We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Son thought this was the best hotel ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bayview Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Son thought this was the best hotel ever”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Went there with two kids aged 5 and 8 for the weekend when there was a four day "vacation" in Malaysia. The place was filled with foreigners and Malaysians. But it didn't feel crowded. The hotel is large enough and the pools are large and more than adequate for such holiday times too. There are pool and water play area for kids. That was absolutely wonderful. The pools close at 7 pm, when it was perfect to step out to the beach at the back and enjoy the sun set. Those who wanted to ride the horse could do so too (added price and not run by the hotel). The rooms were excellent too. Very close to the night market so the night time activity was great. The bus came at short intervals right outside so didn't have to take the expensive taxis all the time to go to malls either.

Room Tip: We took the room facing the hills, which were cheaper and I found it quite good. However, if you tak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pradhanmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear pradhanmoon,

I am delighted that you and your family have enjoyed your recent vacation with us despite the high occupancy over the long weekend. Our newly opened Play Pool has proved to be very popular with children and we are delighted that it has given them so much fun and joy during their stay. This new facility is part of Bayview Beach Resort’s fresh concept of providing a wholesome family fun resort along with the various family friendly facilities.

Please thank your sons for thinking we were the best hotel ever and I am glad that you liked our Superior Hillview Room. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back for another enjoyable family holiday here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    717
    350
    107
    64
See reviews for
677
531
68
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
95 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

This hotel is a place for big families with more than 8 people together. The pool is nice and there are many activity possibilities. The rooms are big but not really clean. You find old broken glass pieces on the carpets and hairs all over the bathrooms. The breakfast buffet is versatile but the quality is of an average office canteen. There are 3 elevators for all the guests, what is not sufficient, the only option to get from or to your floor is to use the service lift.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ponty275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear ponty275,

We apologise for the inconvenience caused over the ‘less than perfect’ room given to you during your recent stay with us. Appropriate action has been taken by the Housekeeping Department to be more vigilant when checking rooms. I know we can and will do better in the future.

I am disappointed that our breakfast quality was comparable to an office canteen as normally our buffet line is well received for variety, quality, taste and freshness.

Indeed we do have 3 guests lifts and with our other 3 service lifts, a total of 6 lifts (each with a capacity of 17 persons) which are sufficient to cater to the heavy traffic by reducing waiting time during high seasons. I am sorry if there was a delay when one opts only for the guest lifts.

I hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you better on your next visit to Penang. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We had a great 4 day stay here with our family of 7 recently! We were very thankful that they allowed us to check into our rooms upon arrival, despite being several hours before check in time. The beds are MASSIVE! We took a photo of our 5 teenagers lying in one of the beds! The family room is a great set up as you have two bedrooms but is incredibly spacious! What was even better for us was that the other room we booked was next to the family room and had interconnecting doors, so we could all be together if we chose, or close off doors for privacy! Brilliant set up! Have not come across this in any other Hotel.
The pool is great, although coming from the Hard Rock Hotel it was smaller and not as shady so we didnt enjoy it quite as much. We did enjoy the lovely green, peaceful grounds that have full views of the ocean though which was an improvement on the Hard Rock. We spent time doing the watersports on the beach and the staff there were so lovely and friendly! Not sure if they were part of the Hotel or not.
The kids had a great time jet skiing and parasailing!
The breakfasts were great! Lots to choose from and it was very pleasant sitting by the pool to eat each morning! Not too far to walk to the famous night markets which we really enjoyed each night.

Room Tip: The family rooms are VERY spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen7392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear karen7392,

Thank you for giving us a 5/5 excellent rating on your recent stay here and your nice review of our large family rooms with the super-king-size 8’ beds that we are well known for. All these make us one of the most preferred resorts along the beach for family holidays. I am delighted that you enjoyed our sumptuous breakfast overlooking the pool each morning and generally you & your family had a great time.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back when you return for another enjoyable holiday at the Bayview Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights at Bayview, customer service and for the value for money it is excellent.

Unfortunately the room is pretty old. There are signs of wear and tear around the room. Our bathroom door gets stucks on the hinges, sometimes getting the person locked in the bathroom if there's not enough strength to push the door out. The mini bar fridge has this tendancy to do a knocking sound once in a while, and the lights aren't bright, so at night it's has a pretty dim setting ( I think this adds the effect of the room being old ).

Although the service were great, the people were very friendly, I think something needs to be done to the hotel, a renovation perhaps? Until they do, I won't be able to recommend any of my friends or family to stay there, sorry.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdrianLimBoonSeong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear AdrianLimBoonSeong,

Thank you for highlighting the areas where improvement can be made to the standard room 236 which the next scheduled renovation will address the shortcomings. Meanwhile, our carpenter had fixed the misalignment of the bathroom door and we apologise for the inconvenience and any distress caused.

I appreciate your acknowledgment of our friendly staff service during your stay with us and I hope you will give us another chance to serve you better when you are next in Penang.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iselin, NJ
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

My family and I had a nice and relaxing time especially near the pool and beach. It was also not the busy season so it helped.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iselin, NJ
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

It was off season so the cost was very affordable too. Great breakfast with variety of wonderful hot and cold selections of western, Indian, Malay and Chinese delectables. Dinner at the restaurant was better than average as well and service was of great at reception, restaurants and pool area. The only possible criticism was they should have had more towels in the room when it is a family staying :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Jen O,

Thank you for your overall very good 4/5 rating on your stay here last month. We do provide additional towels upon request so please ask if you need extra when you next stay with us. And I am so glad you and family have enjoyed our wonderful great breakfasts. We hope to welcoming you all back on your next visit to Penang.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 5 nights and that was enough!!! Impressive entrance buts that's about it!! Extra large bed, room and bathroom very tired and in urgent need of refurb. Pool and gardens ok, breakfast was terrible!! We got on the bus to a restaurant further down the road. All in all wouldn't stay there again

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 753MichelleM753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear 753MichelleM753,

Sorry to read that we did not meet up to your expectations and I will be grateful if you can provide more details so that we can look at the specific room you had stayed in. I am also disappointed that you found our breakfast terrible as we have received numerous compliments on our wide ranging & tasty breakfast. I hope to hear from you on where you have found us inadequate so that we can specifically improve. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#4 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
2,163 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4,106 reviews
1.0 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
0.9 mi away
Lone Pine Hotel
Lone Pine Hotel
#6 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
1,429 reviews
4.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
#1 of 6 in Tanjung Bungah
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Beach Resort

Property: Bayview Beach Resort
Address: The Bayview Beach Resort Jalan Batu Ferringghi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#5 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#7 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#7 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bayview Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Bayview Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Beach Hotel Batu Ferringhi
The Bayview Beach Hotel
Bayview Beach Resort Penang/Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing