We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge hotel, a little tired, convenient location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bayview Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is comfortable and in a good location. It's great for families but not ideal for couples. It is extremely busy during peak season and the breakfast buffet is chaotic. There are too many guests in the one place at the one time. The pool is also really busy with heaps of kids. It is difficult to find seats at the pool at this time. The happy hour was good and it is still nice to cool off in the pool area. I would recommend this for a family holiday. The wifi is terrible. I think due to the amount of guests using the service. I thought the price was too high for this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thenextholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear thenextholiday,

Happy New Year! Unfortunately during this current peak occupancy period when we can serve up to 800 persons for breakfasts, I concede that the buffet breakfast would be very crowded and we consistently remind our staff to make extra effort to keep the food lines tidy. Fortunately the spacious restaurant allows a high turnover with very short waiting time for the numerous guests to find seating in peak period.

I am sorry that you were inconvenienced by the slow free wifi service. This is due to bandwidth bottleneck as many guests are using it simultaneously and our service provider has yet to upgrade their bandwidth infrastructure along Batu Ferringhi area for us to improve the speed substantially. Meanwhile, we are looking at other options to improve our free wifi-service during our peak periods.

Our resort has a variety of rates and packages made available and we are known to offer the most reasonable rates along Batu Ferringhi beach in comparison with other hotels in the area.

Thank you for recommending us for families' holidays although our spacious garden do offer quieter spots for couples staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Happy travelling 2014!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,801)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

934 - 940 of 1,801 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed there for five days through Christmas. We liked it, the prices were ok, the staff friendly. Our room was quite big and everything was clean.

If you want to swim in the sea, this is NOT the place for you as there are jelly fish in the murky water throughout the year.

They offer complimentary wi-fi, but they don't tell you it's intentionally slow. You have to pay to get the fast one. We used their so-called business centre because we wantes to print our boarding passes. We couldn't do that as the computers are blocked and you can't open pdf files. Plus, there's no printer in the business centre, so we would have to send the files to the reception via email. :-)

The local bus to Georgetown stops close to the hotel, which was very convenient. But sometimes you may have to wait a long time for one to arrive.

A 10-minute walk from the hotel is a fabulous little place called The Living Room. Delicious and very cheap food. Highly recommended!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank j_donne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear Donne,

Happy New Year! We are delighted that overall you liked our clean rooms, staff service, location and given us a 4/5 rating.

As mentioned in our other previous response I am sorry that you were inconvenienced by the slow free wifi service. This is due to bandwidth bottleneck as many guests are using it simultaneously and our service provider has yet to upgrade their bandwidth infrastructure along Batu Ferringhi area for us to improve the speed substantially. Meanwhile, we are looking at other options to improve our free wifi-service during our peak periods to resolve this delay.

Thank you for staying with us and it was a pleasure to have been of service to you. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Happy travelling 2014!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

The hotel is located at the end of Batu Ferringhi on the way to Telok Bahang. It is next to Hard Rock Hotel. Due to the location, you need to pass the winding road between Tanjung Bungah and Batu Ferringhi, where there are plenty of hotels and accommodation available. The traffic get worse in the evening when there is a night market on a portion of the road.

However, in spite of that, I still find the hotel is suitable for those travelling with children – there is a dedicated pool and water playing area for kids. There is also a play room for children. The whole compound is a huge area with nice landscape. There is a swimming pool with pool bar, agym and a children pool. Just outside the perimeter fencing on the beach, there is a water sport facility offering jet ski, banana boat etc. Although there is a beach, it is not advisable to swim due to the presence of jelly fish.

The lobby is huge open space area located on the 1st floor. On the ground floor is the dining area where breakfast is served, with a few other restaurants, access to the pool, gym, play area etc. There is adequate sitting area during breakfast, and the buffet spread is well laid out with a variety of dishes. Due to the huge open space and perhaps lacking of air circulation, the air seems to be a bit stale especially when you are exiting the rooms.

The unit that we had was 2 rooms unit, but there is only 1 bathroom. 1 unit is equipped with 2 single bed, while the other unit is 1 king size bed. There are balconies on both unit, and is connected by a door in between the units.

Each unit comes with a flat screen TV, but the fridge and coffee making facility are only available in the unit with 2 single beds. Air cond is individually controlled for both rooms.

The deco in the rooms, and the public are is a bit dated, although the rooms are clean. The bathroom is adequate with shower room, but since the unit can accommodate minimum of 4 persons, perhaps another bathroom or toilet would be better.

The staff is very helpful, the area is properly cleaned and well maintained. I would truly consider this hotel again whenever I am travelling with the children to Penang again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcbrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear mcbrain,

Happy New Year 2014!

We are grateful for your endorsement that we are a lovely family resort to get away to : with all the positive comments of our services and facilities, this is much appreciated. Indeed our spaciousness and location allow many to chill out or get active for the young and old alike.

Regrettably where we are located along a busy shipping route, the sea water quality has the unpredictable presence of jelly fish. Hence, we compensate this situation with a hygienic and safe swimming pool for our guests.

Our open non air-conditioned corridor leading into an air-conditioned bedroom may give some guests the smell of dampness due to the different ambient temperature which does not take long getting used to.

Indeed, the usual comments on our “dated” look by some guests are more on the style of resort which is designed in the late 80’s which obviously will have a retro theme and historical charm notwithstanding that our focus will always be on the substance of our caring & efficient service at all times and continuously improving our facilities. I am glad you found our rooms are clean which reflected the reputation of this Resort of its general areas.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back here soon and extending you another pleasant stay. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

WiFi does not work anywhere in resort. Children running and screening everywhere. A distinct yellow hue to the pools. One of our friends woke up with bug bites on chest stomach and shoulders. Breakfast buffet was very crowded and messy and very unappealing. Beer and alcoholic drinks are the most I have ever paid in SE Asia. No music playing anywhere on the resort. Lots and lots of people staring at any females wearing a swimming suit.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank GKfromTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear GKfromTO,

I am sorry that you were inconvenienced by the slow free wifi service. This is due to bandwidth bottleneck as many guests are using it simultaneously and our service provider has yet to upgrade their bandwidth infrastructure along Batu Ferringhi area for us to improve the speed substantially. Meanwhile, we are looking at other options to improve our free wifi-service during our peak periods which we hope can resolve this limitation.

We can assure you that the water quality of our pool is chlorinated and its ph. balance checked daily to maintain the safety of the water for users of our pools. I can understand you are upset about many people ogling at females in swimsuit but luckily no untoward incidents have been reported thus far.

We have a report from a room recently (and I wonder if it was the room you have stayed) claiming presence of bed bugs to which we cannot locate despite a thorough search. We do have a regular pest control programme in place to address any pest issue, if any.

Unfortunately during this current peak occupancy period when we can serve up to 800 persons for breakfasts, I concede that the buffet breakfast would be very crowded and I will remind our staff to make extra effort to keep the food lines tidy. Regrettably beer & alcoholic drinks are expensive when there is a very high consumption tax imposed by our Customs & Excise and this high pricing is common for all major hotels’ offers in Malaysia when comparing to many countries which have lower or no tax at all. For your information, we have a resident musician entertaining guests in the Bay Lounge at the lobby in the evenings.

I am disappointed that we have not been able to please you on your recent stay here. Nonetheless, thank you for staying with us and we wish you Safe Travelling and a Happy New Year 2014!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here three nights with my husband and three other couples. From the moment we arrived we were all very disappointed. To start, 3 of the 4 rooms had a cigarette smell even on the non smoking floors. The hotel had attempted to mask the smell with cheap air freshener. They need more truly nonsmoking rooms. When we met for the free breakfast (which was not great) after the first night we discovered one of our friends had been bitten approx 25 times by some kind of bug in his bed. When this was brought to the attention of the hotel they insisted it could not be bed bugs since their was no blood in the sheets. They changed rooms but no discount was provided - instead they gave my friends a fruit plate in their room which ended up attracting a bunch of ants!
The resort facilities were also disappointing. The beach is basically useless so your only option is the pool which is overrun with small children. Maybe that would be considered a positive for traveling families but for us 20-something couples, it was not pleasant. I would not recommend this resort and will not stay there again.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBch, Rooms Division Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Dear Sarah K,

Thank you for reviewing us on Trip Advisor. We truly regret that you were disappointed with the resort from the moment you arrived. Just to share, more than one third of the hotel rooms are on fully non-smoking floors which we assign to our guests upon request either when making reservation or upon arrival if available. Unfortunately three of your friends that we were able to track were assigned to smoking floors as we were regrettably not informed of their preference when we received their reservation, followed by the non-availability of non-smoking rooms on arrival. We are also sorry that our usually well accepted breakfast was not to your liking.

As for the friend who was bitten by bugs, we did respond by moving them to a higher category room immediately followed by fumigation of the room. We did not find any sort of bugs or pests on the beds or divans, furthermore his partner who shared the bed was not bitten at all which may imply that your friend may have an allergy (hives) of some sort. We are sorry that this incident has somehow marred your hotel experience further. As for the courtesy fruits, regrettably being in a tropical environment do has its down as ants somehow tend to find their way despite our continuous pest control effort being carried out stringently.

I am saddened that the vast resort facilities ranging from water sports, massages, spa, gym, billiard and arcade games, multiple squash, tennis and basketball courts was disappointing to you. Normally our large main pool is more than sufficient to cater for all our guests as kids will normally be at our play pool or the kids pool area however I do express regret if you experienced otherwise. The resort caters for a variety of guest of all ages but we are truly sorry that it may not have been an ideal one for you. We thank you for staying with us and we wish you safe travels and happy holidays in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

This hotel have the most efficient and helpful service staff from the reception, room service, house keeping to concierge. That is why my family have stayed in the same hotel for years since we were introduced to this hotel by my friend. It have large pool area and ground and you will not feel that the place is congested even though it is fully occupied during the holiday period. The beach is not congested because it is located almost at the end of the Batu Ferringhi beach resort area. Walking distance to restaurants and convenience shops. Kudos to all the hotel staff and managers for a very good job and make the hotel guests welcome all the times.

Room Tip: Go for family suite if you have a family of up to 5 persons. Good space in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boon Peng C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear chungbpeng,

Thank you for rating us 5/5 for our most efficient and helpful services on your recent stay here yet again. I am delighted we have been consistent in pleasing you & your family over the years and we appreciate very much your support and patronage, THANK YOU!

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back and enjoy all aspects of our Resort in the years ahead. Here’s wishing you and your family Safe Travels and a Happy New Year 2014!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Great hotel, great grounds, great beach. It is well laid out, good for a calm, relaxing holiday. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Located near to many facilities and a good place for a night walk browsing stalls selling a myriad of souvenirs. The only downside is the breakfast. There is a sizeable spread but nothing apetising.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms better as away from traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeswant K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear Jeswant,

Thank you for your 4/5 rating with the nice comments of our hotel during your recent stay here. I am delighted that you and your family have enjoyed the spacious rooms, our facilities and our location.

I am sorry that the breakfast did not fulfil your expectation as normally our buffet line is well received with more than 70 items rotated daily. I have copied your comments to our Executive Chef for his attention and further improvement.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back for another relaxing holiday in the near future. Here’s wishing you Safe Travels & A Happy New Year 2014!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
1 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#3 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
2,334 reviews
0.5 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
5,066 reviews
3.3 mi away
Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort
Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort
#2 of 6 in Tanjung Bungah
796 reviews
4.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
#1 of 6 in Tanjung Bungah
1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Beach Resort

Address: Batu Ferringhi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#7 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#7 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range: $57 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bayview Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Bayview Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Beach Hotel Batu Ferringhi
The Bayview Beach Hotel
Bayview Beach Resort Penang/Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing