15 minutes walk to the centre and night market.
However it is quiet and has a lovely pool.
The rooms are large with pleasant balconies
The staff make this hotel, they are kind helpful, willing to give their time to you nothing is too much trouble
I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marylynda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Marylynda,

We are ever mindful (and work hard on) that our friendliness, efficiency, service standards, varied facilities and consistency that will count in winning our guests to return to us. Indeed I fully agreed with you that our staff is the substance and our main asset that make the difference. I am delighted that you liked our large pool and spacious room with individual balcony that have accommodated you well.

Thank you for definitely returning to us and we much appreciate your patronage. We look forward to welcoming you to your Penang “home” on another visit in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puchong, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Room is tidy, clean and spacious. My hubby left his pouch cum together with his wallet inside the room after we checked out. We manged to get it back with all intact. However, we would really appreciate if the hotel called us once the room service has found the item. Overall, we satisfied with the overall facility and service.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Azura Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear ZuraDuan,

We are delighted that overall you liked our clean spacious rooms, facilities and staff service. I understand from our guests’ log entry you checked out earlier and returned to retrieve your pouch cum wallet that were left behind in your room. Your check-out room was serviced late which was about the time you returned to retrieve your pouch. Nevertheless, I am glad our staff have returned your valuable belonging all intact.

It was a pleasure to have been of service to you and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

The hotel had nice pool, and decent selection for breakfast.The spa in the hotel is way too expensive. In front of the hotel there are spa places, that are cheaper not the interior of the place is not much worse from the one in the hotel. The rooms are specious, but the bathrooms (especially showers) could be a little bit cleaner. There weren't renovated for long time. Overall the staff was very nice.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanRa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear JoanRa,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and I am sorry the housekeeping was less than diligent to clean the shower areas, the housekeeper has been informed accordingly to ensure our team is more attentive. I am glad our nice pool, breakfast, spacious room and our very nice staff have made it up to you.

We look forward to welcoming you back again and serve you better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

An old hotel with beach front located at famous Batu Ferringhi. Beach rather dirty as river flows next to the hotel braigs dirty water.

Lots of activities for all with swimming pool tennis table tennis gym volleyball and games room for kids.

Rooms and small lifts need upgrading as they are old. Western local chinese and I dian food restaurants are available of average quality.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MpoloKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear mpoloAbuDhabi,

Batu Ferringhi is located along a busy shipping route and regrettably our sea water is not known to be pristine and the beach is open to public use. Hence, our hotel compensate this situation with a hygienic and safe swimming pool for our guests and a restful & well maintained garden to unwind. As for the river running next to the hotel, according to the Department of Environment, the sea water around the area is indeed safe. This was based on tests done on samples taken from the river and along the beach area. Generally, the beach is cleaned well by the Local Council and we will highlight your comment to them for their immediate attention. Thank you.

I am sorry our style of hotel or room did not meet up to your approval but I am delighted that you have found lots of activities to keep you and your family happy at our Resort.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back here soon. Thank you and Happy travelling 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#4 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
2,210 reviews
1.0 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
0.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
0.9 mi away
Lone Pine Hotel
Lone Pine Hotel
#6 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
1,448 reviews
3.3 mi away
Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort
Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort
#2 of 6 in Tanjung Bungah
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Beach Resort

Property: Bayview Beach Resort
Address: The Bayview Beach Resort Jalan Batu Ferringghi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#7 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#7 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bayview Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bayview Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Beach Hotel Batu Ferringhi
The Bayview Beach Hotel
Bayview Beach Resort Penang/Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing