We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The attitude of the pool staff is poor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bayview Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Japon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The attitude of the pool staff is poor”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Attitude is very cheeky. At 7 o'clock in the morning, the chair of a place with good pool is occupied almost. In addition, he have passed two pieces towels to westerner. However, one piece to oriental person. I complained to the reception. Then, reception's answer that one piece of one person is returned. It is completely useless.

Room Tip: Large Groups is not stayed, Be selected the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sadayoshitakahashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear sadayoshitakahashi,

We have taken note over your report on the inconsistency of our towel counter staff in dispensing the pool towels and the less than satisfactory response from our reception staff on your comments. Thank you for bringing it to my attention and we will take steps to ensure we look after all our guests equally and I apologise for the unnecessary annoyance caused.

I hope we can welcome you back for an enjoyable stay as I know we can and will do better in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    721
    355
    107
    64
See reviews for
682
535
69
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed here for five nights and had a room with sea-view. The staff was helpful and nice, the room large and good with a fine bathroom. Free wifi and a newspaper every morning. Good breakfast. A fine swimmingpool with lots of deck chairs. Good restaurants in the vicinity. We left in the afternoon and were offered two hours complimentary extra stay.
The beach however was at the time we were there not usable due to pollution and many jellyfish.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holger J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Holger J,

We are delighted you had enjoyed your 5 nights stay here and thank you for rating us with a score of 4/5. I am pleased to hear that our friendly staff, together with our large rooms, sumptuous breakfast and swim-up pool bar have given you an enjoyable holiday to remember!

The recent uncertainty on the pollution of the river discharge has been resolved when the Department of Environment had taken actions to ensure the reading now is below 100cfu (whereby anything above that will be a concern). The public beach remains opened. However, as mentioned, there is the presence of jellyfish in the sea so we have sadly advised our guests to avoid taking a chance swimming in the sea. Fortunately as you have enjoyed; our hygienic and safe large swimming pool and the spacious lovely landscaped garden make up for the situation.

We look forward to welcoming you back here soon. Thank you and Happy travelling 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

just back from bayview after spending 11 days hotel was ok, pretty basic but was clean, breakfast was good plenty to choose from, beach location but your advised to stay clear anyway with jelly fish,did have good pool area tho ,staff was very friendly ,not much going on at hotel , menu for lunch & dinner was ok didnt change any bus stop just outside hotel for getting around , & its about 15 mins walk to night market few nice restaurants around but not much going on in the area at all wouldnt rush back

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vivienAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear vivienAberdeen,

Thank you for your nice comments of our widespread buffet breakfast, friendly staff, nice pool and being a clean hotel and staying with us for 11 days. As posted earlier, Penang generally is now not considered to be a beach destination (although you get to enjoy the lovely view & seafront) but more for a Resort holiday encompassing famous street food (or fine food restaurants), interesting heritage jaunts, shopping catering to the budget & high-end, hills and eco-places of interest to enjoy the flora & fauna and all easily traversed within a short duration of each other. We hope you will find something interesting to enjoy in Penang and we look forward to welcoming you back on to our beautiful and interesting island and extending you a more enjoyable stay here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We went to Batu Ferringhi for a beach holiday picked Bayview Beach because of end of beach location and reasonable price. Hotel was fine staff friendly, room had a lot of traffic noise we had a hill facing room. But back of hotel leading to beach is taped of and the beach has eroded and apparently has been for some time we would of liked to have been informed of this prior to booking as this would of made a big difference !But the worst thing was the steam running to side of hotel had been severely polluted which was reported daily in press and E-COLI was mentioned, apparently this is an on-going problem so all in all this hotel is not suitable for beach holiday at the moment ,we spent a lot of time in hotel room or traveling around island on buses which are very good and cheap, it would take a major clean up of area before we would consider going back to what was once a beautiful part of the world .

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crabman911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear crabman911,

Thank you for nice comment of our friendly staff who has all served you well during your recent stay with us. The hillview rooms do face the main road and yes, it can be noisy due to the traffic din and indeed our sea facing rooms although higher price are quieter.

The recent uncertainty on the pollution of the river discharge has been resolved when the Department of Environment had taken actions to ensure the reading now is below 100cfu (whereby anything above that will be a concern). The public beach remains opened. However, as mentioned, there is the presence of jellyfish in the sea so we have sadly advised our guests to avoid taking a chance swimming in the sea. Fortunately as you have enjoyed; our hygienic and safe large swimming pool and the spacious lovely landscaped garden make up for the situation.

Penang generally is now not considered to be a beach destination but for a Resort holiday encompassing famous street food, interesting heritage jaunts, shopping catering to the budget & high-end, hills and eco-places of interest to enjoy the flora & fauna and all easily traversed within a short duration of each other. We hope you will find something interesting to enjoy in Penang and we look forward to serving you again and extend you a more enjoyable stay here. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

The room is very spacious and the kids playpool is very nice. The only problem is that the kids club operating hours are not really family friendly as it open only from 10am to 5pm. My kids were not able to join the kids club house. Should plan at least for it to open from 8am to 8pm so kids can enjoy. The varieties of food for lunch and dinner are very limited. The access to the beach is very poor as there is a big drop slope from the gate onwards and not very child friendly. The horse barn next to the gate was also not very friendly to the patrons. The Spa operating hours are not user friendly also as it closed at 7pm daily.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teikwai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Teikwai

I am glad you found our rooms spacious and that our Play Pool has proved to be very popular with children. Our kids club actual operating time is from 9 a.m. to 7.00 p.m., and unfortunately we are unable to ascertain the shorter operating hours mentioned by your goodself. Our record showed that all staff were at work throughout the operating hours.

Further to your mention of the receeding slope at the beach front after the gate to the hotel, this is caused by the undercurrent tides that pushed the sand to block off the canal discharging the water of the nearby river that split our beach head by the diverted flow. In about 2 months’ time and with the change in direction of the undercurrent waves, the tides will plough back the enormous amount of sand it took and the beach will be restored to its previous shape. The Spa daily closing time is at 7.00 p.m. and we are sorry that it does not suit your schedule although they do extend reasonable late service if advance notice is given.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back on your next holiday in Penang.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Back in March. Hooray. Great hotel helpful friendly staff what more could you want. Nice rooms great swimming pool and lovely warm weather and good food probably our last long haul as age is catching up

Room Tip: Side sea view rooms are excellent always well serviced. Have stayed many many times at this hotel an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Charles,

We are delighted that you will be returning in March and we thank you for being our loyal guests over the past years enjoying each and every stay with us. Indeed, I am so glad our team have served you well yet again to make your stay relaxing and enjoyable. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Good location. Quieter end of strip. Nice 15 min stroll to famous night markets. Nice beach out back of hotel. Appearance good - nice pool, good swim up bar, good choices of cocktails & price, nice grounds and has a gym (not most modern though and hot!). We had a big bedroom, standard with balcony and king size bed. I believe we were upgraded to part sea view - as on honeymoon - never fully clarified, no great "welcome" or "happy honeymoon". We weren't too impressed with breakfast. Not best quality and when we were there it was like feeding time at the zoo - fight to get your food! Wide selection just not the best. Our eggs weren't always fully cooked, our food & drinks got cleared away when we were away from table even though we had our -occupied- sign out. Soggy hash browns most mornings. Some food were cold and hot plates weren't kept hot. Hot drinks sometimes there was a queue for the 1 coffee machine and pre-made coffee and tea containers had no lids on so were always cold. Sadly, our shower was cold several times (all at different times of the day and on different days) - we informed reception and we never had any kind of follow up. Not good. Overall average stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mctc17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear mctc17,

I am glad you enjoy the positive aspects of our Resort as posted. Unfortunately during the peak occupancy period experienced during your stay when we can serve up to 800 persons for breakfasts, I concede that the buffet breakfast would be very crowded. I have copied your comments of the semi cooked egg, hash brown items and cold food to our Executive Chef for his attention and further improvement. We apologise for the cold temperature of the shower due to some emergency repair of the heating system.

Naturally, I am disappointed we have only extended you an average stay where I know we can and will do better. Nonetheless thank you for choosing the Bayview Beach Resort and we hope to offer you a more enjoyable stay when you are back on your next visit to Penang. Happy & safe travels for the rest of the year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#4 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
2,191 reviews
1.0 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
0.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
0.9 mi away
Lone Pine Hotel
Lone Pine Hotel
#6 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
1,441 reviews
7.2 mi away
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Beach Resort

Property: Bayview Beach Resort
Address: The Bayview Beach Resort Jalan Batu Ferringghi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#5 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#7 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#7 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bayview Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Bayview Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Beach Hotel Batu Ferringhi
The Bayview Beach Hotel
Bayview Beach Resort Penang/Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing